DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 11/10/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN 202211406902.6 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 4, part 404 recites “capture turn-on of sync. rec. switch and generate a first turn-on signal of the auxiliary switch”, which should be “capture turn-off of sync. rec. switch and generate a first turn-off signal of the auxiliary switch” based on Specification (paragraph [0042]) and Figure 4, part 406 recites “transmit the first turn-on signal to the primary side through an isolation module”, which should be “transmit the first turn-off signal to the primary side through an isolation module” based on Specification (paragraph [0042]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first drain, source and gate terminals connections and second drain, source and gate terminals connections (see claims 1, 14 and 15) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the Specification should be revised carefully because it contains some typographical errors (Example: page 7; third line; recites “a controller 100”, which should be “a controller 120” based on Figure 1, part 120).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10, lines 1-2 recites “a special control mode”, which should be --the special control mode -- because this term was previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “sensing a turn-on of the third switch and in response, transmitting a turn-on signal to the controller”, it is unclear what particular steps/physical limitations are required to performed the claimed: “sensing a turn-on of the third switch” (how is sensing this turn-on of the third switch? for sensing use a secondary controller?) and “transmitting a turn-on signal to the controller” (how is transmitted the turn-on signal to the controller? Use a secondary controller that send the turn-on signal to the isolation module and after that the controller at the primary side received the turn-on signal?). For examination purpose the mentioned limitation will be interpret as best understood based on the Specification and Figures.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “sensing a turn-off of the third switch and in response, transmitting a turn-off signal to the controller”, it is unclear what particular steps/physical limitations are required to performed the claimed: “sensing a turn-off of the third switch” (how is sensing this turn-off of the third switch? for sensing use a secondary controller?) and “transmitting a turn-off signal to the controller” (how is transmitted the turn-off signal to the controller? Use a secondary controller that send the turn-off signal to the isolation module and after that the controller at the primary side received the turn-off signal?). For examination purpose the mentioned limitation will be interpret as best understood based on the Specification and Figures.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “turning-on the second switch, using the controller, in response to sensing a turn-off of the first switch”, it is unclear what particular steps/physical limitations are required to performed the claimed “sensing a turn-off of the first switch” (how is sensing this turn-off of the first switch?). For examination purpose the mentioned limitation will be interpret as best understood based on the Specification and Figures.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the controller is arranged to receive a turn-on signal corresponding to a turn-on of the third switch, and wherein the controller is further arranged to turn-on the second switch in response to receiving the turn-on signal”, it is unclear what particular steps/physical limitations are required to performed the claimed: “the controller is arranged to receive a turn-on signal corresponding to a turn-on of the third switch” (how is transmitted the turn-on signal to the controller? Use a secondary controller that send the turn-on signal to the isolation module and after that the controller at the primary side received the turn-on signal?). For examination purpose the mentioned limitation will be interpret as best understood based on the Specification and Figures.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the controller is further arranged to receive a turn-off signal corresponding to a turn-off of the third switch”, it is unclear what particular steps/physical limitations are required to performed the claimed: “receive a turn-off signal” (how is transmitted the turn-off signal to the controller? Use a secondary controller that send the turn-off signal to the isolation module and after that the controller at the primary side received the turn-off signal?). For examination purpose the mentioned limitation will be interpret as best understood based on the Specification and Figures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11, 12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 9,991,799), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 1, claim 15 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 2, claim 16 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 3, claim 20 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-7) the transmitting the turn-on signal (figures 3 and 4, part 306 or 404 signal through 120) to the controller (figures 3 and 4, part 302) (columns 5 and 6; lines 1-67 and 1-16; the control circuit 302 receives the signal 306, which is a voltage representative of the current flowing through the switching device Q1. The control circuit 302 can then control the switching device Q3 (with the auxiliary driver) in response to this signal received from the secondary side 112 of the transformer 108 via the isolation component 120. During operation, the signal 306 (e.g., a voltage) is in a low state when the switching device Q1 is on. This low signal is used to force the gate of the switching device Q3 high thereby turning the switching device Q3 on. Conversely, when the switching device Q1 is off, substantially zero current is sensed by current sensor 304 causing the signal 306 to increase to a high state. This high state may occur when the value of the signal 306 exceeds a defined threshold value. The high signal is then used to turn the switching device Q3 off. Thus, the switching devices Q1, Q3 are turned on and/or off at substantially the same time. In other words, the control circuit 302 controls the switching devices Q1, Q3 such that the switching device Q1 and the switching device Q3 transition between an ON state and an OFF state in a corresponding manner… the control circuit 302 receives the signal 404 from the switch driver, and controls the switching device Q3 in response to the signal 404 received from the secondary side of the transformer 108 via the isolation component 120, as explained above. Thus, similar to the embodiment of FIG. 3, the switching devices Q1, Q3 of FIG. 4 can be turned on/off at substantially the same time as both are controlled based on the same signal 404) is performed using an isolation module (figures 3 and 4, part 120) (column 4; lines 11-17; The isolation component 120 may be used to pass one or more signals from the secondary side 112 to the primary side 110 of the transformer 108 to control at least the switching device 116 as explained herein).
