DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention 1, directed to claims 1-14 in the reply filed on March 11, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 15-24 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites, “the wire bond contacting multiple regions of the nanotwin copper member” where multiple regions is indefinite and lacks antecedent basis. It is not clear where these multiple regions are located in the nanotwin copper member.
Claims 2-7 depend upon claim 1 and do not rectify the problem therefore, they are also rejected.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites, “wherein the wire bond contacts multiple regions of the nanotwin copper member”, which is indefinite and lacks antecedent basis. It is not clear where these multiple regions are located in the nanotwin copper member.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 11-12, the claims recite, “in a same metal stack as the nanotwin copper member”, which is indefinite as it is not clear what is the composition of the metal stack and how is it structurally related to the nanotwin copper member. It is unclear whether the metal stack is part of the device recited in claim 1 or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2021/0043592 A1; hereafter Park) in view of Lin (US 2024/0038698 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a package (see e.g., Figures 1-3 and 8), comprising:
a semiconductor die (see e.g., first semiconductor device 20 mounted on a package substrate 10, Paras [0032], [0041], Figure 1) including a device side having circuitry formed therein (see e.g., the first semiconductor device 20 has a second side 20b facing away from the substrate 10. The first semiconductor device 20 may include a first integrated circuit IC1, conductive pads 120 and redistribution line conductor 130. The first integrated circuit IC1 may be formed inside the first semiconductor device 20 near the second side 20b of the first semiconductor device 20. The conductive pads 120 may be electrically connected to the first integrated circuit IC1. The redistribution line conductors 130 may be respectively arranged on the conductive pads 120, Paras [0037], [0038], [0039], Figures 1 and 2);
a metal member coupled to the device side (see e.g., conductive pads 120 coupled to the second side 20b of the first semiconductor device 20. The conductive pad 120 may include a metal material, such as aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), gold (Au), silver (Ag), or an alloy thereof, having electrical conductivity, Paras [0038], [0049], Figures 1 and 2);
a …copper member having a bottom surface coupled to the metal member (see e.g., The redistribution line conductor 130 may be electrically connected to the conductive pad 120. The redistribution line conductor 130 may include a first redistribution line conductor 132 and a second redistribution line conductor 134. The first redistribution line conductor 132 may include a metal, such as titanium (Ti), titanium tungsten (TiW). The second redistribution line conductor 134 may include Cu, Paras [0054], [0056], Figure 3);
a wire bond coupled directly to a top surface of the …..copper member (see e.g., conductive connector 160 coupled to the top surface of the second redistribution line conductor 134. Conductive connector 160 maybe a bonding wire, Paras [0074], [0078], [0081], Figure 3B), the wire bond contacting multiple regions of the …. copper member (see e.g., the conductive connector 160 contacts multiple regions of the second redistribution line conductor 134 as shown in Figure 3B);
a mold compound covering the die, the metal member, the …. copper member, and the wire bond (see e.g., encapsulation material 170 may encapsulate the first semiconductor device 20, conductive pad 120, redistribution line conductor 130 and the conductive connector 160, Para [0044], Figures 1 and 8).
Park does not explicitly teach
“a nanotwin copper member having a bottom surface coupled to the metal member, the nanotwin copper member comprising a twin boundary separating a first region having a first grain structure from a second region having a second grain structure;
a wire bond coupled directly to a top surface of the nanotwin copper member, the wire bond contacting multiple regions of the nanotwin copper member; and
a mold compound covering the die, the metal member, the nanotwin copper member, and the wire bond.”
