DETAILED ACTION
This Final action is responsive to communications: 11/25/2025.
Applicant amended claims 1-2, 6, and 8-10; cancelled claims 16-18; added new claims 19-20. Claims 1-15, 19-20 are pending. Claims 1, 9, and 19 are independent.
Examiner Notes
A) Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification. B) Per MPEP 2173.04 “If the claim is too broad because it reads on the prior art, a rejection under either 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be appropriate”. C) Examiner cites particular paragraphs or columns and lines in the references as applied to Applicant's claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Other passages and figures may apply as well. Per MPEP 2141.02 VI prior art must be considered in its entirety. D) Per MPEP 2112 and 2112 V, express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 9, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ingalls et al. (US 2020/0349990 A1), in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0084578 A1).
Regarding independent claim 9, Ingalls teaches a memory apparatus (para [0021], Fig. 1 “memory device”) comprising:
a plurality of sequentially stacked memory cell arrays each comprising a plurality of word lines (para [0021], Fig. 1: MB arrays shown);
a sub-word line driver block (para [0048]-para [0049], Fig. 4B: sub-word line drivers) configured to enable at least one word line (Fig. 4B: WL0, WL2) among the plurality of word lines of each of the plurality of memory cell arrays (Fig. 4B) based on
a first main word line signal (Fig. 4B: GR0 signal), a second main word line signal (Fig. 4B: GR1 signal), and a sub-word line selection signal (Fig. 4B: PH0); and
a main word line driver block (“main word line drivers”, see Fig. 4A: 410, 430 MWD and para [0047]) configured to enable the first (Fig. 4A: GR0) and second (Fig. 4A: GR1) main word line signals based on a pre-decoding signal (Fig. 4A: ARMW0/ ARMW0F) and an even and odd selection signal (Fig. 4A: RF3<0>/ RF3F<0> enables GR0 and RF3<1>/ RF3F<1> enables GR1. See para [0047]),
wherein the sub-word line driver block comprises a first sub-word line driver block (see Ingalls Fig. 2: group of alternating SWDs in SECT0 coupled to GR0) configured to enable first word lines (Ingalls Fig. 2, Fig. 4B: WL0) of the plurality of memory cell arrays and a second sub-word line driver block (see Ingalls Fig. 2: group of alternating SWDs in SECT1 coupled to GR1) configured to enable second word lines (Ingalls Fig. 2, Fig. 4B: WL2) of the plurality of memory cell arrays (it is further noted that this driver block feature does not carry patentable weight since it can be achieved via rearrangement of block locations without changing overall operations and rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art).
Ingalls is silent with respect to plurality of memory cell arrays being sequentially stacked.
Li teaches plurality of sequentially stacked memory cell arrays each comprising a plurality of word lines and word line driver arranged at base layer (see Fig. 5: 12, 14, 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Li’s array/ Bank arrangement into the apparatus of Ingalls such that an architecture of sequentially stacked plurality of memory cell arrays can be employed in order to reduce lateral space (Li para [0021]
Regarding claim 12, Ingalls and Li teach the memory apparatus according to claim 9. Ingalls teach wherein the main word line driver block (“main word line drivers”, see Fig. 4A: 410, 430 MWD and para [0047]) comprises a main word line driver (Fig. 4A: 410, 430) configured to enable one of the first and second main word line signals (Fig. 4A: one of GR0, GR1) based on the pre-decoding signal (Fig. 4A: ARMW0/ ARMW0F) and the even and odd selection signal (Fig. 4A: RF3<0>/ RF3F<0> enables GR0 and RF3<1>/ RF3F<1> enables GR1. See para [0047]).
Regarding claim 13, Ingalls and Li teach the memory apparatus according to claim 12. Ingalls teach wherein the main word line driver is configured to: enable an enable control signal when the pre-decoding signal is asserted (Fig. 4A: ARMW0/ ARMW0F), enable the first main word line signal (Fig. 4A: GR0) when the even and odd selection signal has a first logic level (Fig. 4A: RF3F<0> is 0 and RF3F<1> is 1 produces GR0 signal), and enable the second main word line signal (Fig. 4A: GR1) when the even and odd selection signal has a second logic level (Fig. 4A: RF3F<0> is 1 and RF3F<1> is 0 produces GR1 signal).
Regarding claim 14, Ingalls and Li teach the memory apparatus according to claim 9. Li teaches wherein the main word line driver block is disposed on a plane different from a plane on which the plurality of memory cell arrays is disposed (see Fig. 5: 12, 14, 16).
Regarding claim 15, Ingalls and Li teach the memory apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the main word line driver block is disposed under the plurality of memory cell arrays (see Fig. 5: 12, 14, 16).
.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8, 19-20 are indicated as allowable.
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims listed above, the prior art of record does not appear to teach, suggest, or provide motivation for combination for the limitations of the claims.
Response to Arguments
Previous spec objections are being withdrawn based on spec amendment dated 11/25/2025.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9 have been considered but are partly moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See new formulated rejection using Ingalls reference. Examiner cites particular paragraphs or columns and lines in the references as applied to Applicant's claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Other passages and figures may apply as well. Per MPEP 2141.02 VI prior art must be considered in its entirety.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon (MPEP § 707.05) is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kim (US 2020/0349998 A1): Fig. 1-Fig. 8 disclosure applicable for all claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUSHFIQUE SIDDIQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825