Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/28/2023 was filed before the first action on the merits of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
On January 7, 2019, the USPTO released new examination guidelines setting forth a two-step inquiry for determining whether a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter. According to the guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that claim 1 is directed toward non-statutory subject matter, as shown below:
STEP 1: Does claim 1 fall within one of the statutory categories? Yes. The claim is directed toward a system (computing platform)
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? Yes, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
The system in claim 1 is directed a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind (and/or with the aid of pen and paper) and, therefore, an abstract idea. It merely consists of receiving construction projection data and a request for a elements graph and then creating and saving and/or outputting of the generated construction elements graph. This is equivalent to a person being requested to generate manually the elements graph and then saving said graph. As is noted in the background section of the applicant’s own specification it is known that architects and engineers currently produce these documents [0002]-[0003], i.e. the ability to produce the elements graph is reasonably performed in the human.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to STEP 2A (prong 2), whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the guidelines provide the following exemplary considerations that are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application:
an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Claim 1 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. While the claim does recite that the system (platform) includes a network interface, processor, and memory; this is merely implementing the abstract idea onto a computer which is not indicative of practical application. Further while the claims also recites the training of at least one machine-learning model; at the level of generality currently claimed regarding the training data preparation and the details of the training this is merely generally linking the abstract idea onto machine learning system(s). In the current case the machine learning model is merely being used as a tool to perform the abstract idea. There is no indication in the claims nor discussion in the applicant’s specification which would indicate the specific solution claim is improving the operation of the machine model in some fashion. As such while the claimed system may be an “improvement” over manually creating the documentation in the sense that machine model is performing the creation, this improvement in speed comes solely from the application of the ML model; it is not an improvement of the machine learning model itself. Nor do the various training steps represent an improvement in the capabilities (speed, accuracy, etc) of the model.
Also, as noted above, merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea is indicative that the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application. In the instant case, the steps of selecting and transmitting are performed by a “processor” and “non-transtiory computer readable medium”, i.e. a computer. Thus, it is clear that the abstract idea is merely implemented on a computer, which is indicative of the abstract idea having not been integrated into a practical application.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regard to STEP 2B, whether the claims recite additional elements that provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception, the guidelines specify that the pre-guideline procedure is still in effect. Specifically, that examiners should continue to consider whether an additional element or combination of elements:
adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
Claim 1 does not recite any specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional (WURC) activity in the field. Performing of transformations/associations which were previously capable in the human mind is a well understood, routine, and conventional application of machine learning models.
CONCLUSION
Thus, since claim 1 is: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claim 1 is directed towards non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding Claims 2-3 they recite what the physical relationship sets do and do not include; this is still a mental process reasonably performed in the human mind in that a human can mentally determine physical relationships between constructions elements and can determine if two construction elements do not have a physical relationship.
Regarding Claim 4 it recites a computing platform causes a client device to output a visual interface which includes a indication of the building elements graph; this insignificant post-solution activity of merely outputting (Displaying) the results of the abstract idea.
Regarding Claim 5, it recites specific forms of project data (inputs); this use of these inputs to create a building elements graph is still part of the abstract idea in that a person can mentally see/read drawings for a construction project and then create a construction elements graph based in part on the drawings.
Regarding Claim 6, it recites that the input comprises building modeling information (BIM) data; this is merely further limiting the inputs. The use of BIM modeling data is WURC for the creation of building elements graphs is well understood routine and conventional in the field of architecture and construction as is evidenced by the cited prior art Bergin and Meyer in the prior art rejection section below.
Regarding claims 7-9, they further recite using/generating a classification and relationship engine respectively and identifying of elements and relationships using those engines; the determining of elements and relationships is a mental process reasonably performed in the human mind, the implementation of determining them via engines is merely linking the abstract idea to the field of machine learning/is merely using machine learning as a tool to perform the abstract idea and thus does not represent an improvement in the machine learning model itself.
Regarding Claim 10, it further recites that that training data asset includes BIM data, at the level of generally claimed regarding the training this is merely applying machine learning training at a general “apply it” level of generality.