Regarding claim 12, claim 18 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses (see figures 1-7) a method of controlling a circuit (figures 3 and 4), the method (figures 3 and 4) comprising: providing a power converter circuit (figures 3 and 4, part 300/400) comprising: a transformer (figures 3 and 4, part 108) including a primary winding extending between a first terminal and a second terminal (figures 3 and 4, part 314), and further including a secondary winding extending between a third terminal and a first output terminal (figures 3 and 4, part 312) (column 4; lines 43-58; the power supply 300 includes a flyback power converter 308 having the transformer 108); a first switch (figures 3 and 4, part Q2) having a first gate terminal, a first source terminal and a first drain terminal (figures 3 and 4, part Q2; gate, source and drain terminals), the first drain terminal (figures 3 and 4, part Q2; drain terminal) coupled to the second terminal (figures 3 and 4, part 314; lower terminal) and the first source terminal (figures 3 and 4, part Q2; source terminal) coupled to a power source (figures 3 and 4, part power source from Vin and 316); a second switch (figures 3 and 4, part Q3) having a second gate terminal, a second source terminal and a second drain terminal (figures 3 and 4, part Q3; gate, source and drain terminals), the second source terminal (figure 3, part Q3; source terminal) coupled to the second terminal (figure 3, part 314; lower terminal), and the second drain terminal (figure 3, part Q3; drain terminal) coupled to the power source (figure 3, part power source from Vin and 316; through C1); a third switch (figures 3 and 4, part Q1) having a third gate terminal, a third source terminal and a third drain terminal (figures 3 and 4, part Q1; gate, source and drain terminals), the third source terminal (figure 4, part Q1; source terminal) coupled to the third terminal (figure 4, part 312; upper terminal) and the third drain terminal (figure 4, part 312; drain terminal) coupled to a second output terminal (figure 4, part second output at Vout) (column 8; lines 40-44; The switching devices disclosed herein may each include a transistor (e.g., a MOSFET as shown in FIGS. 3-5, etc.) and/or another suitable switching device. If MOSFET(s) are employed, the MOSFET(s) may include N-type MOSFET(s) and/or a P-type MOSFET(s)); and a controller (figures 3 and 4, part 302) coupled to the first and second gate terminals (figures 3 and 4, part gate terminals of Q2 and Q3); providing a controller (figures 3 and 4, part 302) coupled to the first and second gate terminals (figures 3 and 4, part gate terminals of Q2 and Q3); and turning-on the second switch (figures 3 and 4, part turn-on Q3), using the controller (figures 3 and 4, part 302), in response to sensing (figures 3 and 4, part 306 or 404 signal through 120; when transistor Q2 is turn-off, the transistor Q1 is turn-on and the signals 306 or 404 sensing this event) (column 4; lines 43-58; the clamping circuit 310 clamps a voltage across a primary winding 314 of the transformer 108 during turn-off of the switching device Q2) a turn-off of the first switch (figures 3 and 4, part turn-off of Q2) (columns 5 and 6; lines 1-67 and 1-16; the control circuit 302 receives the signal 306, which is a voltage representative of the current flowing through the switching device Q1. The control circuit 302 can then control the switching device Q3 (with the auxiliary driver) in response to this signal received from the secondary side 112 of the transformer 108 via the isolation component 120. During operation, the signal 306 (e.g., a voltage) is in a low state when the switching device Q1 is on. This low signal is used to force the gate of the switching device Q3 high thereby turning the switching device Q3 on. Conversely, when the switching device Q1 is off, substantially zero current is sensed by current sensor 304 causing the signal 306 to increase to a high state. This high state may occur when the value of the signal 306 exceeds a defined threshold value. The high signal is then used to turn the switching device Q3 off. Thus, the switching devices Q1, Q3 are turned on and/or off at substantially the same time. In other words, the control circuit 302 controls the switching devices Q1, Q3 such that the switching device Q1 and the switching device Q3 transition between an ON state and an OFF state in a corresponding manner… the control circuit 302 receives the signal 404 from the switch driver, and controls the switching device Q3 in response to the signal 404 received from the secondary side of the transformer 108 via the isolation component 120, as explained above. Thus, similar to the embodiment of FIG. 3, the switching devices Q1, Q3 of FIG. 4 can be turned on/off at substantially the same time as both are controlled based on the same signal 404).
