DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-17,19,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leibiger US 2008/0164506 in view of Hu et al., (Hu) US 2021/0028316 and Nakamura US 2016/0260703.
Regarding claim 1, Leibiger discloses and shows in FIG. 9, an integrated circuit, comprising: a N-type well (48)[0034] extending into a semiconductor substrate having a top surface; a P-type well (120)[0046] extending into the semiconductor substrate (12); a plurality of trenches (28,112)[0037] extending into the semiconductor substrate (12), the trenches filled with a conductive trench-fill material, a first subset of the trenches (28) located in the N-type well (48) and a second subset (112) of the trenches located in the P-type well (120).
Leibiger differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device a first capacitor terminal that connects to the conductive trench-fill material in the first subset of trenches and the conductive trench-fill material in the second subset of trenches; and a second capacitor terminal that connects to the N-type well and to the P-type well; an epitaxial layer between the N-type well and the P-well.
Hu shows in FIG. 1-2, and discloses a first capacitor terminal (178) that connects to the conductive trench-fill material in the first subset of trenches (126) and the conductive trench-fill material in the second subset of trenches (126); and a second capacitor terminal (178 other) that connects to the N-type well and to the P-type well.
Hu is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Leibiger. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hu in the device of Leibiger because it will improve the capacitance density and resistance of the device [0003].
Moreover, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to duplicate the structure of (102) to have a different polarity structure and incorporate the teaching of Hu to modify Leibiger (a device comprising a first and second set of trenches with wells of different polarities), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. 2144.04
Nakamura shows in FIG. 2, an epitaxial layer (1) [0109] between the N-type well (34) and the P-well (9a)[0117].
Nakamura is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Leibiger and Hu. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hu in the device of Leibiger and Hu because it will improve the breaking capability of during the turn-off operation of the device [0179].
Regarding claim 2, Leibiger in view of Hu discloses an integrated circuit, wherein the N-type well (114) connects to an N-type buried layer (112).
Hu is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Leibiger. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hu in the device of Leibiger because it will improve the capacitance density and resistance of the device [0003].
Regarding claim 3, Leibiger in view of Hu discloses an integrated circuit wherein the P-type well (120) connects to a P-type buried layer (112).
Regarding claim 4, Leibiger in view of Hu discloses an integrated circuit, wherein the second subset of trenches (112) extend through the P-type buried layer (other 120) to a lightly doped epitaxial layer (p- layer 112).
Regarding claim 5, Leibiger in view of Hu discloses an integrated circuit wherein the second subset of trenches extends through a P-type buried layer (other 120) into a lightly doped epitaxial layer (112).
Regarding claim 6, Leibiger in view of Hu discloses an integrated circuit, further comprising a plurality of contacts (166)[Hu, 0045] each connecting to the conductive trench-fill material (136) in a corresponding one of the trenches, and an isolation structure (152) [0045] surrounding each of the contacts.
Hu is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Leibiger. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hu in the device of Leibiger because it will improve the capacitance density and resistance of the device [0003].
Regarding claim 7, Leibiger in view of Hu discloses an integrated circuit, wherein the N-type well (48)(N+ doping) and the P-type well (120)(P+ doping) both have an average dopant density greater (n+,p+ are higher doping)than twice an average dopant concentration of the semiconductor substrate (12).
Regarding claim 8, Leibiger in view of Hu discloses an integrated circuit, wherein the first capacitor terminal (28 or 112)) or the second capacitor terminal is connected to a transistor terminal [0046].
Regarding claim 10, Leibiger discloses and shows in FIG. 9, a method of forming an integrated circuit, comprising: forming an N-type well (48) extending into a semiconductor substrate (12) having a top surface; forming a P-type well (120) extending into the semiconductor substrate; forming a plurality of trenches (28,112) extending into the semiconductor substrate, the trenches, a first subset of the trenches (28) located in the N-type well (48) and a second subset of the trenches (112) located in the P-type well (120); filling the trenches with a conductive trench-fill material.
Leibiger differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a method of forming a device having a first capacitor terminal that connects to the conductive trench-fill material in the first subset of trenches and the conductive trench-fill material in the second subset of trenches; and a second capacitor terminal that connects to the N-type well and to the P-type well; a semiconductor substrate, the epitaxial layer having a top surface over a base wafer; an N-well extending into the epitaxial layer; a portion of the epitaxial layer between the N-type well and the P-well.
Hu shows in FIG. 1-2, and discloses a method of forming a device having a first capacitor terminal (178) that connects to the conductive trench-fill material in the first subset of trenches (126) and the conductive trench-fill material in the second subset of trenches (126); and a second capacitor terminal (178 other) that connects to the N-type well and to the P-type well.
Hu is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Leibiger. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hu in the device of Leibiger because it will improve the capacitance density and resistance of the device [0003].
Moreover, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to duplicate the structure of (102) to have a different polarity structure and incorporate the teaching of Hu to modify Leibiger (a device comprising a first and second set of trenches with wells of different polarities), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. 2144.04
Nakamura shows in FIG. 2, forming an epitaxial layer (1) [0109] in a semiconductor substrate, the epitaxial layer (1) having a top surface over a base wafer [0117]; an N-well extending into the epitaxial layer (1); a portion of the epitaxial layer (1) [0109] between the N-type well (34) and the P-well (9a)[0117].
