DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Claims 9, 10, and 14-21 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-3 and 14 are amended.
This Action is Made final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach the newly added limitation of “a plurality of carbo nanotubes…spaced apart 0.05 to 0.5 millimeters. The applicant is correct that the prior art does not disclose this limitation. Das is silent as to the space between the carbon nanotubes in the membrane. However no significance or unexpected results are disclosed with respect to the spacing between the carbon nanotubes, therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to adjust the spacing and find a workable range. Further it is known in the art to have the spacing between carbon nanotubes greater than the diameter of the nanotubes (“interstitial spaces having a size greater than the average inner diameter of the CNTs”) (see Buchsbaum et al Us 2020/0338505 para. 0111). It is further noted that there is no support for this limitation within the original disclosure.
The previous 112 rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 states “a plurality of carbon nanotubes aligned by electrokinetic methods so as to be parallel to each other and spaced apart 0.05 to 0.5 millimeters”. There is no support for this limitation in the original disclosure. The specification states the membranes are spaced apart 0.05 to 0.5 millimeters (see para. 0059 of published application), however there is no disclosure of the spacing between the carbon nanotubes. The remaining claims contain new matter in view of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arah (US 2017/0283281) in view of Das et al, the article “Carbon nanotube membranes for water purification: A bright future in water desalination” (cited in IDS).
Regarding Claim 1:
Arah teaches the filter cartridge for purification and concentration filtration for residential and commercial applications, comprising: a cartridge frame (fluid filtration unit) configured to be removably coupled (configured for removable attachment) to a filtration application to receive a flow of fluid (see para. 0004); and a membrane assembly (unit of filter media) coupled to an interior of the cartridge frame comprising at least one membrane (hollow fiber membrane) (see para. 0004, 0005, figs. 3, 4).
Arah does not teach the at least one membrane comprising a plurality of carbon nanotubes aligned by electrokinetic methods to allow for a selective permeation of the fluid through the surface of the at least one membrane.
Das teaches at least one membrane comprising a plurality of carbon nanotubes aligned (Well-aligned CNT) to allow for a selective permeation (high fluxing separation, rejecting salt ions) of the fluid through the surface of the at least one membrane (see pg. 98, right column 2nd paragraph). Das does not teach the nanotubes are aligned by electrokinetic methods, however this is a product by process limitation and only adds patentable weight to the extent that the prior art structure must be the same. In the instant case Das teaches a structure with vertically aligned carbon nanotubes (vertical CNT arrangement) (see fig. 3) which is structurally the same as the instant invention (see, for example claim 7 of the instant invention). Das is silent to the space between the CNTs, however through routine experimentation it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to adjust the spacing and use a spacing between 0.05 and 0.5mm. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not
inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (See
In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP 2144.05 II).
Arah and Das are analogous inventions in the art of water filtering membranes. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the membrane material of Arah with the carbon nanotube membrane material of Das because CNT membranes have improved water permeability, flux and self-cleaning abilities (see Das pg. 106, left column, 2nd paragraph) are able to preplace other membrane types (see Das pg. 104 section 4.5) and Arah does not limit the type of membrane used.
Regarding Claim 2:
Arah, as modified, teaches the carbon nanotube filter cartridge of claim 1, wherein the impurities filtered by the cartridge comprise at least one of ions, metals, inorganic, organic, or biological contaminants and the selective permeation of fluid provides for permeate along a hollow interior of the at least one membrane (see Arah para. 0036). The type of impurities is a method limitations directed to the material being treated, not a structural feature of the filter cartridge. As the claims are directed to an apparatus, not a method the limitations only add patentable weigh to the extent that the prior art structurer must be capable of filtering the same impurities. As the prior art teaches a water filter it is capable of treating water with impurities comprising at least one of ions, metals, inorganic, organic, or biological contaminants.
Regarding Claim 3:
Arah, as modified, teaches the carbon nanotube filter cartridge of claim 2, wherein the at least one membrane comprises a plurality of membranes (plurality of hollow fiber membranes) (see Arah para. 0005) and the permeate is configured to be aggregated across the plurality of membranes (see Arah para. 0037) and provided to a downstream application (pitcher) of the filtration application (see Arah para. 0031, fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 4:
Arah, as modified, teaches the carbon nanotube filter cartridge of claim 1, wherein the filtration application comprises a purification filtration application for at least one of: a kitchen faucet, a beverage faucet, a drinking fountain, a bottle filler (faucet) (see Arah fig. 5, para. 0031), a refrigerator water dispenser, or an ice maker. It is noted that the “filtration application” is the intended use and what the cartridge frame is “removably coupled to” and not a structural feature of the “carbon nanotube filter cartridge”. The claims are directed to a “filter cartridge”. Therefore filtration application only adds patternable weight to the extent that the prior art device must be capable of the same use.
