DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 7/9/26 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-12, 14, 21-24, 26 is/are stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zanati et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0224423), as previously applied.
Referring to figures 1-4, Zanati et al. teaches semiconductor device comprising:
a package substrate (240) including a waveguide (150/250) formed through the package substrate; and
a packaged radio frequency (RF) semiconductor device mounted on a first major side of the package substrate, the packaged RF semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor die (212/110/210/310), an encapsulant (205) encapsulating the semiconductor die, and a redistribution layer (RDL) (230/239) formed directly on an active side of the semiconductor die and a portion of the encapsulant (turn the image upside down), wherein a signal launcher (120/235) is formed from a conductive layer of the RDL and the signal launcher configured for propagation of an RF signal through the waveguide (130/250/350, see figures 2-3).
Regarding to claim 11, an antenna (170/270/370) affixed on a second major side of the package substrate, the antenna (170/270/370) directly aligned with the waveguide (130/250/350, see figures 2-3).
Regarding to claim 12, a die pad (the contact between the bump 107) at the active side of the semiconductor die is interconnected to the signal launcher by way of the RDL (see figures 2-3).
Regarding to claim 14, a conductive lined cavity formed in the encapsulant and located directly below the signal launcher, the conductive cavity configured as a signal reflector (see paragraph# 33).
Regarding to claim 21, the waveguide formed through the package substrate is formed as an air-filled waveguide (seed paragraph# 33).
Regarding to claim 22, wherein sidewall surfaces of the waveguide are plated with a metal material to form a metal lining of the waveguide (see paragraph# 33).
Regarding to claim 23, the packaged RF semiconductor device is characterized as a launcher-in-package formed as a wafer-level package (see figures 2-3, paragraphs# 21, 34).
Regarding to claim 24, the package substrate is formed from a substrate-like PCB (SLP) substrate material (see figures 2-3, paragraphs# 21, 36).
Regarding to claim 26, the antenna (170/270/370) affixed on the second major side of the package substrate is characterized as a slot antenna (see figures 2-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is allowed. None of the reference teaches or suggests a semiconductor device having a signal path is formed from the die pad at the active side of the semiconductor die to the signal launcher of the RDL without any solder connections (in claim 13).
Claims 15, 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior art teaches or suggests a second semiconductor die mounted on the second major side of the package substrate, the second semiconductor die interconnected with the packaged RF semiconductor device by way of the package substrate (in claim 15); the die pad is interconnected to the signal launcher by way of the RDL without any solder connections (in claim 27).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that Zanati fails to teach a redistribution layer (RDL) formed
directly on an active side of a semiconductor die and a portion of an encapsulant that
encapsulates the semiconductor die. This is not found persuasive because Zanati clearly teach a
redistribution layer (RDL) (230/239) formed directly on an active side of the semiconductor die
and a portion of the encapsulant (turn the image upside down), wherein a signal launcher
(120/235) is formed from a conductive layer of the RDL and the signal launcher configured for
propagation of an RF signal through the waveguide (130/250/350, see figures 2-3).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893