DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement of Amendment
Applicant amendment filed 04/21/26 has been acknowledged.
Applicant amened Claims 1, 8, and 15.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are examined on merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
In re Claims 1 and 15: Amended independent Clams 1 and 15 have a new limitation: “the magnetic reference layer and the magnetic free layer comprise material possessing perpendicular magnetic anisotropy”. The recitation is unclear, since conflicts with the specification of the application, teaching (paragraphs 0017 and 0038 of the published application) that the magnetic reference layer 112 and the magnetic free layer 114 are made from different materials, while paragraph 0051 of the published application teaches that each of these layers (112 and 114) may possess a perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (while not being made from a same material).
In accordance with MPEP 2173.03 Correspondence Between Specification and Claims [R-07.2022] inconsistence of the claim with the specification makes the claim indefinite, even though the terms of a claim may appear to be definite: see In re Cohn 438 F.2d 989, 169 USPQ 95 (CCPA 1971).
Appropriate correction is required to clarify the claim language.
For this Office Action, the cited recitation of Claims 1 and 15 was interpreted in accordance with the specification of the application as: “each of the magnetic reference layer and the magnetic free layer possess a perpendicular magnetic anisotropy”.
In re Claims 2-14 and 16-20: Claims 2-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) due to dependency either on Claim 1 or on Claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As far as the claims are understood, Claims 1-4, 7, 9-13, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2021/0328134) in view of Kardasz et al. (US 2020/0052034).
In re Claim 1, Guo teaches a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) device, comprising (Fig. 1; see also Figs. 4-6):
an MTJ element 14/13/12 including a magnetic reference layer 14 (paragraph 0030), a magnetic free layer 12 (called “magnetic memory layer” paragraph 0020, but could be identified as “magnetic free” – as in the current application, due to its ability to change magnetization, paragraphs 0030-0031), and a non-magnetic barrier layer 13 (paragraph 0024) separating the magnetic reference layer 14 and the magnetic free layer 12; and
a spin-orbit torque (SOT) layer structure 11/10 (paragraph 0020-0022) arranged below the MTJ element 14/13/12 and configured to provide a write current for switching a magnetization direction of the magnetic free layer through SOT (paragraph 0009, Fig. 5A and paragraph 0030 as directed to influence of magnetic layer 10 on magnetic-free layer 12, and Figs. 6A-6C paragraph 0031 directed to writing); wherein
the SOT layer structure comprises a heavy metal layer 11 (called SHC layer, paragraph 0020, but could be called “heavy metal layer”, as in the current application, comparing its materials in paragraph 0022 with Periodic Table – attached to this Office Action) and a magnetic layer 10 (paragraph 0021); and wherein
the magnetic layer 10 is arranged below the heavy metal layer 11 and configured to, in the absence of an external magnetic field (paragraphs 0027-0028), induce a magnetic field in the magnetic free layer 12 (paragraphs 0009 and 0030), thereby promoting magnetic switching of the magnetization of the magnetic free layer 12 (paragraph 0031).
Although Guo does not use a combination of words: “deterministic switching”, but refers only to “magnetic switching”, the procedure described by Guo is described in some art as “deterministic switching” – see Fig. 1A and paragraph 0049 of Sun, US 2019/0312198, on a common knowledge in the art, to support the statement.
Guo does not teach that the magnetic reference layer 14 and the magnetic free layer 12 comprise material possessing perpendicular magnetic anisotropy.
Kardasz teaches (Fig. 1, paragraphs 0016, 0019, 0027) an MTJ element comprised a magnetic reference layer 102, a magnetic free layer 104, and a barrier layer 106, wherein (each of) the magnetic reference layer 102 and the magnetic free layer 104 possess a perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (e.g., in accordance with the claim interpretation).
