DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on May 11, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 12 under 35 USC § 102 using the Yang ‘138 reference have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chou. See 35 USC § 103 rejection below using Yang ‘138 in view of Chou.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on May 11, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claim 1 under 35 USC § 103 using Yang ‘361 in view of Yang ‘138 and Zhang have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chou. See 35 USC § 103 rejection below using Yang ‘361 in view of Yang ‘138, Zhang, and Chou.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on May 11, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claim 7 under 35 USC § 102 using the Yang ‘138 reference have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, the previous rejection under 35 USC § 103 of Yang ‘361 in view of Yang ‘138 continues to teach claim 7, including the added limitations.
In summary, this application is not placed in a condition for an allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang ‘138 (US 2022/0173138 A1) in view of Chou (US 2022/0231065 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang ‘138 teaches an image sensing device (100; see Figs. 1, 2, 11, 16 and 18), comprising:
a plurality of pixel arrays (PA; see Figs. 1 & 16-18) including first (PA(B)), second (PA(G)), and third pixel arrays (PA(R)),
wherein each pixel array comprises a plurality of color filters (20, see ¶ [0072], ¶ [0138]), and the first pixel array includes a metal grid (50) arranged along an edge of the first pixel array (Figs. 2A, 2B, 2E, 2F, 2I, 11 show 50 at the left and right edge of each pixel array PA) such that the metal grid is disposed between the plurality of color filters in the first pixel array and a plurality of color filters in another pixel array adjacent to the first pixel array (the above-mentioned Figures show a blue, green, and red color filter 20 each disposed in each of the first, second, and third pixel array, respectively, and also each pixel array bounded by metal grid 50), wherein the plurality color filters in the first pixel array are blue color filters (see ¶ [0138]).
Yang ‘138 further teaches a metal grid (50) comprising a barrier metal layer (¶ [0082]: layer of 50 made of W, Al, TiN, etc.) and a capping layer (40). However, Yang ‘138 does not teach the device wherein the metal grid comprises a metal layer disposed on the barrier metal layer, with the capping layer covering the barrier metal layer and the metal layer, and wherein the capping layer contacts the metal layer on an upper surface and side surfaces of the metal layer.
Chou, in the same field of invention, teaches an image sensing device (400; Fig. 4) wherein the metal grid (416) comprises a barrier metal layer (414), a metal layer (418) disposed on the barrier metal layer, and a capping layer (422) covering the barrier metal layer and the metal layer, and
wherein the capping layer contacts the metal layer on an upper surface (upper surface of 418) and side surfaces (vertical side surfaces of 418) of the metal layer.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Chou into the device of Yang ‘138 to add a metal layer to the metal grid such that the metal layer is on top of the barrier metal layer and the capping layer is covering the barrier metal layer and the metal layer and is contacting a top surface and side surfaces of the metal layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yang ‘138 in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the modified structure as a metal shielding structure to reduce cross talk between adjacent pixel sensors (Chou ¶ [0041]-[0042]) and for improving the device performance (see Abstract, ¶ [0011]-[0012]).
Regarding claim 2, the image sensing device of claim 1,
wherein the first pixel array comprises an air grid (40G, see Yang ‘138 Fig. 11) formed between the blue color filters in the first pixel array (Fig. 11 shows 40G within a pixel array PA separating each blue color filter 20).
Regarding claim 12, Yang ‘138 teaches a method for manufacturing an image sensing device (112, see Fig. 11), comprising:
forming an edge metal grid (50) comprising a barrier metal layer (¶ [0082]: layer of 50 made of W, Al, TiN, etc.) over a portion of a substrate (10) corresponding to a first pixel array (PA(B), see Fig. 16) along an edge of the first pixel array (Fig. 11 shows 50 at the left and right edges of pixel array PA);
forming an internal air grid (40S1) over the portion of the substrate corresponding to the first pixel array, wherein the internal air grid is formed to divide a space (space occupied by pixels B4, A5, B6) surrounded by the edge metal grid;
forming a blue color filter (20S4 & 20S5 & 20S6; see ¶ [0072], ¶ [0138]) between the edge metal grid and the internal air grid; and
forming a capping layer (40) over the edge metal grid.
