DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
3. When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with paragraph numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
4. Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable
interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Specification
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
“Vehicle display Apparatus with Reduced Warping”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 14-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Son, Sung-Sik et al. (Pub No. US 20210204454 A1) (hereinafter, Son).
Son, Figs 4-5: Cross-sections of display apparatuses
Re Claim 1, Son teaches a display apparatus, comprising:
a display panel (Panel; 110; Fig 4; ¶[0040]);
a cover member (Cover member; 180; Fig 4; ¶[0040]) disposed on a front surface (Panel 110 on rear surface of cover member 180; ¶[0040]) of the display panel;
a set frame (Heat dissipation sheet/Guide plate; 400/200; Figs 3A/5; ¶[0062]) arranged on a back surface (Rear surface of 180; Fig 4) of the cover member, the set frame including a fastening member (Guide plate; 200; Fig 5; ¶[0062]);
a core plate (Intermediate plate; 700; Fig 5; ¶[0062]) arranged on a back surface (Rear surface of 200; Fig 5) of the set frame, the core plate including a coupling block (Coupling portion; 220; Fig 5; ¶[0062]);
a fastener (Heat-conductive tape; 500; Fig 5; ¶[0062]) coupled to the coupling block and the fastening member to couple (Guide plate 200 couples heat dissipation sheet 400 to the intermediate plate 700; Fig 5) the set frame to the core plate; and
a stress distribution device (Bent extended portion; 210; Fig 5; ¶[0068]) arranged on the fastening member, the stress distribution device configured to disperse stress (Absorb vibrations/shocks between panel 110 and intermediate plate 700; ¶[0068]) applied to the cover member as a result of the coupling of the set frame to the core plate with the fastener.
Re Claim 14, Son teaches a display apparatus, comprising:
a display panel (Panel; 110; Fig 4; ¶[0040]);
a cover (Cover member; 180; Fig 4; ¶[0040]) disposed on the display panel;
a frame (Heat dissipation sheet/Guide plate; 400/200; Figs 3A/5; ¶[0062]) on the cover, the frame including a fastening member (Guide plate; 200; Fig 5; ¶[0062]);
a fastener (Heat-conductive tape; 500; Fig 5; ¶[0062]) configured to be received by the fastening member to couple (Guide plate 200 couples heat dissipation sheet 400 to the intermediate plate 700; Fig 5) the frame to the cover; and
a stress distribution device (Bent extended portion and cavity below with distance (d); 210/d; Fig 5; ¶[0068]) on the fastening member, the stress distribution device having a width (Bent extended portion 210 has a greater width than heat-conductive tape 500; Fig 5; ¶¶[0062, 0068]) that is greater than a width of the fastening member to disperse stress (Absorb vibrations/shocks between panel 110 and intermediate plate 700; ¶[0068]) applied to the cover in response to the coupling of the frame to the cover via the fastener.
Son, Fig 3A: Perspective view of rear surface of display apparatus including set frame
Re Claim 15, Son teaches the display apparatus of claim 14, wherein the frame (Heat dissipation sheet/Guide plate; 400/200; Figs 3A/5; ¶[0062]) is a set frame (Heat dissipation sheet/Guide plate; 400/200; Figs 3A/5; ¶[0062]), the display apparatus further comprising:
a core plate (Intermediate plate; 700; Fig 5; ¶[0062]) disposed on the set frame, the core plate including a coupling block (Coupling portion; 220; Fig 5; ¶[0062]) aligned with the fastening member (Guide plate; 200; Fig 5; ¶[0062]).
Re Claim 16, Son teaches the display apparatus of claim 15, wherein the core plate (Intermediate plate; 700; Fig 5; ¶[0062]) is coupled to the set frame (Heat dissipation sheet/Guide plate; 400/200; Figs 3A/5; ¶[0062]) via the fastener (Heat-conductive tape and internal components (not labelled) adjacent to coupling portion 220; 500; Fig 5; ¶[0062]) inserted through the coupling block (Coupling portion; 220; Fig 5; ¶[0062]) and the fastening member (Guide plate; 200; Fig 5; ¶[0062]).
Re Claim 18, Son teaches a display apparatus of claim 15, wherein the hollow cavity (Cavity below bent extended portion 210 with distance (d); d; Fig 5; ¶[0068]) is arranged around a location (Above cover member 180; Fig 5) on the cover aligned with the fastener (Heat-conductive tape; 500; Fig 5; ¶[0062]), the hollow cavity configured to disperse stress (Per ¶[0071] When the spacing distance d is greater than 2 mm, the bent section of the bent extended portion 210 is lengthened, and thus shock-absorbing performance may be deteriorated) away from the location on the cover (Cover member; 180; Fig 4; ¶[0040]) aligned with the fastener (Heat-conductive tape; 500; Fig 5; ¶[0062]).
