DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on July 21, 2026. Claims 1-3 and 10-12 have been amended. New claims 25-27 have been added. Claims 15-24 have been
canceled. Currently, claims 1-14 and 25-27 are pending.
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1-3 and 10-12 successfully overcomes the 112(b) rejection of claims 1-3 and 10-12 and dependent claims set forth in the previous Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1 the Applicant argues that, “Claim 1 as amended recites ‘a wire bond physically contacting a top surface of the nanotwin copper member.’ Park fails to teach at least this limitation. The equated nanotwin copper of Claim 1 (the RDL 130) does not physically contact the wire bond. Instead, the wire bond 160 of Park contacts the pad 180 as shown in Fig. 3B”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s argument relies on the embodiment shown in Figure 3A in which wire bond 160 contacts pad 180 disposed over RDL 130. However, the Examiner’s rejection relies on the distinct embodiment shown in Figure 3B which illustrates wire bond 160 directly and physically contacting the exposed top surface of RDL 130 without intervening pad 180 between the wire bond 160 and RDL 130.
Regarding claim 8 the Applicant argues that, “Park fails to teach the limitation "a metal member coupled to the device side, the metal member in vertical alignment with the circuitry". Park's disclosure describes conductive pads 120 electrically connected to the integrated circuit IC, but does not describe or illustrate vertical alignment between the pads and underlying circuitry, and Park's Figures 1-3 do not show this structural relationship. Vertical alignment is a specific structural limitation that distinguishes the claimed invention from Park's package-level conductive pads”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this interpretation. Neither the specification nor the drawings provide a special definition or describe a specific degree of alignment for “vertical alignment”, the term is reasonably interpreted as requiring the metal member to at least partially overlie the circuitry in the thickness direction of the semiconductor device. Park teaches this relationship. As shown in Figure 1, conductive pads 120 are disposed on the device side 20b above the region containing the integrated circuit IC1. Consequently, at least a portion of the conductive pads 120 vertically overlies and aligns with the underlying circuitry in the device’s thickness direction. Applicant’s characterization of these pads as merely “laterally arranged” does not negate this vertical overlap as the pads can be both laterally distributed and positioned directly above the underlying circuitry.
The Applicant further argues that, “the claimed range of "the nanotwin copper member having a minimum thickness of 5 microns and a maximum thickness of 13 microns" are critical to the claimed invention as evidenced in paragraph [0018] of the instant specification ("The copper member 118 has a thickness ranging from 5 microns to 13 microns. A thickness below this range is disadvantageous because damage to the metal member 114 occurs during the wire bonding process resulting in cracking, and a thickness above this range is disadvantageous because it increases the electroplating cycle time and causes high stress due to its weight on top of metal member 114" [0018] of the instant Specification). As such, the claimed ranges produce unexpected results and advantages compared to the teachings of the cited references”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these assertions. Chen teaches that nano-twinned copper layer may preferably have a thickness of 5-10 microns overlapping directly with the Applicant’s claimed range. Furthermore, the Examiner maintains that the Applicant has failed to provide persuasive evidence demonstrating that the claimed thickness produces unexpected results rather the asserted considerations regarding bonding durability, electroplating time and stress represent recognized result-effective variables that would have been optimized through routine experimentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2021/0043592 A1; hereafter Park) in view of Lin (US 2024/0038698 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a package (see e.g., Figures 1-3 and 8), comprising:
a semiconductor die (see e.g., first semiconductor device 20 mounted on a package substrate 10, Paras [0032], [0041], Figure 1) including a device side having circuitry formed therein (see e.g., the first semiconductor device 20 has a second side 20b facing away from the substrate 10. The first semiconductor device 20 may include a first integrated circuit IC1, conductive pads 120 and redistribution line conductor 130. The first integrated circuit IC1 may be formed inside the first semiconductor device 20 near the second side 20b of the first semiconductor device 20. The conductive pads 120 may be electrically connected to the first integrated circuit IC1. The redistribution line conductors 130 may be respectively arranged on the conductive pads 120, Paras [0037], [0038], [0039], Figures 1 and 2);