Guo and Kardasz teach analogous arts directed to MTJ elements comprised a magnetic reference layer and a magnetic free layer, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Guo device in view of the Kardasz device, since they are from the same field of endeavor, and Kardasz created a successfully operated device.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application to modify the Guo device by creating the magnetic reference layer and the magnetic free layer as layers possessing a perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (per Kardasz), when it is desirable creating a more stable magnetic free layer (Kardasz, paragraph 0019) and preventing inter-diffusion in the magnetic reference layer where appropriate (Kardasz, paragraph 0027).
In re Claim 2, Guo/Kardasz teaches the MTJ device according to Claim 1, wherein the magnetic layer 10 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0021) includes a material selected from the group consisting of Fe, Co, Ni, FeCo, FeCoB, NiFe, NdFeB, WCoFeB, and TaCoFeB – Guo explicitly teaches Fe, Co, Ni, and NiFe.
In re Claim 3, Guo/Kardasz teaches the MTJ device according to Claim 1, wherein the magnetic layer 10 (Fig. 1) has an average thickness in the range of 2-5 nm – Guo teaches a thickness in a range from 1.5 nm to 10 nm (paragraph 0021). Note that in accordance with MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges, Amounts, and Proportions. I. OVERLAPPING, APPROACHING, AND SIMILAR RANGES, AMOUNTS, AND PROPORTIONS, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In re Claim 4, Guo/Kardasz teaches the MTJ device according to Claim 1, wherein (Figs. 6A-6B, paragraph) the magnetic layer 10 is formed on a bottom electrode BE1, BE2 (paragraphs 0011, 0031) of the MTJ device.
In re Claim 7, Guo/Kardasz teaches the MTJ device according to Claim 1 as cited above, wherein the heavy metal layer 11 (Fig. 1) includes a material selected from the group consisting of W, Ta, Pt, Cu, PtMn, PtCu, and PtCr – from the claimed materials, Guo explicitly teaches Pt and Cu (paragraph 0022).
In re Claim 9, Guo/Kardasz teaches the MTJ device according to Claim 1 as cited above and wherein the heavy metal layer 11 (Fig. 1) has an average thickness in the range of 2-6 nm – Guo teaches a thickness in a range from 1.5 nm to 10 nm (paragraph 0022), which encompasses the claimed thickness. Note that in accordance with MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges, Amounts, and Proportions. I. OVERLAPPING, APPROACHING, AND SIMILAR RANGES, AMOUNTS, AND PROPORTIONS, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In re Claim 10, Guo/Kardasz teaches the MTJ device according to Claim 1 as cited above, wherein (Figs. 1, 4, 6) the heavy metal layer 11 has a shape corresponding to a shape of the magnetic layer 10 (paragraph 0021).
In re Claim 11, Guo/Kardasz teaches the MTJ device according to Claim 1, wherein the MTJ element is a top-pinned element, e.g., its magnetic reference layer 14 (Fig. 1) is over the magnetic-free layer 12.
In re Claim 12, Guo/Kardasz teaches the MTJ device according to Claim 1 as cited above, wherein (Figs. 1 and 6) the magnetic free layer 12 is formed on the SOT layer structure 11/10.
In re Claim 13, Guo/Kardasz teaches the MTJ device according to Claim 1 as cited above, wherein the magnetic free layer 12 (Figs. 1, 6) is formed of a single CoFeB layer or a synthetic-antiferromagnetic hybrid-free layer – Gou teaches a single layer of CoFeB (paragraph 0023) as a magnetic free layer.