However, Yang ‘138 does not teach forming the metal grid comprising a metal layer; and forming the capping layer over the edge metal grid such that the capping layer contacts the metal layer of the edge metal grid on an upper surface and side surfaces of the metal layer.
Chou, in the same field of invention, teaches a method of forming an edge metal grid (416; Fig. 4) of an image sensor (400) comprising of a metal layer (418); and
forming the capping layer (422) over the edge metal grid such that the capping layer contacts the metal layer of the edge metal grid on an upper surface (top surface of 418) and side surfaces (vertical side surfaces of 418) of the metal layer.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Chou into the method of Yang ‘138 to add a metal layer to the edge metal grid and modify the capping layer such that the capping layer contacts the metal layer on an upper surface and side surfaces of the metal layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yang ‘138 in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving the performance of the image sensor (see Abstract, ¶ [0011]-[0012]) by using the metal layer as a metal shielding structure (¶ [0041], [0043]) that reduces the cross-talk between adjacent pixel sensors (¶ [0042] ).
Regarding claim 13, the method of claim 12, wherein the forming the edge metal grid comprises:
forming the barrier metal layer (layer of 50; Yang ‘138 Fig. 11; alternatively, 414 in Chou Fig. 4) at a certain interval (Yang ‘138 Fig. 1: the distance between the left 50 and right 50; alternatively, the distance between each 414 in Chou Fig. 4) over the substrate (10, Yang ‘138 Fig. 1; alternatively, 404 in Chou Fig. 4) corresponding to the first pixel array (the structure in Yang ‘138 Fig. 11; alternatively, 402a in Chou Fig. 4).
forming the metal layer (418; see Chou Fig. 4) on at least one of the barrier metal layer (418) corresponding to the first pixel array (402a is a pixel of image sensor 400, see ¶ [0085]; 402a is analogous to first pixel array of Yang ‘138 that is comprised of a plurality of image sensor).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang ‘138 (US 2022/0173138 A1) in view of Chou (US 2022/0231065 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Yang ‘361 (US 2021/0066361 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Yang ‘138 in view of Chou teaches the method of claim 13, but Yang ‘138 in view of Chou does not teach: wherein the forming the internal air grid comprises:
forming a coating layer in an area between the edge metal grid;
forming a supporting layer over the edge metal grid and the coating layer;
etching an area between the barrier metal layer
forming the capping layer; and
removing the coating layer between the edge metal grid.
Yang ‘361, in the same field of invention teaches a method of manufacturing an image sensor, wherein forming the internal air grid (210) comprises:
forming a coating layer (290, see Fig. 5B) in an area between the edge metal grid (Yang ‘138 in view of Chou teaches that coating layer 290 is formed between the metal grids 50 of Yang ‘138 Fig. 11);
forming a supporting layer (¶ [0100]: “a support film (not shown) such as an oxide film is formed over the sacrificial film 290”) over the edge metal grid and the coating layer;
etching (see Step S40, ¶ [0095]) an area (Figs.5C-5D shows an area of 290 between the two 230s is etched) between the barrier metal layer;
forming a capping layer (250&260, see Figs. 5E & 5G); and
removing (¶ [0099] and Fig. 5F shows 290 being removed to form air layer 240) the coating layer between the edge metal grid.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Yang ‘361 into the method of Yang ‘138 in view of Chou to form a coating layer in between the edge metal grids, to form a supporting layer over the edge metal grid and the coating layer, to etch an area between the barrier metal layers, to form a capping layer and to remove the coating layer between the edge metal grids when forming the internal air grid of Yang ‘138. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yang ‘138 in view of Chou in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the capping layer to improve the blocking capability of the air layer that is formed by removing the coating layer (Yang ‘361 ¶ [0065]) for the further purpose of increasing the light absorption rate of the pixels by preventing optical crosstalk (¶ [0066]) while maintaining its mechanical stability in situations where air pressure in the air grid increases (¶ [0006]).