a metal member coupled to the device side (see e.g., conductive pads 120 coupled to the second side 20b of the first semiconductor device 20. The conductive pad 120 may include a metal material, such as aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), gold (Au), silver (Ag), or an alloy thereof, having electrical conductivity, Paras [0038], [0049], Figures 1 and 2);
a …copper member having a bottom surface coupled to the metal member (see e.g., The redistribution line conductor 130 may be electrically connected to the conductive pad 120. The redistribution line conductor 130 may include a first redistribution line conductor 132 and a second redistribution line conductor 134. The first redistribution line conductor 132 may include a metal, such as titanium (Ti), titanium tungsten (TiW). The second redistribution line conductor 134 may include Cu, Paras [0054], [0056], Figure 3);
a wire bond physically contacting a top surface of the …..copper member, and (see e.g., conductive connector 160 coupled to the top surface of the second redistribution line conductor 134. Conductive connector 160 maybe a bonding wire, Paras [0074], [0078], [0081], Figure 3B)
a mold compound covering the die, the metal member, the …. copper member, and the wire bond (see e.g., encapsulation material 170 may encapsulate the first semiconductor device 20, conductive pad 120, redistribution line conductor 130 and the conductive connector 160, Para [0044], Figures 1 and 8).
Park does not explicitly teach
“a nanotwin copper member having a bottom surface coupled to the metal member, the nanotwin copper member comprising a twin boundary separating a first region having a first grain structure from a second region having a second grain structure;
a wire bond physically contacting a top surface of the nanotwin copper member, and
a mold compound covering the die, the metal member, the nanotwin copper member, and the wire bond.”
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
a nanotwin copper member having a bottom surface coupled to the metal member (see e.g., conductive pad 200 including a nanotwinned copper, disposed over a substrate 100, Para [0029], Figures 1, 1A and 2A),
the substrate includes electronic components such as a die or a chip and it would be obvious the conductive pad 200 would be coupled to a metal contact for electrical connection purposes.
the nanotwin copper member comprising a twin boundary separating a first region having a first grain structure from a second region having a second grain structure (see e.g., The nanotwinned crystal structure includes a plurality of grains each including a plurality of nanotwinned crystals (or “nanotwins”, “nanotwinned layers”, or “multi-layers”) stacked in the common crystallographic plane. The nanotwins (or the nanotwinned layers) area stacked in a direction from the substrate 100 toward the ball bond 310 (or the end portion). As shown in Figure 2A these nanotwinned crystals are separated from each other by twin boundary, Para [0029], Figure 2A);
a wire bond physically contacting a top surface of the nanotwin copper member, and (see e.g., conductive wire 300 is electrically connected to the conductive pad 200. The conductive wire includes a ball bond 310 and a wire portion 330. The ball bond may directly connect to the conductive pad 200. As shown in Figure 4B the conductive wire 300 contacts multiple regions of the contact pad 200, Paras [0031], [0032], Figures 1A, 4B)
a mold compound covering the die, the metal member, the nanotwin copper member, and the wire bond (see e.g., encapsulant 60 encapsulates an upper surface 101 of the substrate 10, substrate 100, conductive pad 200 and conductive wire 300, Para [0035], Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of a nanotwin copper member having a bottom surface coupled to the metal member, the nanotwin copper member comprising a twin boundary separating a first region having a first grain structure from a second region having a second grain structure; a wire bond physically contacting a top surface of the nanotwin copper member, and a mold compound covering the die, the metal member, the nanotwin copper member, and the wire bond in the device of Park which represents a predictable variation that replaces conventional copper with a higher-reliability material for improved structural reliability and packaging reliability.
