DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
In claim 1, line 9, the limitation of “the blow-shaped stand” renders the claim indefinite because it lacks antecedent basis and no blow-shaped stand was previously recited. Therefore, it is suggested Applicant change “the blow-shaped stand” in claim 1, line 9 to “the bowl-shaped stand”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted and examined as “the bowl-shaped stand” recited in claim 1. Correction is requested.
Claims 2-10 are also rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett (US 2011/0101409) in view of Fujii (US 6,091,084), and further in view of He (US 2024/0288150).
Regarding claim 1, Barnett discloses, in at least figures 1-6 and related text, a direct plug-in light-emitting diode (LED) lamp bead (10, [26]) with an internal resistor (14, [26], [28], [29]), comprising a metal bowl-shaped stand (28 (20/26), [33], [35]), a flat stand (22 for 14, [34]), an LED luminous chip (12, [26]), conductive filaments (32, [36]) and a special adhesive ([36]), wherein
the LED luminous chip (12, [26]) is fixed in a bowl of the bowl-shaped stand (28 (20/26), [33], [35]) with the special adhesive ([36]), a resistor chip (14, [26], [28], [29]) is fixed to the flat stand (22 for 14, [34]) with the adhesive ([34]), the bowl-shaped stand (28 (20/26), [33], [35]), the flat stand (22 for 14, [34]), the LED luminous chip (12, [26]), the resistor chip (14, [26], [28], [29]) and the conductive filaments (32, [36]) are integrally packaged with transparent epoxy resin (34, [37]-[39]), and pins (16, [30]) of the bowl-shaped stand (28 (20/26), [33], [35]) and the flat stand (22 for 14, [34]) stretch out of package (package of 10 without 18, figures).
Barnett does not explicitly disclose the LED luminous chip has an electrode electrically connected to the bowl-shaped stand through the conductive filaments, as well as an electrode electrically connected to one end of the resistor chip through the conductive filaments, the other end of the resistor chip is electrically connected to the flat stand; pins of the bowl-shaped stand and the flat stand stretch out of an epoxy resin package.
Fujii teaches, in at least figures 1-2 and related text, the device comprising the LED luminous chip (1, col. 3/ lines 40-58) has an electrode (29, col. 3/ lines 40-58) electrically connected to the bowl-shaped stand (2, col. 3/ lines 40-58) through the conductive filaments (5, col. 3/ lines 40-58), as well as an electrode (28, col. 3/ lines 40-58) electrically connected to the flat stand (3, col. 3/ lines 40-58); pins (2/3 out of 6, figures) of the bowl-shaped stand (2, col. 3/ lines 40-58) and the flat stand (3, col. 3/ lines 40-58) stretch out of an epoxy resin package (6, col. 3/ lines 40-58), for the purpose of providing semiconductor light emitting device which is capable of preventing a substrate from being electrified with static electricity despite the substrate which is formed by an insulating substrate, having thereon semiconductor layers (col. 1/ line 66-col. 2/ line 3).
He teaches, in at least figures 1-2, 4, and related text, the device comprising the LED luminous chip (128, [42]) electrically connected to one end of the resistor chip (127, [42]) through the conductive filaments (connection wires, figure 4), the other end of the resistor chip (127, [42], [131]) is electrically connected to the flat stand (122, [42]) (figures), for the purpose of effectively lowering a short circuit failure between the conducting wires matched with the LED lamp and the LED luminous body ([35]).
Barnett, Fujii, and He are analogous art because they all are directed to LED lamp and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Barnett with the specified features of Fujii and He because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Barnett to have the LED luminous chip having an electrode electrically connected to the bowl-shaped stand through the conductive filaments, as well as an electrode electrically connected to the flat stand; the pins of the bowl-shaped stand and the flat stand stretching out of an epoxy resin package, as taught by Fujii and the LED luminous chip electrically connected to one end of the resistor chip through the conductive filaments, the other end of the resistor chip being electrically connected to the flat stand, as taught by He, for the purpose of providing semiconductor light emitting device which is capable of preventing a substrate from being electrified with static electricity despite the substrate which is formed by an insulating substrate, having thereon semiconductor layers (col. 1/ line 66-col. 2/ line 3, Fujii) and effectively lowering a short circuit failure between the conducting wires matched with the LED lamp and the LED luminous body ([35], He).