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
a nanotwin copper member having a bottom surface coupled to the metal member (see e.g., conductive pad 200 including a nanotwinned copper, disposed over a substrate 100, Para [0029], Figures 1, 1A and 2A),
the substrate includes electronic components such as a die or a chip and it would be obvious the conductive pad 200 would be coupled to a metal contact for electrical connection purposes.
the nanotwin copper member comprising a twin boundary separating a first region having a first grain structure from a second region having a second grain structure (see e.g., The nanotwinned crystal structure includes a plurality of grains each including a plurality of nanotwinned crystals (or “nanotwins”, “nanotwinned layers”, or “multi-layers”) stacked in the common crystallographic plane. The nanotwins (or the nanotwinned layers) area stacked in a direction from the substrate 100 toward the ball bond 310 (or the end portion). As shown in Figure 2A these nanotwinned crystals are separated from each other by twin boundary, Para [0029], Figure 2A);
a wire bond coupled directly to a top surface of the nanotwin copper member, the wire bond contacting multiple regions of the nanotwin copper member; and (see e.g., conductive wire 300 is electrically connected to the conductive pad 200. The conductive wire includes a ball bond 310 and a wire portion 330. The ball bond may directly connect to the conductive pad 200. As shown in Figure 4B the conductive wire 300 contacts multiple regions of the contact pad 200, Paras [0031], [0032], Figures 1A, 4B)
a mold compound covering the die, the metal member, the nanotwin copper member, and the wire bond (see e.g., encapsulant 60 encapsulates an upper surface 101 of the substrate 10, substrate 100, conductive pad 200 and conductive wire 300, Para [0035], Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of a nanotwin copper member having a bottom surface coupled to the metal member, the nanotwin copper member comprising a twin boundary separating a first region having a first grain structure from a second region having a second grain structure;
a wire bond coupled directly to a top surface of the nanotwin copper member, the wire bond contacting multiple regions of the nanotwin copper member; and
a mold compound covering the die, the metal member, the nanotwin copper member, and the wire bond in the device of Park which represents a predictable variation that replaces conventional copper with a higher-reliability material for improved structural reliability and packaging reliability.
Regarding claim 2, Park, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Park further teaches
wherein the package does not include a nickel layer in a same metal stack as the nanotwin copper member (see e.g., redistribution line conductor 130 includes first redistribution line conductor 132 which includes metals such as titanium or titanium tungsten and second redistribution line conductor 134 may include copper, Para [0057]).
Regarding claim 3, Park, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Park further teaches
wherein the package does not include a palladium layer in a same metal stack as the nanotwin copper member (see e.g., redistribution line conductor 130 includes first redistribution line conductor 132 which includes metals such as titanium or titanium tungsten and second redistribution line conductor 134 may include copper, Para [0057]).
Regarding claim 4, Park, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein the nanotwin copper member excludes polycrystalline copper.”
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
wherein the nanotwin copper member excludes polycrystalline copper (see e.g., conductive pad 200 includes a nanotwinned copper with a highly-oriented structure., Para [0029], Figure 2A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of wherein the nanotwin copper member excludes polycrystalline copper in the device of Park to achieve a more robust and uniform conductive structure.
Regarding claim 5, Park, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein at least 80% of a bottom surface of the wire bond is bonded to the nanotwin copper member, the bottom surface of the wire bond facing the nanotwin copper member”.
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
wherein at least 80% of a bottom surface of the wire bond is bonded to the nanotwin copper member, the bottom surface of the wire bond facing the nanotwin copper member (see e.g., the conductive pad has a highly-oriented structure with a crystallographic plane having a maximum ion diffusion rate (or a maximum metal diffusion rate) bonded to the conductive wire. Therefore, the relatively high diffusion rate is advantageous to the diffusion bonding between the conductive wire and the conductive pad, and thus the bonding strength is improved. Moreover, since the bonding surface of the conductive pad has a relatively high diffusion rate to facilitate an excellent diffusion bonding between the conductive pad and the conductive wire. The relatively high diffusion characteristics of the crystallographic plane of nanotwinned copper provides an excellent diffusion bonding interface, such that the bonding interface (e.g., the interface S1/S2) can be up to about 85% of an area of the bonding surface (e.g., the surface 200U/200AU) of the conductive pad, which is advantageous to significantly increasing the bonding strength. As shown in Figure 4B most of the bottom surface of the wire bond 310 is bonded to the nanotwinned copper pad 200, Paras [0087], [0088], [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to ne skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of wherein at least 80% of a bottom surface of the wire bond is bonded to the nanotwin copper member, the bottom surface of the wire bond facing the nanotwin copper member in the device of Park since the bonding structure has excellent electrical performance and heat dissipation ability, and cratering and splash that usually occur when a conductive wire is bonded to a relatively soft aluminum pad can be effectively prevented.
