DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 9/9/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-8 and 16-20 recite a method, which is a statutory category of invention. Claims 9-15 recite a machine, which is statutory category of invention.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Exemplary Claim 1 recites “obtaining, by a terminal, a temperature of each one of temperature zones in the terminal”, “determining, by the terminal for each one of the temperature zones, based on the temperature of the temperature zone, a maximum charging current”, “determining, by the terminal from multiple charge pumps of the terminal, based on the maximum charging current allowed by each one of charging associated devices, a target charge pump to be used”, which are mental observations or evaluations and fall within the "mental processes" grouping of abstract ideas set forth in the 2019 PEG. 2019 PEG Section I, 84 Fed. Reg. at 52
Step 2A, Prong 2: Claim 1 recites a terminal and charge pumps, which indicate a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception and do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: Claim 1 does not include additional elements when considered individually and/or as an ordered combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP $22 2106.05(f));
The terminal and charge pumps are well understood, routine and conventional in the field of charging mobile devices. For example, Lee (CN 113541264 A) describes a terminal (100) with charge pumps (see ¶76). Lee is evidence that such components are well understood, routine, and conventional.
Dependent claims 2-7 fail to cure this deficiency of independent claim 1 (set forth above) and are rejected accordingly. Claims 2-7 recite limitations that represent (in addition to the limitations already noted above) either the abstract idea or an additional element that is merely extra-solution activity, mere use of instructions and/or generic computer component(s) as a tool to implement the abstract idea, and/or merely limits the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Independent Claim 8 and its dependent claims 16-20 are rejected for similar reasons as Claims 1-7. Independent Claim 9 and its dependent claims 10-15 are rejected for similar reasons as Claims 1-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4-6, 12-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein a maximum charging current allowed by the target charge pump of the target number is greater than a maximum charging current allowed by a charge pump, other than the target charge pump of the target number, of the multiple charge pumps” and the meaning of this limitation is not clear. It is not clear if the maximum charging current of all the target charge pumps combined should be greater than the maximum current of one individual charge pump, or some other meaning. Claims 5-6 are rejected because they depend on Claim 4. Claims 12-14 and 18-20 are rejected for similar reasons as Claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (CN 113541264 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches a multi-charge-pump charging method, comprising:
obtaining, by a terminal (100), a temperature of each one of temperature zones in the terminal (¶[76] “When the charging time reaches the preset time, the step of monitoring the temperature of each charge pump is executed”)
wherein each one of the temperature zones comprises a charging associated device, and the charging associated device comprises a charge pump or a battery (see ¶[76] quoted above);
determining, by the terminal for each one of the temperature zones, based on the temperature of the temperature zone, a maximum charging current allowed by the charging associated device in the temperature zone (¶[92] “When the temperature of a charge pump is greater than a threshold, the current allocated to the charge pump is reduced by a preset value”); and
determining, by the terminal from multiple charge pumps of the terminal, based on the maximum charging current allowed by each one of charging associated devices, a target charge pump to be used, and
configuring the target charge pump for charging (¶[105] “in order to ensure charging efficiency, the preset value needs to be allocated to other charge pumps. In order to ensure the rationality of the allocation, the allocation ratio needs to be determined according to the temperature of other charge pumps, so as to determine the value to be added to each of the other charge pumps based on the allocation ratio”).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (memory 109), storing a computer program,
wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor (110, ¶[71] “Furthermore, the processor 110 can be used to invoke the multi-charge pump current distribution program stored in the memory 109”) of an electronic device (100), enables the electronic device to implement a multi-charge-pump charging method (¶[54] “The processor 110 is the control center of the mobile terminal … By running or executing software programs and/or modules stored in the memory 109, and calling data stored in the memory 109, it performs various functions of the mobile terminal and processes data”), and the method comprises:
obtaining, a temperature of each one of temperature zones in the terminal (¶[76] “When the charging time reaches the preset time, the step of monitoring the temperature of each charge pump is executed”),
