DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 3/2/26 is acknowledged. Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
Number of figures submitted does not match the number of figures listed under Brief Description of Drawings in the specification. All of the figures with alphabets should be listed separately. For example, ‘Figs. 1A-1C’ should be ‘Figs. 1A, 1B and 1C’.
In particular, ‘FIGS. 3A1-3K3’ in the paragraph [0008] are objected.
See MPEP 500 - Receipt and Handling of Mail and Papers, MPEP 507 - Drawing Review in the Office of Patent Application Processing (OPAP). This labeling convention ensures clarity and consistency in referencing figures throughout the patent application and publication. Improper labeling may result in an objection from OPAP and require correction.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the term “density ranging from 20% to 40%” is indefinite. The claim does not specify whether the density refers to area density, volume density, or another measure, and therefore the scope of the claim cannot be reasonably determined. Examiner recommends amending the limitations as “the group of dielectric members occupy 20% to 40% of an area of the first metal member in a horizontal cross-section.”
Regarding claim 9, the term “approximately flush” is a term of degree without an objective boundary for determining the scope of the claim. The claim 10 later recites: “do not dip more than 2.88 microns”. But that limitation appears only in claim 10, not the claim 9. Therefore, the claim 9 itself lacks definiteness. Examiner recommends amending the limitations as: “substantially flush”.
Therefore, the examiner recommends amending the claim 9 as:
“9. A package, comprising:a semiconductor die including a device side having circuitry formed therein;
a bond pad on the device side of the die and having a top surface facing away from the die, the bond pad including a group of polyimide members extending vertically through a thickness of the bond pad, wherein a ratio of a total cross-sectional area of the polyimide members to a cross-sectional area of the bond pad in a horizontal plane ranges from 20% to 40%, each polyimide member in the group of polyimide members having a top surface substantially flush with the top surface of the bond pad, each polyimide member having a maximum horizontal width ranging from 10.42 microns to 16.18 microns;
solder paste contacting the top surfaces of the polyimide members and the top surface of the bond pad;
a clip coupled to the solder paste and to a conductive terminal exposed to an exterior of the package; and
a mold compound covering the die, the bond pad, the solder paste, and the clip.”
Regarding claims 10-11, because of their dependency on claim 9, these claims are also objected for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho (US 20230395553) in view of Kikuchi (US 20090315190).
Regarding claim 1. Fig 1D (a portion view of Fig 1L), Fig 1E (a portion view of Fig 1L) and Fig 1L of Ho disclose A package, comprising:
a semiconductor die 14 [0037] including a device side (Fig 1L: top side) having circuitry formed therein (Fig 1L: Ho discloses ‘electrode pad’ (first metal member) on top surface of semiconductor die. in standard semiconductor manufacturing, when electrode pad is formed on a semiconductor die, active circuitry is essentially located on the top side (or active surface) of the die because electrode pad is designed to connect the internal circuitry to the outside world, and typically constructed from the top metal layers. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Ho discloses ‘circuitry formed therein’);
a first metal member 12 ([0035]: electrode pad) on the device side of the die and having a top surface ([0040]: the opening area of 130) facing away from the die (Fig 1L),
the first metal member including a dielectric member 13 [0035], the dielectric member extending at least partially through a thickness of the first metal member (Fig 1E: the conductive member includes dielectric member 13 associated with the first metal member 12. The dielectric member extends at least partially through the thickness of the first metal member);
solder material 17 [0040] contacting the top surface of the first metal member and top surfaces of the dielectric member (Fig 1L); and
a second metal member 18 [0042] coupled to the solder material and to a conductive terminal of the package, the conductive terminal exposed to an exterior of the package (Fig 1L: refer the portion of 18 exposed to the package 19).
However, Ho does not explicitly disclose a group of dielectric members. Ho instead illustrates a structure including a single dielectric member associated with the metal member.
