DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 18, paragraph 66, line 6: Change “passed” to “past”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 1: Change the colon at the end of the line to a semi-colon.
Claims 2-10 are objected to for depending from objected-to base claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0036121, Figures 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 1: Lim Figures 1 and 2 disclose a semiconductor device (1000a) comprising: a substrate (10)[;] an active pattern (105) on the substrate (101); a first source/drain pattern (middle left (150) in Figure 2, I-I’ cross-section) and a second source/drain pattern (middle right (150) in Figure 2, I-I’ cross-section), which overlap with the active pattern (105); a separation insulating layer (200a) between the first source/drain pattern (middle left (150)) and the second source/drain pattern (middle right (150)); and a first gate electrode (middle left (165)) and a second gate electrode (middle right (165)) which are spaced apart from each other with the separation insulating layer (200a) interposed therebetween, wherein a level of a top surface of the separation insulating layer (200a) is higher than a level of a top surface of the first gate electrode (middle left (165)) and a level of a top surface of the second gate electrode (middle right (165)). Lim specification ¶¶ 31-63.
Regarding claim 9, which depends from claim 1: Lim discloses a bottom surface of the separation insulating layer (200a) is disposed in the active pattern. Id. ¶ 58 (“In an example embodiment of the present inventive concept, the lower end of the isolation structure 200a may tie [sic, likely “be”] disposed to be lower than lower ends of the source/drain regions 150 and higher than a lower end of the active region 105, but the dispositions are not limited thereto.”).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liang, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0105805, Figures 1A to 2O-3.
Regarding claim 19: Liang Figures 1A to 2O-3 disclose a semiconductor device (100) comprising: a substrate (102 in Liang Figure 1A) including an active pattern (104B-W (Liang Figure 1B): 104-3, 104-4); first source/drain patterns (150-3) overlapping the active pattern (104B-W (Liang Figure 1B): 104-3, 104-4); second source/drain patterns (150-4) overlapping the active pattern (104B-W (Liang Figure 1B): 104-3, 104-4); a first channel pattern (108’-3) between the first source/drain patterns (150-3); a second channel pattern (108’-4) between the second source/drain patterns (150-4); a first gate electrode (168-3) between the first source/drain patterns (150-3); a second gate electrode (168-4) between the second source/drain patterns (150-4); and a separation insulating layer (190: 118’, 120, 121, 124’, 192, 194) between the first source/drain patterns (150-3) and the second source/drain patterns (150-4), wherein each of the first channel pattern (108’-3) and the second channel pattern (108’-4) comprises semiconductor patterns overlapping with each other in a vertical direction. Liang specification ¶¶ 38-100.
Regarding claim 20, which depends from claim 19: Liang discloses the first and second gate electrodes (168-3, 168-4) are spaced apart from each other with the separation insulating layer (190: 118’, 120, 121, 124’, 192, 194) interposed therebetween, and wherein the first and second channel patterns (108’-3, 108’-4) are spaced apart from each other with the separation insulating layer (190: 118’, 120, 121, 124’, 192, 194) interposed therebetween. See Liang Figure 2O-1.
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jang, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2025/0142906, Figures 1-8.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1: Jang Figures 1-8 disclose a semiconductor device comprising: a substrate (100)[;] an active pattern (AP) on the substrate (100); a first source/drain pattern (left (150)) and a second source/drain pattern (right (150)) which overlap with the active pattern (AP); a separation insulating layer (200, 206) between the first source/drain pattern and the second source/drain pattern; and a first gate electrode (left (GS)) and a second gate electrode (right (GS)) which are spaced apart from each other with the separation insulating layer (portion (200) of separation insulating layer (200, 206)) interposed therebetween, wherein a level of a top surface of the separation insulating layer (200, 206) is higher than a level of a top surface of the first gate electrode (left (GS)) and a level of a top surface of the second gate electrode (right (GS)). Jang specification ¶¶ 30-159.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1: Jang discloses a first active contact (left (190)) on the first source/drain pattern (left (150)), wherein the level of the top surface of the separation insulating layer (200, 206) is substantially the same as a level of a top surface of the first active contact (left (190)). See Jang Figure 5.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 2: Jang discloses a second active contact (right (190)) on the second source/drain pattern (right (150)), wherein the level of the top surface of the separation insulating layer (200, 206) and the level of the top surface of the first active contact (left (190)) are substantially the same as a level of a top surface of the second active contact (right (190)). See id.
