DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (EP 585898).
Considering Claims 1 and 4: Ito et al. teaches a weak base anion resin (5:51-57) comprising alkylamine segments covalently bonded to crosslinking segments (3:17-28) comprising vinyl amine units (3:17-28) that are optionally alkylated to provide methylvinylamine, dimethylvinylamine, or diethylvinylamine (5:21-44); and teaches that the weak base anion resin absorbs organic acids (6:33-41).
Considering Claim 2: Ito et al. teaches the copolymer as being prepared from vinylamine and divinylbenzene (3:17-28).
Considering Claim 3: Ito et al. teaches the polymer as comprising a di(meth)acrylate (3:18-28).
Considering Claim 5: Ito et al. teaches the copolymer as being prepared from vinylamine and divinylbenzene (3:17-28) and teaches that the weak base anion resin absorbs organic acids (6:33-41).
Considering Claim 6: Ito et al. teaches the copolymer as being prepared from vinylamine and divinylbenzene (3:17-28) and teaches the polymer as comprising a di(meth)acrylate (3:18-28) and teaches that the weak base anion resin absorbs organic acids (6:33-41).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tbal et al. (Reactive Polymers 17, 1992, 207-217).
Considering Claims 1-6: Tbal et al. teaches a resin comprising vinylamine segments covalently linked to a crosslinking agent that is divinylbenzene and/or ethylene glycol dimethacrylate (Abstract, Table 1), and teaches the resin as absorbing Cu(II), Pb(II), or Cd(II) (Table 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because:
A) The applicant’s argument that Ito et al. does not teach the claimed alkylamine segments is not persuasive. Ito et al. Ito et al. teaches a weak base anion resin (5:51-57) comprising alkylamine segments covalently bonded to crosslinking segments (3:17-28) comprising vinyl amine units (3:17-28) that are optionally alkylated to provide methylvinylamine, dimethylvinylamine, or diethylvinylamine (5:21-44). Ito et al. teaches that the anion consists essentially of “a vinyl amine and divinylbenzene” (3:17-28), and thus explicitly teaches the claimed species. The examples show the polymers as being prepared from vinylformamide monomers that are then hydrolyzed to form the vinyl amine units claimed. These units are then optionally alkylated to provide methylvinylamine, dimethylvinylamine, or diethylvinylamine (5:21-44).
B) The applicant’s argument that Ito only absorbs organic acids, rather than ions, is not persuasive. Organic acids are explicitly claimed as preferred ions for the weak base anion resin (Claim 4).
C) The applicant’s argument that Tbal et al. only teaches vinyl amine and not other species is not persuasive. A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. See Ex parte A, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990). See MPEP § 2131.02.
D) The applicant’s argument that chelating and absorption are different is not persuasive. During prosecution, claim terms are given there broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the original specification. Tbal et al. teaches that the metal ions are attached to the amine functional groups of the resin, result in a resin with ions attached to the polymer beads (pg. 214). This reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of absorbance, as the ions are removed from the liquid and attached to the polymer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767