DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 2/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
1). Applicant’s argument – Xie does not teach or suggest, at least, "a multiplexer... configured to filter the portion of the modulated optical signal to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal by coupling light within a specific wavelength range between the first bus waveguide and the second bus waveguide," as recited in amended claim 1. The absence of any filtering component operating on modulated signals in Xie is a fundamental deficiency that cannot be overcome by re-characterizing Xie's channel interleavers.
Examiner’s response – First, an interleaver combines two sets of wavelengths, a de-interleaver separates one set of wavelengths from another set wavelength. That is, an interleaver/de-interleaver can pass one set of wavelength and block/redirect another set of wavelength. Therefore, an optical interleaver is a type of optical filter, which is used to combine or separate multiple optical signals.
Second, applicant uses a multiplexer “to filter the portion of the modulated optical signal to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal”. An optical multiplexer also is not the same as an optical filter, instead it is a device that combine multiple wavelength signals into one multiplexed signal, or to separate multiplexed signal into individual wavelength channels/bands.
Therefore, if a multiplexer is treated as “filtering component”, an interleave also can be treated as a “filtering component”. Based on applicant’s disclosure, Xie’s interleaver is a type of filter, which “filter(s) the portion of the modulated optical signal to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal by coupling light within a specific wavelength range between the first bus waveguide and the second bus waveguide".
2). Applicant’s argument – One of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to replace Xie's interleavers with Mi's grating couplers for at least the following reasons: (1) Xie's interleavers perform channel interleaving/combining functions that are architecturally and functionally distinct from Mi's approach; (2) Mi does not suggest using its grating couplers in a DWDM optical link architecture with ring modulators; (3) Mi's grating couplers are designed for add/drop operations in network nodes, not for filtering modulated signals in a transmitter; and (4) the proposed combination would not result in the claimed configuration where a multiplexer comprising a grating coupler is operatively coupled to a second bus waveguide and configured to filter the portion of the modulated optical signal to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal by coupling light within a specific wavelength range between the first bus waveguide and the second bus waveguide. Without the benefit of hindsight derived from the present application, one of ordinary skill would have no reason to combine these disparate references in the manner suggested by the Office Action.
Examiner’s response – (1). as discussed above, Xie’s interleaver performs the function of an optical filter, which separates optical wavelength channels/bands or combine optical wavelength channels/bands. Mi’s GADC coupler passes some wavelength bands (e.g., l21-l40, l41-l60, l61-l80) and drop/block another wavelength another wavelength band (e.g., l1-l20,). That is, both Xie’s interleaver and Mi’s GADC coupler are used as “filter component” to combine or separate multiple optical signals.
(2). Reference Mi is cited to mostly indicate a GADC coupler can be used to combine or separate multiple optical signals; and Mi discloses “[i]n FIG. 3(a), a C band in a 32 nm wavelength range is divided into four sub-bands at a granularity of 0.1 nm. Each sub-band includes optical signals of 20 wavelengths, and the four sub-bands separately correspond to the ADFs 305 to 308” ([0069]), therefore, the system disclosed by Mi is a DWDM system. The combination of Xie and Mi “suggest(s) using its grating couplers in a DWDM optical link architecture with ring modulators”.
(3). Regarding Applicant’s argument “Mi's grating couplers are designed for add/drop operations in network nodes, not for filtering modulated signals in a transmitter”, first, the multiplexer 224-1 etc. in Applicant’s Figure 2A is also “not for filtering modulated signals in a transmitter”, the multiplexer 224-1 is used to direct unmodulated optical signal (portion of optical signal 210) into ring waveguide (modulator). Second, as discussed above, Xie’s interleaver performs the function of an optical filter, which separates optical wavelength channels/bands or combine optical wavelength channels/bands; and reference Mi is cited mostly to indicate a GADC coupler can be used to combine or separate multiple optical signals. The combination of Xie and Mi teaches/suggests “filtering optical signals in a transmitter”.
(4). First, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Second, a newly cited prior
3). Applicant’s argument – (1) neither reference recognizes or addresses the FSR limitation problem in the context of DWDM ring modulators; (2) neither reference teaches using a multiplexer comprising a grating coupler to filter modulated optical signals from ring waveguides by coupling light within a specific wavelength range Application between bus waveguides; and (3) the specific technical benefits disclosed in the present specification-improved energy transfer efficiency, overcome FSR constraints, and reduced sensitivity to propagation constant differences-arise from the particular claimed architecture and would not result from any obvious combination of Xie and Mi. Therefore, the combination of Xie and Mi does not teach or suggest the invention of amended claim 1.
Examiner’s response – (1). in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “addresses the FSR limitation problem in the context of DWDM ring modulators”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In the claims, Applicant does not mention any “FSR limitation”.