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses (see figures 1-7) a circuit (figures 3 and 4) comprising: a transformer (figures 3 and 4, part 108) including a primary winding extending between a first terminal and a second terminal (figures 3 and 4, part 314), and further including a secondary winding extending between a third terminal and a first output terminal (figures 3 and 4, part 312) (column 4; lines 43-58; the power supply 300 includes a flyback power converter 308 having the transformer 108); a first switch (figures 3 and 4, part Q2) having a first gate terminal, a first source terminal and a first drain terminal (figures 3 and 4, part Q2; gate, source and drain terminals), the first drain terminal (figures 3 and 4, part Q2; drain terminal) coupled to the second terminal (figures 3 and 4, part 314; lower terminal) and the first source terminal (figures 3 and 4, part Q2; source terminal) coupled to a power source (figures 3 and 4, part power source from Vin and 316); a second switch (figures 3 and 4, part Q3) having a second gate terminal, a second source terminal and a second drain terminal (figures 3 and 4, part Q3; gate, source and drain terminals), the second source terminal (figure 3, part Q3; source terminal) coupled to the second terminal (figure 3, part 314; lower terminal), and the second drain terminal (figure 3, part Q3; drain terminal) coupled to the power source (figure 3, part power source from Vin and 316; through C1); a third switch (figures 3 and 4, part Q1) having a third gate terminal, a third source terminal and a third drain terminal (figures 3 and 4, part Q1; gate, source and drain terminals), the third source terminal (figure 4, part Q1; source terminal) coupled to the third terminal (figure 4, part 312; upper terminal) and the third drain terminal (figure 4, part 312; drain terminal) coupled to a second output terminal (figure 4, part second output at Vout) (column 8; lines 40-44; The switching devices disclosed herein may each include a transistor (e.g., a MOSFET as shown in FIGS. 3-5, etc.) and/or another suitable switching device. If MOSFET(s) are employed, the MOSFET(s) may include N-type MOSFET(s) and/or a P-type MOSFET(s)); and a controller (figures 3 and 4, part 302) coupled to the first and second gate terminals (figures 3 and 4, part gate terminals of Q2 and Q3); wherein the controller (figures 3 and 4, part 302) is arranged to receive a turn-on signal (figures 3 and 4, part 306 or 404 signal through 120) corresponding to a turn-on of the third switch (figures 3 and 4, part turn-on of Q1), and wherein the controller (figures 3 and 4, part 302) is further arranged to turn-on the second switch (figures 3 and 4, part turn-on Q3) in response to receiving the turn-on signal (figures 3 and 4, part 306 or 404 signal through 120) (columns 5 and 6; lines 1-67 and 1-16; the control circuit 302 receives the signal 306, which is a voltage representative of the current flowing through the switching device Q1. The control circuit 302 can then control the switching device Q3 (with the auxiliary driver) in response to this signal received from the secondary side 112 of the transformer 108 via the isolation component 120. During operation, the signal 306 (e.g., a voltage) is in a low state when the switching device Q1 is on. This low signal is used to force the gate of the switching device Q3 high thereby turning the switching device Q3 on. Conversely, when the switching device Q1 is off, substantially zero current is sensed by current sensor 304 causing the signal 306 to increase to a high state. This high state may occur when the value of the signal 306 exceeds a defined threshold value. The high signal is then used to turn the switching device Q3 off. Thus, the switching devices Q1, Q3 are turned on and/or off at substantially the same time. In other words, the control circuit 302 controls the switching devices Q1, Q3 such that the switching device Q1 and the switching device Q3 transition between an ON state and an OFF state in a corresponding manner… the control circuit 302 receives the signal 404 from the switch driver, and controls the switching device Q3 in response to the signal 404 received from the secondary side of the transformer 108 via the isolation component 120, as explained above. Thus, similar to the embodiment of FIG. 3, the switching devices Q1, Q3 of FIG. 4 can be turned on/off at substantially the same time as both are controlled based on the same signal 404).