DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10- 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozawa (U.S. 2018/0047788 A1, hereinafter refer to Nozawa) in view of Pickett et al. (U.S. 2020/0067002 A1, hereinafter refer to Pickett).
Regarding Claim 1: Nozawa discloses a photoelectric conversion element (30) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown below and ¶ [0001]) comprising:
a first electrode (38) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above);
a second electrode (32) facing the first electrode (38) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above); and
a photosensitive layer (39) between the first electrode (38) and the second electrode (32) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above),
at least one selected from the group consisting of the first electrode (38) and the second electrode (32) transmits light (ITO or ZnO) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above, ¶ [0079], and ¶ [0148]),
the photosensitive layer (39) contains a quantum dot (106) and a semiconducting carbon nanotube (105) that absorbs the light (note: Nozawa teaches “the thickness of the photoelectric conversion layer 39 is, for example, greater than or equal to several tens of nanometers and less than or equal to several hundreds of nanometers.” From the teachings of Nozawa, ordinary skill in the art recognize that the thickness of the charge separation material 106 to be within the ranges of several nanometer and considered as equivalent to quantum dot dimensions) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above, ¶ [0103], ¶ [0143], and ¶ [0163]), and
the quantum dot (106) has a higher absolute value of electron affinity than the semiconducting carbon nanotube (105) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above and ¶ [0103]- ¶ [0105]).
Furthermore, Pickett teaches wherein the photosensitive layer contains a quantum dot (330/720) and a semiconducting carbon nanotube (330/730) that absorbs the light (see Pickett, Figs.3 and 7 as shown below, ¶ [0027], ¶ [0069]- ¶ [0083], and ¶ [0096]- ¶ [0108]).
Nozawa discloses the claimed invention except for material of quantum dot. Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nozawa and Pickett to enable the known quantum dot material of Pickett for Nozawa quantum dot layer as taught by Pickett in order to photodetector element including a strong, tunable absorption spectrum and solution processability, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 2: Nozawa as modified teaches a photoelectric conversion element as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Nozawa and Pickett further teaches wherein the photosensitive layer includes a quantum dot layer (39a) containing the quantum dot (106) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above and see Pickett, Figs.3 and 7 as shown above), and
a semiconducting carbon nanotube layer (39b) located between the quantum dot layer (39a) and the second electrode (32) and containing the semiconducting carbon nanotube (105) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above and see Pickett, Figs.3 and 7 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 3: Nozawa discloses a photoelectric conversion element (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above and ¶ [0001]) comprising:
a first electrode (38) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above);
a second electrode (32) facing the first electrode (38) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above); and
a photosensitive layer (39) between the first electrode (38) and the second electrode (32) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above),
at least one selected from the group consisting of the first electrode (38) and the second electrode (32) transmits light (ITO or ZnO) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above, ¶ [0079], and ¶ [0148]),
the photosensitive layer (39) contains a quantum dot (106, note: Nozawa teaches “the thickness of the photoelectric conversion layer 39 is, for example, greater than or equal to several tens of nanometers and less than or equal to several hundreds of nanometers.” From the teachings of Nozawa, ordinary skill in the art recognize that the thickness of the charge separation material 106 to be within the ranges of several nanometer and considered as equivalent to quantum dot dimensions) and a semiconducting carbon nanotube (105) that absorbs the light (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above, ¶ [0103], ¶ [0143], and ¶ [0163]), and
the quantum dot (106) has a lower absolute value of ionization potential than the semiconducting carbon nanotube (105) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above, ¶ [0103]- ¶ [0105], and ¶ [0109]).
Furthermore, Pickett teaches wherein the photosensitive layer contains a quantum dot (330/720) and a semiconducting carbon nanotube (330/730) that absorbs the light (see Pickett, Figs.3 and 7 as shown above, ¶ [0027], ¶ [0069]- ¶ [0083], and ¶ [0096]- ¶ [0108]).
Nozawa discloses the claimed invention except for material of quantum dot. Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nozawa and Pickett to enable the known quantum dot material of Pickett for Nozawa quantum dot layer as taught by Pickett in order to photodetector element including a strong, tunable absorption spectrum and solution processability, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 4: Nozawa as modified teaches a photoelectric conversion element as set forth in claim 3 as above. The combination of Nozawa and Pickett further teaches wherein the photosensitive layer (39) includes
a quantum dot layer (39a) containing the quantum dot (106) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above and see Pickett, Figs.3 and 7 as shown above), and
a semiconducting carbon nanotube layer (39b) located between the quantum dot layer (39a) and the second electrode (32) and containing the semiconducting carbon nanotube (105) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above and see Pickett, Figs.3 and 7 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 5: Nozawa as modified teaches a photoelectric conversion element as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Nozawa and Pickett further teaches wherein the photosensitive layer (39) contains a polymer covering the semiconducting carbon nanotube (105) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above and ¶ [0142]).
