DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, lines 15 and 16, the limitation stating “the first outer ion implantation region surrounds at least one surface of the second ion implantation region” is not supported by the applicant’s specification (see applicant’s Fig. 2). The first outer ion implantation region 41a does not surround the second ion implantation region 42. It is noted, based on review of the applicant’s disclosure and claim set, that the first outer ion implantation region 41a surrounds the first inner ion implantation region 41b (see applicant’s Fig. 2). As a result, the limitation has been treated using the noted correction in the following prosecution.
Regarding claim 12, lines 14 and 15, the limitation stating “the first ion implantation region surrounds a lower surface of the first inner ion implantation region” is not supported by the applicant’s specification (see applicant’s Fig. 2). The first ion implantation region 41 is comprised of both the inner and outer ion implantation regions, 41b and 41a, respectively. It is noted, based on review of the applicant’s disclosure and claim set, that the first outer ion implantation region 41a surrounds the first inner ion implantation region 41b. As a result, the limitation has been treated using the noted correction in the following prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. US 2006/0284249 A1.
Regarding claims 1-5, Chen discloses:
A semiconductor device (Figs. 1-7) comprising:
a substrate (20/40) having a first active region (Fig. 7) and a second active region (Fig. 2; paras 0007-0008);
a first ion implantation region (Fig. 7; 60) in the first active region of the substrate;
a first plug structure (Figs. 70 and 76) positioned over the first active region and vertically aligned with the first ion implantation region;
a second ion implantation region (Fig. 2; 16) in the second active region of the substrate; and
a second plug structure (Fig. 2 in view of Fig. 7; similar 70 and 76) positioned over the second active region and vertically aligned with the second ion implantation region,
wherein:
the first ion implantation region includes a first outer ion implantation region (Fig. 7; 62) and a first inner ion implantation region (Fig. 7; 60),
the first outer ion implantation region surrounds at least one surface of the second ion implantation region (Fig. 7),
the first outer ion implantation region includes at least one of carbon (C) ions and fluorine (F) ions (para 0026; 62 carbon, fluorine), and
the first inner ion implantation region includes at least one of germanium (Ge) ions and boron (B) ions (para 0025; 60 boron).
(claim 2) first outer ion implantation region does not include the boron ions (para 0026; “… portions extending below respective source and drain regions”); and first inner ion implantation region includes one of carbon and fluorine ions (para 0025; BF2).
(claim 3) para 0007; As and P.
(claim 4) Fig. 2, 16.
(claim 5) para 0027; 62 substantially enclose 60.
Regarding claims 12-17, Chen discloses:
A semiconductor device (Fig. 7) comprising:
a first transistor structure (Fig. 7) in a first area of a substrate (40),
wherein the first transistor structure includes:
a first gate structure (44, 46, 54);
a first ion implantation region (60, 62) in a first active region (40) in the first area of the substrate and positioned adjacent to the first gate structure; and
a first plug structure (70, 76) extending in a vertical direction over the first active region and vertically aligned with the first ion implantation region,
wherein:
the first ion implantation region includes a first outer ion implantation region (62) and a first inner ion implantation region (60),
the first ion implantation region surrounds a lower surface of the first inner ion implantation region (Fig. 7),
the first outer ion implantation region includes at least one of carbon (C) ions and fluorine (F) ions (para 0026; 62 carbon, fluorine), and
the first inner ion implantation region includes at least one of germanium (Ge) ions and boron (B) ions (para 0025; 60 boron).
(claim 13) first outer ion implantation region does not include the boron ions (para 0026; “… portions extending below respective source and drain regions”); and first inner ion implantation region includes one of carbon and fluorine ions (para 0025; BF2).
(claim 13) para 0007; As and P.
(claim 14) para 0027; 62 substantially enclose 60.
(claim 15) 70 in contact with 60.
