Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 and 11-13 in the reply filed on May 4, 2026 is acknowledged. The examiner notes that claims 10 and 14-20 have been cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS)s submitted on October 31, 2023 and January 22, 2024 were filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “wherein in a top view, the second edge of the flexible material layer is a concave-convex edge, on page 29 lines 1-2. This limitation renders claim 12 indefinite because this limitation recites a structure for the second edge of the flexible material layer that contradicts the structure of the second edge of the flexible material recited by claim 1. The examiner notes that a concave-convex edge will not be flush with another edge because the concave-convex edge cannot be arranged with another edge such that there is not indentation because the concave-convex edge contains indentations. For examination purposes, claim 12 will treated as requiring the concave-convex edge structure recited in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin et al. (US 2022/0199590) in view of Zeng (CN 114566495A). The examiner notes the US 2024/0113255 is being treated as an English language translation of Zeng and that the citations to paragraphs of Zeng refer to paragraphs in US 2024/0113255.
Regarding Claim 1:
Xin discloses a micro light-emitting diode pixel structure, comprising:
micro light-emitting diode chips (first LED chip, second LED chip, third LED chip, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 100-L1, 100-L2, 100-L3 and paragraph 30) arranged, wherein each of the micro light-emitting diode chips includes an electrode surface (electrode surface, See fig. 4, ref. no. S23 and paragraph 36) and a light-emitting surface (light-exiting surface, See fig. 4, ref. no. S21 and paragraph 30);
redistribution layers (wires in first wiring layer together with vias in via layer, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 310, 320, fig. 7, ref. no. 310, fig. 8, ref. nos. 320, 320A, paragraphs 32 and 44-45) arranged under the electrode surfaces of the micro light-emitting diode chips and electrically connected to the micro light-emitting diode chips respectively (See fig. 7, ref. nos. 100-L1, 100-L2, 100-L3, 311a, 312a, 3313a, 314a, and paragraphs 44-45);
bonding pads (connecting portions serving as for welding pads for external connections, See figs. 2, 10, ref. no. 330, fig. 11, ref. nos. 331a, 331b, 332a, 332b, 33c, 333d, 334a, 334d, and paragraph 48. The examiner notes that the connecting portions serving as welding pads are shown in the second wiring layer in figures 2 and 10.) disposed under the redistribution layers;
an insulating layer (second insulating layer, See fig. 2, ref.no. 520 and paragraph 49)) disposed between the redistribution layers and the bonding pads, wherein the redistribution layers pass through the insulating layer to electrically connect to the bonding pads (the vias of the via layer pass through the second insulating layer to electrically connect to the welding pads, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 320, 330, 520);
a material layer (light-transmitting layer, See fig. 2, ref. no. 400 and paragraph 40) disposed on the insulating layer to cover the micro light-emitting diode chips, the redistribution layers and the insulating layer; and
a first hard mask pattern (the third insulating layer having a hardness not less the first wiring layer, See figs. 2, ref. no. 530, paragraphs 32, 43, 46. The examiner notes that Xin discloses the first insulation layer has a hardness that is not less than a hardness of the first wiring layer and that the third insulating layer may be made of the same material as the first insulation layer. Thus, Xin discloses the third insulating layer has a hardness that is not less than a hardness of the first wiring layer.) disposed under or above the flexible material layer;
wherein, in a cross-sectional view, the first hard mask pattern has a first edge (left outside edge of the third insulating layer, See fig. 2, ref. no. 530) and the material layer has a second edge (left outside edge of the light transmitting layer, See fig. 2, ref. no. 400), and the first edge is flush with the second edge (the outside edges of third insulating layer are flush with the outside edge of the light transmitting layer, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 400, 530).
Xin does not disclose the material layer is a flexible material.
Zeng discloses a protective layer with high light-transmittance formed polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA) or polystyrene (PS) (See fig. 2, ref. no. 30 and paragraph 55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the micro light-emitting diode pixel structure of Xin to include using polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), polystyrene (PS) for the light-transmitting layer as taught by Zeng since it has been held that the selection of a known material on the basis of its suitability for its intended use is a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (The examiner notes that polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), polystyrene (PS) are described in paragraph 23 of the specification as examples of a flexible material.)
Regarding Claim 2:
Xin discloses wherein a bottom surface of the first hard mask pattern is flush with a bottom surface of each of the bonding pads (a bottom surface of the third insulating layer is flush with a bottom surface of the welding pads, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 330, 530).
Regarding Claim 3:
Xin discloses wherein a bottom surface of the first hard mask pattern and a bottom surface of each of the bonding pads collectively form a bottom surface of the micro light-emitting diode pixel structure (a bottom surface of the third insulating layer and a bottom surface of the welding pads collectively form a bottom surface of the light-emitting diode packaging module, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 330, 530, 1000).
Regarding Claim 6:
Xin discloses wherein the insulating layer has a third edge (the interior edge surrounding the right via in the via layer is located closer to the LED chips 100-L1, 100-L2, 100-L3 than left outside of the third insulating layer, See fig. 2, ref. no. 100-L1, 100-L2, 100-L3, 320, 520) located closer to the micro light-emitting diode chips than the first edge of the first hard mask pattern.
