DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s traversal on the restriction requirement has been considered and is persuasive. Therefore the restriction requirement on 3/19/2026 have been withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on11/1/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et.al. (US-2014/0117314-A1, hereinafter Jeong)
Regarding Claim 1.
Jeong teaches in Fig.2-4 and in related text A display panel (#110), having a first display region (Fig.2-4 active region in #14) and a binding region (inactive region in #12) at least partially surrounding the first display region ([0017]]), wherein the display panel comprises:
pixel units (Fig.3 #P) arranged in the first display region (#14), at least one of the pixel units comprising at least one sub-pixel; and
pads comprising at least one first pad (#PP1) and at least one second pad (#PP2), wherein the binding region comprises a first binding region (upper and lower edge area of #12) and a second binding region (left and right edge area of #12); and
wherein the at least one first pad (#PP1) is provided in the first binding region (upper/lower edge of #12), the at least one second pad (#PP2) is provided in the second binding region (left/right edge of #12), and a signal transmitted by the at least one first pad (generated by #130, #LP/#DL) is different from a signal transmitted by the at least one second pad (generated by #140 (#PL/#HP). ([0073-0094])
Regarding Claim 10.
Jeong teaches The display panel according to claim 1,
Jeong further teaches wherein the first binding region (upper/lower edge of #12) and the second binding region (left/right edge of #12) are adjacent to each other; and
wherein the at least one first pad (#PP1) comprises first pads that are arranged along a second direction, the at least one second pad (#PP2) comprises second pads that are arranged along a first direction, and the second direction intersects the first direction.
Regarding Claim 11.
Jeong teaches The display panel according to claim 10,
Jeong further teaches further comprising at least one data line (#DL) and at least one selecting signal line (Gate line #GL),
wherein at least one of the first pads (#PP1) is at least one data signal pad configured to provide a data signal to one of the at least one data line (#DL), or, at least another one of the first pads is at least one selecting signal pad configured to provide a selecting signal to one of the at least one selecting signal line; and
wherein at least one of the second pads (#PP2) is at least one power signal pad configured to provide a power signal (#PL) to one of the at least one sub-pixel. [0074-0093])
Regarding Claim 12.
Jeong teaches The display panel according to claim 11,
Jeong further teaches wherein the second binding region (left/right edge or #12) comprises a first binding sub-region and a second binding sub-region, the first binding sub-region (left edge) and the second binding sub-region (right edge) are opposite to each other along the second direction, and the first binding sub-region and the second binding sub-region each are adjacent to the first binding region; and at least one of the second pads (#PP2) is at least one first sub-pad, at least another one of the second pads is at least one second sub-pad, the at least one first sub-pad is provided in the first binding sub-region, and the at least one second sub-pad is provided in the second binding sub-region; and
wherein at least one of the power signal pads is at least one first power signal pad configured to provide a first power signal to one of the at least one sub-pixel, and/or, at least one of the power signal pads is at least one second power signal pad configured to provide a second power signal to one of the at least one sub-pixel, and the first power signal is different from the second power signal; and the at least one first sub-pad is the at least one first power signal pad, and the at least one second sub-pad is the at least one second power signal pad; or
wherein at least two of the power signal pads are at least two first power signal pads configured to provide a first power signal to one of the at least one sub-pixel, or, at least two of the power signal pads are at least two second power signal pads configured to provide a second power signal to one of the at least one sub-pixel, and the first power signal is different from the second power signal;
the at least one first sub-pad comprises first sub-pads, one of the first sub-pads is one of the at least two first power signal pads, and another one of the first sub-pads is one of the at least two second power signal pads; and the at least one second sub-pad comprises second sub-pads, one of the second sub-pads is the another one of the at least two first power signal pads, and another one of the second sub-pads is another one of the at least two second power signal pads. ([0116] Each of the second pad parts PP2 includes a plurality of gate pads GP respectively connected to the plurality of gate lines, a plurality of high-level power pads HP respectively connected to the high-level power lines PL, and a plurality of additional low-level power pads LP)
Regarding Claim 20.