Regarding claim 2, Park, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Park further teaches
wherein the package does not include a nickel layer within the nanotwin copper member (see e.g., redistribution line conductor 130 includes first redistribution line conductor 132 which includes metals such as titanium or titanium tungsten and second redistribution line conductor 134 may include copper, Para [0057]).
Regarding claim 3, Park, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Park further teaches
wherein the package does not include a palladium layer within the nanotwin copper member (see e.g., redistribution line conductor 130 includes first redistribution line conductor 132 which includes metals such as titanium or titanium tungsten and second redistribution line conductor 134 may include copper, Para [0057]).
Regarding claim 4, Park, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein the nanotwin copper member excludes polycrystalline copper.”
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
wherein the nanotwin copper member excludes polycrystalline copper (see e.g., conductive pad 200 includes a nanotwinned copper with a highly-oriented structure., Para [0029], Figure 2A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of wherein the nanotwin copper member excludes polycrystalline copper in the device of Park to achieve a more robust and uniform conductive structure.
Regarding claim 5, Park, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein at least 80% of a bottom surface of the wire bond is bonded to the nanotwin copper member, the bottom surface of the wire bond facing the nanotwin copper member”.
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
wherein at least 80% of a bottom surface of the wire bond is bonded to the nanotwin copper member, the bottom surface of the wire bond facing the nanotwin copper member (see e.g., the conductive pad has a highly-oriented structure with a crystallographic plane having a maximum ion diffusion rate (or a maximum metal diffusion rate) bonded to the conductive wire. Therefore, the relatively high diffusion rate is advantageous to the diffusion bonding between the conductive wire and the conductive pad, and thus the bonding strength is improved. Moreover, since the bonding surface of the conductive pad has a relatively high diffusion rate to facilitate an excellent diffusion bonding between the conductive pad and the conductive wire. The relatively high diffusion characteristics of the crystallographic plane of nanotwinned copper provides an excellent diffusion bonding interface, such that the bonding interface (e.g., the interface S1/S2) can be up to about 85% of an area of the bonding surface (e.g., the surface 200U/200AU) of the conductive pad, which is advantageous to significantly increasing the bonding strength. As shown in Figure 4B most of the bottom surface of the wire bond 310 is bonded to the nanotwinned copper pad 200, Paras [0087], [0088], [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to ne skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of wherein at least 80% of a bottom surface of the wire bond is bonded to the nanotwin copper member, the bottom surface of the wire bond facing the nanotwin copper member in the device of Park since the bonding structure has excellent electrical performance and heat dissipation ability, and cratering and splash that usually occur when a conductive wire is bonded to a relatively soft aluminum pad can be effectively prevented.
Regarding claim 6, Park, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein the twin boundary is oriented approximately parallel to a horizontal plane in which the semiconductor die lies”.
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
wherein the twin boundary is oriented approximately parallel to a horizontal plane in which the semiconductor die lies (see e.g., as shown in Figure 2A the twin boundary between the nanotwinned crystals is oriented approximately parallel to the horizontal plane of substrate 100 which includes a chip or a die, Para [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of wherein the twin boundary is oriented approximately parallel to a horizontal plane in which the semiconductor die lies in the device of Park in order to yield predictable results of improved electromigration resistance or enhanced mechanical strength at the interface.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2021/0043592 A1; hereafter Park) in view of Lin (US 2024/0038698 A1) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2015/0064496 A1; hereafter Chen).
Regarding claim 7, Park, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein the nanotwin copper member has a minimum thickness of 5 microns and a maximum thickness of 13 microns”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Chen teaches
wherein the nanotwin copper member has a minimum thickness of 5 microns and a maximum thickness of 13 microns (see e.g., the nano-twinned crystal copper may have a thickness preferably of 5-10 microns, Para [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Chen’s teachings of wherein the nanotwin copper member has a minimum thickness of 5 microns and a maximum thickness of 13 microns in the device of Park as this is a matter of routine optimization to improve interfacial bonding.
