DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II (claims 1, 3-7, and 10-20) in the reply filed on 5/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Examiner notes that claim 5 is directed to non-elected Species III and will not be examined.
Claims 2, 5, 8, and 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/26/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3, "device on the lower substrate of the low-power region" should be amended to read -device. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “wherein the plurality of post electrodes connect the lower substrate to the upper substrate; and a plurality of passive devices between the plurality of post electrodes and the region adjacent the edge of the lower substrate, wherein the plurality of passive devices connect the plurality of post electrodes to the lower substrate.” It is unclear how the passive devices connect the plurality of post electrodes to the lower substrate while the plurality of post electrodes is between the plurality of post electrodes and the region and also connect the lower substrate to the upper substrate. As shown in Fig. 3, there are two types of post electrodes 42 and 44. One type, 44, connects the upper substrate 50 to the lower substrate 10 while the other type, 42, is connected to the lower substrate 10 by the passive device 32. Therefore, the claim appears to be using one label (a plurality of post electrodes”) to refer to two different types of post electrodes. Thus, Examiner interprets the limitation “a plurality of post electrodes between a region adjacent an edge of the lower substrate and a region adjacent an edge of the upper substrate, wherein the plurality of post electrodes connect the lower substrate to the upper substrate” to mean –a plurality of post electrodes comprising a first plurality of post electrodes between a first region adjacent a first edge of the lower substrate and a first region adjacent a first edge of the upper substrate and a second plurality of post electrodes between a second region adjacent a second edge of the lower substrate and a second region adjacent a second edge of the upper substrate, wherein the first plurality of post electrodes and the second plurality of post electrodes each comprise a first subset that connect the lower substrate to the upper substrate–. The Examiner further interprets “a plurality of passive devices between the plurality of post electrodes and the region adjacent the edge of the lower substrate, wherein the plurality of passive devices connect the plurality of post electrodes to the lower substrate” to mean –a plurality of passive devices comprising a first passive device and a second passive device, wherein the first passive device is on the first region adjacent the first edge of the lower substrate and the second passive device is on the second region adjacent the second edge of the lower substrate, wherein the first plurality of post electrodes and the second plurality of post electrodes each comprise a second subset of post electrodes, wherein the first passive device is between the second subset of the first plurality of post electrodes and the first region adjacent the first edge of the lower substrate and the second passive device is between the second subset of the second plurality of post electrodes and the second region adjacent the second edge of the lower substrate, wherein the first passive device connects the second subset of the first plurality of post electrodes to the lower substrate and the second passive device connects the second subset of the second plurality of post electrodes to the lower substrate–. As such, claim 3 is then interpreted to mean –wherein the first region adjacent the first edge of the lower substrate is adjacent one side edge of the lower substrate and the second region adjacent the second edge of the lower substrate is adjacent another side edge of the lower substrate–. These interpretations improve the clarity of claims 1 and 3 by claiming that the first and second passive devices are on different sides of the lower substrate instead of on the same side as currently claimed in claim 1. Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, and 10 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 recites “wherein the plurality of post electrodes connect the lower substrate to the upper substrate; and a plurality of passive devices between the plurality of post electrodes and the region adjacent the edge of the lower substrate, wherein the plurality of passive devices connect the plurality of post electrodes to the lower substrate.” It is unclear how the passive devices connect the plurality of post electrodes to the lower substrate while the plurality of post electrodes is between the plurality of post electrodes and the region and also connect the lower substrate to the upper substrate. As shown in Fig. 3, there are two types of post electrodes 42 and 44. One type, 44, connects the upper substrate 50 to the lower substrate 10 while the other type, 42, is connected to the lower substrate 10 by the passive device 32. Therefore, the claim appears to be using one label (a plurality of post electrodes”) to refer to two different types of post electrodes. Thus, Examiner interprets the limitation “a plurality of post electrodes between a region adjacent an edge of the lower substrate and a region adjacent an edge of the upper substrate, wherein the plurality of post electrodes connect the lower substrate to the upper substrate” to mean –a plurality of post electrodes comprising a first plurality of post electrodes between a first region adjacent a first edge of the lower substrate and a first region adjacent a first edge of the upper substrate and a second plurality of post electrodes between a second region adjacent a second edge of the lower substrate and a second region adjacent a second edge of the upper substrate, wherein the first plurality of post electrodes and the second plurality of post electrodes each comprise a first subset that connect the lower substrate to the upper substrate–. The Examiner further interprets “a plurality of passive devices between the plurality of post electrodes and the region adjacent the edge of the lower substrate, wherein the plurality of passive devices connect the plurality of post electrodes to the lower substrate” to mean –a plurality of passive devices comprising a first passive device and a second passive device, wherein the first passive device is on the first