DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and written response filed 03/13/2026 have been entered and considered.
Claims 1-20 were cancelled.
Claims 21-40 were added.
Claims 21-40 are pending.
Upon entry of the claim amendment, the rejection and objection of claims 1-20 have been withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-28, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farah (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0108645 A1) in view of More et al (“More” hereinafter, “A semi-automated method for identifying and measuring myelinated nerve fibers in scanning electron microscope images”, see IDS filed 08/18/2020).
As per claim 21, Farah discloses a method for assessing the quality of a nerve graft, the method comprising: obtaining an image identifying laminin-containing tissue (paragraph [0241], basal lamina is the claimed “laminin-containing tissue”) in the nerve graft (paragraph [0209], WT nerve grafts); using an analysis function of the image processing application, analyzing the image to identify one or more structure based on one or more recognition criteria (paragraphs [0077], [0242]-[0243], [0246], “axons” in figures 5A-5G are recognized, and the “axons” are the claimed “structure”, which are identified and analyzed); and determining one or more structural characteristic of the nerve graft based on a measurement of the one or more structure (paragraph [0209], “accelerated axonal regeneration” is the claimed “structural characteristic”; and “the growth of BACE1 KO axons" is the claimed "measurement of the one or more structure"), wherein the one or more structural characteristics comprise at least a portion of a perineurium and/or one or more endoenurial tubes (paragraph [0200] for endoneurial blood vessels, images in figures 3A-3I comprises a number of the endonuerial blood vessel), assessing the quality of the nerve graft based upon, at least in part, the determined one or more structural characteristics of the nerve graft (abstract). Farah teaches microscopy program such as "Openlab software”, “Sigmaplot” and etc to for imaging processing and analysis. However, Farah does not explicitly teach "creating a transformed image using a transformation function of an image processing application on the image". More discloses a method for identifying and measuring myelinated nerve fibers in scanning electron microscope images, in which More teaches a plurality of image transformation functions, such as image stitching, denoising, binary conversion, small area removal and etc (see figure 2 in More).
Farah & More are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, nerve microscopic imaging. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Farah in light of More’s image transformation functions. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been it would allow Farah to better analyze axonal regeneration in the transformed/enhanced images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Farah with More to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 22, More teaches wherein the identified one or more structures meet the one or more recognition criteria (paragraph [0076]-[0077]: “…images of sections of nerves filled with neurobiotin to anterogradely label regenerating axons at 5 days post-crush…” the criteria is 5 days of post-crush).
As per claim 23, More teaches wherein the identified one or more structures do not meet the one or more recognition criteria (paragraph [0076]: axonal images of 3 days post-crush do not meet the 5 days post-crush criteria).
For claims 24-25, the examiner notes More in figure 1 shows an entire fascicle is delineated from the rest of the sample tissue.
As per claim 26, as explained above, the axonal images include an endoneurial tube.
As per claim 27, the examiner notes denoising and binary converting both require thresholding (see table 1 in More for axon binary threshold value)
As per claim 28, as explained above, denoising and binary converting in More require a threshold method.
As per claim 30, Farah at paragraph [0242] teaches “a total number of regenerating axons per nerve” corresponds to the claimed “the number of endoneurial tubes per area”.
As per claim 32, Farah teaches BACE1 KO fibers have 2 or more regenerating sprouts compared to 31% of the WT fibers.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 12-13, 16 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,847,844 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
All elements in claim 21 are encompassed in claim 1 of ‘844 patent.
All elements in claim 22 are encompassed in claim 2 of ‘844 patent.
All elements in claim 23 are encompassed in claim 3 of ‘844 patent.
All elements in claim 24 are encompassed in claim 4 of ‘844 patent.
All elements in claim 25 are encompassed in claim 5 of ‘844 patent.
All elements in claim 26 are encompassed in claim 6 of ‘844 patent.
All elements in claim 27 are encompassed in claim 7 of ‘844 patent.
All elements in claim 28 are encompassed in claim 8 of ‘844 patent.
All elements in claim 29 are encompassed in claim 12 of ‘844 patent.
All elements in claim 30 are encompassed in claim 13 of ‘844 patent.
All elements in claim 31 are encompassed in claim 16 of ‘844 patent.
All elements in claim 32 are encompassed in claim 18 of ‘844 patent.
Claims 33-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,311,281 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
All elements in claim 33 are encompassed in claim 17 & 1 of ‘281 patent.
All elements in claim 34 are encompassed in claim 2 of ‘281 patent.
All elements in claim 35 are encompassed in claim 17, 1 and 7 of ‘281 patent.
All elements in claim 36 are encompassed in claim 17, 1 and 10 of ‘281 patent.
All elements in claim 37 are encompassed in claim 18 of ‘281 patent.
All elements in claim 38 are encompassed in claims 17 and 1 of ‘281 patent.
All elements in claim 39 are encompassed in claim 18 of ‘281 patent.
All elements in claim 40 are encompassed in claim 19 of ‘281 patent.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOM Y LU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667