Regarding Claim 7:
Xin discloses a material of the first hard mask pattern is different from a material of the insulating layer (the second insulating layer and the third insulating layer maybe made of a different materials, See paragraph 49).
Regarding Claim 11:
Xin discloses wherein a top-view shape of the micro light-emitting diode pixel structure comprises a polygon (the light emitting diode packing module has a rectangular shape, See fig. 1, ref. no. 1000), a circle or an ellipse.
Regarding Claim 13:
Xin discloses wherein a vertical orthographic projection of the first hard mask pattern encompasses a vertical orthographic projection of the bonding pads (the third insulating layer has a vertical orthographic projection that encompasses a vertical orthographic projection of the welding pads, See fig. 2 ref. nos. 330, 530, fig. 11, ref. nos. 331a, 331b, 332a, 332b, 33c, 333d, 334a, 334d).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin et al. (US 2022/0199590) in view of Zeng (CN 114566495A) further in view Kim (US 2021/0159466).
Regarding Claim 4:
The above stated combination of Xin and Zeng discloses the above stated micro light-emitting diode pixel structure.
The above stated combination of Xin and Zeng does not disclose a second hard mask pattern disposed at a side of the flexible material layer opposite to the first hard mark pattern.
Kim discloses a second hard mask pattern (second hard mark formed on light transmitting material, See figs. 22-23, ref. no. HM2 and paragraphs 224-225) disposed at a side of the flexible material layer opposite to the first hard mark pattern (The examiner also notes Kim discloses the second hard mark pattern may be transparent and may not be removed. See paragraph 225).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the micro light-emitting diode pixel structure of Xin and Zeng to include a second hard mask pattern disposed at a side of the flexible material layer opposite to the first hard mark pattern as taught by Kim in order to protect the light-transmitting layer during manufacturing of the micro light-emitting diode pixel structure.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin et al. (US 2022/0199590) in view of Zeng (CN 114566495A) further in view Han et al. (US 2018/0277485).
Regarding Claim 5:
The above stated combination of Xin and Zeng discloses the above stated micro light-emitting diode pixel structure.
The above state combination of Xin and Zeng does not disclose wherein the insulating layer surrounds the bonding pad.
Han discloses under bump metallization structures that is surrounded by two dielectric materials, a second dielectric layer and an encapsulating material (See fig. 2I, ref. no. 21c, 21e, 27 paragraphs 52-53 and 76).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the micro light-emitting diode pixel structure of Xin and Zeng to include under bump metallization structures that is surrounded by the second insulating layer and the third insulating layer as taught by Han in order to provide better containment of solder for soldering the micro light-emitting diode pixel structure to a printed circuit board.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin et al. (US 2022/0199590) in view of Zeng (CN 114566495A) further in view Chou et al. (US 2014/0377899).
Regarding Claim 8:
The above stated combination of Xin and Zeng discloses the above stated micro light-emitting diode pixel structure.
The above state combination of Xin and Zeng does not disclose wherein the first hard mask pattern comprises silicon dioxide.
Chou discloses in manufacturing light emitting diode chips silicon dioxide can be used as a hard mark pattern (See paragraphs 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the micro light-emitting diode pixel structure of Xin and Zeng to include using silicon dioxide as the third insulating layer as taught by Chou in order to prevent damage to the micro light-emitting diode pixel structure during manufacturing. (See Chou paragraph 5.)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin et al. (US 2022/0199590) in view of Zeng (CN 114566495A) further in view Wegleiter et al. (US 5,972,781).
Regarding Claim 9:
The above stated combination of Xin and Zeng discloses the above stated micro light-emitting diode pixel structure.
The above state combination of Xin and Zeng does not disclose wherein an etching selectivity ratio of the first hard mask pattern to flexible material layer is between 1:10 and 1:1000.
Wegleiter discloses an etching selectivity ratio of materials from which light emitting diodes are to be produced to a mask layer of at least 10 (See fig. 3, ref. no. 1, 8, col. 5 lines 45-48 and col. 7 lines 29-62. The examiner notes stating the etching selectivity ratio as the mask layer to materials from which light emitting diodes are to be produced will produce a ratio of 1:at least 10.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the micro light-emitting diode pixel structure of Xin and Zeng to include an etching selectivity ratio of the third insulating layer to the light transmitting layer of 1:at least 10 as taught by Wegleiter so that the third insulating layer is not removed when the micro light-emitting diode pixel structure is separated from other micro light-emitting diode pixel structures. The examiner also notes where the claimed range overlaps or lies inside a range disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin et al. (US 2022/0199590) in view of Zeng (CN 114566495A) further in view Chang et al. (US 2017/0205555).
Regarding Claim 12:
The above stated combination of Xin and Zeng discloses the above stated micro light-emitting diode pixel structure.
The above state combination of Xin and Zeng does not disclose wherein in a top view, the second edge of the flexible material layer is a concave-convex edge.
Chang discloses a light guide plate having a surface with a concave-convex structure (See fig. 3, ref. nos. 110, 116a, 117 and paragraph 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the micro light-emitting diode pixel structure of Xin and Zeng to include the light-transmitting layer having a concave-convex as taught by Chang to prevent formation of a light and dark contrast in a specific region. (See Chang paragraph 31.)
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/B.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2899