DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of Amendment filed June 8, 2026.
Duplicate Claims
Applicant is advised that should claim 4 be found allowable, claim 6 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sridhar et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2020/0395162 A1) in view of Waeckerle et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2020/0027641 A1) and Snyder (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2008/0007382 A1).
For claim 1, Sridhar et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a ferromagnetic material having discrete particles (see the Abstract, and paragraph [0008]), the particles aligned in a single unified crystallographic direction (i.e. "a magnetic field is applied so as to magnetically align the ferromagnetic particles", see paragraph [0008]). Sridhar et al. however do not specifically disclose a monolithic, hollow rectangle comprised of a structural material that holds the ferromagnetic material; and a winding comprised of wires wound around the monolithic, hollow rectangle to form a core.
Waeckerle et al. disclose a core material (reference numeral 49) having the shape of a hollow rectangle (see figure 7) which when applied to the ferromagnetic material of Sridhar et al. would disclose a hollow rectangle comprised of a structural material that holds the ferromagnetic material, and Waeckerle et al. also disclose a winding (reference numerals 54-56) comprised of wires wound around the hollow rectangle to form a core (reference numeral 49, see figure 7). Having a monolithic rectangle is a known skill as exhibited by Snyder (reference numeral 102, see figure 4), which when applied to the core of Waeckerle et al. would disclose a monolithic, hollow rectangle, with wires wound around the monolithic, hollow rectangle to form a core.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the shape of a hollow rectangle and also have the winding wires as disclosed by Waeckerle et al., and the monolithic rectangle as disclosed by Snyder, for the ferromagnetic material of Sridhar et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper core functioning in the device.
For claim 2, Sridhar et al. in view of Waeckerle et al. and Snyder disclose the claimed invention except for the electrical core having holes arranged in the monolithic, hollow rectangle to accommodate the wires. Waeckerle et al. further disclose holes (i.e. space in between lateral branches 50, 51, 52 of core 49) arranged in the hollow rectangle to accommodate the wires (reference numerals 54-56, see figure 7), which when combined with the monolithic rectangle of Sridhar et al. in view of Waeckerle et al. and Snyder would disclose the electrical core having holes arranged in the monolithic, hollow rectangle to accommodate the wires. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the holes as disclosed by Waeckerle et al. for the wires of Sridhar et al. in view of Waeckerle et al. and Snyder for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper core functioning in the device.
For claim 7, Sridhar et al. disclose the particles comprising one of iron, iron silicide, and iron silicon aluminum (i.e. iron, see paragraphs [0039, 0041]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sridhar et al. in view of Waeckerle et al. and Snyder as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kong (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2018/0006511 A1).
For claim 3, Sridhar et al. in view of Waeckerle et al. and Snyder disclose the claimed invention except for the electrical core having grooves to accommodate the wires. Having grooves for accommodating the wires is a known skill as exhibited by Kong (i.e. grooves 221 for accommodating coil C, see figures 1-3), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for having the grooves as disclosed by Kong for the core of Sridhar et al. in view of Waeckerle et al. and Snyder for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper assembly of the winding component.
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sridhar et al. in view of Waeckerle et al. and Snyder as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Piech et al. (US Patent No.: 5613188).
For claims 4 and 6, Sridhar et al. in view of Waeckerle et al. and Snyder disclose the claimed invention except for the structural material comprising aluminum. Having aluminum is a known skill as exhibited by Piech et al. (see column 4, lines 59-66), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the aluminum as disclosed by Piech et al. for the structural material of Sridhar et al. in view of Waeckerle et al. and Snyder for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating conductive properties in the device.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sridhar et al. in view of Waeckerle et al. and Snyder as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tung et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2006/0273670 A1).
For claim 5, Sridhar et al. in view of Waeckerle et al. and Snyder disclose the claimed invention except for the structural material comprising a polymer binder. Having a polymer binder is a known skill as exhibited by Tung et al. (see paragraph [0041]), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the polymer binder as disclosed by Tung et al. for the structural material of Sridhar et al. in view of Waeckerle et al. and Snyder for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating functional assembly of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Also, In response to applicant's assertion that Sridhar does not disclose the particles being magnetically aligned to a unified crystallographic direction since Sridhar discloses moving particles in the matrix material to form chains in at least two directions, this was not found persuasive since Sridhar et al. still disclose the particles 11 being aligned along the magnetic field direction B as shown in figure 5, which would constitute "the particles aligned in a single unified crystallographic direction" as required in applicant's claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834