Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s submission filed on April 13, 2026. Claim 9 was previously canceled. Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are pending and rejected.
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed on April 13, 2026. The Examiner has acknowledged the amended claims 1, 6-8, 10-11, and 16-20. Claim 9 was previously canceled. Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are pending and are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments (Remarks) filed April 13, 2026 have been fully considered, but are moot. Note that this action is made FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The remainder of applicant’s amendments have already been claimed in present and past dependent claims in a reworded format. The amended claims are still taught by the cited prior art as detailed in the rejection below. Therefore, the rejections have been made based off of the same rationale. See also 103 rejection below.
For the above reasons, Examiner maintains that Connell and Stephan teach each and every limitation as currently claimed.
Applicant amended claims 1, 6-8, 10-11, and 16-20, therefore the 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0358807 A1 to Connell et al. (hereinafter, “Connell”) in view of US 2018/0109558 A1 to Stephan et al. (hereinafter, “Stephan”).
Regarding claim 1, Connell discloses: A method comprising:
outputting, by a computing system operated by a first entity and to a data warehouse, threat data describing collecting network parameters of a network associated with an enterprise at risk from cyber security threats” [0006]; “The ETL 102 further performs a transform function to the data from the enterprise network parameter data source 104 and data from the threat intelligence data sources 106. This transform function forms the data into relevant threat intelligence data useable within the cyber security threat assessment system 100. The ETL 102 then loads the relevant threat intelligence data into a data warehouse and analytics system 108 and also into a data storage database 110” [0026] [Examiner notes that the network information collected would substantially include any and all information including normal and abnormal activity]),
receiving, by the computing system and from the data warehouse, threat data describing The data warehouse and analytics module 108 analyzes the relevant threat intelligence data to produce various enterprise metrics regarding cyber security of the target enterprise network. These enterprise metrics may include a holistic threat assessment score representing an overall risk level to the enterprise, individual threat rating score for each type of technology utilized within the enterprise network, various potential financial losses attributable to a potential cyber attack including losses attributable per technology and an overall enterprise loss, and a technology heat map that provides a geographic representation of cyber threats for the enterprise. In certain embodiments, the holistic threat assessment score for the target enterprise is normalized against a plurality of other enterprises also at risk of a cyber attack” [0027]; “passive scans of an organization's externally-facing technologies” [0080] [Examiner notes that both the system and the data warehouse are in communication when analyzing and gathering information based on any real or potential peer attacks happening within the entities within the enterprise or the enterprise as a whole itself]),
wherein the first entity and the second entity are distinct organizations (“An enterprise, such as a corporation, not-for-profit organization or other such entity, typically owns, deploys and manages network connected systems” [0003] [Examiner notes that the enterprise contains many entities as it is usually referred to as a collection of systems, services, or entities]; “vulnerabilities in supply chain networks for the enterprise” [0025] [Examiner notes that this text highlights that an enterprise's functional scope includes external and distinct organizations that could be completely separate]) and
marketplace competitors that do not share with each other the threat data describing The threat intelligence data sources 106 provide data external to the target enterprise yet still relevant to the enterprise network. This threat intelligence data may include dark web data; technology vulnerability data; deep web data; upstream, downstream and peer network threats; data from hacker discussion boards; changes to behavioral Tactics, Techniques and Procedures (TTP); global internet infrastructure vulnerabilities; vulnerabilities in supply chain networks for the enterprise; technical capabilities, tactics, techniques and history of a hacker or group of hackers and any such other threat intelligence data external to the network of the target enterprise yet still relevant that network” [0025] [Examiner notes that the enterprise's functional scope includes external and distinct organization which could be separate and even marketplace competitors; it is not just limited to a single entity. External threat intelligence (like vulnerabilities and supply chain risks) highlight that competitors aren't completely isolated. They often share dependencies and attack surfaces (such as access to a data warehouse). Mapping these connections show how a first entity (company A) and a second entity (company B) can both be vulnerable in similar or different ways, even though they are competing in the same marketplace. Examiner also notes that peer attack attributes are not listed in the threat intelligence data, so they are not shared]), and