However, Fig 30 of Kikuchi discloses a semiconductor interconnection structure including a conductive member having a plurality of dielectric members extending through the conductive member. In particular, Kikuchi discloses in Fig. 30 conductive member 17/18 in which a plurality of dielectric members 19 are embedded within the conductive member. Each dielectric member 19 extends through the thickness of the conductive member, thereby forming a group of dielectric members distributed within the conductive member. Kikuchi further teaches a conductive paste disposed on the conductive member. Specifically, Kikuchi discloses conductive paste 31 contacting the top surface of the conductive member and also contacting the top surfaces of dielectric members 19 embedded in the conductive member (Fig 30, [0338]). Kikuchi further discloses that the conductive paste may comprise Ag paste. Ag paste is a well-known electrically conductive bonding material widely used in semiconductor packaging to form electrical connections between conductive members. Such conductive paste performs the same function as solder paste, namely providing an electrically conductive bonding medium between metallic structures. Accordingly, the Ag paste disclosed by Kikuchi corresponds to the claimed solder paste or conductive paste contacting both the conductive member and the dielectric members.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conductive member of Ho to include a plurality of dielectric members extending through the conductive member as taught by Kikuchi. Kikuchi demonstrates that embedding multiple dielectric members within a conductive member allows conductive paste to be formed across both the metal surface and the dielectric members and provides a stable interconnection structure. Incorporating Kikuchi’s plurality of dielectric members into the conductive member of Ho would merely involve forming multiple dielectric members within the conductive member rather than a single dielectric member, which represents a predictable use of known semiconductor interconnect structures to obtain predictable results, including improved structural support and controlled distribution of conductive bonding material. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that implementing multiple dielectric members within the conductive member of Ho would provide a similar structure capable of supporting conductive paste across both metal and dielectric regions, as demonstrated by Kikuchi. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Ho by incorporating the plurality of dielectric members extending through the conductive member as taught by Kikuchi and to form conductive paste contacting both the top surface of the conductive member and the top surfaces of the dielectric members. The resulting structure would meet the limitations of claim 1. Accordingly, claim 1 is unpatentable over Ho in view of Kikuchi.
Regarding claim 2. Ho in view of Kikuchi discloses The package of claim 1. But Ho in view of Kikuchi does not explicitly disclose wherein the group of dielectric members in the first metal member has a density ranging from 20% to 40%.
However, the density of dielectric members within a conductive member represents a result-effective variable because the number and spacing of dielectric members directly affect known design considerations such as mechanical support of the conductive member, distribution of bonding material, and electrical performance of the interconnect structure. Once Kikuchi teaches providing a plurality of dielectric members embedded in the conductive member, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select an appropriate density of dielectric members within the conductive member through routine design optimization depending on desired structural strength and bonding characteristics. Determining a suitable density would have involved no more than routine experimentation, since the density can be readily controlled by adjusting the number and spacing of dielectric members during fabrication of the conductive member. The claimed density range of 20% to 40% therefore represents a predictable variation of a known structural parameter. Applicant has not provided evidence that the claimed range is critical or produces unexpected results relative to other densities that would have been obtainable through routine optimization. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the package structure of Ho in view of the dielectric member configuration taught by Kikuchi to include a plurality of dielectric members having a density within the claimed range as a matter of routine optimization. Therefore, claim 2 is unpatentable over Ho in view of Kikuchi.
Regarding claim 3. Ho in view of Kikuchi discloses The package of claim 1, Ho discloses wherein the dielectric members comprise polyimide [0035].
Regarding claim 4. Ho in view of Kikuchi discloses The package of claim 1, Ho discloses wherein the top surface of the first metal member lacks any dielectric material (Fig 1E: the opening area lacks any dielectric material).
Regarding claim 5. Ho in view of Kikuchi discloses The package of claim 1, Ho discloses wherein the top surfaces of the dielectric members do not dip more than 2.88 microns below the top surface of the first metal member (Fig 1E: 13 is located on top of 12. Thus, ‘not dip more than 2.88 microns below the top surface’; further Fig 30 of Kikuchi discloses the claimed feature).