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2021/0043592 A1; hereafter Park) in view of Lin (US 2024/0038698 A1) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2015/0064496 A1; hereafter Chen).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches a package (see e.g., Figures 1-3 and 8), comprising:
a semiconductor die (see e.g., first semiconductor device 20 mounted on a package substrate 10, Paras [0032], [0041], Figure 1) including a device side having circuitry formed therein (see e.g., the first semiconductor device 20 has a second side 20b facing away from the substrate 10. The first semiconductor device 20 may include a first integrated circuit IC1, conductive pads 120 and redistribution line conductor 130. The first integrated circuit IC1 may be formed inside the first semiconductor device 20 near the second side 20b of the first semiconductor device 20. The conductive pads 120 may be electrically connected to the first integrated circuit IC1. The redistribution line conductors 130 may be respectively arranged on the conductive pads 120, Paras [0037], [0038], [0039], Figures 1 and 2);
a metal member coupled to the device side (see e.g., conductive pads 120 coupled to the second side 20b of the first semiconductor device 20. The conductive pad 120 may include a metal material, such as aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), gold (Au), silver (Ag), or an alloy thereof, having electrical conductivity, Paras [0038], [0049], Figures 1 and 2), the metal member in vertical alignment with the circuitry (see e.g., the conductive pad 120 is in vertical alignment with the underlying circuitry as shown in Figures 1, 2 and 3);
a … copper member coupled to the metal member (see e.g., The redistribution line conductor 130 may be electrically connected to the conductive pad 120. The redistribution line conductor 130 may include a first redistribution line conductor 132 and a second redistribution line conductor 134. The first redistribution line conductor 132 may include a metal, such as titanium (Ti), titanium tungsten (TiW). The second redistribution line conductor 134 may include Cu, Paras [0054], [0056], Figure 3),
a wire bond coupled directly to a surface of the …. copper member; and (see e.g., conductive connector 160 coupled to the top surface of the second redistribution line conductor 134. Conductive connector 160 maybe a bonding wire, Paras [0074], [0078], [0081], Figure 3B),
a mold compound covering the die, the metal member, the … copper member, and the wire bond (see e.g., encapsulation material 170 may encapsulate the first semiconductor device 20, conductive pad 120, redistribution line conductor 130 and the conductive connector 160, Para [0044], Figures 1 and 8).
Park does not explicitly teach
“the nanotwin copper member having a minimum thickness of 5 microns and a maximum thickness of 13 microns”,
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Chen teaches
the nanotwin copper member having a minimum thickness of 5 microns and a maximum thickness of 13 microns (see e.g., the nano-twinned crystal copper may have a thickness preferably of 5-10 microns, Para [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Chen’s teachings of the nanotwin copper member having a minimum thickness of 5 microns and a maximum thickness of 13 microns in the device of Park as this is a matter of routine optimization to improve interfacial bonding.
Park does not explicitly teach
“a nanotwin copper member coupled to the metal member,
the nanotwin copper member comprising a twin boundary oriented approximately parallel to a horizontal plane in which the semiconductor die lies;
a wire bond coupled directly to a surface of the nanotwin copper member; and
a mold compound covering the die, the metal member, the nanotwin copper member, and the wire bond”.
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
a nanotwin copper member coupled to the metal member (see e.g., conductive pad 200 including a nanotwinned copper, disposed over a substrate 100, Para [0029], Figures 1, 1A and 2A),
the substrate includes electronic components such as a die or a chip and it would be obvious the conductive pad 200 would be coupled to a metal contact for electrical connection purposes.