Jeong teaches A display apparatus, comprising a display panel (#110), wherein the display panel has a first display region (region in #14) and a binding region (region in #12) at least partially surrounding the first display region, and the display panel comprises:
pixel units (#P) arranged in the first display region, at least one of the pixel units comprising at least one sub-pixel; and
pads comprising at least one first pad (#PP1) and at least one second pad (#PP2),
wherein the binding region comprises a first binding region (upper/lower edge of #12) and a second binding region (left/right edge of #12); and
wherein the at least one first pad (#PP1) is provided in the first binding region (upper/lower edge of #12), the at least one second pad (#PP2) is provided in the second binding region (left/right edge of #12), and a signal transmitted by the at least one first pad (#DL/#LP) is different from a signal transmitted by the at least one second pad (#PL/#HP).
Claims 1- 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et.al. (US- 20140139413-A1, hereinafter Kwon)
Regarding Claim 1.
Kwon teaches in Fig.1-3, 12-14 and in related text A display panel (#110), having a first display region (active region #AA) and a binding region (inactive region in #112) at least partially surrounding the first display region,
wherein the display panel comprises:
pixel units (Fig.3 #P) arranged in the first display region (#AA), at least one of the pixel units comprising at least one sub-pixel; and
pads comprising at least one first pad (Fig.14 #DPP) and at least one second pad (Fig.12 #DSP2),
wherein the binding region comprises a first binding region (upper edge area of #112) and a second binding region (lower edge area of #112); and
wherein the at least one first pad (#DPP) is provided in the first binding region (upper edge of #112), the at least one second pad (#DSP2) is provided in the second binding region (lower edge of #112), and a signal transmitted by the at least one first pad (generated by #123, #DL) is different from a signal transmitted by the at least one second pad (#PL/#CPL2). ([0123-0155])
Regarding Claim 2.
Kwon teaches The display panel according to claim 1,
Kwon further teaches wherein the first binding region (upper edge of #112) and the second binding region (lower edge of #112) are located at two opposite sides of the first display region along a first direction; and
wherein at least one of the at least one first pad (Fig.12-14 #DPP) or one of the at least one second pad is arranged along a second direction, and the second direction intersects the first direction. ( [0158])
Regarding Claim 3.
Kwon teaches The display panel according to claim 2,
Kwon further teaches in Fig.2-4 and 12-14 further comprising at least one data line (#DL data line) and at least one selecting signal line (#GL gate line);
wherein one of the at least one first pad is a data signal pad (#DPP) configured to provide a data signal (#DL) to one of the at least one data line; and/or, one of the at least one first pad is a selecting signal pad (#GL) configured to provide a selecting signal to one of the at least one selecting signal line; and
wherein at least one of the at least one second pads (#DSP2) is at least one power signal pad configured to provide a power signal (#PL/#CPL2) to one of the at least one sub-pixel. ([0052-0055],[0070-0072], [0126-0153])
Regarding Claim 7.
Kwon teaches The display panel according to claim 3,
Kwon further teaches in Fig.12-14 wherein the binding region further comprises a third binding region (left edge of #112) and a fourth binding region (right edge of #112) opposite to each other along the second direction; and
the pads comprise third pads (Fig.12 #130a) located in the third binding region, and/or, fourth pads (#130b) located in the fourth binding region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et.al. (US- 20140139413-A1, hereinafter Kwon), and further in view of Jeong et.al. (US-2014/0117314-A1, hereinafter Jeong)
Regarding Claim 8.
Kwon teaches The display panel according to claim 7,
Jeong teaches in Fig.3-4 wherein at least one of the third pads (#PP2 at the left edge of #12) is at least one of the at least one power signal pad (#HP/#LP), or at least one of the fourth pads (#PP2 at the right edge of #12) is at least one of the at least one power signal pad (#HP/#LP); and
wherein one of the third pads (#PP2 at the left edge of #12) is a first power signal pad (#HP) configured to provide a first power signal to one of the at least one sub-pixel, one of the fourth pads (#PP2 at the right edge of #12) is a second power signal pad (#LP) configured to provide a second power signal to one of the at least one sub-pixel, and the first power signal (#HP) is different from the second power signal (#LP);
or
wherein at least one of the third pads is at least one first power signal pad configured to provide a first power signal to one of the at least one sub-pixel, at least another one of the third pads is at least one second power signal pad configured to provide a second power signal to one of the at least one sub-pixel, and the first power signal is different from the second power signal; and at least one of the fourth pads is at least one first power signal pad, and at least another one of the fourth pads is at least one second power signal pad.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon with the teachings of Jeong, as identified above, in order to allow both powerlines to be easily supplied while preventing burning due to overlap between the routing. This modification is the combination of known elements according to known method to yield the predictable result of more uniform power distribution.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et.al. (US-20140139413-A1, hereinafter Kwon), and further in view of Lee et.al. (US-2014/0091992-A1, hereinafter Lee)
Regarding Claim 4.