In re Claim 15, Guo teaches a method of fabricating a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) device (obviously, since Guo creates the device) comprising (Figs. 1 and 6):
providing (obviously) an MTJ element 14/13/12 including a magnetic reference layer 14 (paragraph 0030), a magnetic free layer 12 (called “magnetic memory layer”, paragraph 0020, but could be identified as “magnetic free” – as in the current application, since its magnetization is not constant but can be changed, paragraphs 0030-0031), and a non-magnetic barrier layer 13 (paragraph 0024) separating the magnetic reference layer 14 and the magnetic free layer 12; and
providing (obviously) a spin-orbit torque (SOT) layer structure 11/12 (paragraphs 0020-0022) arranged below the MTJ element 14/13/12 and configured to provide a write current for switching a magnetization direction of the magnetic free layer through SOT (paragraph 0009, Fig. 5 and paragraph 0030 on influence of magnetic layer 10 on magnetic-free-layer 12 and Figs. 6A-6C, paragraph 0031, directed to writing and a writing current); wherein
the SOT layer structure 11/10 comprises a heavy metal layer 11 (called SHL layer in paragraph 0020, but it could be called “a heavy metal layer”, as in the current application, comparing its materials in paragraph 0022 with Periodic Table) and a magnetic layer 10 (paragraph 0021); and wherein
the magnetic layer 10 is arranged below the heavy metal layer 11 and configured to, in the absence of an external magnetic field (paragraphs 0027-0028), induce a magnetic field in the magnetic free layer in a direction of the write current through the SOT layer structure (paragraphs 0009, 0030), thereby promoting magnetic switching of the magnetization of the magnetic free layer 12.
Although Guo does not use a combination of words: “deterministic switching”, but refers only to “magnetic switching”, the procedure described by Guo is described in some art as “deterministic switching” – see Fig. 1A and paragraph 0049 of Sun, US 2019/0312198, on a common knowledge in the art, to support the statement.
Guo does not teach that the magnetic reference layer 14 and the magnetic free layer 12 comprise material possessing perpendicular magnetic anisotropy.
Kardasz teaches (Fig. 1, paragraphs 0016, 0019, 0027) an MTJ element comprised a magnetic reference layer 102, a magnetic free layer 104, and a barrier layer 106, wherein (each of) the magnetic reference layer 102 and the magnetic free layer 104 possess a perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (e.g., in accordance with the claim interpretation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application to modify the Guo device and method by creating the magnetic reference layer and the magnetic free layer as layers possessing a perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (per Kardasz), when it is desirable creating a more stable magnetic free layer (Kardasz, paragraph 0019) and preventing inter-diffusion in the magnetic reference layer where appropriate (Kardasz, paragraph 0027).
In re Claim 16, Guo/Kardasz teaches the method according to Claim 15 as cited above, wherein the magnetic layer 10 (Figs. 1, 6) has an average thickness in the range of 2-5 nm - Guo teaches a thickness in a range from 1.5 nm to 10 nm (paragraph 0021) which overlaps the claimed range: In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges, Amounts, and Proportions. I. OVERLAPPING, APPROACHING, AND SIMILAR RANGES, AMOUNTS, AND PROPORTIONS, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In re Claim 19, Guo/Kardasz teaches the method according to Claim 15 as cited above and wherein the heavy metal layer 11 (Figs. 1, 6) has an average thickness in the range of 2-6 nm – Guo teaches a range for the thickness in a range from 1.5 nm to 10 nm (paragraph 0022), and in accordance with MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges, Amounts, and Proportions. I. OVERLAPPING, APPROACHING, AND SIMILAR RANGES, AMOUNTS, AND PROPORTIONS, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In re Claim Guo/Kardasz, Guo teaches the method according to Claim 15 as cited above, wherein (Figs. 1, 4, 6) the heavy metal layer 11 has a shape corresponding to a shape of the magnetic layer 10 (paragraph 0021).
As far as the claims are understood, Claims 5-6, 8, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo/Kardasz in view of Garello et al. (US 2020/0203598).
In re Claims 5 and 17, Guo/Kardasz teaches the MTJ device according to Claim 1 and a method of manufacturing the MTJ device of Claim 15 as cited above, where the write current passes through the heavy metal layer 11 (Fig. 6, paragraphs 0030-0031). Guo further teaches (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0028-0029) that a portion of a stack of layers (of Fig. 1) is etched such that for each layer a length in a direction of a write current flow (see also Figs. 6 and paragraphs 0030-0031 on the write current flow direction) exceeds a width of a corresponding layer with a ratio of 1.5 to 3, but does not teach that a similar etching is used to shape the SOT layer structure, including its magnetic layer 10.
