DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on July 28, 2026. Claims 1 and 7-8 have been amended. No new claims have been added. No claims have been canceled. Claims 15-20 have been withdrawn. Currently, claims 1-14 are pending.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 successfully overcomes the 112(b) rejection of claim 1 and dependent claims set forth in the previous Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the drawing objection
In response to the drawing objection the Applicant argues that Figure 2F shows the metal material 207, a nitride material, adjacent to the top surface of the barrier material 205.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the interpretation. Amended claim 7 recites, “a first nitride material adjacent the barrier material; a titanium nitride (TiN) material over the barrier material”. Amended claim 8 further recites, “a liner material adjacent to the barrier material and adjacent the cell contacts”.
Applicant asserts that metal material 207, corresponding to metal material 307 in Figure 3, as the claimed first nitride material adjacent the barrier material. The Examiner respectfully disagrees that this identification resolves the drawing objection.
If metal material 207/307 corresponds to the claimed first nitride material adjacent the barrier material, Applicant has not identified where the separately recited titanium nitride material over the barrier material is shown in the drawings.
Also, the drawings do not show liner material adjacent to both the barrier material and the cell contacts recited in amended claim 8.
Thus, Applicant’s identification of metal material 207/307 as the first nitride material does not clearly account for each of the separately recited first nitride material, titanium nitride material and liner material. The drawings therefore do not clearly illustrate the claimed materials and their respective spatial relationships. Accordingly, the drawing objection of claims 7 and 8 is maintained.
Regarding the 112b rejection
Applicant’s amendment to claim 7, “a digit line metal material over a first metal material; and a cap material over a second metal material” provides antecedent basis but leaves the structural boundaries ambiguous. It remains unclear whether the recited second metal material is the previously recited digit line metal material or a separate additional metal material and whether the first metal material is the previously recited titanium nitride material or a separate additional metal material. Accordingly, the metes and bound of claim 7 remain unclear.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 8 fails to resolve ambiguities between the “first nitride material” and the “liner”. It remains unclear whether the liner material is the same structure as the first nitride material or a separate structure. If the liner is the same as the first nitride material, the claim does not clearly state this relationship and the drawings do not clearly show that material adjacent to the cell contacts. If the liner is a separate structure, its structural relationship to the first nitride material is unclear. Accordingly, the overall scope of claim 8 remains indefinite.
Regarding 103 rejection
The Applicant asserts that, “Song states, "Each contact structure includes a lower contact portion and an upper contact portion, wherein a bottom surface of the upper contact portion contacts a top surface of the lower contact portion at a contact structure interface." Further, Paragraph 0071 states, "Each contact formed an upper and lower contact pattern may be described herein as including an upper contact portion and a lower contact portion." Hence, Song appears to teach that the upper contact portion/pattern is in contact with a lower contact portion/pattern, and between sense line pillars. However, Song does not teach cell contacts between the plurality of sense line pillars, wherein the cell contacts are in contact with the plurality of sense line pillars, the semiconductor substrate, an isolation fill material, and an interlayer dielectric”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Song teaches the newly added limitations to the claims 1 and 7. The cell contact including the upper portion 149 and lower portion 145 is between the sense lines and is in contact with the interlayer insulating layer 119, the device isolation layer 101 and the semiconductor substrate (doped region 22).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first nitride material adjacent to the barrier material, the titanium nitride material over the barrier material and the liner material adjacent to both the barrier material and the cell contacts must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, The claim recites, “wherein the cell contacts are adjacent to the plurality of sense line pillars, the semiconductor substrate, an isolation fill material, and an interlayer dielectric”. However, the claim fails to explain how these parts are arranged or where they sit near the substrate and pillars. This leaves the spatial relationship and exact positions unclear.
Claims 2-6 depend upon claim 1 and do not rectify the problem therefore, they are also rejected.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites, “a digit line metal material over a first metal material; and a cap material over a second metal material;” which is indefinite as it is unclear what structures are intended by the recited first metal material and second metal material. It is also unclear how the first and second metal materials are structurally related to the digit line metal material, the cap material and the remaining materials of the sense line pillar.
The claim further recites, “wherein the cell contacts are adjacent to the plurality of sense line pillars, the semiconductor substrate, an isolation fill material, and an interlayer dielectric”. However, the claim fails to explain how these parts are arranged or where they sit near the substrate and pillars. This leaves the spatial relationship and exact positions unclear.
Claims 8-14 depend upon claim 7 and do not rectify the problem therefore, they are also rejected.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites, “a liner material adjacent to the barrier material and adjacent the cell contacts”. Claim 7 also recites a first nitride material adjacent to the barrier material. It is unclear whether the liner material is the same structure as the first nitride material or a separate structure. If the liner is the same as the first nitride material, the claim does not clearly state that relationship. If the liner material is a separate structure the claim does not define its structural relationship to the first nitride material or how both materials are arranged adjacent to the barrier material.
