DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, 9-10, 12 and 16 in the reply filed on March 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20, 23 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 9, 2026.
Applicant has amended claim 24, originally identified in the January 28, 2026 Restriction as an independent claim of Group III, to now be dependent on claim 1. The restriction requirement identifying Group III is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 9, 2026 has been entered. Claims 24 and 31 are amended. Claims 8, 11, 13-17, 21-22, 27-28, 30, 32 are canceled. Claims 18-20, 23 are withdrawn. Currently, claims 1-7, 9-10, 12, 24-26, 29 and 31 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9-10, 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Overmyer et al. (US 2018/0161111).
Regarding claim 1, Overmyer et al. discloses a system 118, comprising: an instrument drive system (“surgical robot” [0116]), comprising: a first housing 202; a first magnetic coupling member 224 within the first housing (fig. 9-10; “each of the stators 224 can include an electromagnet” [0118]); and a motor (“Each of the motors (e.g., stepper or brushless motors) has associated therewith a stator 224” [0118]; “a DC brushless or stepper motor” [0119]) mechanically coupled to the first magnetic coupling member ([0119]), the motor configured to rotate the first magnetic coupling member (“a control system thereof, is configured to control the stators 224 to cause movement thereof such that current in the stators 224 create a magnetic field, e.g., as in a DC brushless or stepper motor” [0119]; “FIG. 14 illustrates rotational movement (arrow R1) of the rotor/stator coupling and shows gear teeth of the stator 402 and the rotor 418” [0126]); and a medical instrument (“a surgical tool” [0116]), comprising: a second housing 200; a rotor 222 within the second housing (fig. 9); and a second magnetic coupling member (fig. 9-10; “each of the rotors 222 can include a permanent magnet” [0118]) within the second housing and mechanically coupled to the rotor, the second magnetic coupling member being spaced from 404 and magnetically coupled to the first magnetic coupling member (fig. 10-12, 14); and wherein rotation of the first magnetic coupling member causes rotation of the second magnetic coupling member and the rotor (“Torque can be delivered to one or more of the rotors 222 via their associated one or more of the stators 224” [0119]; “FIG. 14 illustrates rotational movement (arrow R1) of the rotor/stator coupling” [0126]).
Regarding claim 2, Overmyer et al. discloses wherein the first housing 202 of the instrument drive system seals the first magnetic coupling member 224 and the motor (“a DC brushless or stepper motor” [0119]) within the first housing (fig. 9), and wherein the second housing 200 of the medical instrument seals the rotor 222 and the second magnetic coupling member within the second housing (fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3, Overmyer et al. discloses wherein the second magnetic coupling member (fig. 9-10; “each of the rotors 222 can include a permanent magnet” [0118]) is within a protruding portion of the second housing 200 of the medical instrument, wherein the protruding portion is located within a recessed portion formed by the first housing 202 of the instrument drive system, and wherein the first magnetic coupling member is positioned around an interior surface of the recessed portion (fig. 9-10).
Regarding claim 5, Overmyer et al. discloses wherein the first magnetic coupling member is axially spaced from the second magnetic coupling member in a direction parallel with an axis of rotation of the first magnetic coupling member (fig. 9-10).
Regarding claim 6, Overmyer et al. discloses wherein the first magnetic coupling member includes a first plurality of magnets rotationally spaced around an axis of rotation of the first magnetic coupling member (“The number of magnets in the rotor 418 can be the same as the number of poles of the stator 402, e.g., eight in this illustrated embodiment, or can have a different number, e.g., a number in a range of four to eight” [0126]; figs. 11-12).
Regarding claim 9, Overmyer et al. discloses wherein the system further comprises an air gap between the first magnetic coupling member 402 and the second magnetic coupling member 418, and wherein a sterile barrier 404 (“cap 404 configured as a protective cover”) extends within the air gap (fig. 11; [0123]).
Regarding claim 10, Overmyer et al. discloses wherein the second magnetic coupling member includes a second plurality of magnets rotationally spaced around an axis of rotation of the second magnetic coupling member (“The number of magnets in the rotor 418 can be the same as the number of poles of the stator 402, e.g., eight in this illustrated embodiment, or can have a different number, e.g., a number in a range of four to eight” [0126]; figs. 11-12).
Regarding claim 24, Overmyer et al. discloses wherein the first magnetic coupling member includes a first position sensor ([0135]) and the second magnetic coupling member includes a second position sensor ([0120]), and wherein the system further comprises: a control system comprising: a processor 302; and a memory 304 comprising machine readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the control system to: receive position data from the first and second position sensors indicating position of the first position sensor relative to the second position sensor; and based on the received position data, determine a torque applied to the second magnetic coupling member ([0120]).
Regarding claim 25, Overmyer et al. discloses wherein the first magnetic coupling member includes a magnet array (“The number of magnets in the rotor 418 can be the same as the number of poles of the stator 402, e.g., eight in this illustrated embodiment, or can have a different number, e.g., a number in a range of four to eight” [0126]; figs. 11-12), and wherein the first position sensor is coupled to the magnet array ([0135]).
Regarding claim 26, Overmyer et al. discloses wherein the first magnetic coupling member includes a housing, and wherein the first position sensor is coupled to the housing (fig. 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overmyer et al. (US 2018/0161111).
Regarding claim 4, Overmyer et al. does not expressly disclose in the Figure 9-11 embodiment the first magnetic coupling member includes an aperture; and the second magnetic coupling member is located within the aperture when the first housing is mechanically coupled to the second housing. In a different embodiment (fig. 30-31) however, Overmyer et al. discloses an instrument drive system comprising a first magnetic coupling member 1000 including an aperture; and a second magnetic coupling member 1004 of a medical instrument located within the aperture when the instrument drive system and medical instrument are mechanically coupled (fig. 31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Overmyer et al. such that first magnetic coupling member includes an aperture; and the second magnetic coupling member is located within the aperture when the first housing is mechanically coupled to the second housing in situations where the system comprises a stator with a set of electromagnets with a central single rotor of a medical instrument ([0134]) given OVermyer et al. envisions this embodiment, the results of such a modification being reasonably predictable.
Statement Regarding Prior Art
Claim 7 is dependent on claim 6, which is dependent on claim 1. The closest prior art for claim 6 is Overmyer et al. (US 2018/0161111), but the prior art does not teach a first magnetic coupling member of an instrument drive system that includes a first plurality of magnets rotationally spaced around an axis of rotation of the first magnetic coupling member where the first plurality of magnets includes a first subset of magnets with a polarity directed radially outward; a second subset of magnets with a polarity directed radially inward; and a third subset of magnets with a polarity directed generally perpendicularly to the polarity of the first and second subsets of magnets.
Claim 29 is dependent on claim 24 which is dependent on claim 1. Claim 24 requires the first magnetic coupling member includes a first position sensor and the second magnetic coupling member includes a second position sensor. Claim 29 requires comparison of position data from the first position sensor with position data from the second position sensor, and wherein determining the torque applied to the second magnetic coupling member is based on the comparison. Overmyer et al. fails to disclose or teach determining the torque applied to the second magnetic coupling member based on a comparison of the first and second positioned sensors.
Claim 31 is dependent on claim 24 which is dependent on claim 1. Claim 31 requires determining a torque applied to the medical instrument based on the torque applied to the second magnetic coupling member. Overmyer et al. fails to disclose or teach determination of the torque applied to the medical instrument based on a torque applied to the second magnetic coupling member.
Conclusion
/ERICA S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796