Garello teaches an MTJ device (Abstract) in which a SOT layer 110 (Figs. 1a, 1b) has a shape (created by a hard mask 120, Abstract) with a length of 110 (in a direction of a write current) being more than 3 times greater than a width (paragraphs 0015, 0042, 0045).
Guo/Kardasz and Garello teach analogous arts directed to an MTJ device with a SOT layer that does not need an external magnetic layer for operation, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Guo/Kardasz device and the method of its manufacturing in view of the Garello device, since they are from the same field of endeavor, and Garello created a successfully operated MTJ device.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before filing the application to modify the Guo/Kardasz device of Claim 1 and the method of its manufacturing per Claim 15 by shaping a SOT layer structure (including the magnetic layer), per Garello, to have a length, in the direction of the write current, more than 3 times larger than its width (in the orthogonal direction), when such modification is beneficial for SOT-controlled switching (Garello, paragraph 0005).
In re Claims 6 and 18, Guo/Kardasz/Garello teaches the MTJ device according to Claim 5 and the method of manufacturing the MTJ device of Claim 17 as cited above, wherein, as shown for Claims 5 and 17, a length-to-width ratio of the magnetic layer is 3:1 or greater.
In re Claim 8, Guo/Kardasz teaches the MTJ device according to Claim 1 as cited above, but does not teach that the SOT layer structure further includes a topological insulator layer including a material selected from the group consisting of BixSe₁-ₓ, BixSb1-x, and (Bi, Sb)₂Te₃.
Garello teaches that a SOT layer 110 (Fig. 1, paragraphs 0037-0038) comprises a combination of layers including a topological insulator chosen from a group consisting from BixSe₁-ₓ, BixSb1-x, and (Bi, Sb)₂Te₃.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before filing the application to modify the Guo/Kardasz device of Claim 1 by incorporating into its SOT layer structure a topological insulator chosen from the group consisting of BixSe₁-ₓ, BixSb1-x, and (Bi, Sb)₂Te₃, when desired: “It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice”, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
As far as the claim is understood, Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo/Kardasz in view of Gupta et al. (US 2022/0189523).
In re Claim 14, Guo/Kardasz teaches the MTJ device according to Claim 1 as cited above, but does not teach (at least, explicitly) the device comprising a plurality of MTJ elements, wherein the SOT layer structure is common to the plurality of MTJ elements.
Gupta teaches an MTJ device (Abstract) comprised a plurality of MTJ elements 41, 42 (Figs. 1a, 1b, paragraphs 0088, 0089) disposed on a common SOT layer structure 30 (paragraph 0086).
Guo/Kardasz and Gupta teach analogous arts directed to the MTJ device comprised an MTJ stack disposed on a SOT layer structure, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Guo/Kardasz device in view of the Gupta device, since they are from the same field of endeavor, and Gupta created a successfully operated device.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application to modify the Guo/Kardasz MTJ device to comprise to plurality of MTJ elements, all on the same SOT layer structure, wherein it is desirable to have a structure comprised more than one MTJ elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments (REMARKS, filed 04/21/26) have been fully considered.
Examiner agrees with Applicant that the amendment to Claim 8 removes grounds for objections to the drawings and specification (REMARKS, page 5).
Agreeing that the ground for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been removed (REMARKS, page 5), the current Office Action shows that another ground for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been created.
Agreeing with the Applicant that the amended set of claims cannot be rejected using the prior arts cited by the Non-Final Rejection (REMARKS, pages 5-8), Examiner does not agree that the new limitations of Claims 1 and 15 are new in the art – the current Office Action shows that the set of the amended claims can be rejected by new combinations of prior arts references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Lynne Gurley can be reached on 571-272-1670.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300; a fax phone number of Galina Yushina is 571-270-8440.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GALINA G YUSHINA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2811, TC 2800,
United States Patent and Trademark Office
E-mail: galina.yushina@USPTO.gov
Phone: 571-270-7440
Date: 05/14/26