Regarding Claim 11, it further recites that the training is in particular semi-supervised from labeleld BIM data; semi-supervised labelled data for semi-supervised training is a well understood routine and conventional way of training a machine learning model to perform a process. As such it is merely generally appending a WURC activity in the field to the abstract idea and does not represent an improvement in the functioning or training of the machine learning model(s).
Regarding Claim 12, it further recites receiving a request and generating building information summary based on the building elements graph. Receiving a request at the level of generality claimed can be understood as either a mental process (i.e. a person can recognized that they are asked to provide a summary) or is insignificant pre-solution activity of data gathering, (receiving the request as a form of data input). The generating of the summary at the level of generality claimed is a mental process which can be reasonably performed in the human mind in that a person can look at a building elements graph, determining what they believe the most important aspects are and then summarize those aspects.
Regarding Claim 13, it further recites that the generating the summary is performed via a LLM which has been trained on construction based; as such it is merely implementing an LLM to perform a mental process reasonably performed in the human mind. The training limitations do not represent an improvement in the training of LLMs specifically or in general as it only generally claiming the training of the LLMs in some fashion on construction related data. The use of the LLM to generate a summary output is merely using the LLM as a tool to perform a mental process reasonably performed in the human mind and thus does not provide specific machine integration. There is no discussion or indication in the claims nor the specification that it is unexpected for a LLM to have these capabilities, there is no discussion of particular training methods, training data formatting/inputting, etc which would indicate that the applicant has improved LLMs to perform a function which LLMs were not previously able to perform. ([0022]-[0025]) of the applicant’s specification leads the understanding that the implementation of this LLM is merely fine tuning of a generalized LLM to perform a specific function.
Regarding Claims 14-20 they are non-transitory computer readable medium or method equivalents to system claim 1 and certain dependent system claims of 1, they have the same overall 101 analysis and rejection as their respective equivalents above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 3, it recites that “the given set of physical relationships does not include a physical relationship between the first building element and the second building element”; this renders the scope of protection unclear in that from claim 1 “a given set” is defined as “between pairs of building elements associated with the given construction project”; and that building elements comprises the first and second building elements.
From this, claim 3 is reciting that a set of “physical relationships” between the building element (i.e. between the first and second building elements) does not include a physical relationship between those elements, then what does the set of physical relationships include if not the physical relationship(s) between the elements of it set?
Is claim 3 meant to mean that there must be other (from open ended “comprising” definition of building elements in claim 1) 3rd, 4th, …, nth building elements such that the 1st and 2nd elements are independent of each other?
Additionally, it is unclear how for a given construction site/plan that two building elements can have no physical relationship between each other given that if the two elements are part of the same building they would at the very least have a relative positioning relationship with each other, even if they are otherwise unrelated in terms of physical interactions or dependencies with each other.
From reviewing the applicant’s specification it appears that perhaps claim 3 was meant to recite that the “logical relationships” set does not include physical relationship ([0011]-[0012] of the applicant’s specification); however given that this interpretation would require actively ignoring the current phrasing of the claim it is not being taken. For treating claim 3 on its merits “does not include physical relationship” between the two elements wil be interpreted as meaning/including that any two given objects may be located so far from each other that they are considered unconnected (i.e. lack a proximity or location (room) based relationship).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12, 14-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190228115 A1, Bergin et al, “BUILDING INFORMATION DESIGN SYNTHESIS (BIDS)” and further in view of EP 3879423 A1, “METHOD AND DEVICE FOR GENERATING DIGITAL MODEL VIEWS FOR BUILDINGS”, Mayer et al and further in view of US 20220138492 A1, “DATA PREPROCESSING AND REFINEMENT TOOL”, Paulson et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Bergin et al teaches “A computing platform comprising: at least one network interface; at least one processor; at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium; and program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing platform is configured to:”([0089]-[0090] system of Bergin is a processor and memory along with inputs and displays in communication with the processor and memory (i.e. a network interface));” train at least one machine-learning model by carrying out a machine-learning process on a training data set that includes a plurality of construction-based data objects, the plurality of construction-based data objects including (i) indications of a plurality of building elements, (ii) indications