DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 overcomes the objection to claim 1. Accordingly, the objection to claim 1 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, and 3 - 8 have been considered, but they are not persuasive. Please see the grounds of rejection(s) below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, lines 4 – 5 of claim 1 recite “wherein wherein.” One of the “wherein” phrases needs to be removed.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 depends from claim 2. However, claim 2 has been canceled.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 3 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baba et al. (JP 2008-227052A)
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 2, Baba discloses a flexible printed wiring board having a bent region (left side, comprising top and bottom bent regions A) provided with an air layer (the opening within left top bent region A; Figures 1 – 2), the flexible printed wiring board comprising: a signal line (1) passing through the bent region; and a ground layer (bottom layer 2) provided in a layer different from the signal line via an insulating layer (5), wherein the ground layer has, in the bent region, a ground opening (opening within bottom ground layer 2 that spans the bottom bent region A in the longitudinal direction, Figure 2) that at least partially overlaps the signal line when the flexible printed wiring board is viewed in a thickness direction (Figure 2), and the ground opening extends along the signal line over an entire longitudinal direction of the bent region (Figures 1 – 2).
Regarding claim 3, Baba discloses wherein a width of the ground opening is equal to a width of the signal line (Figures 1 – 2).
Regarding claim 4, Baba discloses guard ground wirings provided so as to sandwich the signal line, wherein the ground opening is opened up to a side end portion of the guard ground wiring on a side facing the signal line when the flexible printed wiring board is viewed in the thickness direction (Figures 1 – 2).
Regarding claim 5, Baba discloses guard ground wirings provided so as to sandwich the signal line, wherein the ground opening is opened up to a middle of the guard ground wiring when the flexible printed wiring board is viewed in the thickness direction (Figures 1 – 2).
Regarding claim 6, Baba discloses wherein a plurality of the signal lines are provided so as to run in parallel, and the ground opening is opened such that at least a part of the ground opening overlaps the plurality of signal lines when the flexible printed wiring board is viewed in the thickness direction (Figures 1 – 2).
Regarding claim 7, Baba discloses wherein the ground opening is opened up to a position 50 to 100 µm away from the side end portion of the signal line in the width direction of the signal line (Figures 1 – 2).
Regarding claim 8, Baba discloses wherein the ground layer has a first ground layer and a second ground layer sandwiching the bent region (Figures 1 – 2).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847