(2). The combination of Xie and Mi and “teaches using a multiplexer comprising a grating coupler to filter modulated optical signals from ring waveguides by coupling light within a specific wavelength range Application between bus waveguides”
(3). Similar to “(1)” above, the detail features, which are used to “improved energy transfer efficiency, overcome FSR constraints, and reduced sensitivity to propagation constant differences-arise from the particular claimed architecture”, upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claims. Also, regarding “the specific technical benefits”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The combination of Xie and Mi and teaches/suggests the invention of amended claim 1.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 21-23 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: claims 21-23 are directed to a receiver system, which receives a modulated optical signal and recover data from the modulated signal; but, the original claims 1-20 are directed to optical transmission (transmitter) system that generates a modulated signal; the invention defined by original claims 1-20 is classified into 398/182+, and the invention defined by newly submitted claims 21-23 is classified into 398/202+.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 21-23 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8, and thus depending claims 9-11 and 13-14, recites the limitations “receiving, by a unit cell of a ring modulator …, a portion of an optical signal via a first bus waveguide, …; generating, by the unit cell, a portion of a modulated optical signal by modulating the portion of the optical signal; filtering, by the unit cell using a multiplexer comprising a grating coupler, the portion of the optical signal to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal by coupling light within a specific wavelength range between the first bus waveguide and a second bus waveguide operatively coupled to the multiplexer; and outputting, by the unit cell via the second bus waveguide, the portion of the filtered optical signal”. It is not clear whether the filtered optical signal is a modulated optical signal. According to the limitation “filtering, by the unit cell using a multiplexer comprising a grating coupler, the portion of the optical signal to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal”, it seems the portion of the filtered optical signal is not a modulated signal; however, according the limitation “outputting, by the unit cell via the second bus waveguide, the portion of the filtered optical signal”, the portion of the filtered optical signal is output by the unit cell via the second bus waveguide; and the claimed unit cell contains “ring modulator”, then the portion of the optical signal output by the unit cell via the second bus waveguide should be a modulated optical signal; also based on the original disclosure (Figure 2A) and specification, the optical signal output by the unit cell via the second bus waveguide is a modulated optical signal (e.g., 250 in Figure 2A). Therefore, the claim scope is unclear, and claims 8-11 and 13-14 are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 13-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (US 10,862,588) in view of Mi et al (EP 3,952,151 A1) and Zheng et al (US 2012/0237155).
1). With regard to claim 1, Xie discloses a system (Figure 2B etc.) comprising:
a unit cell (the unit cell contains the micro-ring modulator (MRM) array 230(1)) of a ring modulator (230) of a dense wavelength division multiplexing (DWDM) optical link (Abstract etc. and column 1 lines 7-10 and column 4 lines 39-40, “a dense wavelength division and multiplexing (DWDM)”), the unit cell comprising:
a set of ring waveguides (the micro-ring modulator (MRM) array 230(i); Figure 2B and Figure 6, the MRM array has multiple ring waveguides or a set of ring waveguides, each ring is described as in Figure 3; and column 9 line 65 to column 10 line 45), each ring waveguide of the set of ring waveguides being configured to generate a portion of a modulated optical signal (portion 231, containing l1, l5, ... l29) based on a portion (portion 221, containing l1, l5, ... l29) of an optical signal (input optical signal “Optical Input Source OSin” l1- l32; column 12 lines 25-34 and column 13 lines 24-32. And, column 9 line 65 to column 10 line 45; “The micro-ring modulators provided within the MRM arrays 230(1)-230(4) may be silicon-based optical devices that can modulate an optical channel (e.g., a specific wavelength of light) with data from a corresponding data stream” and “each of the MRM arrays 230(1)-230(4) may include eight micro-ring modulators (not shown for simplicity), each modulator is configured to modulate one optical channel with data from a corresponding data stream”) received via a first bus waveguide (e.g., the bus waveguide between the interleaver 210 and interleaver 220(1). Column 5 lines 8-22); and
a multiplexer (the combination of interleaver 220(1) and interleaver 240(1). Note: according to Applicant’s disclosure, [0048], “Each of unit cells 220-1 through 220-N can further include a respective multiplexer. For example, as shown, unit cell 220-1 can include multiplexer components 224-1 and 224-2 connected by bus waveguide 226. Unit cells 220-2 through 220-N can include similar multiplexer components and bus waveguides”, that is, each multiplexer contains two components, each component is associated with a specific bus waveguide. Therefore, Xie’s two components, interleaver 220(1) and interleaver 240(1), constitute a multiplexer), operatively coupled to a second bus waveguide (the waveguide for the “Optical Output Stream OSout1” as shown in Figure 2B, the interleaver 240(1) coupled to the waveguide on which the “Optical Output Stream OSout1” is transmitted), configured to filter the portion of the modulated optical signal (the portion 221 containing l1, l5, …, l29, which are filtered out from OSin “l1- l32” by the interleavers 210/220(1), and then the portion 221 containing “l1, l5, …, l29” are modulated by the MRM array 230(1) to generate modulated optical signal 231 containing “l1, l5, …, l29”, and then the modulated optical signal 231 containing “l1, l5, …, l29” is filtered by the interleaver 240(1) and sent out within the “Optical Stream OSout1”) to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal (the signals “l1, l5, .. l29” in the “Optical Stream OSout1”; column 12 lines 25-34 and column 13 lines 24-32; and column 12 line 25-33, the interleaver 240(1) outputs the portion of the modulated “Optical Output Stream OSout1”; column 11 lines 48-64).