Nakamura is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Leibiger and Hu. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hu in the device of Leibiger and Hu because it will improve the breaking capability of during the turn-off operation of the device [0179].
Nakamura is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Leibiger and Hu. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hu in the device of Leibiger and Hu because it will improve the breaking capability of during the turn-off operation of the device [0179].
Regarding claim 11, Leibiger in view of Hu discloses a method comprising an integrated circuit, wherein the N-type well (114) connects to an N-type buried layer (112).
Hu is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Leibiger. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hu in the device of Leibiger because it will improve the capacitance density and resistance of the device [0003].
Regarding claim 12, Leibiger in view of Hu discloses a method comprising an integrated circuit wherein the P-type well (120) connects to a P-type buried layer (112).
Regarding claim 13, Leibiger in view of Hu discloses a method comprising an integrated circuit, wherein the second subset of trenches (112) extend through the P-type buried layer (other 120) to a lightly doped epitaxial layer (p- layer 112).
Regarding claim 14, Leibiger in view of Hu discloses a method comprising an integrated circuit wherein the second subset of trenches extends through a P-type buried layer (other 120) into a lightly doped epitaxial layer (112).
Regarding claim 15, Leibiger in view of Hu discloses a method comprising an integrated circuit, further comprising a plurality of contacts (166)[Hu, 0045] each connecting to the conductive trench-fill material (136) in a corresponding one of the trenches, and an isolation structure (152) [0045] surrounding each of the contacts.
Hu is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Leibiger. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hu in the device of Leibiger because it will improve the capacitance density and resistance of the device [0003].
Regarding claim 16, Leibiger in view of Hu discloses a method comprising an integrated circuit, wherein the N-type well (48)(N+ doping) and the P-type well (120)(P+ doping) both have an average dopant density greater (n+,p+ are higher doping)than twice an average dopant concentration of the semiconductor substrate (12).
Regarding claim 17, Leibiger in view of Hu discloses a method comprising an integrated circuit, wherein the first capacitor terminal (28 or 112)) or the second capacitor terminal is connected to a transistor terminal [0046].
Regarding claim 19, Leibiger discloses and shows in FIG. 9, an electronic device, comprising; a first well (48)[0034] extending into the substrate, the first well (48) having the first conductivity type and a second majority carrier concentration; a second well (120)[0046] extending into the substrate (12), the second well (120) having an opposite second conductivity type; and a first plurality of trenches (28)[0037] filled with a first conductive trench-fill material, the first plurality into the first well (48); a second plurality (112)of trenches filled with a second conductive trench-fill material, the second plurality into the second well (120)
Leibiger differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device having a first conductive node connected to the first conductive trench-fill material; and second conductive node connected to the second conductive trench-fill material; an epitaxial layer over a substrate having a top surface, the epitaxial layer having a first conductivity type and a first majority carrier concentration.
Hu shows in FIG. 1-2, a first conductive node (178) connected to the first conductive trench-fill material (126); and second conductive node (178 other) connected to the second conductive trench-fill material.
Hu is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Leibiger. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hu in the device of Leibiger because it will improve the capacitance density and resistance of the device [0003].
Moreover, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to duplicate the structure of (102) to have a different polarity structure and incorporate the teaching of Hu to modify Leibiger (a device comprising a first and second set of trenches with wells of different polarities), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. 2144.04
Nakamura shows in FIG. 2, forming an epitaxial layer (1) [0109] in a semiconductor substrate having an epitaxial layer (1) over a substrate having a top surface, the epitaxial layer (1) having a first conductivity type and a first majority carrier concentration [0117].
Nakamura is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Leibiger and Hu. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hu in the device of Leibiger and Hu because it will improve the breaking capability of during the turn-off operation of the device [0179].
Nakamura is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Leibiger and Hu. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hu in the device of Leibiger and Hu because it will improve the breaking capability of during the turn-off operation of the device [0179].
Regarding claim 20, Leibiger in view of Hu discloses an electronic device wherein the first conductivity type is P-type [0046] and the second conductivity type is N-type [0034].
Claim(s) 9,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leibiger in view of Hu as applied to claims 1-8, 10-17, and further in view of Yamaguchi et al., (Yamaguchi) US 2023/0017133.
Regarding claims 9,18, Leibiger in view of Hu differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device and a method wherein a capacitance between the first and second capacitor terminals varies by less than 500 ppm with a voltage across the first and second capacitor terminals in a range from -5 V to +5 V.
Yamaguchi discloses [0024] a device and a method wherein a capacitance between the first and second capacitor terminals varies by less than 500 ppm with a voltage across the first and second capacitor terminals in a range from -5 V to +5 V.
Yamaguchi is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Leibiger and Hu. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yamaguchi in the device of Leibiger and Hu because it will provide a device with the ability to withstand high currents [0024].
As for the value of the capacitance and voltage, Applicant did not show criticality of the particular optimum values. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range or optimum value, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960).
Response to Arguments
Applicant appears to fail to argue. That is, Applicant on Page 6 stated that he/she traverses the rejections for the following reasons, but fails to disclose the reasons.
Applicant’s potential arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARC - ANTHONY ARMAND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/MARC-ANTHONY ARMAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813