Regarding claim 6. Ho in view of Kikuchi discloses The package of claim 1, Ho discloses wherein the dielectric members of the group of dielectric members extend completely through the thickness of the first metal member (Fig 1E; further Fig 30 of Kikuchi discloses the dielectric members of the group of dielectric members extend completely through the thickness of the first metal member).
Regarding claim 7. Ho in view of Kikuchi discloses The package of claim 1, Ho discloses wherein the second metal member is a clip (Ho discloses 18 is like a fish skeleton shape pin. In the applicant’s field of endeavor, a pin or conductive structure in a semiconductor package that has a fish-skeleton (or fishbone) shape is often referred to as a clip).
Regarding claim 8. Ho in view of Kikuchi discloses The package of claim 1. But Ho in view of Kikuchi does not explicitly disclose wherein each dielectric member in the group of dielectric members has horizontal cross-sectional dimensions ranging from 10.42 microns to 16.18 microns.
However, the lateral size of dielectric members embedded within a conductive member is a design choice that depends on process capabilities, electrical performance considerations, and mechanical support requirements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select appropriate lateral dimensions for the dielectric members through routine design optimization in order to achieve suitable structural support and electrical characteristics. Determining suitable cross-sectional dimensions for the dielectric members would have involved routine experimentation and optimization of known process parameters. The claimed dimensional range therefore represents a predictable variation of a known structural feature, and the applicant has not provided evidence that the specific range of 10.42 microns to 16.18 microns is critical or produces unexpected results.
Regarding claim 9. Fig 1D (a portion view of Fig 1L), Fig 1E (a portion view of Fig 1L) and Fig 1L of Ho disclose A package, comprising:
a semiconductor die 14 [0037] including a device side (Fig 1L: top side) having circuitry formed therein (Fig 1L: Ho discloses ‘electrode pad’ on top surface of semiconductor die. in standard semiconductor manufacturing, when electrode pad is formed on a semiconductor die, active circuitry is essentially located on the top side (or active surface) of the die because electrode pad is designed to connect the internal circuitry to the outside world, and typically constructed from the top metal layers. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Ho discloses ‘circuitry formed therein’);
a bond pad 12/13 [0035] on the device side of the die and having a top surface facing away from the die (Fig 1L), the bond pad including a polyimide member extending vertically through a thickness of the die (Fig 1E: dielectric member 13 associated with the electrode pad 12. The dielectric member extends at least partially through the thickness of the electrode pad),
solder paste 17 contacting the top surfaces of the polyimide member and the top surface of the bond pad (Fig 1L);
a clip 18 (Ho discloses 18 is like a fish skeleton shape pin. In the applicant’s field of endeavor, a pin or conductive structure in a semiconductor package that has a fish-skeleton (or fishbone) shape is often referred to as a clip) coupled to the solder paste and to a conductive terminal (the terminal portion of 18 outside of 19) exposed to an exterior of the package (Fig 1L); and
a mold compound 19 [0043] covering the die, the bond pad, the solder paste, and the clip (Fig 1L).
However, Ho does not explicitly disclose a group of polyimide members. Ho instead illustrates a structure including a single polyimide member.