the nanotwin copper member comprising a twin boundary oriented approximately parallel to a horizontal plane in which the semiconductor die lies (see e.g., as shown in Figure 2A the twin boundary between the nanotwinned crystals is oriented approximately parallel to the horizontal plane of substrate 100 which includes a chip or a die, Para [0027]);
a wire bond coupled directly to a surface of the nanotwin copper member; and (see e.g., conductive wire 300 is electrically connected to the conductive pad 200. The conductive wire includes a ball bond 310 and a wire portion 330. The ball bond may directly connect to the conductive pad 200. As shown in Figure 4B the conductive wire 300 contacts multiple regions of the contact pad 200, Paras [0031], [0032], Figures 1A, 4B)
a mold compound covering the die, the metal member, the nanotwin copper member, and the wire bond (see e.g., encapsulant 60 encapsulates an upper surface 101 of the substrate 10, substrate 100, conductive pad 200 and conductive wire 300, Para [0035], Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of a nanotwin copper member coupled to the metal member, the nanotwin copper member comprising a twin boundary oriented approximately parallel to a horizontal plane in which the semiconductor die lies; a wire bond coupled directly to a surface of the nanotwin copper member; and a mold compound covering the die, the metal member, the nanotwin copper member, and the wire bond in the device of Park which represents a predictable variation that replaces conventional copper with a higher-reliability material for improved structural reliability and packaging reliability.
Regarding claim 9, Park, as modified by Lin and Chen, teaches the limitations of claim 8 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein the twin boundary separates a first region having a first grain structure from a second region having a second grain structure”.
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
wherein the twin boundary separates a first region having a first grain structure from a second region having a second grain structure (see e.g., The nanotwinned crystal structure includes a plurality of grains each including a plurality of nanotwinned crystals (or “nanotwins”, “nanotwinned layers”, or “multi-layers”) stacked in the common crystallographic plane. The nanotwins (or the nanotwinned layers) area stacked in a direction from the substrate 100 toward the ball bond 310 (or the end portion). As shown in Figure 2A these nanotwinned crystals are separated from each other by twin boundary, Para [0029], Figure 2A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of wherein the twin boundary separates a first region having a first grain structure from a second region having a second grain structure in the device of Park to improve reliability of the copper-based interconnection of Park using known techniques of nanotwinned structures.
Regarding claim 10, Park, as modified by Lin and Chen, teaches the limitations of claim 9 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein the wire bond contacts the first region and the second region”.
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
wherein the wire bond contacts the first region and the second region (see e.g., conductive wire 300 is electrically connected to the conductive pad 200. The conductive wire includes a ball bond 310 and a wire portion 330. The ball bond may directly connect to the conductive pad 200. As shown in Figure 4B the conductive wire 300 contacts multiple crystal grains e.g., 2001A, 2002A, 2003A etc. of the contact pad 200, Paras [0031], [0032], Figures 1A, 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of wherein the wire bond contacts the first region and the second region in the device of Park in order to form reliable interconnects.
Regarding claim 11, Park, as modified by Lin and Chen, teaches the limitations of claim 8 as mentioned above. Park further teaches
wherein the package does not include a nickel layer within the nanotwin copper member (see e.g., redistribution line conductor 130 includes first redistribution line conductor 132 which includes metals such as titanium or titanium tungsten and second redistribution line conductor 134 may include copper, Para [0057]).
Regarding claim 12, Park, as modified by Lin and Chen, teaches the limitations of claim 8 as mentioned above. Park further teaches
wherein the package does not include a palladium layer within the nanotwin copper member (see e.g., redistribution line conductor 130 includes first redistribution line conductor 132 which includes metals such as titanium or titanium tungsten and second redistribution line conductor 134 may include copper, Para [0057]).
Regarding claim 13, Park, as modified by Lin and Chen, teaches the limitations of claim 8 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein the nanotwin copper member excludes polycrystalline copper”.
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
wherein the nanotwin copper member excludes polycrystalline copper (see e.g., conductive pad 200 includes a nanotwinned copper with a highly-oriented structure., Para [0029], Figure 2A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of wherein the nanotwin copper member excludes polycrystalline copper in the device of Park to achieve a more robust and uniform conductive structure.