region adjacent the first edge of the lower substrate and the second passive device is on the second region adjacent the second edge of the lower substrate, wherein the first plurality of post electrodes and the second plurality of post electrodes each comprise a second subset of post electrodes, wherein the first passive device is between the second subset of the first plurality of post electrodes and the first region adjacent the first edge of the lower substrate and the second passive device is between the second subset of the second plurality of post electrodes and the second region adjacent the second edge of the lower substrate, wherein the first passive device connects the second subset of the first plurality of post electrodes to the lower substrate and the second passive device connects the second subset of the second plurality of post electrodes to the lower substrate–. As such, the limitations “wherein the plurality of post electrodes comprise: a plurality of first post electrodes between the lower substrate and the upper substrate; and a plurality of second post electrodes between the plurality of passive devices and the upper substrate, wherein the plurality of second post electrodes are shorter than the plurality of first post electrodes” to mean –wherein the first plurality of post electrodes and the second plurality of post electrodes comprise: the first subset of each of the first plurality of post electrodes and the second plurality of post electrodes are between the lower substrate and the upper substrate; and the second subset of the first plurality of post electrodes is between the first passive device and the upper substrate and the second subset of the second plurality of post electrodes is between the second passive device and the upper substrate, wherein each of the second subsets of the first and second plurality of post electrodes is shorter than the first subsets of each of the first and second plurality of post electrodes–. Claims 12-15 inherit the deficiencies of claim 11. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 16 recites “wherein the plurality of post electrodes connect the lower substrate to the upper substrate; and a plurality of passive devices between the plurality of post electrodes and the region adjacent the edge of the lower substrate, wherein the plurality of passive devices connect the plurality of post electrodes to the lower substrate.” It is unclear how the passive devices connect the plurality of post electrodes to the lower substrate while the plurality of post electrodes is between the plurality of post electrodes and the region and also connect the lower substrate to the upper substrate. As shown in Fig. 3, there are two types of post electrodes 42 and 44. One type, 44, connects the upper substrate 50 to the lower substrate 10 while the other type, 42, is connected to the lower substrate 10 by the passive device 32. Therefore, the claim appears to be using one label (a plurality of post electrodes”) to refer to two different types of post electrodes. Thus, Examiner interprets the limitation “a plurality of post electrodes between a region adjacent an edge of the lower substrate and a region adjacent an edge of the upper substrate, wherein the plurality of post electrodes connect the lower substrate to the upper substrate” to mean –a plurality of post electrodes comprising a first plurality of post electrodes between a first region adjacent a first edge of the lower substrate and a first region adjacent a first edge of the upper substrate and a second plurality of post electrodes between a second region adjacent a second edge of the lower substrate and a second region adjacent a second edge of the upper substrate, wherein the first plurality of post electrodes and the second plurality of post electrodes each comprise a first subset that connect the lower substrate to the upper substrate–. The Examiner further interprets “a plurality of passive devices between the plurality of post electrodes and the region adjacent the edge of the lower substrate, wherein the plurality of passive devices connect the plurality of post electrodes to the lower substrate” to mean –a plurality of passive devices comprising a first passive device and a second passive device, wherein the first passive device is on the first region adjacent the first edge of the lower substrate and the second passive device is on the second region adjacent the second edge of the lower substrate, wherein the first plurality of post electrodes and the second plurality of post electrodes each comprise a second subset of post electrodes, wherein the first passive device is between the second subset of the first plurality of post electrodes and the first region adjacent the first edge of the lower substrate and the second passive device is between the second subset of the second plurality of post electrodes and the second region adjacent the second edge of the lower substrate, wherein the first passive device connects the second subset of the first plurality of post electrodes to the lower substrate and the second passive device connects the second subset of the second plurality of post electrodes to the lower substrate–. As such, claim 19 that recites “wherein the plurality of post electrodes comprise: a plurality of first post electrodes between the lower substrate and the upper substrate; and a plurality of second post electrodes between the plurality of passive devices and the upper substrate, wherein the plurality of second post electrodes are shorter than the plurality of first post electrodes” to mean –wherein the first plurality of post electrodes and the second plurality of post electrodes comprise: the first subset of each of the first plurality of post electrodes and the second plurality of post electrodes are between the lower substrate and the upper substrate; and the second subset of the first plurality of post electrodes is between the first passive device and the upper substrate and the second subset of the second plurality of post electrodes is between the second passive device and the upper substrate, wherein each of the second subsets of the first and second plurality of post electrodes is shorter than the first subsets of each of the first and second plurality of post electrodes–. Claims 17-20 inherit the deficiencies of claim 16. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 10, 11, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (US 2019/0371781 and Huang hereinafter).
