DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “movement data processing unit” in claims 10 and dependents, and “data correction unit” in claims 6 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 , 7, and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2022/0117494 A1, Apr. 21, 2022) (hereinafter “Huang”) in view of Sachs et al. (US 2013/0310655 A1, Nov. 21, 2013) (hereinafter “Sachs”).
Regarding claim 1: Huang discloses a method of identifying movement of a patient during a medical imaging scan, the method comprising: initiating motion detection data acquisition using at least one motion detection apparatus configured to obtain patient contour data ([0120]-[0121], where these paragraphs refer back to previously described steps associated with figs. 6-8; [0097] - a 2D or 3D image of the patient is "patient contour data"; [0044]-[0046] - the "motion detection apparatus" is the laser ultrasonic component of a medical device); initiating a medical imaging scan of the patient to acquire scan data ([0121] - "during the scan" means that the medical imaging scan is also initiated, [0124]); computing a numeric motion score based on the patient contour data and embedding the motion score with the corresponding scan data ([0125] - value 1 and value 0 are "a numeric motion score" where the data is synchronized ["embedded"] with the scan data); determining a motion score curve for duration of the medical imaging scan based on the motion detection data ([0125] - retrospective gating curve); removing portions of the scan data corresponding to a motion score curve outside of an acceptable range ([0125]); and selecting the scan data corresponding to a motion score curve within the acceptable range for reconstruction ([0125]).
While the numeric score of Huang encompasses all of the acquired image data, Huang is silent on the numeric score being calculated for each view of the scan.
Sachs, in the same field of endeavor, discloses acquiring medical image scan data comprising a plurality of frames (“views”) and having a time stamp value ([0025]) along with motion detection data of a patient contour ([0040], [0042]), having a time stamp value corresponding to the image timing information ([0027], [0033], [0046]), that may be from various sources including a non-contact motion detection apparatus ([0028], [0039]). Sachs further discloses determining of the magnitude of the motion data meets or exceeds a threshold ([0049]) and the image data and motion data are associated (“embedded”) ([0051]). Sachs further discloses that operating on individual frames (and corresponding motion data) reduces artifacts, such as residual blur or “before and after” motion, caused by time window division ([0005]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the numeric motion score of Huang based on individual frames rather than time windows in order to reduce motion artifacts in view of the teachings of Sachs.
Regarding claim 2: Huang further discloses wherein the motion score curve is a compilation of motion scores calculated for each view for the duration of the scan ([0125] - "synchronously").
Regarding claim 3: Huang further discloses determining a baseline position of the patient used to determine the motion score for each view ([0125] – this is considered to be implicitly disclosed as the image-based motion is measured as a displacement/change in position over time; there must be an initial determination of the position - "baseline" - in order to measure the subsequent motion, where the subsequent motion measurements are the "motion score" for each frame).
Regarding claims 4 and 5: Huang further discloses wherein the motion score curve is determined for a contour of the patient or for a surface of the patient ([0121]-[0124] refer back to previously described steps associated with figs. 6-8; [0089]-[0092], [0095] - a surface, a contour, or both may be used).
Regarding claim 7: Huang further discloses wherein the motion detection data acquisition uses one or more motion detection apparatuses to detect motion in real-time during the scan ([0125]).
Regarding claim 10: Huang discloses a medical imaging system ([0048]), comprising: a computed tomography (CT) imaging system ([0041]-[0042], [0049]), comprising: a gantry having a bore, rotatable about an axis of rotation; an X-ray source mounted on the gantry and configured to emit an X-ray beam ([0042]); an X-ray controller to operate the X-ray source ([0042], [0048]); and an X-ray detector configured to detect the X-ray beam emitted by the X-ray source ([0042]); a motion detection system coupled to the CT imaging system, wherein the motion detection system includes: a motion detection apparatus mounted on the gantry and configured to obtain patient contour data representing a surface contour of a patient (laser ultrasonic component 160, 420, 520; [0046] – a reconstructed image is “patient contour data” [0048], [0064], [0074]-[0077], figs. 4-5; [0089] – a position or a region on the surface of a patient including “surface of the skin above the sternum” is a “surface contour of a patient); a controller to control operation of the motion detection apparatus ([0048], processing device 120, [0068], [0079]); and a movement data processing unit to obtain data from the motion detection apparatus, wherein the movement data processing unit obtains real-time patient contour data during an imaging scan to generate contour-based motion information ([0121]-[0124] refer back to previously described steps associated with figs. 6-8; [0095]-[0096]; [0125]); and a processor to determine a numeric motion score of the patient based on the contour data, embed the motion score with the corresponding view of scan data, and select views of scan data in which the corresponding motion score is in an acceptable range for image reconstruction ([0125] - value 1 and value 0 are "a numeric motion score" where the data is synchronized ["embedded"] with the scan data).
While obtaining a baseline position of the patient is considered to be implicitly disclosed as the image-based motion is measured as a displacement/change in position over time; there must be an initial determination of the position - "baseline" - in order to measure the subsequent motion. However, Huang is silent on the details of how the motion calculation is performed and does not describe wherein the real-time movement data is compared to the baseline position of the patient. Additionally, while the numeric score of Huang encompasses all of the acquired image data, Huang is silent on the numeric score being calculated for each view of the scan.