But, Xie does not expressly disclose that the multiplexer comprises a grating coupler, which filters the portion of the modulated optical signal to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal by coupling light within a specific wavelength range between the first bus waveguide and the second bus waveguide.
However, a grating coupler (e.g., contra-directional assisted grating coupler (CDGC)), has been widely used in optical communications, and used in connection with a ring resonator. E.g., Mi et al, discloses a system/method (Figures 2-3 and 5 etc.), in which a grating coupler (e.g., contra-directional assisted grating coupler (CDGC. Or the grating-assisted directional coupler, GADC, 301-304 in Figure 3) is used to drop different wavelength bands (e.g., l1-l20, l21-l40, l41-l60, and l61-l80), and the grating coupler can filter a portion of the modulated optical signal (e.g., l21-l40) to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal by coupling light within a specific wavelength range (e.g., l21-l40) between a first bus waveguide (e.g., the waveguide between 317 and 318 at the top portion of Figure 3(a)) and a second bus waveguide (e.g., the waveguide between 319 and 320 at the bottom portion of Figure 3(a))
Another prior art, Zheng et al, discloses an dense wavelength divison multiplexing (DWDM) optical link ([0034], [0035] and [0040]-[0041] etc. and Figures 1-2 etc.). As shown in Figure 2, Zheng discloses a unit cell of a ring modulator (e.g., 112-1 and 212-1 to 212-4) of a dense wavelength division multiplexing (DWDM) optical link ([0034], [0035] and [0040]-[0041] etc.), the unit cell comprising: a set of ring waveguides (212-1 to 212-4), each ring waveguide of the set of ring waveguides being configured to generate a portion of a modulated optical signal ([0042]-[0046], modulated on l1 to l4) based on a portion (l1 to l4; Zheng: [0042]-[0046], each ring modulator modulates a specific wavelength, e.g., ring-resonator modulator 212-1 is responsible for l1) of an optical signal received (e.g., from optical source 210-1); and a multiplexer (e.g., 114-1) comprising a grating coupler (Figures 2 and 3, Wavelength-Selective Coupler 114-1), operatively coupled to a bus waveguide (Bus Optical Waveguide 110), configured to filter the portion of the modulated optical signal (l1 to l4) to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal (l1 to l4) by coupling light within a specific wavelength range (e.g., l1 to l4, [0042]-[0046]) between the optical source (210-1) and the bus waveguide (110).
In Figure 2, Zheng et al shows that each unit cell receives an optical signal from an optical source (e.g., 210-1 etc.), Zheng et al does not expressly show a first bus waveguide, and the portion of an optical signal is received via a first bus waveguide.
However, Zheng et al also discloses “one or more optical sources 210 (such as continuous-wave optical sources) that provide an optical signal (such as one or more carrier wavelengths for use in one or more of optical channels 118 shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B); and multiple coupled-waveguide grating devices 112 that optically couple to bus optical waveguide 110 and the one or more optical sources 210”, that is one optical source can be used to provide optical signals to multiple cells (e.g., 112-1 to 112-N).
As shown in Figure 1A and 1B, a DWDM “OPTICAL SIGNALS” l1- lN are input to the bus optical waveguide 110, and a plurality of wavelength selective couplers (114-1 to 114-N) are used to filter/drop a specific wavelength range (or band): the wavelength-selective coupler 114-1 filters/drop a specific wavelength range l1 to l4, and the wavelength-selective coupler 114-N filters/drops a specific wavelength range lN-3 to lN; that is, the waveguide 110 inputs wavelength division multiplexed signal (l1 to lN) and then a plurality of wavelength selective coupler (grating coupler) are used to filter/drop specific portions (band) of the multiplexed signal, or each wavelength selective coupler (grating coupler) filters/drops a specific wavelength range (band). And Zheng et al also states “A similar technique may be used to implement an optical modulator, which may be used as a transmitter in an optical link” ([0041]). And as discussed above, Xie discloses that a single optical input source OSin can provide a DWDM optical signals (Figure 2B, “OSin”, and Abstract). Therefore, the combination of Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al teaches/suggests a system as show in following figure.
Figure O1
As shown in Figure O1 above, the combination of Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al discloses a system comprising:
a unit cell of a ring modulator (e.g., Figure O1: 112-1 and 212-1 to 212-4) of a dense wavelength division multiplexing (DWDM) optical link (Zheng: [0034], [0035] and [0040]-[0041] etc.), the unit cell comprising:
a set of ring waveguides (212-1 to 212-4), each ring waveguide of the set of ring waveguides being configured to generate a portion of a modulated optical signal ([0042]-[0046], modulated on l1 to l4) based on a portion (l1 to l4; Zheng: [0042]-[0046], each ring modulator modulates a specific wavelength, e.g., ring-resonator modulator 212-1 is responsible for l1) of an optical signal (l1 to lN) received via a first bus waveguide (110-1 in Figure O1); and
a multiplexer (the combination of wavelength-selective coupler 114-1-1 and wavelength-selective coupler 114-1) comprising a grating coupler (114-1), operatively coupled to a second bus waveguide (110), configured to filter the portion of the modulated optical signal (l1 to l4) to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal (l1 to l4, which is output within the OPTICAL SIGNALS l1- ln) by coupling light within a specific wavelength range (l1 to l4) between the first bus waveguide (110-1) and the second bus waveguide (110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Mi et al and Zheng et al to the system/method of Xie so that different wavelength bands can be conveniently and easily directed to different unit cell of ring modulator, and each wavelength is individually modulated by a ring modulator.