Regarding claim 2, Barnett in view of Fujii and He discloses the direct plug-in LED lamp bead with an internal resistor according to claim 1 as described above.
Fujii further teaches, in at least figures 1-2 and related text, the LED luminous chip (1, col. 3/ lines 40-58) is fixed in the bowl of the bowl-shaped stand (2, col. 3/ lines 40-58) with a conductive silver adhesive (4, col. 3/ lines 8-15, 40-58), for the purpose of providing semiconductor light emitting device which is capable of preventing a substrate from being electrified with static electricity despite the substrate which is formed by an insulating substrate, having thereon semiconductor layers (col. 1/ line 66-col. 2/ line 3).
Regarding claim 4, Barnett in view of Fujii and He discloses the direct plug-in LED lamp bead with an internal resistor according to claim 1 as described above.
Fujii further teaches, in at least figures 1-2 and related text, the LED luminous chip (1, col. 3/ lines 40-58) is a double-wire LED luminous chip of a planar structure (figures), for the purpose of providing semiconductor light emitting device which is capable of preventing a substrate from being electrified with static electricity despite the substrate which is formed by an insulating substrate, having thereon semiconductor layers (col. 1/ line 66-col. 2/ line 3).
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett (US 2011/0101409) in view of Fujii (US 6,091,084), He (US 2024/0288150), and further in view of Wu (US 2018/0294381).
Regarding claim 3, Barnett in view of Fujii and He discloses the direct plug-in LED lamp bead with an internal resistor according to claim 1 as described above.
Barnett in view of Fujii and He does not explicitly disclose the LED luminous chip is a single-wire LED luminous chip of a vertical structure.
Wu teaches, in at least figure 5 and related text, the device comprising the LED luminous chip (630R/630B/630G, [71]) is a single-wire LED luminous chip of a vertical structure, for the purpose of providing a plurality of LED devices with small sizes ([9]) thereby improving density of integration.
Barnett, Fujii, He, and Wu are analogous art because they all are directed to LED and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Barnett in view of Fujii and He with the specified features of Wu because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Barnett in view of Fujii and He to have the LED luminous chip being a single-wire LED luminous chip of a vertical structure, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of providing a plurality of LED devices with small sizes ([9], Wu) thereby improving density of integration.
Regarding claim 9, Barnett in view of Fujii and He discloses the direct plug-in LED lamp bead with an internal resistor according to claim 1 as described above.
Barnett in view of Fujii and He does not explicitly disclose the LED luminous chip is one of red, yellow, blue, green, orange and violet visible light chips.
Wu teaches, in at least figure 5 and related text, the device comprising the LED luminous chip (630R/630B/630G, [71]) is one of red, yellow, blue ([71]), green, orange and violet visible light chips, for the purpose of providing a plurality of LED devices with small sizes ([9]) thereby improving density of integration.
Barnett, Fujii, He, and Wu are analogous art because they all are directed to LED and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Barnett in view of Fujii and He with the specified features of Wu because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Barnett in view of Fujii and He to have the LED luminous chip being one of red, yellow, blue, green, orange and violet visible light chips, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of providing a plurality of LED devices with small sizes ([9], Wu) thereby improving density of integration.
Claim(s) 6, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett (US 2011/0101409) in view of Fujii (US 6,091,084), He (US 2024/0288150), and further in view of Kano (US 3,875,456).
Regarding claim 6, Barnett in view of Fujii and He discloses the direct plug-in LED lamp bead with an internal resistor according to claim 1 as described above.
Barnett in view of Fujii and He does not explicitly disclose the LED luminous chip between the LED luminous chip and the epoxy resin package is coated with a fluorescent powder.