(claim 16) further comprising: a second transistor structure (Fig. 2; paras 0007-0008) in a second area of the substrate (20), wherein the second transistor structure includes: a second gate structure (12); a second ion implantation region (16) in a second active region in the second area of the substrate and positioned adjacent to the second gate structure; and a second plug structure (Fig. 2 in view of Fig. 7; similar 70 and 76) extending in the vertical direction over the second active region and vertically aligned with the second ion implantation region, wherein the second ion implantation region is a single region including at least one of arsenic (As) ions and phosphorus (P) ions (para 0007; As and P).
(claim 17) Fig. 2 in view of Fig. 7; 70 in contact with 60.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, in view of Chan et al. US 2005/0001290 A1.
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Chen does not disclose:
wherein each of the first and second active regions is an <100> crystal plane.
Chan discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which:
wherein each of the first and second active regions is an <100> crystal plane (Figs. 1 and 2; para 0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to understand that the surface orientation of the active regions in a <100> is standard in determining CMOS regions where current flow direction can be controlled at the device layout level (Chan; para 0003).
Claims 6-10, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, in view of Hung et al. US 2023/0268402 A1.
Regarding claims 6-10, Chen does not disclose:
(claim 6) wherein lower ends of the first and second plug structures protrude downward into the first and second active regions, respectively, wherein each of the lower ends of the first and second plug structures includes: a plug; a plug barrier layer surrounding a surface of the plug; and a metal silicide layer surrounding the plug barrier layer; (claim 7) wherein the metal silicide layer includes cobalt silicide (CoSi); (claim 8) wherein each of the first and second plug structures further includes an insulating lining layer surrounding side surfaces of the first and second plug barrier layers; (claim 9) wherein the lower ends of the first and second plug structures are in contact with the first and second ion implantation regions, respectively; (claim 10) wherein the lower end of the first plug structure is in contact with the first inner ion implantation region of the first ion implantation region.
Hung discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which:
(claim 6) wherein lower ends (139) of the first and second plug structures (139, 197, 199) protrude downward into the first and second active regions (135), respectively, wherein each of the lower ends of the first and second plug structures includes: a plug (199); a plug barrier layer (197) surrounding a surface of the plug; and a metal silicide layer (139) surrounding the plug barrier layer; (claim 7) wherein the metal silicide layer includes cobalt silicide (CoSi) (para 0042); (claim 8) wherein each of the first and second plug structures further includes an insulating lining layer (190) surrounding side surfaces of the first and second plug barrier layers; (claim 9) wherein the lower ends (139) of the first and second plug structures (139, 197, 199) are in contact with the first and second ion implantation regions (135), respectively; (claim 10) wherein the lower end (139) of the first plug structure is in contact with the first inner ion implantation region (135) of the first ion implantation region.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to obtain higher circuit performance by reducing resistance at the conductive plug and source drain interface (para 0003).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Chen does not disclose:
(claim 18) wherein lower ends of the first and second plug structures protrude downward into the first and second active regions, respectively, wherein the lower ends of the first and second plug structures include: first and second plugs each having a bulb shape; first and second plug barrier layers surrounding surfaces of the first and second plugs, respectively; and first and second metal silicide layers surrounding the first and second plug barrier layers, respectively; (claim 19) wherein each of the first and second metal silicide layers includes cobalt silicide (CoSi).
Hung discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which:
(claim 18) wherein lower ends (139) of the first and second plug structures (139, 197, 199) protrude downward into the first and second active regions (135), respectively, wherein the lower ends of the first and second plug structures include: first and second plugs each having a bulb shape (199 bulb shaped); first and second plug barrier layers (197) surrounding surfaces of the first and second plugs, respectively; and first and second metal silicide layers (139) surrounding the first and second plug barrier layers, respectively; (claim 19) wherein each of the first and second metal silicide layers includes cobalt silicide (CoSi) (para 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to obtain higher circuit performance by reducing resistance at the conductive plug and source drain interface (para 0003).
Conclusion
/ERROL V FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, AU 2893