Claim 9 depends upon claim 8 and does not rectify the problem therefore, it is also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Song et al. (US 2014/0231892 A1; hereafter Song).
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches an apparatus (see e.g., Figures 1-20), comprising:
a sense line pillar of a plurality of sense line pillars (see e.g., bit lines BL, Para [0055], Figures 5A, 16, 17 and 20), comprising:
a barrier material over a semiconductor substrate (see e.g., a first semiconductor layer 141, formed on a substrate 100. The barrier layer 151 includes a metal silicide sub-layer formed on the first semiconductor layer 141. These layers are patterned to form the first conductive pattern 147 and barrier pattern 152 of the bit line BL, Paras [0051], [0053], Figures 4B, 5A and 16A);
a liner material adjacent the barrier material (see e.g., a first spacer 10, formed by etching the first spacer layer 9, adjacent to the metal silicide sub-layer of the barrier layer 151, Paras [0058], [0059], Figures 5A, 6A and 16A);
a first metal material as a sense line contact over the barrier material (see e.g., the barrier layer 151 includes a metal nitride sub-layer formed on the metal silicide sub-layer. The barrier layer 151 is patterned to form the barrier pattern 152 of the bit line BL, Para [0053], Figures 4B and 16A);
a second metal material over the first metal material; and (see e.g., the metal layer 161 formed on the metal nitride sub-layer of the barrier layer 151. The metal layer 161 is patterned to form the second conductive pattern 162 of the bit line BL, Para [0054], Figures 4B, 5A and 16A)
a cap material over the second metal material; and (see e.g., capping layer 170 formed on the metal layer 161. The capping layer 170 is patterned to form the capping pattern 171 of the bit line BL, Para [0054], Figures 4B, 5A and 16A)
cell contacts between the plurality of sense line pillars (see e.g., cell contacts including the upper contact patterns 149 and the lower contact patterns 145 between the bit lines BL, Paras [0065], [0066], [0068], [0071], Figure 16A),
wherein the cell contacts are adjacent to the plurality of sense line pillars, the semiconductor substrate, an isolation fill material, and an interlayer dielectric (see e.g., cell contacts including the upper contact patterns 149 and the lower contact patterns 145 are adjacent to the bit lines BL, the doped portion 22 of the semiconductor substrate 100, device isolation layer 101 and the interlayer insulating layer 119, Paras [0043], [0044], [0076], Figures 17A and 20A).
Regarding claim 2, Song, as referred in claim 1, further teaches
wherein the second metal material and the first metal material reduce resistivity of the sense line pillar to less than 6 ohms (Q).
Song teaches a stacked metal pillar structure for bit lines including a metal nitride sub-layer of the barrier pattern 152 is stacked with a second conductive pattern 162 comprised of metal such as titanium and tungsten. The instant application (see e.g. Para [0030]) utilizes similar materials for the first and second metal materials stacked in a sense line pillar. Song’s structure having the same material composition would necessarily yield a similar outcome specifically a bit line resistivity of less than 6 ohms.
Regarding claim 3, Song, as referred in claim 1, further teaches
wherein the second metal material is a digit line (see e.g. the second conductive pattern 162 is part of the bit line BL, Figure 16A).
Regarding claim 4, Song, as referred in claim 1, further teaches
wherein the first metal material is a titanium nitride (TiN) material (see e.g., the metal nitride sub-layer of the barrier pattern 152 may include titanium nitride, Para [0053], Figures 4A, 5A and 16A).
Regarding claim 6, Song, as referred in claim 1, further teaches
wherein the liner material is a nitride material (see e.g., the first spacer 10 includes silicon nitride, Paras [0058], [0059], Figures 5A, 6A and 16A).
