DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made that applicant's Amendment, filed on June 12th, 2026, has been entered.
Upon entrance of the Amendment, claim 1 was amended. Claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ozaki (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0127602).
Regarding to claim 1, Ozaki teaches a wafer comprising:
a silicon layer having a top surface (Fig. 2, element 10);
a first dielectric layer on the top surface of the silicon layer (Fig. 2, stack ILD);
a ferroelectric layer having a bottom surface on the first dielectric layer (Fig. 2, element FE), wherein the ferroelectric layer defines one or more gaps between portions of the ferroelectric layer (Fig. 2); and
a second dielectric layer on the ferroelectric layer and disposed within the one or more gaps (Fig. 2, element BD).
Regarding to claim 5, Ozaki teaches an array of die regions separated by dicing lanes (only one die illustrated in the figure, however in fabrication process, array of dices are formed on a wafer, the array of dices separated by dicing lanes).
Regarding to claim 8, Ozaki teaches the one or more gaps relieve stress between the silicon layer and the ferroelectric layer (silicon layer and ferroelectric layer have different thermal expansion coefficients, gaps between ferroelectric layer inherently release stress due to thermal mismatch).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0127602) in view of Takaya et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,371,635).
Regarding to claim 2, Ozaki does not disclose the wafer comprises a silicon-on-insulator (SOI) series of layers. Hsu discloses a wafer comprises a silicon-on-insulator (SOI) series of layers (column 3, lines 43-48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki in view of Takaya to use SOI wafer as the substrate in order to control current leakage.
Regarding to claim 3, Takaya discloses the SOI series of layers comprises a silicon substrate, an insulative layer, and a top layer of silicon (Fig. 3, column 3, lines 49-52, the SOI series of layers comprises silicon substrate 33, insulative layer 32, and top layer of silicon 31).
Regarding to claim 4, Takaya discloses insulative layer comprises silicon dioxide (column 3, line 31).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0127602) in view of Chou et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,761,683).
Regarding to claim 10, Ozaki does not disclose second dielectric layer comprises a flowable dielectric material. Chou discloses a dielectric layer comprises a flowable dielectric material (column 3, lines 50-55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki in view of Chou to comprise a flowable dielectric material in the second dielectric layer in order to ensure no voids created in the gaps after filling.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0127602) in view of Tsugawa et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,656,568).
Regarding to claim 11, Ozaki discloses materials of the ferroelectric layer (column 5, lines 46-50). Okita does not clearly disclose the ferroelectric layer comprises barium titanate. Tsugawa discloses ferroelectric layer comprises barium titanate (column 5, lines 17-19). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki in view of Tsugawa to comprise barium titanate in the ferroelectric layer in order to make the system performing in cool environment.
Regarding to claim 12, Ozaki discloses materials of the ferroelectric layer (column 5, lines 46-50). Okita does not clearly disclose the ferroelectric layer comprises a seed layer of strontium titanate followed by a layer of barium titanate. Tsugawa discloses a seed layer of strontium titanate followed by a layer of barium titanate (column 10, lines 42-46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki a in view of Tsugawa to comprise a seed layer of strontium titanate followed by a layer of barium titanate ferroelectric layer in order to make the system performing in cool environment.
Regarding to claim 13, Ozaki discloses materials of the ferroelectric layer (column 5, lines 46-50). Ozaki does not clearly disclose the ferroelectric layer comprises a seed layer of strontium titanate followed by a layer of barium strontium titanate. Tsugawa discloses a seed layer of strontium titanate followed by a layer of barium strontium titanate (Table 6A-B, column 10, lines 42-46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki in view of Tsugawa to comprise a seed layer of strontium titanate followed by a layer of barium strontium titanate ferroelectric layer in order to make the system performing in cool environment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claim 6, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the one or more gaps are defined along one or more of the dicing lanes” in combination with the limitations recited in claims 1 and 5.
Regarding to claim 7, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the one or more gaps are defined within one or more of the die regions” in combination with the limitations recited in claims 1 and 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897