Regarding Claim 5:
Arah, as modified, teaches the carbon nanotube filter cartridge of claim 1, wherein the filtration application comprises an artesian water generator (pitcher, any drinking water filter is consider dot be an artesian water generator) or a gravity filter application (see Arah, fig. 5, para. 0031). It is noted that the “filtration application” is the intended use and what the cartridge frame is “removably coupled to” and not a structural feature of the “carbon nanotube filter cartridge”. The claims are directed to a “filter cartridge”. Therefore filtration application only adds patternable weight to the extent that the prior art device must be capable of the same use.
Regarding Claim 6:
Arah, as modified, teaches the carbon nanotube filter cartridge of claim 1, wherein the filtration application comprises at least one of: a steam generation bath, a humidifier, a water heater, greywater treatment system, a toilet, urinal, bidet, a shower spray head, a shower faucet, a lavatory faucet, a bath filler, or a bathroom faucet (faucet, the location of the faucet does not add patentable weight to a device) (faucet) (see Arah fig. 5, para. 0031). It is noted that the “filtration application” is the intended use and what the cartridge frame is “removably coupled to” and not a structural feature of the “carbon nanotube filter cartridge”. The claims are directed to a “filter cartridge”. Therefore filtration application only adds patternable weight to the extent that the prior art device must be capable of the same use.
Regarding Claim 7:
Arah, as modified, teaches the carbon nanotube filter cartridge of claim 1, wherein the carbon nanotubes are aligned through electrokinetic methods and extend between a thickness of the membrane, wherein each nanotube includes a first end terminating at a first surface of the membrane and a second end terminating at a second opposite surface of the membrane (see Das Fig. 3, 6).
Regarding Claim 12:
Arah, as modified, teaches the carbon nanotube filter cartridge of claim 1, wherein the membrane is configured to be back-flushed (backwashed) to improve a lifespan of the filter cartridge (see Arah para. 0034).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arah (US 2017/0283281) in view of Das et al, the article “Carbon nanotube membranes for water purification: A bright future in water desalination” (cited in IDS) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of JP 6912019 (hereafter referred to as ‘019, English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 8:
Arah, as modified, teaches the carbon nanotube filter cartridge of claim 3, wherein each membrane of the plurality of membranes comprises a hollow fiber (see Arah para. 0005)
Arah does not explicitly teach the hollow fibers having a circular cross section.
‘019 teaches a hollow fiber water filter wherein the hollow fibers have a circular cross section (see pg. 1, first paragraph, pg. 8, 4th paragraph, fig. 8, and pg. 9, 2d paragraph).
Arah, as modified, and ‘019 area analogous inventions in the art of hollow fiber membrane water filters. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use hollow fiber membranes with a circular cross section, as disclosed by ‘019 in the filter of Arah because it is a shape known to be appropriate for hollow fiber membranes and one skilled in the art would have had an expectation of success. The prior art can be modified or combined to reject claims as prima facie obvious as long as there is a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (see MPEP § 2143.02).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arah (US 2017/0283281) in view of Das et al, the article “Carbon nanotube membranes for water purification: A bright future in water desalination” (cited in IDS) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view Herrington et al (US 2012/0298578).
Regarding Claim 11:
Arah, as modified, teaches the carbon nanotube filter cartridge of claim 3.
Arah is silent to the spacing between the membranes.
Herrington teaches a filter cartridge wherein a spacing between the plurality of membranes comprises a distance of 0.5 mm or less (0.076 mm) (see para. 0059).
Arah and Herrington are analogous inventions in the art of membrane water filters. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a membrane spacing of less than 0.5 mm, as disclosed by Herrington in the filter cartridge of Arah because it allows for more membranes within the same space which reduces the pressure drop in the filter (see Herrington para. 0059).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arah (US 2017/0283281) in view of Das et al, the article “Carbon nanotube membranes for water purification: A bright future in water desalination” (cited in IDS) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view Cherny et al (US 2022/0258957.
Regarding Claim 13:
Arah, as modified, teaches the carbon nanotube filter cartridge of claim 3.
Arah does not teach a cartridge coupled to the membrane assembly configured to provide at least one supplement to the aggregated permeate prior to the permeate being provided to the downstream application of the filtration application.
Cherny teaches a water filter comprising a cartridge (capsule) coupled to the membrane assembly configured to provide at least one supplement (flavor additive) to the aggregated permeate prior to the permeate being provided to the downstream application of the filtration application (see para. 0038).
Arah, as modified, and Cherny are analogous inventions in the art of water filters. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the cartridge configured to provide at least sone supplement, as disclosed by Cherny, to the aggregated permeate of Arah because it is the simple addition of a known water treating feature to a known water treatment device, obviously resulting in flavored water with an expectation of success. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.
__,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Further Arah teaches that additional treatment cartridges can be included (see Arah para. 0037).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLAIRE A NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 7/2/2026