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang ‘361 (US 2021/0066361 A1) in view of Yang ‘138 (US 2022/0173138 A1), Zhang (CN 110045874 A), and Chou (US 2022/0231065 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang ‘361 teaches an image sensing device (200, Fig. 2), comprising:
a plurality of pixels (P1-P9) including first (P1), second (P2), and third pixels (P3),
wherein each pixel comprises a plurality of color filter (see ¶ [0049]), and
the first pixel includes a grid (210) arranged along an edge of the first pixel such that the grid is disposed between the plurality of color filters in the first pixel and a plurality of color filters in another pixel adjacent to the first pixel, wherein the color filters in the first pixel are blue color filters (see ¶ [0049]).
Yang ‘361 further teaches the grid surrounding the first pixel to be an air grid (¶ [0044]). However, Yang ‘361 does not teach the plurality of pixels to be a plurality of pixel arrays that includes first, second, and third pixel arrays and does not teach the grid to be a metal grid.
Yang ‘138, in the same field of invention, teaches a plurality of pixels (A5, B2, B4, B6, B8, C1, C3, C7, and C9; see Fig.1) to be a plurality of pixel arrays (PA; see Fig. 1 & 16) that includes first (PA(B)), second (PA(G)), and third pixel arrays (PA(R)) and the grid (50) to be a metal grid (see ¶ [0082]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Yang ‘138 into the device of Yang ‘361 to transform the plurality of pixels that includes first, second, and third pixels into a plurality of pixel arrays that includes first, second, and third pixel arrays and to have a metal grid surrounding the first pixel array. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yang ‘361 in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the plurality of pixel arrays to improve the light sensitivity, pixel uniformity, and quantum efficiency of image sensors (Yang ‘138 ¶ [0003], [0078], and [0081]) and for using the metal grid to fine-tune the aperture ratio of the first pixel array (¶ [0084]).
Yang ‘361 et al. teach the first pixel array to be a blue pixel array, the second pixel array to be a green pixel array, and the third pixel array to be a red pixel array (see Yang ‘138 Fig. 16 and ¶ [0138]). However, Yang ‘361 et al. do not teach only adding the metal grid to the blue pixel array.
Zhang, in the same field of invention, teaches a device wherein the metal grid (35) is added only to the blue pixel array (¶ [0085] of the English translation mailed 12 Feb 2026).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Zhang into the device of Yang ‘361 et al to only add the metal grid to the blue pixel array. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yang ‘361 in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of optimizing the luminous efficiency of the blue pixel in specific applications wherein the light sources for the red and green pixels have greater luminosity (Zhang ¶ [0085] of the English translation).
Yang ‘138 further teaches a metal grid (50) comprising a barrier metal layer (¶ [0082]: layer of 50 made of W, Al, TiN, etc.) and a capping layer (40). However, Yang ‘138 does not teach the device wherein the metal grid comprises a metal layer disposed on the barrier metal layer, with the capping layer covering the barrier metal layer and the metal layer, and wherein the capping layer contacts the metal layer on an upper surface and side surfaces of the metal layer.
Chou, in the same field of invention, teaches an image sensing device (400; Fig. 4) wherein the metal grid (416) comprises a barrier metal layer (414), a metal layer (418) disposed on the barrier metal layer, and a capping layer (422) covering the barrier metal layer and the metal layer, and
wherein the capping layer contacts the metal layer on an upper surface (upper surface of 418) and side surfaces (vertical side surfaces of 418) of the metal layer.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Chou into the device of Yang ‘138 to add a metal layer to the metal grid such that the metal layer is on top of the barrier metal layer and the capping layer is covering the barrier metal layer and the metal layer and is contacting a top surface and side surfaces of the metal layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yang ‘138 in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the modified structure as a metal shielding structure to reduce cross talk between adjacent pixel sensors (Chou ¶ [0041]-[0042]) and for improving the device performance (see Abstract, ¶ [0011]-[0012]).
