Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/31/23 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomitani et al (JP 2015097400; “Tomitani”).
Regarding claim 1, Tomitani discloses in figures 3-5 a measuring device comprising: a spindle (3) provided to be movable reciprocatively in an axial direction through a housing part (2), wherein the housing part (2) includes a bearing part (52b) configured to guide the spindle (3) to move linearly, and the bearing part (52b) is a ball bearing (stroke bearing ball).
Regarding claim 2, Tomitani discloses in figures 3-5 a bearing cylinder part (5) provided to protrude from a side face (bottom) of the housing part (2) and including a cylindrical hole (53a) through which the spindle (3) is inserted, wherein the ball bearing (52b) is provided between an inner surface of the bearing cylinder part (5) and an outer surface of the spindle (3).
Regarding claim 4, Tomitani discloses in figures 3-5 and corresponding text, a measuring method for measuring a workpiece (W) using a measuring device (1) including a spindle (3) provided to be movable reciprocatively in an axial direction through a housing part (2), wherein the housing part (2) includes a bearing part (52b) configured to guide the spindle (3) to move linearly, and the bearing part (52b) is a ball bearing the method comprising: relatively moving the workpiece (W) and the measuring device (1) while a contact point (31) at a tip of the spindle (3) is in contact with a surface of the workpiece (W), and performing continuous scanning measurement to measure irregularities of the surface (not labeled) of the workpiece (W).
Regarding claim 6, Tomitani discloses in figures 3-5 and corresponding text the measuring device (1) further includes a bearing cylinder part (5) provided to protrude from a side face (bottom side) of the housing part (2) and including a cylindrical hole (53a) through which the spindle (3) is inserted, wherein the ball bearing (52b) is provided between an inner surface of the bearing cylinder part (5) and an outer surface of the spindle (3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomitani in view of Hayashida (JP 2021071376; “Hayashida”).
Regarding claim 3, Tomitani is silent to a lever-type contact point to be attachable to a tip of the spindle and including a contact point at a tip of a lever part extending in a direction intersecting an axis of the spindle.
However, Hayashida discloses that a lever-type contact point (200) can be attached to a tip of the spindle (270) including a contact point (240). And that this head portion (200) connects to a universal test indicator (100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to construct Tomitani’s test indicator by including Hayashida’s lever-type contact point on the end of the spindle, to allow for more angles to be measured, making the overall device more robust.
Regarding claim 5, Tomitani discloses in figures 3-5 a method for measuring a workpiece (W) using a measuring device (1) including a spindle (3) provided to be movable reciprocatively in an axial direction through a housing part (2), wherein the housing part includes a bearing part (52b) configured to guide the spindle (3) to move linearly, and the bearing part (52b) is a ball bearing, the method comprising: relatively moving the workpiece (W) and the measuring device (1) while the contact point (31) is in contact with a surface of the workpiece (W), and performing continuous scanning measurement to measure irregularities of the surface of the workpiece (W).
Tomitani is silent to a contact point to be attachable to a tip of the spindle and including a contact point at a tip of a lever part extending in a direction intersecting an axis of the spindle.
However, Hayashida discloses that a lever-type contact point (200) can be attached to a tip of the spindle (270) including a contact point (240). And that this head portion (200) connects to a universal test indicator (100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to construct Tomitani’s test indicator by including Hayashida’s lever-type contact point on the end of the spindle, to allow for more angles to be measured, making the overall device more robust.
Conclusion
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855