Kwon teaches The display panel according to claim 3,
Lee teaches in Fig.3 and Fig.5 wherein at least one power signal pad comprises a plurality of power signal pads, wherein at least one of the plurality of power signal pads is at least one first power signal pad (#25) configured to provide a first power signal (#20) for one of the at least one sub-pixel (sub-pixel in #100), at least another one of the plurality of power signal pads (#35) is at least one second power signal pad configured to provide a second power signal (#30) to one of the at least one sub-pixel (sub-pixel in #100), and the first power signal is different from the second power signal; and
wherein the at least one first power signal pad comprises at least two first power signal pads (Fig.5 #25a & #25b), at least one second power signal pad comprises at least two second power signal pads (Fig.5 #35a & #35b), and the at least two first power signal pads and the at least two second power signal pads are arranged alternately along the second direction. (Fig.3 & 5 [0051-0070] [0078-0081])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon with the teachings of Lee, as identified above, in order to prevent the voltage drop and voltage rise overlap with each other and to minimize the luminance inequality of the display device, thereby improving the image quality.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et.al. (US-20140139413-A1, hereinafter Kwon), in view of Lee et.al. (US-2014/0091992-A1, hereinafter Lee), and further in view of Kwon’s third embodiment
Regarding Claim 5.
Kwon teaches The display panel according to claim 3,
Lee teaches in Fig.3 and Fig.5 wherein at least one power signal pad comprises a plurality of power signal pads, wherein at least one of the plurality of power signal pads is at least one first power signal pad (#25) configured to provide a first power signal (#20) for one of the at least one sub-pixel, at least another one of the plurality of power signal pads is at least one second power signal pad (#35) configured to provide a second power signal (#30) to one of the at least one sub-pixel, and the first power signal is different from the second power signal;
Kwon further teaches in third embodiment and in Fig.8-9 wherein the display panel comprises at least one pixel column, wherein at least one of the at least one pixel column comprises at least two of the pixel units arranged along the first direction; and
wherein at least one of one first power signal pad (#PSP) of the at least one first power signal pad or one second power signal pad of the at least one second power signal pad overlap with one pixel column of the at least one pixel column along the first direction. ([0108] The plurality of driving power pads PSP are connected to a corresponding driving power line PL through a driving power link line PLL. In this case, the plurality of driving power pads PSP may be respectively provided between the plurality of data pads DP, and respectively provided between two data pads DP, depending on a position of each of the plurality of driving power lines PL provided in the active area AA.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon with the teachings of Lee and Kwon, as identified above, in order to supply the driving voltage simultaneously to the upper and lower side of the driving power line, minimizing the drop caused by line resistance. Aligning each power pad with the power line it feeds shortens the link line and reduces its resistance --- a predictable engineering result.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et.al. (US-20140139413-A1, hereinafter Kwon), in view of Lee et.al. (US-2014/0091992-A1, hereinafter Lee)
Regarding Claim 9.