Regarding claim 3, the image sensing device of claim 2,
wherein the second pixel array includes a plurality of green color filters (see Yang ‘138 Fig. 16 & ¶ [0072], [0138]), and the third pixel array includes a plurality of red color filters (see Yang ‘138 ¶ [0072], [0138]),
wherein the air grid (210, see Yang ‘361 Fig. 2) is formed between the second pixel array and the third pixel array (Yang ‘361 ¶ [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, the image sensing device of claim 3,
wherein the second pixel array comprises the air grid (40G, see Yang ‘138 Fig. 11) formed between the plurality of green color filters (20; Fig. 11 shows 40G within a pixel array PA separating each green color filter 20).
Regarding claim 5, the image sensing device of claim 3,
wherein the third pixel array comprises the air grid (40G, see Yang ‘138 Fig. 11) formed between the plurality of red color filters (20; Fig. 11 shows 40G separating each red color filter 20).
Regarding claim 6, the image sensing device of claim 3,
wherein at least part (portions of metal grid 50 separating PA(B) and PA(G), see Yang ‘138 Figs. 16 & 18; metal grid 50 is also shown in Figs. 2A, 2B, 2E, 2F, 2I, 11 to form a boundary for each pixel array PA) of the metal grid is formed between the first pixel array and the second pixel array.
Claims 7, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang ‘361 (US 2021/0066361 A1) in view of Yang ‘138 (US 2022/0173138 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Yang ‘361 teaches an image sensing device (200, see Fig. 2), comprising:
a first pixel (P1) comprising a plurality of blue color filters (¶ [0049]);
a second pixel (P2) comprising a plurality of green color filters (¶ [0049]); and
a third pixel (P3) comprising a plurality of red color filters (¶ [0049]),
an air grid (210 in Fig. 2 is shown as 210a in Fig. 3B; ¶ [0054] ) formed in an inner area (inner wall of P1; see B-B’ axis in Fig. 2) of the first array,
However, Yang ‘361 does not teach the device wherein the first pixel is a first pixel array, the second pixel is a second pixel array, and the third pixel is a third pixel array, and
wherein a metal grid is formed only in an edge area of the first pixel array, and an air grid is formed in an inner area of the first pixel array,
wherein the first pixel array comprises a plurality of first unit pixels,
the second pixel array comprises a plurality of second unit pixels,
the third pixel array comprises a plurality of third unit pixels, and
wherein at least part of the air grid is formed between the plurality of first unit pixels, between the plurality of second unit pixels, and between the plurality of third unit pixels.
Yang ‘138, in the same field of invention, teaches an image sensing device (100; see Figs. 1, 11 and 16) wherein each pixel of the same color filter (20; see ¶ [0072], ¶ [0138]) is a pixel array (PA); hence, Yang ‘138 teaches the first pixel is a first pixel array (PA(B); see Fig. 16), the second pixel is a second pixel array (PA(G)), and the third pixel is a third pixel array (PA(R)) and
wherein a metal grid (50) is formed only in an edge area (left and right edges of PA(B)) of the first pixel array (Fig. 11 shows 50 only at the left and right edges of PA(B)), and an air grid (40S1) is formed in an inner area (Fig. 11 shows 40 separating sub-pixels B4, A5, B6) of the first pixel array,
wherein the first pixel array comprises a plurality of first unit pixels (Figs. 1 & 16 show PA(B) comprised of A5, B2, B4, B6, B8, C1, C3, C7, C9; see also ¶ [0063])
the second pixel array comprises a plurality of second unit pixels (Figs. 1 & 16 show PA(G) comprised of A5, B2, B4, B6, B8, C1, C3, C7, C9),
the third pixel array comprises a plurality of third unit pixels (Figs. 1 & 16 show PA(R) comprised of A5, B2, B4, B6, B8, C1, C3, C7, C9), and
wherein at least part of the air grid is formed between the first unit pixels, between the second unit pixels, and between the third unit pixels (see ¶ [0124] and Fig. 11).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Yang ‘138 into the device of Yang ‘361 to transform the first pixel, the second pixel, and the third pixel into a first pixel array, a second pixel array, and a third pixel array, respectively, with each pixel array comprising of a plurality of first, second, and third unit pixels, wherein a metal grid is formed along the edges of the first pixel array and an air grid is formed in an inner area of the first pixel array, wherein at least part of the air grid formed between the first unit pixels, second unit pixels, and third unit pixels. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yang ‘361 in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the plurality of pixel arrays to improve the light sensitivity, pixel uniformity, and quantum efficiency of image sensors (Yang ‘138 ¶ [0003], [0078], and [0081]), for using the metal grid to fine-tune the aperture ratio of the first pixel array (¶ [0084]), and for using the internal air grid of the first pixel array to improve the channel separation of the modulation segment (20S5, see ¶ [0123]) that is placed on top of one of the sub-pixels (A5, see Fig.11) of the first pixel array.