2). With regard to claim 2, Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above, and the combination of Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al further discloses wherein the unit cell further comprises a third bus waveguide (Figure O1: Couple-Waveguide Grating Device 112-1. Xie: the waveguide between the interleaver 220(1) and interleaver 240(1), or the waveguide 310 shown in Figure 3; and column 9 line 65 to column 10 line 45) disposed between a first multiplexer component (Figure O1: 114-1-1. Or Xie: 220(1)) of the multiplexer and a second multiplexer component (Figure O1: 114-1. Or Xie: 240(1)) of the multiplexer.
3). With regard to claim 6, Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above, and the combination of Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al further discloses wherein the grating coupler is a contra-directional assisted grating coupler (Mi: the grating-assisted directional coupler, GADC. Zheng: the grating coupler is a type of GADC, Figure 3, [0049]).
4). With regard to claim 7, Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above, and the combination of Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al further discloses wherein the first bus waveguide and the second bus waveguide are each operatively coupled to a plurality of unit cells (Figure O1: 112-1 and 212-1 to 212-4; 112-2 and 212-5 to 212-8; …; 112-N and 212-(N-3) to 212-N. Or Xie: e.g., the unit cells 230(1) and 230(2) etc.) comprising the unit cell (Figure O1: 112-1 and 212-1 to 212-4. Or, Xie: 230(1)).
5). With regard to claim 8, Xie discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a unit cell (the unit cell contains the micro-ring modulator (MRM) array 230(1)) of a ring modulator (230) of a dense wavelength division multiplexing (DWDM) optical link (Abstract etc. and column 1 lines 7-10 and column 4 lines 39-40, “a dense wavelength division and multiplexing (DWDM)”), a portion (portion 221, or l1, l5, ..., l29) of an optical signal (an input optical signal “Optical Input Source OSin” l1- l32; column 12 lines 25-34 and column 13 lines 24-32) via a first bus waveguide (e.g., the bus waveguide between the interleaver 210 and interleaver 220(1). Column 5 lines 8-22), wherein the unit cell comprises a set of ring waveguides (the micro-ring modulator (MRM) array 230(i); Figure 2B and Figure 6, the MRM array has multiple ring waveguides or a set of ring waveguides, each ring is described as in Figure 3; and column 9 line 65 to column 10 line 45);
generating, by the unit cell, a portion of a modulated optical signal (portion 231, containing l1, l5, ... l29) by modulating the portion (portion 221 containing l1, l5, ..., l29) of the optical signal (“Optical Input Source OSin” l1- l32. The portion 221 containing l1, l5, ..., l29 are modulated by the MRM array 230(1), each MRM modulates a specific channel/wavelength; column 9 line 65 to column 10 line 45; “The micro-ring modulators provided within the MRM arrays 230(1)-230(4) may be silicon-based optical devices that can modulate an optical channel (e.g., a specific wavelength of light) with data from a corresponding data stream” and “each of the MRM arrays 230(1)-230(4) may include eight micro-ring modulators (not shown for simplicity), each modulator is configured to modulate one optical channel with data from a corresponding data stream”);
filtering, by the unit cell using a multiplexer (the combination of interleaver 220(1) and interleaver 240(1). Note: according to Applicant’s disclosure, [0048], “Each of unit cells 220-1 through 220-N can further include a respective multiplexer. For example, as shown, unit cell 220-1 can include multiplexer components 224-1 and 224-2 connected by bus waveguide 226. Unit cells 220-2 through 220-N can include similar multiplexer components and bus waveguides”, that is, each multiplexer contains two components, each component is associated with a specific bus waveguide. Therefore, Xie’s two components, interleaver 220(1) and interleaver 240(1), constitute a multiplexer), the portion (the portion 221 containing l1, l5, .. l29, which are filtered out from OSin “l1- l32” by the interleavers 210/220(1), and then the portion 221 containing “l1, l5, …, l29” are modulated by the MRM array 230(1) to generate modulated optical signal 231 containing “l1, l5, …, l29”, and then the modulated optical signal 231 containing “l1, l5, …, l29” is filtered by the interleaver 240(1) and sent out within the “Optical Stream OSout1”) to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal (221: l1, l5, ... l29; signal “221: l1, l5, ... l29” is generated by interleaver 210/220(1); column 12 lines 25-34 and column 13 lines 24-32; and column 12 line 25-33) by coupling light within a specific wavelength group (l1, l5, ... l29) between the first bus waveguide (the bus waveguide between the interleaver 210 and interleaver 220(1)) and a second bus waveguide (the waveguide for the “Optical Output Stream OSout1” as shown in Figure 2B, the interleaver 240(1) coupled to the waveguide on which the “Optical Output Stream OSout1” is transmitted) operatively coupled to the multiplexer (interleaver 220(1) and interleaver 240(1)); and
outputting, by the unit cell via the second bus waveguide, the portion (“l1, l5, ..., l29”) of the filtered optical signal (the filtered optical signal is sent out by the interleaver 240(1) with the “Optical Output Stream OSout1”).