Regarding claim 7, Song teaches an apparatus (see e.g., Figures 1-20), comprising:
a sense line pillar of a plurality of sense line pillars (see e.g., bit lines BL, Para [0055], Figures 5A, 16, 17 and 20), comprising:
a barrier material over a semiconductor substrate (see e.g., a first semiconductor layer 141, formed on a substrate 100. The barrier layer 151 includes a metal silicide sub-layer formed on the first semiconductor layer 141. These layers are patterned to form the first conductive pattern 147 and barrier pattern 152 of the bit line BL, Paras [0051], [0053], Figures 4B, 5A and 16A);
a first nitride material adjacent the barrier material (see e.g., a first spacer 10, formed by etching the first spacer 9, adjacent to the metal silicide sub-layer of the barrier layer 151. The first spacer includes silicon nitride, Paras [0058], [0059], Figures 5A, 6A and 16A);
a titanium nitride (TiN) material over the barrier material (see e.g., the barrier layer 151 includes a metal nitride sub-layer, including titanium nitride, formed on the metal silicide sub-layer. The barrier layer 151 is patterned to form the barrier pattern 152 of the bit line BL, Para [0053], Figures 4B and 16A);
a digit line metal material over a first metal material; and (see e.g., the metal layer 161 formed on the metal nitride sub-layer of the barrier layer 151. The metal layer 161 is patterned to form the second conductive pattern 162 of the bit line BL, Para [0054], Figures 4B, 5A and 16A)
a cap material over a second metal material; and (see e.g., capping layer 170 formed on the metal layer 161. The capping layer 170 is patterned to form the capping pattern 171 of the bit line BL, Para [0054], Figures 4B, 5A and 16A)
cell contacts between the plurality of sense line pillars (see e.g., upper contact patterns 149 between the bit line BL, Para [0071], Figure 16A),
wherein the cell contacts are adjacent to the plurality of sense line pillars, the semiconductor substrate, an isolation fill material, and an interlayer dielectric (see e.g., cell contacts including the upper contact patterns 149 and the lower contact patterns 145 are adjacent to the bit lines BL, the doped portion 22 of the semiconductor substrate 100, device isolation layer 101 and the interlayer insulating layer 119, Paras [0043], [0044], [0076], Figures 17A and 20A).
Regarding claim 8, Song, as referred in claim 7, further teaches
further comprising a liner material adjacent to the barrier material and adjacent the cell contacts (see e.g., spacer 10 is adjacent to the metal silicide sub-layer of the barrier pattern 152 and the upper contact patterns 149 as shown in Figure 16A).
Regarding claim 10, Song, as referred in claim 7, further teaches
wherein the cap material is a second nitride material (see e.g., the capping pattern 171 formed by patterning the capping layer 170 may include at least a silicon nitride layer and a silicon oxynitride layer, Para [0054], Figures 5A and 16A).
Regarding claim 12, Song, as referred in claim 7, further teaches
wherein the barrier material is a titanium silicide (TiSix) material (see e.g., the metal silicide sub-layer of the barrier pattern 152 includes titanium silicide, Para [0053], Figures 5A and 16A).
Regarding claim 13, Song, as referred in claim 7, further teaches
wherein the digit line metal material is a tungsten material (see e.g., the metal layer 161 patterned into second conductive pattern 162 includes tungsten, Para [0054], Figures 5A, 16A).
Regarding claim 14, Song, as referred in claim 7, further teaches
wherein the semiconductor substrate is a silicon material (see e.g., the first semiconductor layer 141 patterned into the first conductive pattern 142 may include undoped poly-silicon, Para [0051], Figures 5A and 16A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 2014/0231892 A1; hereafter Song) in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0125998 A1; hereafter Kim).
Regarding claim 5, Song, as referred in claim 1, does not explicitly teach
“wherein the cell contacts are a polysilicon material”.
In a similar field of endeavor Kim teaches
wherein the cell contacts are a polysilicon material (see e.g., the storage node contacts BC disposed between the bit lines may include polysilicon, Para [0035], Figure 1B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Kim’s teachings of wherein the cell contacts are a polysilicon material in the device of Song as substituting the material of the contacts is a routine optimization. Implementing Kim’s polysilicon contacts into Song device is a predictable variation to achieve enhanced conductivity or standard fabrication material usage.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 2014/0231892 A1; hereafter Song) in view of Cherng (5,837,577).
Regarding claim 9, Song, as referred in claim 8, does not explicitly teach
“wherein the liner material is a polysilicon material”.
In a similar field of endeavor Cherng teaches
wherein the liner material is a polysilicon material (see e.g., bit lines 24 have insulating sidewall spacers 28 including silicon nitride and polysilicon material 30’, Figure 10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Cherng’s teachings of wherein the liner material is a polysilicon material in the device of Song in order to form crown capacitors for DRAM.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 2014/0231892 A1; hereafter Song) in view of Cui et al. (US 2023/0371287 A1; hereafter Cui).
Regarding claim 11, Song, as referred in claim 7, does not explicitly teach
“wherein a width for the plurality of sense line pillars is in a range between 5-9 nanometers (nm)”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Cui teaches
wherein a width for the plurality of sense line pillars is in a range between 5-9 nanometers (nm) (see e.g., the width of the bit line 20 is 5nm to 10nm, Para [0082], Figure 12E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Cui’s teachings of wherein a width for the plurality of sense line pillars is in a range between 5-9 nanometers (nm) in the device of Song to achieve the predictable result of increased device miniaturization without compromising the fundamental operational integrity of the memory architecture.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more
information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at
866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FAKEHA SEHAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893