DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicants’ amendment received on October 16, 2025.
Claim 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 15-20 have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (KR 20220121120 A), hereinafter “Park”.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a sensor device in a steering system of a motor vehicle (Abstract), comprising: a rotational angle sensor (Fig. 3 (300)), the rotational angle sensor being connected to a toothed wheel (Fig. 5 (400)) and detecting a rotation of the toothed wheel (Description-of-Embodiments section: paragraph 10), the toothed wheel (400) being fitted on a steering tie rod (Fig. 5 (50)) such that it meshes with a spindle thread (Fig. 5 (in the vicinity of element 50)) on the steering tie rod (Fig. 5 (50)) which is part of a ball screw drive (Fig. 4 (40)) of a servo drive (Fig. 3 (10)).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the sensor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the toothed wheel (Fig. 5 (400)) meshes with the spindle thread (Fig. 5 (in the vicinity of element 50)) at a 90-deg. angle in relation to the steering tie rod (Fig. 5 (50)).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses the sensor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the rotational angle sensor (Fig. 3 (300)) directly connects to a shaft (Fig. 6 (100)) that also bears the toothed wheel (Fig. 3 (400)).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the sensor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the toothed wheel (Fig. 5 (400)) is constructed of a plastic (Description-of-Embodiments section: paragraph 12).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses a steering system for a motor vehicle (Abstract), comprising a sensor device as claimed in claim 1 (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 10, a housing (Fig. 5 (20)) of the sensor device being arranged next to and formed in one piece with a housing of the ball screw drive (Fig. 4 (40)) of the servo drive.
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses the sensor device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the rotational angle sensor (Fig. 3 (300)) directly connects to a shaft (Fig. 6 (100)) that also bears the toothed wheel (Fig. 6 (400)).
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses the sensor device as claimed in claim 12, wherein a radially elastically flexible element (Fig. 7 (410)) which acts on a connection between the toothed wheel and the spindle thread being present (Figs. 5 & 7).
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses the sensor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the spindle thread (Fig. 5 (in the vicinity of element 50)) threadably engages a nut of the ball screw drive (Fig. 4 (40)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9, 14 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ remarks filed on October 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not deemed persuasive.
Applicants contend that the reference of Park (KR 20220121120 A), hereinafter “Park” fails to disclose a toothed wheel that meshes with a spindle thread on a steering tie rod which is part of a ball screw drive of a servo drive. Applicants further contend that the rack bar (50) of Park is not threaded. Examiner submits that as can be seen in Figs. 3, 4 and 5 of Park; the “rack bar” (50) is threaded and the toothed wheel (Fig. 5 (400)) meshes with a spindle thread (Fig. 5 (in the vicinity of element 50)) on the steering tie rod (Fig. 5 (50)). Therefore, it is understood that the reference of Park teaches all the limitations required by the independent claim 1.
Accordingly, the grounds of rejection are deemed proper.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/O.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747