applying, by the computing system, a model to identify a network asset , wherein the network asset is configured to perform an operation within the first network (“Once each of Ts, Vs, and Al are determined for each IP address they are summed together and multiplied by a normalization factor to arrive at a cyber security threat score for the IP address. In the illustrated embodiment shown in FIG. 9, the normalization factor is 0.091. This is performed for each IP address identified as part of the target enterprise to arrive at the holistic cyber security threat score for the target enterprise, such as Threat Beta shown in FIG. 6. The normalization factor is a calibration factor used to establish a norm, or median score as the cyber security threat score for each IP address is a metric designed to show a deviation from a norm. In establishing a range of scores and a median, survey samples were made from companies across all industry classifications as established by the industry standard Global Industry Classification Standard (GICS)” [0063-0064]; “The score may then be adjusted based on whether the associated cyber threat actors have the capability, patterns of behavior and a desire to gain access to the data and information of the target enterprise” [0044]; In the illustrated embodiment, the normalization factor of 0.091 was used to calibrate the algorithm to match the median metric when viewed across a statistically significant survey of representative companies across all GICS classifications. Periodically, the survey is repeated to discern if recalibration is necessary due to new technologies, the relative state of cyber security preparedness across industries, or other substantive developments that may affect a target enterprise's information technology ecosystems” [0065]; [Examiner notes that this text shows that the level indicators indicate automated analysis. To get those Ts, Vs, and Al values, the system must analyze the nature of the threats and vulnerabilities – Examiner interprets this as a machine-learning model, especially since these texts show a system that adapts to change (e.g., new tech, new threat trends) that supports the need of retraining. Since actions are based on threat predictions, it is reasonable to interpret that it needs ongoing accuracy in order to remain completely dependable (naturally supports retraining). The weighted metrics also depend on historical data and can be updated or retrained to reflect new threat types including peer attacks. Multiple dimensions are assessed per IP address, an evaluation which includes recognizing Ts (threats) based on known attack patterns – such as those observed in peer attacks. These components represent threat indicators, vulnerabilities, and asset-level factors derives from analyzing the asset's behavior. The normalization factor is also based on industry-wide data meaning that the model compares assets and their vulnerabilities against peer organizations. Since the threat score “is a metric designed to show a deviation from a norm”, it shows if an asset exhibits vulnerabilities or attack patterns similar to peers who have been attacked. The scans also identify attack vectors or vulnerabilities previously observed in peer environments. The scoring transforms the vulnerability detection into a numerical risk value, which is exactly what models are designed to do. Also, since the first entity and second entity are both considered part of the same enterprise, then the model can be used across both, any, and all entities within that enterprise]); and
outputting, by the computing system and to the network asset, a control signal to modify the operation The goal of Threat Beta βi by technology is to trigger a call to action for the larger Threat Betas in a company's passive scan set of technologies” [0088] [Examiner notes that this trigger acts as a type of signal or input that causes the network asset's cybersecurity system (overall system) to do something]).
Connell does not explicitly disclose: wherein the threat data includes threat data describing
However, Stephan discloses: wherein the threat data includes At least one object of this disclosure is to enable owners of networks and/or devices to be made aware of malicious clients/actors/devices which might try to communicate with or infiltrate such networks and/or devices” [0009] [Examiner notes that a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand “abnormal activity” to include network behavior generated by malicious actors communication with the network. The disclosure’s malicious actors communicating with a network are represented as network information indicated as abnormal activity, while non-malicious communications are represented as normal activity]; “At least one embodiment within this disclosure includes a service that algorithmically ranks the all the data it has received about an actor (e.g. a person, set of persons, device, or network of devices, physical or virtual). This rank is called a threat score, zero represents the lowest risk to a network and there is no maximum. The threat score is a single number (with supporting background information on data sources) that acts as a normalized summary of all of the information regarding a particular actor” [0073] [Examiner notes that a POSITA would understand that assigning the lowest possible threat score corresponds to information reflecting benign or normal behavior because a system cannot distinguish low-risk actors from high-risk actors without some representation of non-threatening behavior]);
wherein the threat data describing “Sensitive communication” includes, but is not limited to, any communication containing personally identifiable data such as names, locations, financial information and/or healthcare information” [0039]; “obfuscate the true identity to make it easier for people to share sensitive threat data” [0085]; “that all of the threat data does not need to be stored globally, and that data which is sensitive to an organization can remain on premise and remain in control of the organization” [0102]; “In at least one embodiment within this disclosure, when data is extracted from a data source, the system can remove sensitive and/or private information prior to or during the extraction. The sensitive and/or private information can be stored local to the data source, either at the data source itself or within a device in the same local network as the data source” [0119] [Examiner notes that the second reference is coming in to show that activity data that is sent out can be enhanced and/or modified to not include or obfuscate information about a specific network/entity]);
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention
to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to combine the
method of Connell with the added structure of Stephan because removing sensitive information can be advantageous because such removal can help to maintain the privacy of the data source 110 which provides the data to the processor 108/ETL module 112 [Stephan 0142].