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-7) the controller (figures 3 and 4, part 302) is further arranged to receive a turn-off signal (figures 3 and 4, part 306 or 404 signal through 120) corresponding to a turn-off of the third switch (figures 3 and 4, part turn-off of Q1), and wherein the controller (figures 3 and 4, part 302) is arranged to turn-off the second switch (figures 3 and 4, part turn-off Q3) in response to receiving the turn-off signal (figures 3 and 4, part 306 or 404 signal through 120) (columns 5 and 6; lines 1-67 and 1-16; the control circuit 302 receives the signal 306, which is a voltage representative of the current flowing through the switching device Q1. The control circuit 302 can then control the switching device Q3 (with the auxiliary driver) in response to this signal received from the secondary side 112 of the transformer 108 via the isolation component 120. During operation, the signal 306 (e.g., a voltage) is in a low state when the switching device Q1 is on. This low signal is used to force the gate of the switching device Q3 high thereby turning the switching device Q3 on. Conversely, when the switching device Q1 is off, substantially zero current is sensed by current sensor 304 causing the signal 306 to increase to a high state. This high state may occur when the value of the signal 306 exceeds a defined threshold value. The high signal is then used to turn the switching device Q3 off. Thus, the switching devices Q1, Q3 are turned on and/or off at substantially the same time. In other words, the control circuit 302 controls the switching devices Q1, Q3 such that the switching device Q1 and the switching device Q3 transition between an ON state and an OFF state in a corresponding manner… the control circuit 302 receives the signal 404 from the switch driver, and controls the switching device Q3 in response to the signal 404 received from the secondary side of the transformer 108 via the isolation component 120, as explained above. Thus, similar to the embodiment of FIG. 3, the switching devices Q1, Q3 of FIG. 4 can be turned on/off at substantially the same time as both are controlled based on the same signal 404).
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-7) an isolation module (figures 3 and 4, part 120) that is arranged to transmit signals (figures 3 and 4, part 120) from a secondary side to a primary side of the transformer (figures 3 and 4, part secondary side to primary side of 108) (column 4; lines 11-17; The isolation component 120 may be used to pass one or more signals from the secondary side 112 to the primary side 110 of the transformer 108 to control at least the switching device 116 as explained herein).
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-7) the isolation module (figures 3 and 4, part 120) comprises an optocoupler isolation or a magnetic isolation and/or a capacitive isolation (figures 3 and 4, part 120) (column 4; lines 19-24; The isolation component 120 may include, for example, a transformer, an optocoupler, a capacitor and/or another suitable isolation component).
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-7) the controller (figure 3, part 302) is further arranged to turn-off the second switch (figure 3, part turn-off Q3) after a delay time Tdelay (figure 3, part through delay circuit 318) (column 5; lines 28-41; a delay may be employed between when one of the switching devices Q1, Q3 transitions and the other the switching device Q1, Q3 transitions. For example, and as shown in FIG. 3, the control circuit 302 includes a delay circuit 318 to delay a transition of the switching device Q3 relative to a transition of the switching device Q1. As such, the switching device Q3 may turn on and/or turn off after the switching device Q1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 13 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 9,991,799), hereinafter Liu, in view of Xu (US 12,057,777).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-7) the time delay Tdelay (figure 3, part through delay circuit 318) (column 5; lines 28-41; a delay may be employed between when one of the switching devices Q1, Q3 transitions and the other the switching device Q1, Q3 transitions. For example, and as shown in FIG. 3, the control circuit 302 includes a delay circuit 318 to delay a transition of the switching device Q3 relative to a transition of the switching device Q1. As such, the switching device Q3 may turn on and/or turn off after the switching device Q1). However, Liu does not expressly disclose the time delay Tdelay corresponds to a drain-source voltage Vds_on of the first switch.