of respective ( [0032] “At step 302, the design data 202 for each of the AEC designs is encoded into a graph 206. The encoding includes a recognition process that analyzes the design data 202 and produces a labeled representation of objects of the design data 202 and relationships between the objects.” + [0033] “At step 304, a knowledge base 208 is maintained. The knowledge base 208 is a collection of the design data 202, actions taken on the design data 202, and interpretations of the received design data 202. The knowledge base 208 processes and stores the graph 206. Further, the knowledge base 208 indexes and provides access to design knowledge. The knowledge base 208 is iteratively trained based on the graph 206 and updates to the graph 206. The knowledge base 208, based on the graph 206, translates user input for new design projects into actionable design models 210, documentation, and analytical data. In addition, the knowledge base 208 may translate the user input using a conditional generative adversarial network (GAN) that is iteratively trained and adapts to paired and unpaired datasets.”);” wherein the at least one machine-learning model is configured to (i) receive, as input, construction project data associated with an input construction project, (ii) based on the received construction project data, identify a plurality of building elements associated with the input construction project, (iii) based on an evaluation of the one or more building elements associated with the input construction project, in view of the training data set, determine a set of respective([0030]-[0033]; as previously cited an architectural engineering and construction AEC designs are input (construction project data); are encoded (i.e. through Machine learning) and relationships are extracted/identified through the recognition process (Relationships between building elements associated with the inputted AEC designs) );” (iv) based on the determined set of respective ([0048] solutions/outputs includes “Solutions that are generated/evaluated/exported may include floor plans, diagrams, detail drawings, construction plans, material takeoffs, cost estimations, 3D models, and/or performance data.” );” receive construction project data associated with a given construction project; “([0030]-[0036] from the overall logical flow relationships are and [0045]-[0048])”receive a request to generate a building elements graph for the given construction project; input the construction project data associated with the given construction project into the machine-learning model and thereby: identifying a plurality of building elements associated with the given construction project, the plurality of building elements including a first building element and a second building element, determining a given set of respective with the given construction project,([0030] FIG. 3 illustrates the logical flow for dynamically generating a digital building information model 210 in accordance with one or more embodiments of the invention.
[0031] At step 300, design data 202 for one or more architectural engineering and construction (AEC) designs is received.
[0032] At step 302, the design data 202 for each of the AEC designs is encoded into a graph 206. The encoding includes a recognition process that analyzes the design data 202 and produces a labeled representation of objects of the design data 202 and relationships between the objects.
[0033] At step 304, a knowledge base 208 is maintained. The knowledge base 208 is a collection of the design data 202, actions taken on the design data 202, and interpretations of the received design data 202. The knowledge base 208 processes and stores the graph 206. Further, the knowledge base 208 indexes and provides access to design knowledge. The knowledge base 208 is iteratively trained based on the graph 206 and updates to the graph 206. The knowledge base 208, based on the graph 206, translates user input for new design projects into actionable design models 210, documentation, and analytical data. In addition, the knowledge base 208 may translate the user input using a conditional generative adversarial network (GAN) that is iteratively trained and adapts to paired and unpaired datasets.” AEC (construction project data) is inputted + [0048] teaches solutions are outputted, i.e. the inputting is also a request); objects (building elements) and the relationships/pairing between them is identified and then design projections/models, documentation is created from these graph of objects and relationships, );”generating a building elements graph for the given construction project; and store the building elements graph for the given construction project on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium.”( [0048] “At step 406, solutions are generated. The BIDS System attempts to provide output at various levels of detail and types of representation. In one or more embodiments, priority may be given to methods of generation that supply results in real time and support interactivity. The solutions generated may not be meant to be optimal solutions but can satisfy minimum requirements defined by the user in the problem definition phase. These satisfactory solutions and related performance data are used by building project stakeholders to support the design and construction process. The generation of solutions process includes evaluating solutions at 408 and outputting/exporting such solutions at 410. Alternatively, if an optimal solution is not identified, solutions may be reconciled at step 412 and used to train the knowledge base at 414 and/or to refine the input at 416 that is used to generate solutions at step 406. Solutions that are generated/evaluated/exported may include floor plans, diagrams, detail drawings, construction plans, material takeoffs, cost estimations, 3D models, and/or performance data.”)