Regarding claim 9, which depends from claim 1: Jang discloses a bottom surface of the separation insulating layer (200, 206) is disposed in the active pattern (AP). See id.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1: Lim discloses a first active contact (180) on the first source/drain pattern (middle left (150)), wherein the level of the top surface of the separation insulating layer (200a) is lower than a level of a top surface of the first active contact (middle left (180)). See Lim Figure 2. Lim does not disclose that the level of the top surface of the separation insulating layer is substantially the same as a level of a top surface of the first active contact. However, the disclosure does not indicate the significance of the level of the top surface of the separation insulating layer being substantially the same as a level of a top surface of the first active contact. The purpose of the first active contact is to make an electrical connection and the purpose of the separation insulating layer is to separate and insulate the two source/drain patterns from one another. Because the claim requirement is not patentably significant, claim 2 is rejected as an obvious variant over the prior art.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 2: Lim discloses a second active contact (middle right (180)) on the second source/drain pattern (middle right (150)), wherein the level of the top surface of the separation insulating layer (200a) is below the level of a top surface of the second active contact (middle right (180)), and the level of the top surface of the first active contact (middle left (180) is substantially the same as a level of a top surface of the second active contact (middle right (180)). See id. Lim does not disclose that the level of the top surface of the separation insulating layer is substantially the same as a level of a top surface of the second active contact. However, as with claim 2’s requirements, the disclosure does not indicate the significance of the level of the top surface of the separation insulating layer being substantially the same as a level of a top surface of the second active contact. The purpose of the second active contact is to make an electrical connection and the purpose of the separation insulating layer is to separate and insulate the two source/drain patterns from one another. Because the claim requirement is not patentably significant, claim 3 is rejected as an obvious variant over the prior art.
Regarding claim 10, which depends from claim 1: Lim discloses semiconductor patterns (140) connected to the first source/drain pattern (middle left (150)), wherein the first gate electrode (middle left (165)) includes: interposed portions between the semiconductor patterns (140); and a plug portion connected to the interposed portions. Lim specification ¶ 37. Lim does not disclose that the interposed portions include a conductive material different from that of the plug portion. However, applicants’ disclosure does not indicate the patentable significant of the interposed portions including a conductive material different from that of the plug portion. The purpose of the plug portion and the interposed portions is to provide conductivity for the gate to function, and this can be done with the same conductive materials as well as different conductive materials. Because the claim requirement is not patentably significant, claim 10 is rejected an obvious variant over the prior art.
Claims 1, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang.
Regarding claim 1: Liang Figures 1A to 2O-3 disclose a semiconductor device (100) comprising: a substrate (102)[;] an active pattern (104B-W (Liang Figure 1B): 104-3, 104-4) on the substrate (102); a first source/drain pattern (150-3) and a second source/drain pattern (150-4) which overlap with the active pattern (104B-W (Liang Figure 1B): 104-3, 104-4); a separation insulating layer (190: 118’, 120, 121, 124’, 192, 194) between the first source/drain pattern (150-3) and the second source/drain pattern (150-4); and a first gate electrode (168-3) and a second gate electrode (168-4) which are spaced apart from each other with the separation insulating layer (190: 118’, 120, 121, 124’, 192, 194) interposed therebetween, wherein a level of a top surface of the separation insulating layer (190: 118’, 120, 121, 124’, 192, 194) is at a same level as a level of a top surface of the first gate electrode (168-3) and a level of a top surface of the second gate electrode (168-4). Liang does not disclose that a level of a top surface of the separation insulating layer is higher than a level of a top surface of the first gate electrode and a level of a top surface of the second gate electrode. Liang specification ¶¶ 38-100. However, this feature is due to the process by which the device is made. The process limitation of how a layer is formed has no patentable weight in claims drawn to structure. Note that a product-by-process claim is directed to the product per se, not the process by which the product is made. In re Hirao, 190 USPQ 15 at 17 n. 3 (CCPA 1976). See also In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Luck, 177 USPQ 523, 525 (CCPA 1973); In re Fessman, 180 USPQ 324, 325-26 (CCPA 1974); In re Avery, 186 USPQ 161, 166-67 (CCPA 1975); In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, 103 (CCPA 1976); and In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-93 (Fed. Cir. 1983), all of which make it clear that it is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a product-by-process claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in product-by-process claims or not. Note that the applicant has the burden of proof in such cases, according to case law.
Regarding claim 9, which depends from claim 1: Liang discloses a bottom surface of the separation insulating layer (190: 118’, 120, 121, 124’, 192, 194) is disposed in the active pattern (104B-W (Liang Figure 1B): 104-3, 104-4). See Liang Figure 2O.
Regarding claim 10, which depends from claim 1: Liang discloses semiconductor patterns (108’-3) connected to the first source/drain pattern (150-3), wherein the first gate electrode (168-3) includes: interposed portions between the semiconductor patterns (108-3’); and a plug portion connected to the interposed portions, and wherein the interposed portions include a conductive material same as that of the plug portion. See Liang Figure 2O-1. Liang does not disclose that the interposed portions include a conductive material different from that of the plug portion. However, applicants’ disclosure does not indicate the patentable significant of the interposed portions including a conductive material different from that of the plug portion. The purpose of the plug portion and the interposed portions is to provide conductivity for the gate to function, and this can be done with the same conductive materials as well as different conductive materials. Because the claim requirement is not patentably significant, claim 10 is rejected an obvious variant over the prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-18 are allowed.
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the informality in claim 1 were addressed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 4: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “a lower insulating pattern separating the first source/drain pattern from the active pattern, wherein a sidewall of the lower insulating pattern is in direct contact with a sidewall of the separation insulating layer”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
With regard to claims 5-8: The claims have been found allowable due to their dependency from claim 4 above.
With regard to claim 11: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “a gate separation pattern in direct contact with the first and second gate electrodes, wherein the gate separation pattern separates the first and second gate electrodes from each other”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
With regard to claims 12-18: The claims have been found allowable due to their dependency from claim 11 above.
Conclusion
/Victoria K. Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897