But, Xie does not expressly disclose that the multiplexer comprises a grating coupler, which filters the portion of the optical signal to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal by coupling light within a specific wavelength range between the first bus waveguide and a second bus waveguide operatively coupled to the multiplexer.
However, a grating coupler (e.g., contra-directional assisted grating coupler (CDGC)), has been widely used in optical communications, and used in connection with a ring resonator. E.g., Mi et al, discloses a system/method (Figures 2-3 and 5 etc.), in which a grating coupler (e.g., contra-directional assisted grating coupler (CDGC. Or the grating-assisted directional coupler, GADC, 301-304 in Figure 3) is used to drop different wavelength bands (e.g., l1-l20, l21-l40, l41-l60, and l61-l80), and the grating coupler can filter a portion of the modulated optical signal (e.g., l21-l40) to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal by coupling light within a specific wavelength range (e.g., l21-l40) between a first bus waveguide (e.g., the waveguide between 317 and 318 at the top portion of Figure 3(a)) and a second bus waveguide (e.g., the waveguide between 319 and 320 at the bottom portion of Figure 3(a)).
Another prior art, Zheng et al, discloses an dense wavelength divison multiplexing (DWDM) optical link ([0034], [0035] and [0040]-[0041] etc. and Figures 1-2 etc.). As shown in Figure 2, Zheng discloses a unit cell of a ring modulator (e.g., 112-1 and 212-1 to 212-4) of a dense wavelength division multiplexing (DWDM) optical link ([0034], [0035] and [0040]-[0041] etc.), the unit cell comprising: a set of ring waveguides (212-1 to 212-4), each ring waveguide of the set of ring waveguides being configured to generate a portion of a modulated optical signal ([0042]-[0046], modulated on l1 to l4) based on a portion (l1 to l4; Zheng: [0042]-[0046], each ring modulator modulates a specific wavelength, e.g., ring-resonator modulator 212-1 is responsible for l1) of an optical signal received (e.g., from optical source 210-1); and a multiplexer (e.g., 114-1) comprising a grating coupler (Figures 2 and 3, Wavelength-Selective Coupler 114-1), operatively coupled to a bus waveguide (Bus Optical Waveguide 110), configured to filter the portion of the modulated optical signal (l1 to l4) to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal (l1 to l4) by coupling light within a specific wavelength range (e.g., l1 to l4, [0042]-[0046]) between the optical source (210-1) and the bus waveguide (110).
In Figure 2, Zheng et al shows that each unit cell receives an optical signal from an optical source (e.g., 210-1 etc.), Zheng et al does not expressly show a first bus waveguide, and the portion of an optical signal is received via a first bus waveguide.
However, Zheng et al also discloses “one or more optical sources 210 (such as continuous-wave optical sources) that provide an optical signal (such as one or more carrier wavelengths for use in one or more of optical channels 118 shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B); and multiple coupled-waveguide grating devices 112 that optically couple to bus optical waveguide 110 and the one or more optical sources 210”, that is one optical source can be used to provide optical signals to multiple cells (e.g., 112-1 to 112-N).
As shown in Figure 1A and 1B, a DWDM “OPTICAL SIGNALS” l1- lN are input to the bus optical waveguide 110, and a plurality of wavelength selective couplers (114-1 to 114-N) are used to filter/drop a specific wavelength range (or band): the wavelength-selective coupler 114-1 filters/drop a specific wavelength range l1 to l4, and the wavelength-selective coupler 114-N filters/drops a specific wavelength range lN-3 to lN; that is, the waveguide 110 inputs wavelength division multiplexed signal (l1 to lN) and then a plurality of wavelength selective coupler (grating coupler) are used to filter/drop specific portions (band) of the multiplexed signal, or each wavelength selective coupler (grating coupler) filters/drops a specific wavelength range (band). And Zheng et al also states “A similar technique may be used to implement an optical modulator, which may be used as a transmitter in an optical link” ([0041]). And as discussed above, Xie discloses that a single optical input source OSin can provide a DWDM optical signals (Figure 2B, “OSin”, and Abstract). Therefore, the combination of Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al teaches/suggests a system as show in Figure O1 above.