Claim 11 recites substantially the same limitation as claim 1, in the form of a computing system operated by a first entity for implementing the corresponding method, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale. Examiner wants to note that the reference teaches “processing circuitry and a storage device, wherein the processing circuitry has access to the storage device” by stating “The system 1000 may include one or more processors 1002… and storage devices 1014. Although not explicitly shown in FIG. 10, each component provided may be interconnected physically, communicatively, and/or operatively for inter-component communications in order to realize functionality ascribed to the various entities identified…” [0091].
Claim 20 recites substantially the same limitation as claim 1, in the form of a non-transitory computer readable media comprising computer readable program code for implementing the corresponding method, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, a combination of Connell-Stephan discloses all limitations of claims 1/11.
Furthermore, Connell discloses: wherein outputting the control signal includes: outputting the control signal to protect the first network against an attack having the attributes of the peer attack (“The final function, f5( . . . ), that combines the four individual functions is managed by analysts such that resulting Threat Beta for technologies are reasonable and drives appropriate actions. The process of combining the four functions is done as appropriate to value for the data in the functions. Specifically, the number of ports found and CVE Score have the predominance of weight in the calculation, while exploit databases and Dark Mentions have lower impact on Threat Beta. After executing a passive scan of an organization's internet structure, Threat Betas for each technology are calculated and presented to analysts. The calculated Threat Betas assist in prioritizing organizational efforts that are based on known vulnerabilities and the number of instances of the technology. The aggregate Threat Beta for the organization is used to estimate overall cyber event impact. The goal of Threat Beta βi by technology is to trigger a call to action for the larger Threat Betas in a company's passive scan set of technologies” [0086-0088] [Examiner notes that the model identifies a network asset vulnerable to a peer attack and assigns a Threat Beta βi score reflecting that risk which triggers protective actions. Upon receiving the signal, the system controlling the asset executes defense mechanisms targets at mitigating peer attack characteristics]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, a combination of Connell-Stephan discloses all limitations of claims 2/12.
Furthermore, Connell discloses: wherein outputting the control signal further includes: deploying a new security control within the first network (“The final function, f5( . . . ), that combines the four individual functions is managed by analysts such that resulting Threat Beta for technologies are reasonable and drives appropriate actions” [0086]; “The goal of Threat Beta βi by technology is to trigger a call to action for the larger Threat Betas in a company's passive scan set of technologies” [0088]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, a combination of Connell-Stephan discloses all limitations of claims 2/12.
Furthermore, Connell discloses: wherein outputting the control signal further includes: modifying the operation of an existing security control within the first network (“The final function, f5( . . . ), that combines the four individual functions is managed by analysts such that resulting Threat Beta for technologies are reasonable and drives appropriate actions” [0086]; “The goal of Threat Beta βi by technology is to trigger a call to action for the larger Threat Betas in a company's passive scan set of technologies” [0088]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, a combination of Connell-Stephan discloses all limitations of claims 1/11.
Furthermore, Connell discloses: retraining, by the computing system, the model to recognize the attributes of the peer attack (“In the illustrated embodiment, the normalization factor of 0.091 was used to calibrate the algorithm to match the median metric when viewed across a statistically significant survey of representative companies across all GICS classifications. Periodically, the survey is repeated to discern if recalibration is necessary due to new technologies, the relative state of cyber security preparedness across industries, or other substantive developments that may affect a target enterprise's information technology ecosystems” [0065]; “Once each of Ts, Vs, and Al are determined for each IP address they are summed together and multiplied by a normalization factor to arrive at a cyber security threat score for the IP address” [0063] [Examiner notes that these texts show a system that adapts to change (e.g., new tech, new threat trends) that supports the need of retraining. Since actions are based on threat predictions, it is reasonable to interpret that it needs ongoing accuracy in order to remain completely dependable (naturally supports retraining). The weighted metrics also depend on historical data and can be updated or retrained to reflect new threat types including peer attacks]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, a combination of Connell-Stephan discloses all limitations of claims 1/11.