wherein each one of the temperature zones comprises a charging associated device, and the charging associated device is a charge pump or a battery (see ¶[76] quoted above);
determining, for each one of the temperature zones, based on the temperature of the temperature zone, a maximum charging current allowed by the charging associated device in the temperature zone (¶[92] “When the temperature of a charge pump is greater than a threshold, the current allocated to the charge pump is reduced by a preset value”); and
determining, from multiple charge pumps of the terminal, based on the maximum charging current allowed by each one of charging associated devices, a target charge pump to be used, and configuring the target charge pump for charging (¶[105] “in order to ensure charging efficiency, the preset value needs to be allocated to other charge pumps. In order to ensure the rationality of the allocation, the allocation ratio needs to be determined according to the temperature of other charge pumps, so as to determine the value to be added to each of the other charge pumps based on the allocation ratio”).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee teaches a terminal (100), comprising:
a processor (110); and
a memory (109), configured to store an executable instruction executable by the processor;
wherein the processor, through executing the executable instruction, is configured to (¶[54] “The processor 110 is the control center of the mobile terminal … By running or executing software programs and/or modules stored in the memory 109, and calling data stored in the memory 109, it performs various functions of the mobile terminal and processes data”):
obtain, a temperature of each one of temperature zones in the terminal (¶[76] “When the charging time reaches the preset time, the step of monitoring the temperature of each charge pump is executed”),
wherein each one of the temperature zones comprises a charging associated device, and the charging associated device is a charge pump or a battery (see ¶[76] quoted above);;
determine, for each one of the temperature zones, based on the temperature of the temperature zone, a maximum charging current allowed by the charging associated device in the temperature zone (¶[92] “When the temperature of a charge pump is greater than a threshold, the current allocated to the charge pump is reduced by a preset value”); and
determine, from multiple charge pumps of the terminal, based on the maximum charging current allowed by each one of charging associated devices, a target charge pump to be used, and configure the target charge pump for charging (¶[105] “in order to ensure charging efficiency, the preset value needs to be allocated to other charge pumps. In order to ensure the rationality of the allocation, the allocation ratio needs to be determined according to the temperature of other charge pumps, so as to determine the value to be added to each of the other charge pumps based on the allocation ratio”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 10-11, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (CN 113541264 A) in view of Fan (US 20210289656 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1.
Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the determining for each one of the temperature zones the maximum charging current allowed by the charging associated device in the temperature zone comprises:
determining for each one of the temperature zones, based on the temperature of the temperature zone and a working state of a heating device in the temperature zone, the maximum charging current allowed by the charging associated device in the temperature zone,
wherein the heating device is a device that generates heat in the working state.
Fan teaches determining for each one of the temperature zones (first and second circuit board 100 and 200), based on the temperature of the temperature zone and a working state of a heating device (¶[23] “functional modules such as a central processing unit (CPU) of the electronic device, a radio frequency module, and a camera module can also be provided on the first circuit board 100”) in the temperature zone, the maximum charging current allowed by the charging associated device in the temperature zone (¶[34] “In addition, as the first circuit board has other heat sources (functional modules on the first circuit board), the temperature of the charge pump chip on the first circuit board rises quickly. Based on this, in the screen-on charging state, the temperature of the charge pump chip on the first circuit board being higher than the set threshold is determined as a trigger condition for switching the charge pump chip”),
wherein the heating device is a device that generates heat in the working state (see ¶[34] quoted above).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Fan to provide determining for each one of the temperature zones, based on the temperature of the temperature zone and a working state of a heating device in the temperature zone, the maximum charging current allowed by the charging associated device in the temperature zone,
wherein the heating device is a device that generates heat in the working state,
in order to reduce the chances of overheating by accounting for the temperature of other modules besides the charge pump.
Regarding Claim 3, Lee in view of Fan teaches the method according to claim 2.