Regarding claim 14, Park, as modified by Lin and Chen, teaches the limitations of claim 8 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein at least 80% of a bottom surface of the wire bond is bonded to the nanotwin copper member, the bottom surface of the wire bond facing the nanotwin copper member”.
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
wherein at least 80% of a bottom surface of the wire bond is bonded to the nanotwin copper member, the bottom surface of the wire bond facing the nanotwin copper member (see e.g., the conductive pad has a highly-oriented structure with a crystallographic plane having a maximum ion diffusion rate (or a maximum metal diffusion rate) bonded to the conductive wire. Therefore, the relatively high diffusion rate is advantageous to the diffusion bonding between the conductive wire and the conductive pad, and thus the bonding strength is improved. Moreover, since the bonding surface of the conductive pad has a relatively high diffusion rate to facilitate an excellent diffusion bonding between the conductive pad and the conductive wire. The relatively high diffusion characteristics of the crystallographic plane of nanotwinned copper provides an excellent diffusion bonding interface, such that the bonding interface (e.g., the interface S1/S2) can be up to about 85% of an area of the bonding surface (e.g., the surface 200U/200AU) of the conductive pad, which is advantageous to significantly increasing the bonding strength. As shown in Figure 4B most of the bottom surface of the wire bond 310 is bonded to the nanotwinned copper pad 200, Paras [0087], [0088], [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to ne skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of wherein at least 80% of a bottom surface of the wire bond is bonded to the nanotwin copper member, the bottom surface of the wire bond facing the nanotwin copper member in the device of Park since the bonding structure has excellent electrical performance and heat dissipation ability, and cratering and splash that usually occur when a conductive wire is bonded to a relatively soft aluminum pad can be effectively prevented.
Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2021/0043592 A1; hereafter Park) in view of Lin (US 2024/0038698 A1) and Kim et al. (US 2005/0092611 A1; hereafter Kim).
Regarding claim 25, Park teaches a package, comprising:
a semiconductor die (see e.g., first semiconductor device 20 mounted on a package substrate 10, Paras [0032], [0041], Figure 1) including a device side having circuitry formed therein (see e.g., the first semiconductor device 20 has a second side 20b facing away from the substrate 10. The first semiconductor device 20 may include a first integrated circuit IC1, conductive pads 120 and redistribution line conductor 130. The first integrated circuit IC1 may be formed inside the first semiconductor device 20 near the second side 20b of the first semiconductor device 20. The conductive pads 120 may be electrically connected to the first integrated circuit IC1. The redistribution line conductors 130 may be respectively arranged on the conductive pads 120, Paras [0037], [0038], [0039], Figures 1 and 2);
a metal member coupled to the device side (see e.g., conductive pads 120 coupled to the second side 20b of the first semiconductor device 20. The conductive pad 120 may include a metal material, such as aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), gold (Au), silver (Ag), or an alloy thereof, having electrical conductivity, Paras [0038], [0049], Figures 1 and 2);
a copper seed layer ….. (see e.g., first redistribution line conductor 132 maybe a seed metal layer for the second redistribution line conductor 134 made of for example, copper, Paras [0056] – [0057], Figure 3B);
a ….. copper member having a bottom surface contacting the copper seed layer, (see e.g., The redistribution line conductor 130 may be electrically connected to the conductive pad 120. The redistribution line conductor 130 may include a first redistribution line conductor 132 which is the seed metal layer for the second redistribution line conductor 134. The first and second redistribution line conductors 132 and 134 respectively may include a metal, such as Cu, Paras [0054], [0056], [0057], Figure 3)
a wire bond physically contacting a top surface of the … copper member (see e.g., conductive connector 160 coupled to the top surface of the second redistribution line conductor 134. Conductive connector 160 maybe a bonding wire, Paras [0074], [0078], [0081], Figure 3B).