Re Claim 19, Son teaches the display apparatus of claim 17, wherein the stress distribution device (Bent extended portion/cavity below with distance (d)/internal components adjacent to coupling portion 220 (not labelled); 210/d; Fig 5; ¶[0068]) further includes least one support member (Internal components adjacent to coupling block 220 (not labelled); Fig 5), the at least one support member on the expansion member (Bent extended portion and cavity below with distance (d); 210/d; Fig 5; ¶[0068]) and on the fastening member (Guide plate; 200; Fig 5; ¶[0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son, Sung-Sik et al. (Pub No. US 20210204454 A1) (hereinafter, Son) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Awano, Masaharu et al. (Pub No. CN 105992483 A) (hereinafter, Awano).
Re Claim 17, Son teaches the display apparatus of claim 15, wherein the stress distribution device (Bent extended portion and cavity below with distance (d); 210/d; Fig 5; ¶[0068]) includes an expansion member (Bent extended portion and cavity below with distance (d); 210/d; Fig 5; ¶[0068]).
However, Son does not teach a hollow cavity inside the expansion member.
In the same field of endeavor, Awano teaches a hollow cavity (Gap; G; Fig 17; ¶[0066]; Note: See attached disclosure of Awano for paragraph numbers) inside the expansion member (Chassis and base portion; 8/121; Fig 17; ¶[0066]).
Awano, Fig 17: Expansion member including hollow cavity
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the hollow cavity inside the expansion member, as taught by Awano, with the semiconductor device as taught by Son. One would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because inserting a hollow cavity inside the expansion member (between bent extension portion 210 and coupling portion 220; Fig 5) would provide additional absorption to vibrations that would be transferred between intermediate plate and the guide plate of Son (¶[0071]).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 2-13 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the closest prior art Son, Sung-Sik et al. (Pub No. US 20210204454 A1) (hereinafter, Son) and Nakamura, Daiki et al. (Pub No. WO 2018178797 A1) (hereinafter, Nakamura) either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or render obvious
“The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the stress distribution device further includes:
an expansion member arranged at a lower portion of the fastening member and extending outward from the fastening member; and
a stress-free space inside the expansion member and in communication with a fastening hole in the coupling block,”
in combination with all other limitations in the claim(s) as claimed and defined by applicant.
In the instant case, re claim 2, Son teaches an expansion member in space comprising of distance d (Fig 5) which may anticipate the stress-free space of claim 2, however, the space of distance d does not comprise of being in communication with a fastening hole in the coupling block (Coupling portion; 220) disposed above the fastening member (Guide plate, 200).
Furthermore, referring to Fig. 10C, Nakamura teaches a stress-free space (Guide portion; 502a), wherein “[the] guide portion is provided between a printed circuit board and a flexible display panel to prevent breakage by overload at a bend portion of the flexible printed circuit board” (¶[0027]). The stress-free space, however, is not located nor in communication with a fastening hole in a coupling block, therefore to combine the elements of Nakamura with that of Son would not render a predictable result, as neither reference has a stress-free space which in communication with a coupling block of any kind.
Regarding claim 20, the closest prior art Son, Sung-Sik et al. (Pub No. US 20210204454 A1) (hereinafter, Son) and Awano, Masaharu et al. (Pub No. CN 105992483 A) (hereinafter, Awano) either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or render obvious
“The display apparatus of claim 19, wherein the at least one support member is a plurality of support braces spaced from each other radially around the fastening member,”
in combination with all other limitations in the claim(s) as claimed and defined by applicant.
In the instant case, re claim 20, combining the fastening member (Chassis; 8; Fig 17) of Awano with the fastening member (Guide plate; 200; Fig 5; ¶[0062]) of Son would not be obvious to try, as the fastening member of Son must connect the frame to the cover, would not require support braces extending radially around it due to the design of the device (Fig 5), wherein the fastening member occupies the complete space of the surrounding components already.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
[1] Park, Soo Hyun et al. (Pub No. KR 20200072852 A) discloses the present invention relates to a display device of which the structure is altered such that, when a display panel is fastened in a cover structure in the display device, the display panel or a board can be connected without damage to a flexible cable provided to apply signals or deformation of a cover shield, thereby improving reliability in fastening. According to the present invention, the display device comprises: a display panel having a substrate, an array unit, and a touch sensor unit stacked together; a plurality of signal transmission films having one side connected to one side of the array unit, spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance, and folded to a lower surface of the display panel; a first flexible film connected to one side of the touch sensor unit; a source printed circuit board connected to the other side of the plurality of signal transmission films on the lower surface of the display panel; a cover shield having a through hole of the first flexible film and covering a surface and a side surface of the source printed circuit board from the lower surface of the display panel; and a protrusion unit protruding from an inner surface of the cover shield toward the lower surface of the display panel between signal transmission films that are spaced apart from each other and adjacent to the through hole.
[2] Figge, Hans-Ulrich et al. (Pub No. US 11248645 B2) discloses a fastener having a damping function with which at least a first and a second component can be connected via a screw connection. The fastener consists of the following components: an elastically deformable outer sleeve, a support sleeve arranged therein and a screw sleeve with telescopic portion arranged in the outer sleeve. When establishing the connection between the components, the outer sleeve folds, whereby the support sleeve and the screw sleeve are moved into each other.
/T.E.D./
Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817