Bergin however varies in that it does not specifically teach “logical” and “physical” relationships and relationship sets, instead only generally teaching the determination of relationships between building objects (building elements) and outputting/generating a building elements graph.
Mayer et al teaches an analogous building plan generation system which includes receiving an BIM input (Mayer [0004] “To generate digital model views for a building, a digital building model of the building is imported…”); and determining of relationships between building elements based on the BIM input ([0004] “…From the digital building model, building element data about building elements and relationship data about relationships between building elements are extracted and stored according to a respective relationship”) in which the determining relationships types and sets which includes physical relationships ([0014] “Furthermore, a type relationship specification can be read in via a relationship between different building element types.” + [0023] “..The building model BM also describes a multitude of relationships between building elements or Building element specifications, here BE1 and BE2, are defined by corresponding relationship specifications BA. Such relationship specifications BA allow, for example, the following: B. Doors or windows are each assigned to the wall into which the respective door or window is to be installed according to the planning. The relationship information BA can also be represented in the building model BM by specific data sets that are assigned to the corresponding building element information, here BE1 and BE2”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application to modify Bergin to include the element type and relationship type determination and assignment to building elements as taught by Mayer. One would be motivated to implement relationship type assignment to allow for easier summarization of relationships between objects, improve user readability/understandability of resulting outputs/solutions (floor plans, construction plans, etc) (Mayer [0014] “…Based on the type relationship specification, relationship information about relationships between building elements that are assigned to the different building element types can then be stored. In this way, a large number of individual relationships between building elements can be summarized and used in a generic form.”)
The combination however would still lack explicitly teachings for “logical” (i.e. functional) relationships between elements. While such relationships are implied in both references; Bergin Fig. 6 in the “functions” elements includes heating/cooling considerations/performance (Bergin Fig. 6); and in Mayer disclose elements types which includes functional types such as fire protection, cleaning, furnishing, radio coverage, etc and that relationships between these types are determined ([0015] “Furthermore, depending on the type of building element, another building element specification and/or another relationship specification can be read from a database and stored and assigned to the respective building element specification or relationship
specification “ + [0026] “…For example, a particular building element type can be specifically designed for all aspects of fire protection, building cleaning, furnishing, mobile phone coverage, etc. Logistics-relevant structural elements are provided and assigned to them in the database DB”); however neither reference explicitly details a relationship which is “logical” (i.e. functional) in nature as opposed just structural.
Paulson teaches a (digital) building labelling system which includes determining of functional relationships between building elements as part of a knowledge graph of the building ([0004] “In various embodiments, the asset includes at least one of a space or a piece of equipment associated with the portion of the building. In various embodiments, the graphical representation of the asset is associated with a simple vector format (SVF) file. In various embodiments, the building model includes a graph data structure. In various embodiments, the building model includes a building information management (BIM) model. In various embodiments, the graphical representation of the asset is a three-dimensional representation. In various embodiments, rending the graphical representation includes displaying the graphical representation in an interface of a building management system (BMS). In various embodiments, the graphical representation of the asset includes at least one image of the asset.” + [0051]-[0054] + fig. 2a which shows relationships between a space (room); temperature sensor (thermostats); and HAV controller and systems + [0078]-[0084] here teaches a smart commissioning/control system which utilizes the determined functional relationships to improve operation of the building)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to further modify Bergin in view of Mayer to include the determination of functional (logical) relationships between building objects (elements) as disclosed by Paulson et al. One would be motivated to implement the functional relationship determination in order to improve the functionality of the resulting building plans improving user and customer satisfaction. ([0059] here teaches using of functional relationships in order to improve the functioning of resulting building subsystems (heating, coolling, etc as defined in [0052]))