Park does not explicitly teach
“a barrier layer contacting the metal member;
a copper seed layer contacting the barrier layer;”
In a similar field of endeavor Kim teaches
a barrier layer contacting the metal member (see e.g., the first metal film 28 typically made of a diffusion barrier material such as titanium (Ti) and titanium-tungsten (TiW) over the chip pad 24, Para [0054], Figures 1-3);
a copper seed layer contacting the barrier layer (see e.g., second thin film metal film 30, composed of a conductive material such as copper which is sputtered on and which functions as a seed layer for the later electroplating step, formed over the first metal film 28, Para [0054], Figures 1-3);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Kim’s teachings of a barrier layer contacting the metal member, a copper seed layer contacting the barrier layer in the device of Park in order to improve adhesion of the subsequently formed copper layer to the underlying metal member and inhibit diffusion of copper into the underlying materials.
Park does not explicitly teach
“a nanotwin copper member having a bottom surface contacting the copper seed layer, the nanotwin copper member comprising a plurality of twin boundaries separating a plurality of regions of the nanotwin copper member, each region having a different grain structure; and
a wire bond physically contacting a top surface of the nanotwin copper member.”
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
a nanotwin copper member having a bottom surface contacting the copper seed layer (see e.g., the nanotwinned copper formed over the copper seed layer 40, Para [0044], Figure 2A), the nanotwin copper member comprising a plurality of twin boundaries separating a plurality of regions of the nanotwin copper member, each region having a different grain structure; and (see e.g., The nanotwinned crystal structure includes a plurality of grains each including a plurality of nanotwinned crystals (or “nanotwins”, “nanotwinned layers”, or “multi-layers”) stacked in the common crystallographic plane. The nanotwins (or the nanotwinned layers) area stacked in a direction from the substrate 100 toward the ball bond 310 (or the end portion). As shown in Figure 2A these nanotwinned crystals are separated from each other by twin boundary, Para [0029], Figure 2A)
a wire bond physically contacting a top surface of the nanotwin copper member (see e.g., conductive wire 300 is electrically connected to the conductive pad 200. The conductive wire includes a ball bond 310 and a wire portion 330. The ball bond may directly connect to the conductive pad 200. As shown in Figure 4B the conductive wire 300 contacts multiple regions of the contact pad 200, Paras [0031], [0032], Figures 1A, 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of a nanotwin copper member having a bottom surface contacting the copper seed layer, the nanotwin copper member comprising a plurality of twin boundaries separating a plurality of regions of the nanotwin copper member, each region having a different grain structure; and a wire bond physically contacting a top surface of the nanotwin copper member in the device of Park which represents a predictable variation that replaces conventional copper with a higher-reliability material for improved structural reliability and packaging reliability.
Regarding claim 26, Park, as modified by Kim and Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 25 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein the barrier layer comprising titanium or a titanium-tungsten alloy”.
In a similar field of endeavor Kim teaches
wherein the barrier layer comprising titanium or a titanium-tungsten alloy (see e.g., the first metal film 28 typically made of a diffusion barrier material such as titanium (Ti) and titanium-tungsten (TiW) over the chip pad 24, Para [0054], Figures 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Kim’s teachings of wherein the barrier layer comprising titanium or a titanium-tungsten alloy in order to in order to improve adhesion of the subsequently formed copper layer to the underlying metal member and inhibit diffusion of copper into the underlying materials.
Regarding claim 27, Park, as modified by Kim and Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 25 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein the wire bond contacts at least two of the plurality of regions.”
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
wherein the wire bond contacts at least two of the plurality of regions (see e.g., conductive wire 300 is electrically connected to the conductive pad 200. The conductive wire includes a ball bond 310 and a wire portion 330. The ball bond may directly connect to the conductive pad 200. As shown in Figure 4B the conductive wire 300 contacts multiple crystal grains e.g., 2001A, 2002A, 2003A etc. of the contact pad 200, Paras [0031], [0032], Figures 1A, 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of wherein the wire bond contacts at least two of the plurality of regions in order to form reliable interconnects.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more
information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at
866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FAKEHA SEHAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893