Kwon teaches The display panel according to claim 2, further comprising at least one data line;
Kwon also teaches in third embodiment and in Fig. 8-9 wherein the at least one first pad comprises first pads (#PP1), at least one of the first pads is at least one data signal pad (#DP) configured to provide a data signal (#DL) to one of the at least one data line, at least another one of the first pads is at least one first power signal pad (#PSP) configured to provide a first power signal (#PL) to one of the at least one sub-pixel, and
wherein the at least one first power signal pad (#PSP) comprises first power signal pads, and at least one data signal pad (#DP) comprises data signal pads, and the first power signal pads and the data signal pads are arranged alternately along the second direction. (Fig.9)
Kwon does not explicitly disclose in Fig.3 and Fig.5 the at least one second pad is at least one second power signal pad configured to provide a second power signal to one of the at least one sub-pixel, and the first power signal is different from the second power signal;
However, Lee teaches the at least one second pad is at least one second power signal pad (#35) configured to provide a second power signal (#30) to one of the at least one sub-pixel, and the first power signal (#20) is different from the second power signal(#30);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon with the teachings of Lee, as identified above, in order to prevent the IR-drop/IR-rise overlap by separating the two power injection points, as well as to minimizing driving-voltage drop.
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et.al. (US-2014/0117314-A1, hereinafter Jeong), in view of Park et.al. (US- 20070284586A1, hereinafter Park)
Regarding Claim 15.
Jeong teaches The display panel according to claim 1,
Park teaches in Fig 1D, wherein the at least one first pad (#22 Scan/gate pad) and the at least one second pad (#25 data pad) are located in different layers. ([0014])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong with the teachings of Park, as identified above, to eliminate an additional contact and mask step, and to use a known technique to improve the performance of the device.
Regarding Claim 19.
Jeong modified by Park teaches The display panel according to claim 15,
Jeong further teaches further comprising:
a selecting signal line (#GL);
Park teaches in Fig. 2-3 a substrate (#111) and a fourth conductive layer that is located at a side of the substrate along a thickness direction of the display panel,
wherein the selecting signal line (#112) is located in the fourth conductive layer (#102),
one of the at least first pad (#122) is a selecting signal pad configured to provide a selecting signal to the selecting signal line, and
the selecting signal pad is located in the fourth conductive layer (#102). ([0036-0041][0051])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Jeong and Park with the teachings of Park, as identified above, in order to reduce the number of exposure masks and thereby reduce fabrication time and cost. This would yield predictable result while preserving electrical connection, signal function and locations in the peripheral inactive regions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 13-14 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art, either singly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the device, wherein the at least one first pad comprises first pads, at least one data line comprises at least two data lines, at least one selecting signal line comprises at least two selecting signal lines, at least two of the first pads are the at least two data lines, at least another two of the first pads are the at least two selecting signal lines; and wherein the at least two selecting signal pads and the at least two data signal pads are arranged alternately along the second direction. These features in combination with the other elements of the claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claim 13 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art, either singly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the device, wherein … wherein the pads comprise fifth pads provided in the fifth binding region, wherein one of the fifth pads is connected to one of the at least one first pad and/or one of the at least one second pad through a connection line; wherein the display panel comprises a side surface connecting the front surface and the back surface; and the connection line comprises a first portion, a second portion, and a connection portion connecting the first portion and the second portion, wherein the first portion is located on the front surface, the second portion is located on the back surface, and the connection portion is located on the side surface; and wherein a width of the second portion along a direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the second portion is not greater than a width of one of the fifth pads along the direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the second portion. These features in combination with the other elements of the claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claim 14 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art, either singly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the device, further comprising a first chip, a second chip, a chip on film (COF), and a first flexible circuit board, wherein the at least one first pad is electrically connected to the first chip, and the at least one second pad is electrically connected to the second chip; and wherein the COF is electrically connected to the at least one first pad, and the first chip is provided on the COF; and the at least one second chip is provided on the display panel and serially connected between the first flexible circuit board and the at least one second pad. These features in combination with the other elements of the claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claim 16 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art, either singly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the device, wherein …. the data lines are located in the first conductive layer, and at least one of the power signal lines is located in the second conductive layer; at least one of the at least one first pad is at least one data signal pad configured to provide a data signal to one of the data lines, at least one of the at least second pad is at least one power signal pad configured to provide a power signal to one of the power signal lines; and the at least one data signal pad is located in the first conductive layer, and the at least one power signal pad is located in the second conductive layer. These features in combination with the other elements of the claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claims 17-18 contain allowable subject matter because they depend from claim 16 .
Conclusion
/SOPHIA W KAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817