Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 and 14-15, 17 and 19-20 are pending. Claims 11-12, 14-15, 17 and 19-20 are presented for this examination. Claims 1-10 are withdrawn. Claims 13, 16 and 18 are cancelled. Claims 11 and 19-20 are amended.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 10/30/2023 and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Previous Rejections
All prior art rejections are withdrawn in view of amendment of claim 1.
A new ground of art rejection is rendered in view of amendment of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN’304 (CN102232304A published in 2011) in view of Ion_nitriding (NPL document: “Process Specification for Ion Nitriding”, published in 2000).
As for claims 11-12, 15 and 19, it is noted instant claim 11 is amended to Mo 0.32-0.5%, wherein, in the sintering, the sintered part has a bainite phase formed; wherein the sintered part treated in the ion nitriding maintains the bainite phase; and wherein an area of a microstructure other than the bainite phase in the sintered part treated in the ion nitriding is 0.6% or less per 200 mm2. Hence, scope of claim 11 is changed.
CN’304 discloses a method of making a sintered part by powder metallurgy, comprising the steps of:
(1)Preparing a pre-alloy steel powder comprising 1.2-2.8% Cr, 0.43-0.65% Mo, remaining of Fe and impurities.([0017]) The pre-alloy steel powder is produced by subjecting ingot steel to water-atomizing method, which meets instant claim 12. Hence, using lower limit of Cr and Mo, value of left side equation (1) is calculated to be 4.291, which meet value of instant claim 11 Equation (1).
Hence, based on the teaching of CN’304, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, to select the amount of each element within the ranges disclosed by Engstrom in order to arrive at prealloy powder of claimed invention.
(2)Mixing the steel powder with graphite which is a carbon powder and paraffin micro powder, which is a lubricant. The amount of graphite is 0.5-0.9%wt ([0058]) and the amount of lubricant is 0.5-0.8 %([0058]). Hence, the mixed powder is expected to comprise 0.5-0.9% the carbon powder, 0.5-0.8% wt of lubricant as required by instant claim 11, which overlaps 0.5-0.7% C and 0.5-0.7% lubricant. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
(3)Compacting the obtained mixture to form a green body, which meets claimed forming step
(4)Sintering the obtained green body at 1120-1180 degree C for 0.5-1.5 hours in hydrogen ([0062]), which meets claimed sintering step.
The sintered green body consists of lower bainite ([0065]) Hence, instant claim 11 “wherein an area of a microstructure other than the bainite phase in the sintered part treated in the ion nitriding is 0.6% or less per 200 mm2” is met.
(5)Cooling the sintered green body (Page 14 line 11) which meets instant claim 11 required post processing step.
The sintered green body treated in the ion nitriding is expected to maintain a bainite phase as required by instant claim 11.
CN’304 differs from instant claim 11 such that it does not disclose ion nitriding the post processed sintered part and instant claim 15 required formation density.
Ion_nitriding discloses ion nitriding is a surface hardening heat treatment that uses diffused nitrogen on final heat treated and machined alloy steel for extended wear life and a reduced fatigue failure rate.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, at the time the invention is made to apply ion nitriding step as suggested by Ion_nitriding, after the post processing step of CN’304 for the benefits of extended wear life and a reduced fatigue failure rate.
Ion_nitriding explicitly discloses a typical case depth is 3-30 mils which is expected to be 76-762 microns, hence meeting instant claim 19 required 7 microns or more.
With respect to formation density, it is an inherent property of claimed process according MPEP 2112.01.
When a claimed process along with its resultant product reasonably appears to be substantially the same as, or an obvious variant of, a product disclosed by the prior art, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the prior art process and its resultant product does not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics attributed to the claimed product, and that it is of no moment whether the rejection is based on § 102 or § 103 since the burden on the applicant is the same. Cf. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 708 (Fed Cir. 1990); In re Best,562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977). In the instant case, CN’304 discloses claimed process steps with similar pre-alloy powder compositions and lower bainite microstructure. Hence, instant claimed formation density would be expected absent evidence of the contrary.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN’304 in view of Ion_nitriding as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Lamim (NPL document “Plasma nitrided compound layers in sintered parts: Microstructures and wear mechanisms” published in 2021)
As for claim 20, Ion_nitriding discloses temperature of 750-1110 F which is equivalent to 398-598 degree C is carried out during ion nitriding step. Ion_nitriding does not disclose nitriding time of 3-5 hours.
Lamim discloses Plasma nitrided compound layers in sintered parts. Lamim explicitly discloses holding time to achieve thicker case depth can be reduced significantly by increasing the temperature. (Page 2 Col 2 lines 4-5) Table 1 discloses holding time of 120 minutes are well known in the art for temperature range of 550 degree C. That is, holding time and temperature are inversely related such that lowering heating temperature leads to longer holding time.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, at the time the invention is made to prolong holding time from 2 hours to 3-5 hours by reducing nitriding temperature as suggested by Lamim, in the process of Engstrom in view of Ion_nitriding to arrive at same thickness.
Claim(s) 14-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN’304 in view of Ion_nitriding as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Engstroem (WO03106079A1).
As for claims 14-15 and 17, CN’304 does not disclose instant claims 14 and 17 limitations.
Engstroem discloses a method of producing sintered components with pre-alloyed iron based powder with similar steps as CN’304. The sintered components also consist of lower bainite.
Precipitation hardening element such as V 0.05-0.3% and not more than 0.1 Nb% supports instant claim 14 required 0.1-0.2% functional additive.
The sintered green body has density about 6.95 g/cm3. (Example 2) Hence, instant claim 15 is met.
The sintering environment is a mixture of nitrogen and hydrogen as required by instant claim 17.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, at the time the invention is made to add Precipitation hardening element such as V 0.05-0.3% and not more than 0.1 Nb% and sintering environment which is a mixture of nitrogen and hydrogen as disclosed by Engstroem, in the process of CN’304 for the benefit of achieving precipitation hardening effect.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s argument filed on 10/20/2026 is considered but is moot since all prior art rejections are withdrawn. Newly cited CN’304 explicitly discloses Mo 0.43-0.65% which is within amended Mo as instant claim 1 recites.
Conclusion
/JENNY R WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733