As shown in Figure O1 above, the combination of Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a unit cell of a ring modulator (e.g., Figure O1: 112-1 and 212-1 to 212-4) of a dense wavelength division multiplexing (DWDM) optical link (Zheng: [0034], [0035] and [0040]-[0041] etc.), a portion (l1 to l4) of an optical signal (l1 to lN within the Optical Input Source) via a first bus waveguide (110-1 in Figure O1), wherein the unit cell comprises a set of ring waveguides (212-1 to 212-4);
generating, by the unit cell, a portion of a modulated optical signal (Zheng: [0042]-[0046], modulated on l1 to l4) by modulating the portion (l1, l2, l3, l4; Zheng: [0042]-[0046], each ring modulator modulates a specific wavelength, e.g., ring-resonator modulator 212-1 is responsible for l1) of the optical signal;
filtering, by the unit cell using a multiplexer (the combination of wavelength-selective coupler 114-1-1 and wavelength-selective coupler 114-1) comprising a grating coupler (114-1-1 or 114-1 as shown in Figure O1), the portion of the optical signal (l1 to l4 are filtered output by the Wavelength-Selective Coupler from the Optical Input l1 to lN; and the filtered l1- l4 are sent to ring modulator 212-1 to 212-4 respectively) to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal (l1- l4) by coupling light within a specific wavelength range (l1 to l4) between the first bus waveguide (110-1) and a second bus waveguide (110) operatively coupled to the multiplexer; and
outputting, by the unit cell via the second bus waveguide (110), the portion of the filtered optical signal (l1 to l4, in the output OPTICAL SIGNALS l1- ln).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Mi et al and Zheng et al to the system/method of Xie so that different wavelength bands can be conveniently and easily directed to different unit cell of ring modulator, and each wavelength is individually modulated by a ring modulator.
6). With regard to claim 9, Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 8 above, and the combination of Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al further discloses wherein the unit cell further comprises a third bus waveguide (Figure O1: Couple-Waveguide Grating Device 112-1. Xie: the waveguide between the interleaver 220(1) and interleaver 240(1), or the waveguide 310 shown in Figure 3; and column 9 line 65 to column 10 line 45) disposed between a first multiplexer component (Figure O1: 114-1-1. Or Xie: 220(1)) of the multiplexer and a second multiplexer component (Figure O1: 114-1. Or Xie: 240(1)) of the multiplexer.
7). With regard to claim 13, Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 8 above, and the combination of Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al further discloses wherein the grating coupler is a contra-directional assisted grating coupler (Mi: the grating-assisted directional coupler, GADC. Zheng: the grating coupler is a type of GADC, Figure 3, [0049])
8). With regard to claim 14, Xie discloses wherein the first bus waveguide and the second bus waveguide are each operatively coupled to a plurality of unit cells (Figure O1: 112-1 and 212-1 to 212-4; 112-2 and 212-5 to 212-8; …; 112-N and 212-(N-3) to 212-N. Or Xie: e.g., the unit cells 230(1) and 230(2) etc.) comprising the unit cell (Figure O1: 112-1 and 212-1 to 212-4. Or, Xie: 230(1)).
9). With regard to claim 15, Xie discloses a system (Figures 1 and 2 etc.) comprising:
a dense wavelength division multiplexing (DWDM) optical link (Abstract etc. and column 4 lines 39-40, “a dense wavelength division and multiplexing (DWDM)”; and column 1 lines 7-10, “a dense wavelength division and multiplexing scheme for transmitting and receiving optical signals”) comprising:
a transmitter (e.g., Figure 1, the transmitter 110(1)-110(N); also refer to Figure 2B) configured to receive an optical signal (OSin in Figure 1, or Optical Input Source OSin in Figure 2B, OSin contains l1-l32) and generate a modulated optical signal by modulating the optical signal (Figure 2B, “Optical Output Stream” OSout1 etc.), wherein the transmitter comprises:
a first bus waveguide (e.g., the bus waveguide between the interleaver 210 and interleaver 220(1). Column 5 lines 8-22);
a second bus waveguide (the waveguide for the “Optical Output Stream OSout1” as shown in Figure 2B, the interleaver 240(1) coupled to the waveguide on which the “Optical Output Stream OSout1” is transmitted); and
a plurality of unit cells (e.g., unit cells 230(1) and 230(2) etc.) of a ring modulator (230), wherein each unit cell of the plurality of unit cells corresponds to a respective wavelength group (e.g., unit cell 230(1) for the group of l1, l5, l9, … l29, or unit cell 230(3) for a group of l2, l6, l10, … l31 etc.) of the DWDM optical link, and wherein a unit cell of the plurality of unit cells comprises:
a set of ring waveguides (the micro-ring modulator (MRM) array 230(i); Figure 2B and Figure 6, the MRM array has multiple ring waveguides or a set of ring waveguides, each ring is described as in Figure 3; and column 9 line 65 to column 10 line 45), each ring waveguide of the set of ring waveguides being configured to generate a portion of the modulated optical signal (column 12 lines 25-34 and column 13 lines 24-32. And, column 9 line 65 to column 10 line 45; “The micro-ring modulators provided within the MRM arrays 230(1)-230(4) may be silicon-based optical devices that can modulate an optical channel (e.g., a specific wavelength of light) with data from a corresponding data stream” and “each of the MRM arrays 230(1)-230(4) may include eight micro-ring modulators (not shown for simplicity), each modulator is configured to modulate one optical channel with data from a corresponding data stream”) based on the optical signal (input optical signal “Optical Input Source OSin” l1- l32); and