Sachs, in the same field of endeavor, discloses acquiring medical image scan data comprising a plurality of frames (“views”) and having a time stamp value ([0025]) along with motion detection data of a patient contour ([0040]-[0042]; ribcage, “outline of the patient”), having a time stamp value corresponding to the image timing information ([0027], [0033], [0046]), that may be from various sources including a non-contact motion detection apparatus ([0028], [0039]) and is relative to a baseline position ([0041] – “base position”). Sachs further discloses determining of the magnitude of the motion data meets or exceeds a threshold ([0049]) and the image data and motion data are associated (“embedded”) ([0051]). Sachs further discloses that operating on individual frames (and corresponding motion data) reduces artifacts, such as residual blur or “before and after” motion, caused by time window division ([0005]); and that measurement relative to a baseline position allows the magnitude of the motion to be measured.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to measure the motion relative to the baseline position (“base position”) as disclosed by Sachs in order to easily determine the magnitude of the motion. It would further have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the numeric motion score of Huang based on individual frames rather than time windows in order to reduce motion artifacts in view of the teachings of Sachs.
Regarding claim 11: Huang further discloses determining a motion score curve from a compilation of the motion scores calculated for each view for the duration of the scan ([0121]-[0124] refer back to previously described steps associated with figs. 6-8; [0095]-[0096]; [0125]).
Regarding claim 12: Huang further discloses wherein the motion score is based on the baseline position of the patient and the real-time movement data corresponding to each view during the scan ([0125]).
Regarding claims 13 and 14: Huang further discloses wherein the motion score curve is determined for a contour of the patient or for a surface of the patient ([0121]-[0124] refer back to previously described steps associated with figs. 6-8; [0089]-[0092], [0095] - a surface, a contour, or both may be used).
Regarding claim 15: Huang further discloses wherein the processor includes a data correction unit to automatically select the views of the scan data corresponding to the motion score within the acceptable range ([0125], processing device 120).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Sachs as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kaufman et al. (US 2003/0016782 A1, Jan. 23, 2003) (hereinafter “Kaufman”).
Regarding claim 6: Huang and Sachs disclose the method of claim 1. Huang further discloses wherein selecting the scan data corresponding to a motion score curve within the acceptable range is automatically determined by a data correction unit ([0125]) but does not disclose wherein a user confirms the selection.
Kaufman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a retrospective gating technique where the user can revise the gating slice selections made by the system in order to remove any slices that may be poor quality (fig. 1, [0060]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Huang and Sachs by providing the user with an opportunity to revise (“confirm”) the automated selections as taught by Kaufman in order to ensure a quality reconstruction.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Sachs as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Anthony et al. (US 2021/0076944 A1, Mar. 18, 2021) (hereinafter “Anthony”).
Regarding claims 8 and 9: Huang and Sachs disclose the method of claim 7. Huang further discloses wherein the motion detection apparatus(es) comprises a laser ultrasound device, but is silent on the motion detection apparatus(es) including a LiDAR scanner or a 3D camera.
Anthony, in the same problem solving area of laser ultrasound, teaches that laser ultrasound can be optimized for use on a patient by incorporating additional point tracking, such as LiDAR and/or a camera, to compensate for irregularities of the patient's skin surface and body shape (fig. 5, [0070], [0072]-[0073], where at least stereo and structured light cameras are "3D camera[s]").
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Huang and Sachs by including a LiDAR and/or 3D camera with the laser ultrasound device as taught by Anthony in order to optimize the localization and compensate for irregularities of the patient’s skin surface.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Sachs as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Anthony et al. (US 2021/0076944 A1, Mar. 18, 2021) (hereinafter “Anthony”).
Regarding claims 16-17: Huang and Sachs disclose the system of claim 10 wherein the motion detection apparatus(es) comprises a laser ultrasound device, but is silent on the motion detection apparatus(es) including a LiDAR scanner or a 3D camera.
Anthony, in the same problem solving area of laser ultrasound, teaches that laser ultrasound can be optimized for use on a patient by incorporating additional point tracking, such as LiDAR and/or a camera, to compensate for irregularities of the patient's skin surface and body shape (fig. 5, [0070], [0072]-[0073], where at least stereo and structured light cameras are "3D camera[s]").
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang and Sachs by including a LiDAR and/or 3D camera with the laser ultrasound device as taught by Anthony in order to optimize the localization and compensate for irregularities of the patient’s skin surface.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/20/2026, have been fully considered but are moot in view of the updated grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. However, in the interest of advancing prosecution, certain arguments will be addressed.
Applicant argues that the instant disclosure describes “contour” as the surface shape or outline of a subject and includes data that defines geometry, edges or surface models. Applicant further asserts that a region is not inherently equivalent to the described contour.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the instant disclosure describes measuring motion data from a "contour" in paragraphs [0053]-[0055], where eqns. 1 and 2 calculate the motion score from a single point (x,y) or a surface (x,y,z) respectively. While the Huang reference does not use the term "contour," this description does not appear to meaningfully differ from the disclosure of measuring a motion value from the displacement of either a point or a region on the surface of a patient (see at least [0089]). Huang also discloses that the ultrasound signal 120 (from which the motion measurement is derived) may be a reconstructed ultrasound image ([0097]) where an image would also reasonably be considered "patient contour data." Examiner further notes that “surface models” do not appear to be described in the instant disclosure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAROLYN A PEHLKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799