Regarding claim 6, Park, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein the twin boundary is oriented approximately parallel to a horizontal plane in which the semiconductor die lies”.
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
wherein the twin boundary is oriented approximately parallel to a horizontal plane in which the semiconductor die lies (see e.g., as shown in Figure 2A the twin boundary between the nanotwinned crystals is oriented approximately parallel to the horizontal plane of substrate 100 which includes a chip or a die, Para [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of wherein the twin boundary is oriented approximately parallel to a horizontal plane in which the semiconductor die lies in the device of Park in order to yield predictable results of improved electromigration resistance or enhanced mechanical strength at the interface.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2021/0043592 A1; hereafter Park) in view of Lin (US 2024/0038698 A1) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2015/0064496 A1; hereafter Chen).
Regarding claim 7, Park, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein the nanotwin copper member has a minimum thickness of 5 microns and a maximum thickness of 13 microns”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Chen teaches
wherein the nanotwin copper member has a minimum thickness of 5 microns and a maximum thickness of 13 microns (see e.g., the nano-twinned crystal copper may have a thickness preferably of 5-10 microns, Para [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Chen’s teachings of wherein the nanotwin copper member has a minimum thickness of 5 microns and a maximum thickness of 13 microns in the device of Park as this is a matter of routine optimization to improve interfacial bonding.
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2021/0043592 A1; hereafter Park) in view of Lin (US 2024/0038698 A1) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2015/0064496 A1; hereafter Chen).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches a package (see e.g., Figures 1-3 and 8), comprising:
a semiconductor die (see e.g., first semiconductor device 20 mounted on a package substrate 10, Paras [0032], [0041], Figure 1) including a device side having circuitry formed therein (see e.g., the first semiconductor device 20 has a second side 20b facing away from the substrate 10. The first semiconductor device 20 may include a first integrated circuit IC1, conductive pads 120 and redistribution line conductor 130. The first integrated circuit IC1 may be formed inside the first semiconductor device 20 near the second side 20b of the first semiconductor device 20. The conductive pads 120 may be electrically connected to the first integrated circuit IC1. The redistribution line conductors 130 may be respectively arranged on the conductive pads 120, Paras [0037], [0038], [0039], Figures 1 and 2);
a metal member coupled to the device side (see e.g., conductive pads 120 coupled to the second side 20b of the first semiconductor device 20. The conductive pad 120 may include a metal material, such as aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), gold (Au), silver (Ag), or an alloy thereof, having electrical conductivity, Paras [0038], [0049], Figures 1 and 2), the metal member in vertical alignment with the circuitry (see e.g., the conductive pad 120 is in vertical alignment with the underlying circuitry as shown in Figures 1, 2 and 3);
a … copper member coupled to the metal member (see e.g., The redistribution line conductor 130 may be electrically connected to the conductive pad 120. The redistribution line conductor 130 may include a first redistribution line conductor 132 and a second redistribution line conductor 134. The first redistribution line conductor 132 may include a metal, such as titanium (Ti), titanium tungsten (TiW). The second redistribution line conductor 134 may include Cu, Paras [0054], [0056], Figure 3),
a wire bond coupled directly to a surface of the …. copper member; and (see e.g., conductive connector 160 coupled to the top surface of the second redistribution line conductor 134. Conductive connector 160 maybe a bonding wire, Paras [0074], [0078], [0081], Figure 3B),
a mold compound covering the die, the metal member, the … copper member, and the wire bond (see e.g., encapsulation material 170 may encapsulate the first semiconductor device 20, conductive pad 120, redistribution line conductor 130 and the conductive connector 160, Para [0044], Figures 1 and 8).