Regarding Claim 2, modified Bergin teaches “The computing platform of claim 1, the given set of physical relationships includes a physical relationship between the first building element and the second building element.”(Bergin [0004] “From the digital building model, building element data about building elements and
relationship data about relationships between building elements are extracted and stored
according to a respective relationship.” Bergin extracts relationships + from [0023] of Bergin as cited in claim 1 it is known that relationship types includes physical relationships between elements (e.g. a certain window is within a certain wall))
Regarding Claim 3, modified Bergin teaches “The computing platform of claim 1, wherein the given set of physical relationships does not include a physical relationship between the first building element and the second building element.”( Mayer [0004] “From the digital building model, building element data about building elements and
relationship data about relationships between building elements are extracted and stored
according to a respective relationship.” Mayer extracts relationships + from [0023] of Mayer as cited in claim 1 it is known that relationship types includes physical relationships between elements (e.g. a certain window is within a certain wall); given that Bergin is creating a model for the whole building this naturally means that there may be windows and walls which don’t have a relationship to each other (e.g. an east-side exterior window does not have a physical relationship to the west-side wall of the building))
Regarding Claim 4, modified Bergin teaches “The computing platform of claim 1, further comprising program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing platform is configured to cause a client device to present a visual interface, the visual interface usable for viewing an indication of the building elements graph.”(Bergin abstract: “…As the user input is received, a layout floorplan is generated and displayed in real-time (based on the user input and the knowledge base).”+ [0077] “…As the user input is received, in a separate layout viewport, a layout generated floorplan 906 is generated, updated, and displayed in real-time. Such a generated floor plan 906 is generated and displayed based on the user input (i.e., sketch 902/bubble diagram 904) and the knowledge base that has been created and maintained. “ + [0089] “FIG. 14 is an exemplary hardware and software environment 1400 used to implement one or more embodiments of the invention. The hardware and software environment includes a computer 1402 and may include peripherals. Computer 1402 may be a user/client computer, server computer, or may be a database computer. The computer 1402 comprises a hardware processor 1404A and/or a special purpose hardware processor 1404B (hereinafter alternatively collectively referred to as processor 1404) and a memory 1406, such as random access memory (RAM). The computer 1402 may be coupled to, and/or integrated with, other devices, including input/output (I/O) devices such as a keyboard 1414, a cursor control device 1416 (e.g., a mouse, a pointing device, pen and tablet, touch screen, multi-touch device, etc.) and a printer 1428. In one or more embodiments, computer 1402 may be coupled to, or may comprise, a portable or media viewing/listening device 1432 (e.g., an MP3 player, IPOD, NOOK, portable digital video player, cellular device, personal digital assistant, etc.). In yet another embodiment, the computer 1402 may comprise a multi-touch device, mobile phone, gaming system, internet enabled television, television set top box, or other internet enabled device executing on various platforms and operating systems.” )
Regarding Claim 5, modified Bergin teaches “The computing platform of claim 1, wherein the construction project data includes one or more of a specification for the given construction project, drawings for the given construction project, a bill of materials (BOM) for the given construction project, user input associated with the given construction project, a location hierarchy for the given construction project, a data sheet for a property element of the given construction project, a cost code, or combinations thereof.”( [0047] At step 402, the initial input/problem definition is provided. The user 200 begins an interaction with BIDS by defining high level goals and constraints for the project. Such input may include floor plans, diagrams, detail drawings, construction plans, material takeoffs, cost estimations, 3D models, and/or performance data. This input adds to the corpus of knowledge contained in the knowledge base 208 for a specific user 200 and their associated company profiles. In other words, at step 404, the initial input is provided/added by querying the knowledge base 208.)
