DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 02/17/2026 is acknowledged. Furthermore, applicant’s amendment to claim 21 to depend from claim 1 is acknowledged. Thus, the subject matter of claims 21-23 overlaps with the subject matter of claim 1 and invention I and are not mutually exclusive. Therefore, claims 1-23 will be examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
(claim 9, line 5) “the planter assembly” should be changed to “the furrow opener assembly”.
(claim 15, line 2) “a tool bar” should be changed to “the tool bar”, since this limitation was already recited in claim 14.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an adjustable biasing member” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Winterton (US 5,461,995).
As concerns claim 9, Winterton shows a trailing assembly of an agricultural planter (10), comprising: a first parallel linkage (16) configured to secure a furrow opener assembly (17, 21) behind a tool bar (15) of the agricultural planter (Fig. 1); and a second parallel linkage (36) configured to secure a row cleaner wheel (25, 26) in front of the furrow opener assembly (Fig. 1).
As concerns claim 10, Winterton shows a row cleaner assembly, including: a support frame (44) having a first end attachable to the tool bar and a second end opposite the first end (Fig. 1); the second parallel linkage secured to the support frame at or near the second end (Fig. 1); and a row cleaner arm (35) secured to the support frame via the second parallel linkage (Fig. 1).
As concerns claim 11, Winterton shows wherein the row cleaner arm is configured to rotatably attach to the row cleaner wheel (Fig. 1).
As concerns claim 13, Winterton shows wherein the second parallel linkage is secured (indirectly via arm 44 & component 12) to the furrow opener assembly (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winterton alone.
As concerns claim 12, Winterton shows wherein the furrow opener assembly includes a furrow opener wheel (21). Winterton discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the row cleaner arm is configured to rotatably attach to a depth control wheel. It has been held that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaffert et al. (US 2021/0161063) and further in view of Winterton (US 5,461,995).
As concerns claim 14, Schaffert shows a trailing assembly (100), comprising: a first frame (210) attachable to a tool bar (75) of an agricultural planter (70) via a first parallel linkage (220); and a second frame (310) attachable to the first frame via a second parallel linkage (320), wherein the second frame is configured to trail behind the first frame (Fig. 2). Schaffert discloses the claimed invention except for a third frame attachable to the trailing assembly via a third parallel linkage, wherein the third frame is configured to lead ahead of the first frame. Winterton teaches a third frame (35) attachable to a trailing assembly (Fig. 1) via a third parallel linkage (36), wherein the third frame is configured to lead ahead of a first frame (17) attachable to a tool bar (15) of an agricultural planter (10). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Schaffert, as taught by Winterton, to include a third frame having a row cleaner implement in front of the first frame for the expected benefit of clearing the row line in front of the planter assembly to allow precise depth control. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using a third frame having a row cleaner implement in front of the first frame would have provided predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the expected result of this configuration improves versatility/adaptability/efficiency of the trailing assembly design.
As concerns claim 15, the combination teaches wherein the third frame is attachable to the tool bar (Winterton: 15) of the trailing assembly (Winterton: Fig. 1).
As concerns claim 16, the combination teaches wherein: the trailing assembly further includes a support frame (Winterton: 44) attachable to the tool bar; and the third parallel linkage is configured to attach the third frame to the support frame (Winterton: Fig. 1).
As concerns claim 17, the combination teaches wherein the third frame is attachable (Winterton: indirectly via arm 44 & component 12) to the first frame via the third parallel linkage (Winterton: Fig. 1).
As concerns claim 18, Schaffert shows a furrow opener assembly (200) secured to the first frame (Fig. 2 & 3).
As concerns claim 19, Schaffert shows the furrow opener assembly including a furrow opener disc (260).
As concerns claim 20, Schaffert shows a closer assembly (300) secured to the second frame (Fig. 2 & 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 and 21-23 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not appear to anticipate and/or render obvious a row cleaner assembly for an agricultural planter having a tool bar, the row cleaner assembly comprising: a support frame having a first end attachable to the tool bar and a second end opposite the first end; a parallel linkage secured to the support frame at or near the second end; a row cleaner arm secured to the support frame via the parallel linkage; and a support arm extending rearward from the support frame between the first end and the second end, the support arm configured to fix the support frame to a furrow opener assembly secured to the tool bar and disposed behind the row cleaner assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bassett (US 9,107,337) and Winterton (US 5,341,754) each show a planter having a row cleaner assembly.
/MATTHEW R BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672