Park does not explicitly teach
“the nanotwin copper member having a minimum thickness of 5 microns and a maximum thickness of 13 microns”,
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Chen teaches
the nanotwin copper member having a minimum thickness of 5 microns and a maximum thickness of 13 microns (see e.g., the nano-twinned crystal copper may have a thickness preferably of 5-10 microns, Para [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Chen’s teachings of the nanotwin copper member having a minimum thickness of 5 microns and a maximum thickness of 13 microns in the device of Park as this is a matter of routine optimization to improve interfacial bonding.
Park does not explicitly teach
“a nanotwin copper member coupled to the metal member,
the nanotwin copper member comprising a twin boundary oriented approximately parallel to a horizontal plane in which the semiconductor die lies;
a wire bond coupled directly to a surface of the nanotwin copper member; and
a mold compound covering the die, the metal member, the nanotwin copper member, and the wire bond”.
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
a nanotwin copper member coupled to the metal member (see e.g., conductive pad 200 including a nanotwinned copper, disposed over a substrate 100, Para [0029], Figures 1, 1A and 2A),
the substrate includes electronic components such as a die or a chip and it would be obvious the conductive pad 200 would be coupled to a metal contact for electrical connection purposes.
the nanotwin copper member comprising a twin boundary oriented approximately parallel to a horizontal plane in which the semiconductor die lies (see e.g., as shown in Figure 2A the twin boundary between the nanotwinned crystals is oriented approximately parallel to the horizontal plane of substrate 100 which includes a chip or a die, Para [0027]);
a wire bond coupled directly to a surface of the nanotwin copper member; and (see e.g., conductive wire 300 is electrically connected to the conductive pad 200. The conductive wire includes a ball bond 310 and a wire portion 330. The ball bond may directly connect to the conductive pad 200. As shown in Figure 4B the conductive wire 300 contacts multiple regions of the contact pad 200, Paras [0031], [0032], Figures 1A, 4B)
a mold compound covering the die, the metal member, the nanotwin copper member, and the wire bond (see e.g., encapsulant 60 encapsulates an upper surface 101 of the substrate 10, substrate 100, conductive pad 200 and conductive wire 300, Para [0035], Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of a nanotwin copper member coupled to the metal member, the nanotwin copper member comprising a twin boundary oriented approximately parallel to a horizontal plane in which the semiconductor die lies; a wire bond coupled directly to a surface of the nanotwin copper member; and a mold compound covering the die, the metal member, the nanotwin copper member, and the wire bond in the device of Park which represents a predictable variation that replaces conventional copper with a higher-reliability material for improved structural reliability and packaging reliability.
Regarding claim 9, Park, as modified by Lin and Chen, teaches the limitations of claim 8 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein the twin boundary separates a first region having a first grain structure from a second region having a second grain structure”.
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
wherein the twin boundary separates a first region having a first grain structure from a second region having a second grain structure (see e.g., The nanotwinned crystal structure includes a plurality of grains each including a plurality of nanotwinned crystals (or “nanotwins”, “nanotwinned layers”, or “multi-layers”) stacked in the common crystallographic plane. The nanotwins (or the nanotwinned layers) area stacked in a direction from the substrate 100 toward the ball bond 310 (or the end portion). As shown in Figure 2A these nanotwinned crystals are separated from each other by twin boundary, Para [0029], Figure 2A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of wherein the twin boundary separates a first region having a first grain structure from a second region having a second grain structure in the device of Park to improve reliability of the copper-based interconnection of Park using known techniques of nanotwinned structures.
Regarding claim 10, Park, as modified by Lin and Chen, teaches the limitations of claim 9 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein the wire bond contacts multiple regions of the nanotwin copper member, each of the multiple regions having differing grain structures”.