Xu teaches (see figures 1-10) the time delay Tdelay (figures 6 and 7, part tzvs) corresponds to a drain-source voltage Vds_on of the first switch (figures 3, 6 and 7, part drain-source voltage Vds_on [Vds_Q1] of the first switch [Q1]; through sensing Vaux [Vs] that is a representation of the drain-source voltage Vds_on [Vds_Q1] of the first switch [Q1], the time delay tzvs can be adjusted through 130 to meet with zero voltage switching) (columns 10 and 11; lines 43-67 and 1-3; the self-adaptive adjustment unit 130 is configured to adaptively adjust a length of the first time tZVS according to a conduction condition of the second switch transistor Q2 during each non-initial switching cycle of the asymmetric half-bridge flyback converter… the sample-and-hold unit 131 is configured to sample and hold the predetermined parameter of the asymmetric half-bridge flyback converter during a turn-on time period of the first switch transistor Q1 in a previous switching cycle and obtain a first sampled signal. The sampling unit 132 is configured to sample the predetermined parameter of the asymmetric half-bridge flyback converter at a time when the first switch transistor Q1 is turned on in the current switching cycle and obtain a second sampled signal. The comparator unit 133 is connected to the sample-and-hold unit 131 and the sampling unit 132, respectively, for generating a first adjustment signal if the second sampled signal is less than or equal to a product of the first sampled signal and k1, or generating a second adjustment signal if the second sampled signal is greater than the product of the first sampled signal and k1. Wherein, the first adjustment signal is used to control the first time tZVS to be decreased, the second adjustment signal is used to control the first time tZVS to be increased).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Liu with the delay time control features as taught Xu and obtain the time delay Tdelay corresponds to a drain- source voltage Vds_on of the first switch, because it provides more efficient control that reduce switching losses with more accurate zero voltage switching (column 2; lines 1-7 and 59-65).
Regarding claim 5, Liu and Xu teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-7) the controller (figure 3, part 302) comprises a turn-off management module (figure 3, part turn-off management module inside of 302 that generate the turn-off operation based on delay circuit 318) and the delay time Tdelay (figure 3, part through delay circuit 318) (column 5; lines 28-41; a delay may be employed between when one of the switching devices Q1, Q3 transitions and the other the switching device Q1, Q3 transitions. For example, and as shown in FIG. 3, the control circuit 302 includes a delay circuit 318 to delay a transition of the switching device Q3 relative to a transition of the switching device Q1. As such, the switching device Q3 may turn on and/or turn off after the switching device Q1). However, Liu does not expressly disclose the turn-off management module stores N threshold voltages VTH_1, VTH_2,...,and VTH_N having different magnitudes, wherein VTH_1<VTH_2<...<VTH_N, and wherein the N threshold voltages correspond to N different delay times Tdelay_1, Tdelay_2,... , and TdelayN, where Tdelay_1<Tdelay_2<... <TdelayN.
Xu teaches (see figures 1-10) the controller (figure 3, part 100) comprises a turn-off management module (figure 3, part turn-off management module inside of 100 that generate the turn-off operation based on 130) and wherein the turn-off management module (figure 3, part turn-off management module inside of 100 that generate the turn-off operation based on 130) stores N threshold voltages VTH_1, VTH_2,...,and VTH_N having different magnitudes, wherein VTH_1<VTH_2<...<VTH_N (figure 3, part turn-off management module inside of 100 that generate the turn-off operation based on 130; first and second threshold values), and wherein the N threshold voltages (figure 3, part turn-off management module inside of 100 that generate the turn-off operation based on 130; first and second threshold values) correspond to N different delay times Tdelay_1, Tdelay_2,... , and TdelayN, where Tdelay_1<Tdelay_2<... <TdelayN (figures 6 and 7, part tzvs) (column 14; lines 4-26; the self-adaptive adjustment unit is further configured to compare a changing rate dV/dt of the voltage Vds_Q2 between two power terminals of the second switch transistor with a first threshold value, or compare a changing value of the voltage Vds_Q2 between the two power terminals of the second switch transistor with a second threshold value, so as to obtain a judgment result by judging whether the first switch transistor Q1 is operated with zero voltage switching in the current switching cycle, and then dynamically adjust the length of the first time in a next switching cycle according to the judgment result, so as to make the zero-voltage switching at a turn-on time of the first switch transistor Q1 more idealized. Further, when the changing rate dV/dt of the voltage Vds_Q2 between the two power terminals of the second switch transistor is greater than the first threshold value, or the changing value of the voltage Vds_Q2 between the two power terminals of the second switch transistor is greater than the second threshold value, it can be determined that the first switch transistor Q1 is operated with hard switching in the current switching cycle, otherwise, it can be determined that the first switch transistor Q1 is operated with zero-voltage switching in the current switching cycle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Liu with the delay time control features as taught Xu and obtain the controller comprises a turn-off management module and wherein the turn-off management module stores N threshold voltages VTH_1, VTH_2,...,and VTH_N having different magnitudes, wherein VTH_1<VTH_2<...<VTH_N, and wherein the N threshold voltages correspond to N different delay times Tdelay_1, Tdelay_2,... , and TdelayN, where Tdelay_1<Tdelay_2<... <TdelayN, because it provides more efficient control that reduce switching losses with more accurate zero voltage switching (column 2; lines 1-7 and 59-65).
