DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending. Note that, Applicant’s response filed March 20, 2026, has been entered.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on March 20, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 11 and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 20, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acra et al (U2016/0215240).
With respect to independent, instant claims 1 and 10, Acra et al teach solutions and processes to remove substances from substrates. The substances can include photoresist on surfaces of semiconductor substrates, which may also be referred to as “wafers.” In particular, the photoresist can include an acrylate-based photoresist. In some scenarios, a semiconductor substrate can include one or more solder bumps. See para. 5. The solution can include at least one amine. The at least one amine can include at least one of an aliphatic amine, an alkanolamine, an aromatic amine, or a combination thereof. See para. 30. An aliphatic amine can include a nitrogen (N) containing compound where an aromatic ring is not directly bonded to a nitrogen atom of the compound. For example, an aliphatic amine can have one or more lower alkyl groups directly bonded to a nitrogen atom of the compound. The term “lower alkyl” can refer to a functional group including a straight-chain or branched-chain hydrocarbon containing from 1 to 20 carbon atoms linked exclusively by single bonds and not having any cyclic structure. Examples of lower alkyl groups include methyl, ethyl, n-propyl, isopropyl, n-butyl, isobutyl, sec-butyl, tert-butyl, pentyl, iso-amyl, hexyl, heptyl, octyl, nonyl, decyl, undecyl, dodecyl tridecyl, tetradecyl, pentadecyl, hexadecyl, heptadecyl, octadecyl, nonadecyl, eicosyl, and the like. Examples of aliphatic amines included in the solution include, but are not limited to diethylenetriamine (DETA) (same as instant claims 1, 2, and 4), etc. See para. 31. A total amount of any amine in the solution can be no greater than about 97%, or no greater than about 95%, or no greater than about 93%, or no greater than about 90%, or no greater than about 85%, or no greater than about 80%, or no greater than about 75%, in each case as weight based on the total weight of the solution. In addition, the total amount of amines in the solution can be at least about 50%, or at least about 55%, or at least about 60%, or at least about 65%, or at least about 70%, in each case as weight % based on the total weight of the solution. See paras. 36-40.
Additionally, the solution can include an amount of at least one quaternary ammonium hydroxide. The quaternary groups can include (C1-C8) alkyl, aryl alkyl, and combinations thereof. The at least one quaternary ammonium hydroxide can include tetramethylammonium hydroxide (TMAH), tetraethylammonium hydroxide (TEAH), dimethyldipropylammonium hydroxide (DMDPAH), trimethylethylammonium hydroxide (TMEAH), benzyltrimethylammonium hydroxide (BTMAH), tetrapropylammonium hydroxide (TPAH), tetrabutylammonium hydroxide (TBAH), or a mixture thereof. In an illustrative example, the solution can include an amount of quaternary ammonium hydroxide included in a range of about 0.5% by weight to about 10% by weight of a total weight of the solution. In another illustrative example, an amount of quaternary ammonium hydroxide included in the solution can be included in a range of about 1% by weight to about 5% by weight of a total weight of the solution. See para. 43. The solution can also include an amount of water. For example, the solution can include an amount of water included in a range of about 0.5% by weight to about 10% by weight of a total weight of the solution. See para. 44.
Acra et al do not teach, with sufficient specificity, a composition containing an amine solvent of Formula (1), a quaternary ammonium salt, and water in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claims 1 and 10.
Nonetheless it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate a composition containing an amine solvent of Formula (1), a quaternary ammonium salt, and water in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claims 1 and 10, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of Acra et al suggest a composition containing an amine solvent of Formula (1), a quaternary ammonium salt, and water in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claims 1 and 10.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agarwal et al (US 2016/0179011).
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, Agarwal et al teach A photoresist or semiconductor manufacturing residue stripping and cleaning composition comprising water, one or more alkaline compounds, one or more corrosion inhibitors, and one or more oxidized products of one or more antioxidants. See Abstract. The one or more alkaline compounds of the invention may comprise one or more amines or one or more quaternary ammonium hydroxides or combinations thereof. See para. 4. Suitable amines include ethylenediamine, diethylenetriamine, 1,3-diaminobutane, etc. (same as instant claims 1-4). See para. 5. Suitable quaternary ammonium hydroxides include tetramethylammounium hydroxide (TMAH), tetraethylammonium hydroxide, tetrabutylammonium hydroxide (TBAH), tetrapropylammonium hydroxide, trimethylethylammonium hydroxide, (2-hydroxyethyl)trimethylammonium hydroxide, (2-hydroxyethyl)triethylammonium hydroxide, (2-hydroxyethyl)tripropylammonium hydroxide, (1-hydroxypropyl)trimethylammonium hydroxide, ethyltrimethylammonium hydroxide, etc. In an additional aspect of the invention, alone or with additional aspects, is provided a photoresist or semiconductor manufacturing residue stripping and cleaning composition comprising about 70 to 85% by weight of said one or more alkaline compounds. See para. 16. The composition of this invention, alone or with any additional aspects of this invention may have 5 to 50 wt %, or 5 to 30 wt %, or 10 to 40 wt %, or 10 to 30 wt %, or 15 to 25 wt % of water. See para. 8.
Agarwal et al do not teach, with sufficient specificity, a composition containing an amine solvent of Formula (1), a quaternary ammonium salt, and water in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1.
Nonetheless it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate a composition containing an amine solvent of Formula (1), a quaternary ammonium salt, and water in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of Agarwal et al suggest a composition containing an amine solvent of Formula (1), a quaternary ammonium salt, and water in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acra et al (U2016/0215240) as applied to claims 1, 2, and 4-10 above, and further in view of Agarwal et al (US 2016/0179011).
Acra et al are relied upon as set forth above. However, Acra et al do not teach the use of an amine such as ethylenediamine in addition to the other requisite components of the composition as recited by the instant claims.
Agarwal et al are relied upon as set forth above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use ethylenediamine in the composition taught by Acra et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Agarwal et al teach the equivalence of ethylenediamine to diethylenetriamine as a suitable amine in a similar composition and further, Acra et al teach the use of diethylenetriamine.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Remaining references cited but not relied upon are considered to be cumulative to or less pertinent than those relied upon or discussed above.
Applicant is reminded that any evidence to be presented in accordance with 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132 should be submitted before final rejection in order to be considered timely.
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/April 15, 2026