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
wherein the wire bond contacts multiple regions of the nanotwin copper member, each of the multiple regions having differing grain structures (see e.g., conductive wire 300 is electrically connected to the conductive pad 200. The conductive wire includes a ball bond 310 and a wire portion 330. The ball bond may directly connect to the conductive pad 200. As shown in Figure 4B the conductive wire 300 contacts multiple crystal grains e.g., 2001A, 2002A, 2003A etc. of the contact pad 200, Paras [0031], [0032], Figures 1A, 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of wherein the wire bond contacts multiple regions of the nanotwin copper member, each of the multiple regions having differing grain structures in the device of Park in order to form reliable interconnects.
Regarding claim 11, Park, as modified by Lin and Chen, teaches the limitations of claim 8 as mentioned above. Park further teaches
wherein the package does not include a nickel layer in a same metal stack as the nanotwin copper member (see e.g., redistribution line conductor 130 includes first redistribution line conductor 132 which includes metals such as titanium or titanium tungsten and second redistribution line conductor 134 may include copper, Para [0057]).
Regarding claim 12, Park, as modified by Lin and Chen, teaches the limitations of claim 8 as mentioned above. Park further teaches
wherein the package does not include a palladium layer in a same metal stack as the nanotwin copper member (see e.g., redistribution line conductor 130 includes first redistribution line conductor 132 which includes metals such as titanium or titanium tungsten and second redistribution line conductor 134 may include copper, Para [0057]).
Regarding claim 13, Park, as modified by Lin and Chen, teaches the limitations of claim 8 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein the nanotwin copper member excludes polycrystalline copper”.
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
wherein the nanotwin copper member excludes polycrystalline copper (see e.g., conductive pad 200 includes a nanotwinned copper with a highly-oriented structure., Para [0029], Figure 2A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of wherein the nanotwin copper member excludes polycrystalline copper in the device of Park to achieve a more robust and uniform conductive structure.
Regarding claim 14, Park, as modified by Lin and Chen, teaches the limitations of claim 8 as mentioned above. Park does not explicitly teach
“wherein at least 80% of a bottom surface of the wire bond is bonded to the nanotwin copper member, the bottom surface of the wire bond facing the nanotwin copper member”.
In a similar field of endeavor Lin teaches
wherein at least 80% of a bottom surface of the wire bond is bonded to the nanotwin copper member, the bottom surface of the wire bond facing the nanotwin copper member (see e.g., the conductive pad has a highly-oriented structure with a crystallographic plane having a maximum ion diffusion rate (or a maximum metal diffusion rate) bonded to the conductive wire. Therefore, the relatively high diffusion rate is advantageous to the diffusion bonding between the conductive wire and the conductive pad, and thus the bonding strength is improved. Moreover, since the bonding surface of the conductive pad has a relatively high diffusion rate to facilitate an excellent diffusion bonding between the conductive pad and the conductive wire. The relatively high diffusion characteristics of the crystallographic plane of nanotwinned copper provides an excellent diffusion bonding interface, such that the bonding interface (e.g., the interface S1/S2) can be up to about 85% of an area of the bonding surface (e.g., the surface 200U/200AU) of the conductive pad, which is advantageous to significantly increasing the bonding strength. As shown in Figure 4B most of the bottom surface of the wire bond 310 is bonded to the nanotwinned copper pad 200, Paras [0087], [0088], [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to ne skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lin’s teachings of wherein at least 80% of a bottom surface of the wire bond is bonded to the nanotwin copper member, the bottom surface of the wire bond facing the nanotwin copper member in the device of Park since the bonding structure has excellent electrical performance and heat dissipation ability, and cratering and splash that usually occur when a conductive wire is bonded to a relatively soft aluminum pad can be effectively prevented.
Conclusion
a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more
information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at
866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FAKEHA SEHAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893