a multiplexer (the combination of interleaver 220(1) and interleaver 240(1). Note: according to Applicant’s disclosure, [0048], “Each of unit cells 220-1 through 220-N can further include a respective multiplexer. For example, as shown, unit cell 220-1 can include multiplexer components 224-1 and 224-2 connected by bus waveguide 226. Unit cells 220-2 through 220-N can include similar multiplexer components and bus waveguides”, that is, each multiplexer contains two components, each component is associated with a specific bus waveguide. Therefore, Xie’s two components, interleaver 220(1) and interleaver 240(1), constitute a multiplexer), operatively coupled to the second bus waveguide (the waveguide for the “Optical Output Stream OSout1” as shown in Figure 2B, the interleaver 240(1) coupled to the waveguide on which the “Optical Output Stream OSout1” is transmitted), configured to filter the portion (e.g., portion 231 containing l1, l5, …, l29) of the modulated optical signal (portion 221 containing “l1, l5, …, l29” are filtered out by the interleaver 240(1), and then the portion 221 containing “l1, l5, …, l29” are modulated by the MRM array 230(1) to generate modulated optical signals 231 containing “l1, l5, …, l29”, and then the modulated optical signals 231 containing “l1, l5, …, l29” is filtered out by interleaver 240(1) to generate a filtered optical signal for “Optical Output Stream OSout1”) to generate a filtered optical signal (“l1, l5, …, l29”; column 12 lines 25-34 and column 13 lines 24-32; and column 12 line 25-33, the interleaver 220(1) outputs the modulated for “Optical Output Stream OSout1”; column 11 lines 48-64).
But, Xie does not expressly disclose that the multiplexer comprises a grating coupler, which filters the portion of the modulated optical signal to generate a filtered optical signal by coupling light within a specific wavelength range between the first bus waveguide and the second bus waveguide.
However, a grating coupler (e.g., contra-directional assisted grating coupler (CDGC)), has been widely used in optical communications, and used in connection with a ring resonator. E.g., Mi et al, discloses a system/method (Figures 2-3 and 5 etc.), in which a grating coupler (e.g., contra-directional assisted grating coupler (CDGC. Or the grating-assisted directional coupler, GADC, 301-304 in Figure 3) is used to drop different wavelength bands (e.g., l1-l20, l21-l40, l41-l60, and l61-l80), and the grating coupler can filter a portion of the modulated optical signal (e.g., l21-l40) to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal by coupling light within a specific wavelength range (e.g., l21-l40) between a first bus waveguide (e.g., the waveguide between 317 and 318 at the top portion of Figure 3(a)) and a second bus waveguide (e.g., the waveguide between 319 and 320 at the bottom portion of Figure 3(a))
Another prior art, Zheng et al, discloses an dense wavelength divison multiplexing (DWDM) optical link ([0034], [0035] and [0040]-[0041] etc. and Figures 1-2 etc.). As shown in Figure 2, Zheng discloses a unit cell of a ring modulator (e.g., 112-1 and 212-1 to 212-4) of a dense wavelength division multiplexing (DWDM) optical link ([0034], [0035] and [0040]-[0041] etc.), the unit cell comprising: a set of ring waveguides (212-1 to 212-4), each ring waveguide of the set of ring waveguides being configured to generate a portion of a modulated optical signal ([0042]-[0046], modulated on l1 to l4) based on a portion (l1 to l4; Zheng: [0042]-[0046], each ring modulator modulates a specific wavelength, e.g., ring-resonator modulator 212-1 is responsible for l1) of an optical signal received (e.g., from optical source 210-1); and a multiplexer (e.g., 114-1) comprising a grating coupler (Figures 2 and 3, Wavelength-Selective Coupler 114-1), operatively coupled to a bus waveguide (Bus Optical Waveguide 110), configured to filter the portion of the modulated optical signal (l1 to l4) to generate a portion of a filtered optical signal (l1 to l4) by coupling light within a specific wavelength range (e.g., l1 to l4, [0042]-[0046]) between the optical source (210-1) and the bus waveguide (110).
In Figure 2, Zheng et al shows that each unit cell receives an optical signal from an optical source (e.g., 210-1 etc.), Zheng et al does not expressly show a first bus waveguide, and the portion of an optical signal is received via a first bus waveguide.
However, Zheng et al also discloses “one or more optical sources 210 (such as continuous-wave optical sources) that provide an optical signal (such as one or more carrier wavelengths for use in one or more of optical channels 118 shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B); and multiple coupled-waveguide grating devices 112 that optically couple to bus optical waveguide 110 and the one or more optical sources 210”, that is one optical source can be used to provide optical signals to multiple cells (e.g., 112-1 to 112-N).