Regarding claim 9, the image sensing device of claim 7,
wherein at least part of the air grid is formed between the second pixel array and the third pixel array (Yang ‘361 Fig. 2 shows air grid 200 separating P2 and P3; see also Yang ‘361 ¶ [0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Yang ‘361 et al. teach the image sensing device of claim 7, wherein the air grid comprises:
a supporting layer (40, see Yang ‘138 Fig. 11);
an air layer (40G) formed within the supporting layer.
However, Yang ‘138 does not teach: a barrier metal layer; an air layer formed between the barrier metal layer and the supporting layer; and a capping layer formed over the barrier metal layer, the air layer, and the supporting layer.
Yang ‘361, further teaches the air grid (210) comprising:
an air layer (240, Fig. 3) formed between a barrier metal layer (230) and a supporting layer (250; alternatively, ¶ [0061]: “a support film for maintaining the shape of the air grid structure 210a may be formed at a region corresponding to a lower part of the first capping film 250 and at a region corresponding to an upper part of the air layer 240”); and
a capping layer (260) formed over the barrier metal layer, the air layer, and the supporting layer.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Yang ‘361 into the device of Yang ‘138 to have the air grid be comprised of the an air layer formed between a barrier metal layer and a supporting layer and a capping layer formed over the barrier metal layer, the air layer, and the supporting layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yang ‘138 in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the barrier metal layer as a means to increase the light absorption rate (Yang ‘361 ¶ [0056]) and for using the air grid as a means to block light from passing through towards adjacent pixels (¶ [0007], [0065]) and for using the support structure as a reinforcement to maintain the air grid structure during changes of air pressure (¶ [0006]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang ‘361 (US 2021/0066361 A1) in view of Yang ‘138 (US 20220173138 A1) as applied to claims 7 above, and further in view of Chou (US 2022/0231065 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Yang ‘361 et al. teach the image sensing device of claim 7, wherein the metal grid comprises:
a barrier metal layer (50, see Yang ‘138 Fig. 11);
a capping layer (40) formed over the barrier metal layer.
However, Yang ‘361 et al. do not teach: a metal layer formed on the barrier metal layer; and the capping layer is formed over the metal layer.
Chou, in the same field of invention, teaches an image sensing device (¶ [0084]) comprising
a metal layer (818&830&828, see Fig. 8; ¶ [0085]: 818 is a metal shielding structure; ¶ [0086]: 828&830 may include TiNx, TaNx, TaOx, AlOx, with Ti, Ta, and Al being metals) is formed on the barrier metal layer (814), and
the capping layer (822) is formed over the metal layer.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Chou into the device of Yang’ 138 to dispose a metal layer on the barrier metal layer and below the capping layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yang ‘138 in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the metal layer on the barrier metal layer as a metal shielding structure (Chou ¶ [0085]) to reduce cross talk between adjacent pixel sensors and for improving the device performance (see Abstract, ¶ [0012]) .
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS YAP/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ZANDRA V SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899