Regarding Claim 6, modified Bergin teaches “The computing platform of claim 5, wherein the construction project data includes building information modelling (BIM) data.”( [0038] Design Data 202 is defined as data that has been submitted to BIDS including but not limited to sketches, diagrams, images, CAD documents, BIM documents, performance criteria, building schedules, construction assembly data, process model, project goals, financial data, specifications and/or product data.” Design data includes BIM data/documents)
Regarding Claim 7, modified Bergin teaches “The computing platform of claim 1, wherein the machine-learning model is further configured to generate a classification engine, based on the training data set, for extracting and classifying the plurality of building elements associated with the given construction project.”(Mayer [0013] “According to a further advantageous embodiment of the invention, structural element
specifications can be assigned to a structural element type Building element data assigned to a building element type can then be assigned to a role by
assigning that building element type to that role. In this way, roles can be indirectly assigned
to multiple building element specifications in parallel via building element types. In
particular, properties or functions of building elements can be grouped together under a
building element type, which usually greatly simplifies role assignment”)
Regarding Claim 8, modified Bergin teaches “The computing platform of claim 7, wherein identifying the plurality of building elements associated with the input construction project includes identifying, by a relationships engine of the machine-learning model, the extracted and classified plurality of building elements.”(Mayer [0014] “Furthermore, a type relationship specification can be read in via a relationship between
different building element types..” + [0015] “Furthermore, depending on the type of building element, another building element specification and/or another relationship specification can be read from a database and stored and assigned to the respective building element specification or relationship specification.”)
Regarding Claim 9, modified Bergin teaches “The computing platform of claim 1, wherein the machine-learning model is further configured to generate a relationships engine, based on the indications of a plurality of building elements and the indications of respective logical relationships between pairs of building elements in the plurality of building elements, the relationships engine for determining relationships between pairs of building elements associated with the input construction project.”(Paulson as modified in claim 1 teaches determining of logical relationships (i.e. a relationship engine) between building elements; [0004] “In various embodiments, the asset includes at least one of a space or a piece of equipment associated with the portion of the building. In various embodiments, the graphical representation of the asset is associated with a simple vector format (SVF) file. In various embodiments, the building model includes a graph data structure. In various embodiments, the building model includes a building information management (BIM) model. In various embodiments, the graphical representation of the asset is a three-dimensional representation. In various embodiments, rending the graphical representation includes displaying the graphical representation in an interface of a building management system (BMS). In various embodiments, the graphical representation of the asset includes at least one image of the asset.” + [0051]-[0054] + fig. 2a which shows relationships between a space (room); temperature sensor (thermostats); and HAV controller and systems + [0078]-[0084] here teaches a smart commissioning/control system which utilizes the determined functional relationships to improve operation of the building)
)
Regarding Claim 10, modified Bergin teaches “The computing platform of claim 1, wherein the training data set includes BIM data associated with one or more construction projects.”( [0033] At step 304, a knowledge base 208 is maintained. The knowledge base 208 is a collection of the design data 202, actions taken on the design data 202, and interpretations of the received design data 202. The knowledge base 208 processes and stores the graph 206. Further, the knowledge base 208 indexes and provides access to design knowledge. The knowledge base 208 is iteratively trained based on the graph 206 and updates to the graph 206. The knowledge base 208, based on the graph 206, translates user input for new design projects into actionable design models 210, documentation, and analytical data. In addition, the knowledge base 208 may translate the user input using a conditional generative adversarial network (GAN) that is iteratively trained and adapts to paired and unpaired datasets.” The system is iteratively trained based in part on the design data which from [0038] is known to include BIM data/documentation)
Regarding Claim 12, modified Bergin teaches “The computing platform of claim 1, further comprising program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing platform is configured to cause a client device to: receive a request to generate a building information summary; and generate a building information summary based on the building elements graph.”(Bergin [0048] “…Solutions that are generated/evaluated/exported may include floor plans, diagrams, detail drawings, construction plans, material takeoffs, cost estimations, 3D models, and/or performance data.” Floor plans and diagrams are understood to be a form of building information summary under broadest reasonable interpretation of “information summary” )
Regarding Claims 14-16 they are non-transitory computer readable medium equivalents to system (computing platform) claims 1, 7, 9 respectively; they have the same overall grounds, combination, and motivation for combination as claim 1 and the respective equivalent dependents 7,9, and 11.
Regarding claims 18-20 they are method equivalents to claims 1, 4, and 12, they have the same grounds, combination, and motivation for combination as claim 1 and their respective equivalent claims.
Claim(s) 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Bergin as applied to claims 10 and 14 above, and further in view of WO 2022029428 A1, “ADAPTIVE DATA MODELS AND SELECTION THEREOF”, Hodos et al.