Fan further teaches wherein the heating device comprises at least one of: a camera; a central processing unit (CPU); or a wireless network communication chip (¶[23] “functional modules such as a central processing unit (CPU) of the electronic device, a radio frequency module, and a camera module can also be provided on the first circuit board 100”).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee teaches the terminal according to claim 9.
Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is specifically configured to:
determine for each one of the temperature zones, based on the temperature of the temperature zone and a working state of a heating device in the temperature zone, the maximum charging current allowed by the charging associated device in the temperature zone,
wherein the heating device is a device that generates heat in the working state.
Fan teaches to determine for each one of the temperature zones (first and second circuit board 100 and 200), based on the temperature of the temperature zone and a working state of a heating device (¶[23] “functional modules such as a central processing unit (CPU) of the electronic device, a radio frequency module, and a camera module can also be provided on the first circuit board 100”) in the temperature zone, the maximum charging current allowed by the charging associated device in the temperature zone (¶[34] “In addition, as the first circuit board has other heat sources (functional modules on the first circuit board), the temperature of the charge pump chip on the first circuit board rises quickly. Based on this, in the screen-on charging state, the temperature of the charge pump chip on the first circuit board being higher than the set threshold is determined as a trigger condition for switching the charge pump chip”),
wherein the heating device is a device that generates heat in the working state (see ¶[34] quoted above).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Fan to provide to determine for each one of the temperature zones, based on the temperature of the temperature zone and a working state of a heating device in the temperature zone, the maximum charging current allowed by the charging associated device in the temperature zone, wherein the heating device is a device that generates heat in the working state,
in order to reduce the chances of overheating by accounting for the temperature of other modules besides the charge pump.
Regarding Claim 11, Lee in view of Fan teaches the terminal according to claim 10.
Fan further teaches wherein the heating device comprises at least one of: a camera; a central processing unit (CPU); or a wireless network communication chip (¶[23] “functional modules such as a central processing unit (CPU) of the electronic device, a radio frequency module, and a camera module can also be provided on the first circuit board 100”).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee teaches the storage medium according to claim 8.
Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the determining for each one of the temperature zones the maximum charging current allowed by the charging associated device in the temperature zone comprises:
determining for each one of the temperature zones, based on the temperature of the temperature zone and a working state of a heating device in the temperature zone, the maximum charging current allowed by the charging associated device in the temperature zone,
wherein the heating device is a device that generates heat in the working state.
Fan teaches determining for each one of the temperature zones (first and second circuit board 100 and 200), based on the temperature of the temperature zone and a working state of a heating device (¶[23] “functional modules such as a central processing unit (CPU) of the electronic device, a radio frequency module, and a camera module can also be provided on the first circuit board 100”) in the temperature zone, the maximum charging current allowed by the charging associated device in the temperature zone (¶[34] “In addition, as the first circuit board has other heat sources (functional modules on the first circuit board), the temperature of the charge pump chip on the first circuit board rises quickly. Based on this, in the screen-on charging state, the temperature of the charge pump chip on the first circuit board being higher than the set threshold is determined as a trigger condition for switching the charge pump chip”),
wherein the heating device is a device that generates heat in the working state (see ¶[34] quoted above).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Fan to provide determining for each one of the temperature zones, based on the temperature of the temperature zone and a working state of a heating device in the temperature zone, the maximum charging current allowed by the charging associated device in the temperature zone,
wherein the heating device is a device that generates heat in the working state,
in order to reduce the chances of overheating by accounting for the temperature of other modules besides the charge pump.
Regarding Claim 17, Lee in view of Fan teaches the storage medium according to claim 16.
Fan further teaches wherein the heating device comprises at least one of: a camera; a central processing unit (CPU); or a wireless network communication chip (¶[23] “functional modules such as a central processing unit (CPU) of the electronic device, a radio frequency module, and a camera module can also be provided on the first circuit board 100”).
Claim(s) 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (CN 113541264 A) in view of Sun (US 20220045535 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1.
Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the charging associated device comprises a power management chip, and the method further comprises:
in response to the maximum charging current allowed by the battery being less than a charge pump turning on threshold, not turning on the charge pump, and configuring the power management chip for charging.
Sun teaches wherein the charging associated device comprises a power management chip, and the method further comprises:
in response to the maximum charging current allowed by the battery being less than a charge pump turning on threshold (¶[22] “when charging power is relatively low, for example, in a trickle charging stage and a charging ending stage, a charging current is usually lower than 2 A”), not turning on the charge pump, and configuring the power management chip for charging (¶[22] “…a charging current is usually lower than 2 A, and a Power Management Integrated Circuit (PMIC) is adopted for charging management. The PMIC has a power management function and may control a charging output voltage and current and adjust a voltage and current in a charging process. When the charging power is relatively high, a charge pump is usually adopted.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Sun to provide wherein the charging associated device comprises a power management chip, and the method further comprises: in response to the maximum charging current allowed by the battery being less than a charge pump turning on threshold, not turning on the charge pump, and configuring the power management chip for charging, in order to reduce temperature and increase efficiency when the battery only needs a small current.
Regarding Claim 15, Lee teaches the terminal according to claim 9.
Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the charging associated device comprises a power management chip, and the processor is further configured to:
in response to the maximum charging current allowed by the battery being less than a charge pump turning on threshold, not turn on the charge pump, and configure the power management chip for charging.
Sun teaches wherein the charging associated device comprises a power management chip, and the processor is further configured to:
in response to the maximum charging current allowed by the battery being less than a charge pump turning on threshold (¶[22] “when charging power is relatively low, for example, in a trickle charging stage and a charging ending stage, a charging current is usually lower than 2 A”), not turn on the charge pump, and configure the power management chip for charging (¶[22] “…a charging current is usually lower than 2 A, and a Power Management Integrated Circuit (PMIC) is adopted for charging management. The PMIC has a power management function and may control a charging output voltage and current and adjust a voltage and current in a charging process. When the charging power is relatively high, a charge pump is usually adopted.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Sun to provide wherein the charging associated device comprises a power management chip, and the processor is further configured to:
in response to the maximum charging current allowed by the battery being less than a charge pump turning on threshold, not turn on the charge pump, and configure the power management chip for charging, in order to reduce temperature and increase efficiency when the battery only needs a small current.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 12-14, and 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the 101 rejection, and the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The examiner found the following prior art references to be the closest to the amended claims, however, the examiner was unable to find a suitable combination of the reference which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art:
Lee (CN 113541264 A)
Zhang (CN 114362512 A)
Regarding Claim 4, the prior art teaches:
determining a maximum value of a number of charge pumps, for being turned on, as a target number of the target charge pump;
The prior art fails to disclose the further inclusion of and combination with:
wherein the determining the target charge pump to be used comprises:
in response to the maximum charging current allowed by the battery being not less than a charge pump turning on threshold,
calculating, based on the maximum charging current allowed by each one of the charge pumps, maximum theoretical currents of turning on different numbers of charge pumps,
wherein the maximum theoretical current is a maximum value of a total current of all charge pumps for being turned on for charging the battery;
comparing the maximum charging current allowed by the battery with the maximum theoretical currents of turning on the different numbers of charge pumps; and
determining, in response to at least one of the maximum theoretical currents being greater than the maximum charging current allowed by the battery, a maximum value of a number of charge pumps, for being turned on, corresponding to the maximum theoretical current greater than the maximum charging current allowed by the battery as a target number of the target charge pump; and
the configuring the target charge pump for charging comprises:
configuring the target charge pump of the target number for charging,
wherein a maximum charging current allowed by the target charge pump of the target number is greater than a maximum charging current allowed by a charge pump, other than the target charge pump of the target number, of the multiple charge pumps.
Claims 5-6 are considered allowable subject matter because they depend on claim 4.
Claims 12-14 and 18-20 are considered allowable subject matter for the same reasons as claims 4-6.
Conclusion
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859