Regarding Claim 6: Nozawa as modified teaches a photoelectric conversion element as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Nozawa and Pickett further teaches wherein the semiconducting carbon nanotube (105) in the photosensitive layer (39) absorbs 10% or more of a component with a specific wavelength in the light (note: claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes; hence, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established to the previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above).
Regarding Claim 7: Nozawa as modified teaches a photoelectric conversion element as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Nozawa and Pickett further teaches wherein a charge-blocking layer (101/103) between the first electrode (38) or the second electrode (32) and the photosensitive layer (39) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above).
Regarding Claim 10: Nozawa as modified teaches a photoelectric conversion element as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Nozawa and Pickett further teaches an imaging apparatus comprising: a plurality of pixels, wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes the photoelectric conversion element (39) according to claim 1 (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above and Fig.1).
Regarding Claim 11: Nozawa as modified teaches a photoelectric conversion element as set forth in claim 3 as above. The combination of Nozawa and Pickett further teaches an imaging apparatus comprising: a plurality of pixels, wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes the photoelectric conversion element (39) according to claim 3 (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above and Fig.1).
Regarding Claim 12: Nozawa as modified teaches a photoelectric conversion element as set forth in claim 2 as above. The combination of Nozawa and Pickett further teaches a method for driving the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 2, comprising: setting an electric potential of the first electrode (38) to be positive with respect to an electric potential of the second electrode (32) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above); and
out of an electron and a hole generated by the semiconducting carbon nanotube (105) absorbing light, collecting the electron through the quantum dot (106) using the first electrode (38) and collecting the hole using the second electrode (32) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above).
Note: a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Regarding Claim 13: Nozawa as modified teaches a photoelectric conversion element as set forth in claim 4 as above. The combination of Nozawa and Pickett further teaches a method for driving the photoelectric conversion element (39) according to claim 4, comprising: setting an electric potential of the first electrode (38) to be negative with respect to an electric potential of the second electrode (32) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above); and
out of an electron and a hole generated by the semiconducting carbon nanotube (105) absorbing light, collecting the hole through the quantum dot (106) using the first electrode (38) and collecting the electron using the second electrode (32) (see Nozawa, Figs.2- 3B as shown above).
Note: a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozawa (U.S. 2018/0047788 A1, hereinafter refer to Nozawa) and Pickett et al. (U.S. 2020/0067002 A1, hereinafter refer to Pickett) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nozawa (U.S. 2021/0043861 A1, hereinafter refer to Nozawa’861).
Regarding Claims 8 and 9: Nozawa as modified teaches a photoelectric conversion element as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of Nozawa and Pickett is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the photoelectric conversion element has an external quantum efficiency of 10% or more at a light absorption peak wavelength of the semiconducting carbon nanotube (as claimed in claim 8);
wherein the photoelectric conversion element has an external quantum efficiency of 30% or more at a light absorption peak wavelength of the semiconducting carbon nanotube (as claimed in claim 9).
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed photoelectric conversion element were known to have an external quantum efficiency of 30% or more at a light absorption peak wavelength of the semiconducting carbon nanotube in order to obtain an image sensor which has sensitivity selectively in a particular wavelength band without using the absorption filter, the interference filter, and so on.
For support see Nozawa’ 861, which teaches wherein the photoelectric conversion element (10) has an external quantum efficiency of 10% or more at a light absorption peak wavelength of the semiconducting carbon nanotube (see Nozawa’ 861, Table. 4, ¶ [0027], and ¶ [0132]) (as claimed in claim 8);
wherein the photoelectric conversion element (10) has an external quantum efficiency of 30% or more at a light absorption peak wavelength of the semiconducting carbon nanotube (see Nozawa’ 861, Table. 4, ¶ [0027], and ¶ [0132]) (as claimed in claim 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nozawa, Pickett, and Nozawa’861 to recognize the external quantum efficiency of photoelectric conversion element of the combination of Nozawa’s and Pickett’s photoelectric conversion element and in order to obtain an image sensor which has sensitivity selectively in a particular wavelength band without using the absorption filter, the interference filter, and so on.
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812