Kano teaches, in at least figure 3 and related text, the device comprising the LED luminous chip (7/8, col. 4/ lines 22-44) between the LED luminous chip (7/8, col. 4/ lines 22-44) and the epoxy resin package (6, col. 4/ lines 22-44) is coated with a fluorescent powder (9/10, col. 4/ lines 22-44), for the purpose of providing a plurality of light-emitting diodes individually capable of emitting the light of respectively different colors are disposed close to one another (col. 2/ lines 5-15).
Barnett, Fujii, He, and Kano are analogous art because they all are directed to LED and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Barnett in view of Fujii and He with the specified features of Kano because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Barnett in view of Fujii and He to have the LED luminous chip between the LED luminous chip and the epoxy resin package being coated with a fluorescent powder, as taught by Kano, for the purpose of providing a plurality of light-emitting diodes individually capable of emitting the light of respectively different colors are disposed close to one another (col. 2/ lines 5-15, Kano).
Regarding claim 8, Barnett in view of Fujii and He discloses the direct plug-in LED lamp bead with an internal resistor according to claim 6 as described above.
Kano further teaches, in at least figure 3 and related text, the fluorescent powder is one of fluorescent powders (9/10, col. 4/ lines 22-44) allowing the LED luminous chip (7/8, col. 4/ lines 22-44) to emit red light (col. 4/ lines 22-44), yellow light, green light, blue light, orange light, pink light, violet light, white light, and warm white light, for the purpose of providing a plurality of light-emitting diodes individually capable of emitting the light of respectively different colors are disposed close to one another (col. 2/ lines 5-15).
Regarding claim 10, Barnett in view of Fujii and He discloses the direct plug-in LED lamp bead with an internal resistor according to claim 1 as described above.
Barnett in view of Fujii and He does not explicitly disclose the LED luminous chip is an infrared or ultraviolet invisible light chip.
Kano teaches, in at least figure 3 and related text, the device comprising the LED luminous chip (7/8, col. 4/ lines 22-44) is an infrared (col. 4/ lines 22-44) or ultraviolet invisible light chip, for the purpose of providing a plurality of light-emitting diodes individually capable of emitting the light of respectively different colors are disposed close to one another (col. 2/ lines 5-15).
Barnett, Fujii, He, and Kano are analogous art because they all are directed to LED and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Barnett in view of Fujii and He with the specified features of Kano because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Barnett in view of Fujii and He to have the LED luminous chip being an infrared or ultraviolet invisible light chip, as taught by Kano, for the purpose of providing a plurality of light-emitting diodes individually capable of emitting the light of respectively different colors are disposed close to one another (col. 2/ lines 5-15, Kano).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett (US 2011/0101409) in view of Fujii (US 6,091,084), He (US 2024/0288150), and further in view of Takei (US 2011/0255281).
Regarding claim 7, Barnett in view of Fujii and He discloses the direct plug-in LED lamp bead with an internal resistor according to claim 1 as described above.
Barnett in view of Fujii and He does not explicitly disclose the LED luminous chip is a visible light chip not coated with a fluorescent powder.
Takei teaches, in at least figures 2, 3B, and related text, the device comprising the LED luminous chip ([39]) is a visible light chip ([39]) not coated with a fluorescent powder ([41]), for the purpose of suppressing a decrease in extraction efficiency for light emitted from a light-emitting element and a rise in the temperature of the light-emitting element in response to the light emission ([8]).
Barnett, Fujii, He, and Takei are analogous art because they all are directed to LED and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Barnett in view of Fujii and He with the specified features of Takei because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Barnett in view of Fujii and He to have the LED luminous chip being a visible light chip not coated with a fluorescent powder, as taught by Takei, for the purpose of suppressing a decrease in extraction efficiency for light emitted from a light-emitting element and a rise in the temperature of the light-emitting element in response to the light emission ([8], Takei).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 1 and 5 that recite "the resistor chip is fixed to the flat stand with a conductive silver adhesive" in combination with other elements of the base claims 1 and 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/TONG-HO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811