Furthermore, Connell discloses: wherein outputting threat data describing threat data describing collecting network parameters of a network associated with an enterprise at risk from cyber security threats” [0006]; “The ETL 102 further performs a transform function to the data from the enterprise network parameter data source 104 and data from the threat intelligence data sources 106. This transform function forms the data into relevant threat intelligence data useable within the cyber security threat assessment system 100. The ETL 102 then loads the relevant threat intelligence data into a data warehouse and analytics system 108 and also into a data storage database 110” [0026] [Examiner notes that in order to collect and store relevant information, it is natural for a system to periodically output information after collecting it]).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, a combination of Connell-Stephan discloses all limitations of claims 1/11.
Furthermore, Connell discloses: wherein outputting threat data describing threat data describing The data warehouse and analytics module 108 analyzes the relevant threat intelligence data to produce various enterprise metrics regarding cyber security of the target enterprise network. These enterprise metrics may include a holistic threat assessment score representing an overall risk level to the enterprise, individual threat rating score for each type of technology utilized within the enterprise network, various potential financial losses attributable to a potential cyber attack including losses attributable per technology and an overall enterprise loss, and a technology heat map that provides a geographic representation of cyber threats for the enterprise. In certain embodiments, the holistic threat assessment score for the target enterprise is normalized against a plurality of other enterprises also at risk of a cyber attack” [0027] [Examiner notes that this text portrays a clear output of attack-relevant data as there is a threat assessment score (explicitly quantification of risk), threat rating per technology (shows which asset is more vulnerable), potential financial losses attributable to an attack (ties risk directly to real world consequences), and more importantly a technology heat map that actually shows where attacks are emerging from or focused on which is based on real threat actor activity]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, a combination of Connell-Stephan discloses all limitations of claims 1/11.
Connell does not explicitly disclose: wherein outputting threat data describing
However, Stephan discloses: wherein outputting threat data describing ““Sensitive communication” includes, but is not limited to, any communication containing personally identifiable data such as names, locations, financial information and/or healthcare information” [0039]; “obfuscate the true identity to make it easier for people to share sensitive threat data” [0085]; “that all of the threat data does not need to be stored globally, and that data which is sensitive to an organization can remain on premise and remain in control of the organization” [0102]; “In at least one embodiment within this disclosure, when data is extracted from a data source, the system can remove sensitive and/or private information prior to or during the extraction. The sensitive and/or private information can be stored local to the data source, either at the data source itself or within a device in the same local network as the data source” [0119] [Examiner notes that the second reference is coming in to show that activity data that is sent out can be enhanced and/or modified to not include or obfuscate information about a specific network/entity]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention
to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to combine the
method of Connell with the added structure of Stephan because removing sensitive information can be advantageous because such removal can help to maintain the privacy of the data source 110 which provides the data to the processor 108/ETL module 112 [Stephan 0142].
Regarding claim 10, a combination of Connell-Stephan discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Connell discloses: receiving, by the computing system and from the data warehouse, threat data describing collecting network parameters of a network associated with an enterprise at risk from cyber security threats” [0006]; “The ETL 102 further performs a transform function to the data from the enterprise network parameter data source 104 and data from the threat intelligence data sources 106. This transform function forms the data into relevant threat intelligence data useable within the cyber security threat assessment system 100. The ETL 102 then loads the relevant threat intelligence data into a data warehouse and analytics system 108 and also into a data storage database 110” [0026] [Examiner interprets the enterprise, being connected to all of the entities and the data warehouse, having access to all entities and being able to identify any activity within them. Examiner notes that both the network parameters and the umbrella of relevant threat intelligence data (necessary to have normal activity to produce a baseline in order to compare abnormal activity to) could both include normal activity data within the network]).
Claim 19 recites substantially the same limitation as claim 10, in the form of a computing system for implementing the corresponding method, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
be directed to SARON MATTHEWOS WORKU whose telephone number is (703)756-1761. The
examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 9:30am - 6:30pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA)
or 571-272-1000.
/SARON MATTHEWOS WORKU/Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/LINGLAN EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2408