Regarding claim 6, Liu and Xu teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-7) the turn-off management module (figure 3, part turn-off management module inside of 302 that generate the turn-off operation based on delay circuit 318). However, Liu does not expressly disclose detects the drain-source voltage Vds_on of the first switch when the first switch was turned on in a previous cycle.
Xu teaches (see figures 1-10) the turn-off management module (figure 3, part turn-off management module inside of 100 that generate the turn-off operation based on 130) detects the drain-source voltage Vds_on of the first switch (figures 3, 6 and 7, part drain-source voltage Vds_on [Vds_Q1] of the first switch [Q1]; through sensing Vaux [Vs] that is a representation of the drain-source voltage Vds_on [Vds_Q1] of the first switch [Q1]) when the first switch was turned on in a previous cycle (figures 3, 6 and 7, part turned on of Q1 in previous cycle) (columns 10 and 11; lines 43-67 and 1-3; the self-adaptive adjustment unit 130 is configured to adaptively adjust a length of the first time tZVS according to a conduction condition of the second switch transistor Q2 during each non-initial switching cycle of the asymmetric half-bridge flyback converter… the sample-and-hold unit 131 is configured to sample and hold the predetermined parameter of the asymmetric half-bridge flyback converter during a turn-on time period of the first switch transistor Q1 in a previous switching cycle and obtain a first sampled signal. The sampling unit 132 is configured to sample the predetermined parameter of the asymmetric half-bridge flyback converter at a time when the first switch transistor Q1 is turned on in the current switching cycle and obtain a second sampled signal. The comparator unit 133 is connected to the sample-and-hold unit 131 and the sampling unit 132, respectively, for generating a first adjustment signal if the second sampled signal is less than or equal to a product of the first sampled signal and k1, or generating a second adjustment signal if the second sampled signal is greater than the product of the first sampled signal and k1. Wherein, the first adjustment signal is used to control the first time tZVS to be decreased, the second adjustment signal is used to control the first time tZVS to be increased).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Liu with the delay time control features as taught Xu and obtain the turn-off management module detects the drain-source voltage Vds_on of the first switch when the first switch was turned on in a previous cycle, because it provides more efficient control that reduce switching losses with more accurate zero voltage switching (column 2; lines 1-7 and 59-65).
Regarding claim 13, claim 19 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-7) a capacitor (figure 4, part C1). However, Liu does not expressly disclose a capacitor coupled between the second terminal and the second source terminal.
Xu teaches (see figures 1-10) a capacitor (figure 1a, part Cr) coupled between the second terminal (figure 1a, part lower terminal of Np) and the second source terminal (figure 1a, part source of Q2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the converter of Liu with the converter topology as taught Xu and obtain a capacitor coupled between the second terminal and the second source terminal, because it provides zero-voltage switching, the leakage inductance energy can be recovered, and self-driven synchronous rectification can be easily achieved, thus the efficiency can be effectively improved and at the same time, the volume of the transformer can be reduced (column 2; lines 1-7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable upon overcoming objections set forth in this action and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination):
Regarding claim 7, magnitudes of the drain-source voltage of the first switch and N different threshold voltages are compared in order to select the delay time Tdelay from a look up table containing Tdelay_1, Tdelay_2,... , and TdelayN;
Regarding claims 8-10, these claims are dependent claims of claim 7, therefore, these claims are objected for the same reason presented above;
in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant. Thus, the Applicant’s claims are determined to be novel and non-obvious.
Conclusion
/C.O.R. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838