DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2024 and 08/22/2025 were filed before the first action on the merits. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 10-12 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai et al. (2019/0067111).
Re claim 1, Tsai teaches a method for fabricating a semiconductor device (Figs. 1A-2H), the method comprising: forming a plurality of stacked structures (110a/110b, 104, 106) spaced apart from each other over a substrate (102) and sequentially stacking fins (110a, 110b) and sacrificial patterns (104, 106); forming sacrificial spacers (112) on both sides of each of the stacked structures (110a/110b, 104, 106) ; etching (Fig. 2D) an exposed portion of the substrate between adjacent sacrificial spacers (112) to form a plurality of dividing trenches (117) extending in a first direction and spaced apart in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 2D), the dividing trench (117) defining an active region [49] including a fin body having a width greater than a width of the fins and the fins on the fin body (Fig. 2G); and forming an isolation layer (118) in each of the plurality of the dividing trench (117), the isolation layer (118) including an air gap (121) and a capping layer (160).
Re claim 2, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the forming a plurality of stacked structures includes: sequentially forming a fin material layer [14] and first to third sacrificial layers (104, 106, 114) over the substrate (102); forming a mask pattern (210) over the third sacrifice layer (114); and sequentially etching the third sacrifice layer to the first sacrifice layer and the fin material layer using the mask pattern (Figs. 2C-D).
Re claim 3, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the fin (110a/110b) includes a semiconductor material [25].
Re claim 4, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the sacrificial pattern includes an insulating material [16-17]. Re claim 5, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the capping layer (160) includes silicon oxide [50] having a bad step coverage. Re claim 7, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein each of the sacrificial spacers (112) includes a material having an etch selectivity with respect to the substrate [15, 112].
Re claim 8, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein each of the sacrificial spacers (112) includes nitride or oxide [112].
Re claim 10, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein each of the isolation layers has a width narrower than that of the fin body (Fig. 2H).
Re claim 11, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein an upper surface of the fin body and an upper surface of each of the isolation layers are at a same level (Fig. 2H).
Re claim 12, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein an upper surface of the fin is at a level higher than upper surfaces of the isolation layers (Fig. 2H).
Re claim 15, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: forming a gate structure partially covering the active region and the isolation layers [53-54], and extending in the second direction [53-54]; and forming a source/drain region covering the fin on both sides of the gate structure [53-54].
Re claim 16, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the source/drain region includes the fin on both sides of the gate structure and an epitaxial layer grown from the fin [52-54].
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai et al. (2019/0067111).
Re claim 17, Tsai teaches a method for fabricating a semiconductor device (Figs. 1A-2H), the method comprising: forming a stacked structure (110a/110b, 104, 106) of a fin (110a/110b) and a sacrificial pattern (104, 106) on a substrate (102); forming sacrificial spacers (112) on both sides of the stacked structure (110a/110b, 104, 106); forming a dividing trench (117) by etching an exposed portion of the substrate (102) between the sacrificial spacers (112), which are consecutively disposed; and forming an isolation layer (118) in the dividing trench (117), the isolation layer (118) including an air gap (121) and a capping layer (160).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 9 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (2019/0067111) in view of Lin et al. (2020/0118867). Re claim 6, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1.
Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein the capping layer is one selected from USG oxide, TEOS oxide, and HDP oxide.
Lin teaches a method (Figs. 1-17F) wherein a capping layer (88) is one selected from USG oxide, TEOS oxide, and HDP oxide [49]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as taught by Lin since all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to a skilled artisan at the time the invention was made.
Re claim 9, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1,
Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein each of the sacrificial spacers includes any one of insulating materials selected from SiO2, SiON, SiBN, and SiBCN.
Lin teaches a method (Figs. 1-17F) wherein each of sacrificial spacers (56) includes any one of insulating materials selected from SiO2, SiON, SiBN, and SiBCN [23].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as taught by Lin since all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to a skilled artisan at the time the invention was made. Re claim 13, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1.
Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein the fin body and the fin are made of different materials.
Lin teaches a method (Figs. 1-17F) wherein a fin body and a fin are made of different materials [27].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as taught by Lin since all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to a skilled artisan at the time the invention was made.
Re claim 14, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1.
Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein a stacked structure of the fin/the fin body is one of stacked structures of semiconductor materials among SiGe/Si, Ge/Si, high concentration SiGe/low concentration SiGe, GeSn/Ge, and Sn/Ge. Lin teaches a method (Figs. 1-17F) wherein a stacked structure of a fin/a fin body is one of stacked structures of semiconductor materials among SiGe/Si, Ge/Si, high concentration SiGe/low concentration SiGe, GeSn/Ge, and Sn/Ge [30].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as taught by Lin since all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to a skilled artisan at the time the invention was made.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Fernando Toledo can be reached at 571-272-1867. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/ADAM S BOWEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2897