Regarding Claim 11, while teaching a machine learning process through iterative training (Bergin [0031]-[0032]) to determine logical relationships (From claim 1’s combination with Paulson) and outputs; it does not state that this training is “semi-supervised”
Hodos teachces a system for training of knowledge databases (for determining relationships between objects/elements in general);”( [0008] The present disclosure describes a system for specifying, testing, evaluating, and selecting data models based on the predictive performance (or other properties) of corresponding predictive ML models that are trained using the information specified by each of the data models. This system can greatly streamline a process that would otherwise be inefficient and especially in scenarios where it is unclear which parts or subsets of a knowledge graph would be optimally suited to support a given ML task, such as prediction of links between genes and diseases. In turn, the overall predictive performance shall be significantly improved such that more accurate predictive ML models can be derived from the selected data models or data model configurations.)” which includes the use of semi-supervised learning methods ([0029] “Examples of ML techmque(s)/model structure(s) or algonthm(s) for generating a trained predictive model that may be used by the invention as described herein may include or be based on, by way of example only but is not limited to, one or more of: any ML technique or algorithm/method that can be used to generate a trained predictive model based on a labelled and/or unlabelled training datasets; one or more supervised ML techniques; semi-supervised ML techniques; unsupervised ML techniques; linear and/or non-linear ML techniques; ML techniques associated with classification;”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to further modify modified Bergin to include semi-supervised training of the machine learning system in order to improve the overall performance of the ML system.
Regarding Claim 17 it is a computer readable medium equivalent to claim 11, it has the same grounds of rejection, modification, and motivation as claim 11.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Bergin as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Desai, US 20240290435 A1, “Knowledge Lens For Multidimensional Domains”.
Regarding Claim 13, Bergin discloses various forms of summaries of outputs from the knowledge graph ([0048]) it however does not discloses a LLM that is trained with a second-data set that includes construction-based data, which receives the outputs of the knowledge graph and then evaluates them in order to output a building information summary.
Desai teaches a system which includes a Large Language model ,conditioned on the knowledge base (i.e. trained on the knowledge graph (a data of domain specific related information set), to produce a summarization of outputs from said knowledge graph. ([0052] In some implementations, the inference model 400 leverages a large language model (LLM) that exploits the data from the knowledge graph 50 into downstream tasks such as generating a summary of information from the knowledge graph 50 that was requested by a natural language query 402. Here, the natural language query 402 may be provided as a prompt to the LLM 400, whereby the LLM 400 is conditioned on the knowledge graph 50 to generate the response 404 that conveys the information requested by the prompt query 402. The user may provide follow-up natural language queries 402 as follow-up prompts to the LLM 400 to further refine previous responses 404 output by the LLM 400 to provide a conversational interface. As such, the user interface and the inference model 400 may provide conversational assistant capabilities (e.g., chat bot) to allow the user to interact with the knowledge graph 50 using natural dialog.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Bergin to include the knowledge graph summarization LLM as taught by Desai. One would be motivated to implement the summarization LLM in order to allow a user to operate the system conversationally (using natural language inputs) improving ease of operation. ([0052] “…As such, the user interface and the inference model 400 may provide conversational assistant capabilities (e.g., chat bot) to allow the user to interact with the knowledge graph 50 using natural dialog”). While Desai discloses examples related specifically to medicinal interactions, in the background section Desai makes clear that the system is generally applicable to any multi-dimensional domain ([0002] This disclosure relates to a knowledge lens for multidimensional domains.) as such construction planning is one such multi-dimensional domain (being that is multi-dimensional in terms of architectural constraints, heating/cooling constraints, cost constraints, safety constraints, etc) thus the underlying benefit/application onto a building/construction system domain as opposed to a pharmacological domain is within the generalized scope of Desai, and the results of the combination (implementing of the summarizing LLM for the knowledge graph outputs/solutions) would function as expected and predictably to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20250029269 A1; US 20240265158 A1; US 20210200912 A1; US 20190303512 A1; US 20180113959 A1;
/KENNETH M DUNNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669