As shown in Figure 1A and 1B, a DWDM “OPTICAL SIGNALS” l1- lN are input to the bus optical waveguide 110, and a plurality of wavelength selective couplers (114-1 to 114-N) are used to filter/drop a specific wavelength range (or band): the wavelength-selective coupler 114-1 filters/drop a specific wavelength range l1 to l4, and the wavelength-selective coupler 114-N filters/drops a specific wavelength range lN-3 to lN; that is, the waveguide 110 inputs wavelength division multiplexed signal (l1 to lN) and then a plurality of wavelength selective coupler (grating coupler) are used to filter/drop specific portions (band) of the multiplexed signal, or each wavelength selective coupler (grating coupler) filters/drops a specific wavelength range (band). And Zheng et al also states “A similar technique may be used to implement an optical modulator, which may be used as a transmitter in an optical link” ([0041]). And as discussed above, Xie discloses that a single optical input source OSin can provide a DWDM optical signals (Figure 2B, “OSin”, and Abstract). Therefore, the combination of Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al teaches/suggests a system as show in Figure O1 above.
As shown in Figure O1 above, the combination of Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al discloses a system comprising:
a dense wavelength division multiplexing (DWDM) optical link (Zheng: [0034], [0035] and [0040]-[0041] etc.) comprising:
a transmitter (Figure O1) configured to receive an optical signal (l1 to lN from Optical Input Source, input via the Bus Optical Waveguide 110-1) and generate a modulated optical signal (the modulated output Optical Signals “l1 to lN” via Bus Optical Waveguide 110) by modulating the optical signal (modulated by the Ring-Resonator Modulator 212-1 to 212-N), wherein the transmitter comprises:
a first bus waveguide (the Bus Optical Waveguide 110-1 shown in Figure O1);
a second bus waveguide (the Bus Optical Waveguide 110); and
a plurality of unit cells (112-1 and 212-1 to 212-4; 112-2 and 212-5 to 212-8; …, and 112-N and 212-(N-3) to 212-N) of a ring modulator (212-1 to 212-N etc.), wherein each unit cell of the plurality of unit cells corresponds to a respective band (e.g., band l1- l4, band l5- l8, and band l (N-3) -lN) of the DWDM optical link, and wherein a unit cell of the plurality of unit cells comprises:
a set of ring waveguides (e.g., 212-1 to 212-4), each ring waveguide of the set of ring waveguides being configured to generate a portion (one of l1, …, l4; Zheng: [0042]-[0046], each ring modulator modulates a specific wavelength, e.g., ring-resonator modulator 212-1 is responsible for l1) of the modulated optical signal based on the optical signal (l1 to lN); and
a multiplexer (the combination of wavelength-selective coupler 114-1-1 and wavelength-selective coupler 114-1) comprising a grating coupler (114-1), operatively coupled to the second bus waveguide (110), configured to filter the portion (l1 to l4) of the modulated optical signal to generate a filtered optical signal (l1 to l4, which is output within the OPTICAL SIGNALS l1- ln) by coupling light within a specific wavelength range (l1 to l4) between the first bus waveguide (110-1) and the second bus waveguide (110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Mi et al and Zheng et al to the system/method of Xie so that different wavelength bands can be conveniently and easily directed to different unit cell of ring modulator, and each wavelength is individually modulated by a ring modulator.
10). With regard to claim 16, Xie discloses a wherein the unit cell further comprises a third bus waveguide (Figure O1: Couple-Waveguide Grating Device 112-1. Xie: the waveguide between the interleaver 220(1) and interleaver 240(1), or the waveguide 310 shown in Figure 3; and column 9 line 65 to column 10 line 45) disposed between a first multiplexer component (Figure O1: 114-1-1. Or Xie: 220(1)) of the multiplexer and a second multiplexer component (Figure O1: 114-1. Or Xie: 240(1)) of the multiplexer.
11). With regard to claim 20, Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 15 above, and the combination of Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al further discloses wherein the grating coupler is a contra-directional assisted grating coupler (Mi: the grating-assisted directional coupler, GADC. Zheng: the grating coupler is a type of GADC, Figure 3, [0049]).
Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Hayakawa (US 2015/0316794) and Vollmerhausen (US 10,727,952).
1). With regard to claims 3, 10 and 17, Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above. But, Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al do not expressly disclose wherein each ring waveguide further comprises at least one electrical component configured to tune a resonant frequency of the ring waveguide by modifying an index of refraction of a material of the ring waveguide.
However, to use an electrical component to tune a resonant frequency of a ring waveguide is well known in the art. E.g., Hayakawa discloses to use a resister (Figure 2, heater 17, and heater electrode 8(8X)) to tune a resonant frequency of a ring waveguide by modifying an index of refraction of a material of the ring waveguide ([0056], and Figure 2). And another prior art, Vollmerhausen, also discloses that a diode can be used to modifying an index of refraction of a material of the ring waveguide (Figure 11, and column 15 lines 7-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an electrical component as taught by Hayakawa and Vollmerhausen to the system/method of Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al so that the resonance frequency of the ring modulator can be accurately controlled, signal quality can be improved, and reliability of the system/method can be enhanced.
2). With regard to claims 4, 11 and 18, Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al and Hayakawa and Vollmerhausen disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15 and 17 above. And the combination of Xie and Mi et al and Zheng et al and Hayakawa and Vollmerhausen further discloses wherein the at least one electrical component comprises at least one of: a resistor (Hayakawa: a resistor is used), a diode (Vollmerhausen: diode is used) or a transistor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LI LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634
March 28, 2026