However, Fig 30 of Kikuchi discloses a semiconductor interconnection structure including a conductive member having a plurality of dielectric members extending through the conductive member. In particular, Kikuchi discloses in Fig. 30 conductive member 17/18 in which a plurality of polyimide members 19 [0065] are embedded within the conductive member. Each polyimide member 19 extends through the thickness of the conductive member, thereby forming a group of polyimide members distributed within the conductive member. Kikuchi further teaches a conductive paste disposed on the conductive member. Specifically, Kikuchi discloses paste 31 ([0338]: Ag paste) contacting the top surface of the conductive member and also contacting the top surfaces of polyimide members 19 embedded in the conductive member (Fig 30, [0338]); Kikuchi further disclose each polyimide member in the group of polyimide members having a top surface that is approximately flush with the top surface of the bond pad (Fig 30). Furthermore, Kikuchi discloses that the conductive paste may comprise Ag paste. Ag paste is a well-known electrically conductive bonding material widely used in semiconductor packaging to form electrical connections between conductive members. Such conductive paste performs the same function as solder paste, namely providing an electrically conductive bonding medium between metallic structures. Accordingly, the Ag paste disclosed by Kikuchi corresponds to the claimed solder paste or conductive paste contacting both the conductive member and the polyimide members.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conductive member of Ho to include a plurality of dielectric members extending through the conductive member as taught by Kikuchi. Kikuchi demonstrates that embedding multiple polyimide members within a conductive member allows conductive paste to be formed across both the metal surface and the polyimide members and provides a stable interconnection structure. Incorporating Kikuchi’s plurality of polyimide members into the conductive member of Ho would merely involve forming multiple polyimide members within the conductive member rather than a single dielectric member, which represents a predictable use of known semiconductor interconnect structures to obtain predictable results, including improved structural support and controlled distribution of conductive bonding material. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that implementing multiple polyimide members within the conductive member of Ho would provide a similar structure capable of supporting conductive paste across both metal and polyimide regions, as demonstrated by Kikuchi. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Ho by incorporating the plurality of polyimide members extending through the conductive member as taught by Kikuchi and to form conductive paste contacting both the top surface of the conductive member and the top surfaces of the polyimide members. The resulting structure would meet the limitations of claim 9.
But Ho in view of Kikuchi does not explicitly disclose the group of polyimide members having a density ranging from 20% to 40%.
However, the density of polyimide members within a conductive member represents a result-effective variable because the number and spacing of polyimide members directly affect known design considerations such as mechanical support of the conductive member, distribution of bonding material, and electrical performance of the interconnect structure. Once Kikuchi teaches providing a plurality of polyimide members embedded in the conductive member, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select an appropriate density of dielectric members within the conductive member through routine design optimization depending on desired structural strength and bonding characteristics. Determining a suitable density would have involved no more than routine experimentation, since the density can be readily controlled by adjusting the number and spacing of polyimide members during fabrication of the conductive member. The claimed density range of 20% to 40% therefore represents a predictable variation of a known structural parameter. Applicant has not provided evidence that the claimed range is critical or produces unexpected results relative to other densities that would have been obtainable through routine optimization. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the package structure of Ho in view of the polyimide member configuration taught by Kikuchi to include a plurality of polyimide members having a density within the claimed range as a matter of routine optimization.
Further, Ho in view of Kikuchi does not explicitly disclose each polyimide member in the group of polyimide members having horizontal cross-sectional dimensions ranging from 10.42 microns to 16.18 microns.
However, the lateral size of polyimide members embedded within a conductive member is a design choice that depends on process capabilities, electrical performance considerations, and mechanical support requirements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select appropriate lateral dimensions for the polyimide members through routine design optimization in order to achieve suitable structural support and electrical characteristics. Determining suitable cross-sectional dimensions for the polyimide members would have involved routine experimentation and optimization of known process parameters. The claimed dimensional range therefore represents a predictable variation of a known structural feature, and the applicant has not provided evidence that the specific range of 10.42 microns to 16.18 microns is critical or produces unexpected results.
Regarding claim 10. Ho in view of Kikuchi discloses The package of claim 9, Ho discloses wherein the top surfaces of the polyimide members do not dip more than 2.88 microns below the top surface of the bond pad (Fig 1E: 13 is located on top of 12. Thus, ‘not dip more than 2.88 microns below the top surface’; further Fig 30 of Kikuchi discloses the claimed feature).
Regarding claim 11. Ho in view of Kikuchi discloses The package of claim 9, Ho discloses wherein the group of polyimide members extend completely through the thickness of the die (Fig 1E; further Fig 30 of Kikuchi discloses the dielectric members of the group of dielectric members extend completely through the thickness of the first metal member).
Conclusion
/Changhyun Yi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812