Examiner notes that the interpretations of paragraph 9 should be referenced when reviewing the following rejection.
As to claims 1, 3, and 10: Huang discloses [claim 1] a semiconductor package (Fig. 6H; 60a; [0079]), comprising: a lower substrate (102; [0022]); a lower device (100; [0026]) on a center of the lower substrate (102); an upper substrate (132; [0031]) on the lower device (100) and the lower substrate (102); a plurality of post electrodes (comprising 605, where the first plurality of post electrodes is left 605 and the second plurality of post electrodes is right 605; [0075]) between a region (first region is the left side of the lower substrate and the second region is the right side of the lower substrate) adjacent (“adjacent” is interpreted to mean -near-) an edge (first edge is the left edge of the lower substrate and the second edge is the right edge of the lower substrate) of the lower substrate (102) and a region (first region is the left side of the upper substrate and the second region is the right side of the upper substrate) adjacent (“adjacent” is interpreted to mean -near-) an edge (first edge is the left edge of the upper substrate and the second edge is the right edge of the upper substrate) of the upper substrate (132), wherein the plurality of post electrodes (the first subset is left 609 and the second subset is right 609) connect the lower substrate (102) to the upper substrate (132); and a plurality of passive devices (first passive device is left 220 and second passive device is right 220; [0047]) between the plurality of post electrodes (first passive device, left 220, is between the second subset, left 608, of the plurality of first electrodes (left 605) and the second passive device, right 220, is between the second subset, right 608, of the plurality of second electrodes (right 605)) and the region adjacent (“adjacent” is interpreted to mean -near-) the edge (first passive device is near the left edge and second passive device is near the right edge) of the lower substrate (102), wherein the plurality of passive devices (first passive device is left 220 and the second passive device is right 220) connect the plurality of post electrodes (left 608 is the second subset of the first plurality of post electrodes and right 608 is the second subset of the second plurality of post electrodes) to the lower substrate (102); [claim 3] wherein the plurality of passive devices (first passive device is left 220 and the second passive device is right 220) comprise: a first passive device (left 220) on a region (left side) adjacent (“adjacent” is interpreted to mean -near-) one side edge (left edge) of the lower substrate (102); and a second passive device (right 220) on a region (right side) adjacent (“adjacent” is interpreted to mean -near-) another side edge (right edge) of the lower substrate (102); [claim 10] wherein the lower device (100) comprises an application processor (AP; [0026]).
Examiner notes that the interpretations of paragraph 10 should be referenced when reviewing the following rejection.
As to claim 11: Huang discloses a semiconductor package (Fig. 6H; 60a; [0079]), comprising: a lower substrate (102; [0022]); a lower device (100; [0026]) on a center of the lower substrate (102); an upper substrate (132; [0031]) on the lower device (100) and the lower substrate (102); a plurality of post electrodes (comprising 605, where the first plurality of post electrodes is left 605 and the second plurality of post electrodes is right 605; [0075]) between a region (first region is the left side of the lower substrate and the second region is the right side of the lower substrate) adjacent (“adjacent” is interpreted to mean -near-) an edge (first edge is the left edge of the lower substrate and the second edge is the right edge of the lower substrate) of the lower substrate (102) and a region (first region is the left side of the upper substrate and the second region is the right side of the upper substrate) adjacent (“adjacent” is interpreted to mean -near-) an edge (first edge is the left edge of the upper substrate and the second edge is the right edge of the upper substrate) of the upper substrate (132), wherein the plurality of post electrodes (the first subset is left 609 and the second subset is right 609) connect the lower substrate (102) to the upper substrate (132); and a plurality of passive devices (first passive device is left 220 and second passive device is right 220; [0047]) between the plurality of post electrodes (first passive device, left 220, is between the second subset, left 608, of the plurality of first electrodes (left 605) and the second passive device, right 220, is between the second subset, right 608, of the plurality of second electrodes (right 605)) and the region adjacent (“adjacent” is interpreted to mean -near-) the edge (first passive device is near the left edge and second passive device is near the right edge) of the lower substrate (102), wherein the plurality of passive devices (first passive device is left 220 and the second passive device is right 220) connect the plurality of post electrodes (left 608 is the second subset of the first plurality of post electrodes and right 608 is the second subset of the second plurality of post electrodes) to the lower substrate (102); wherein the plurality of post electrodes (left 605 is the first plurality of post electrodes and right 605 is the second plurality of post electrodes) comprise: a plurality of first post electrodes (left 609 is the first subset of the first plurality of post electrodes and right 609 is the first subset of the second plurality of post electrodes) between the lower substrate (102) and the upper substrate (132); and a plurality of second post electrodes (left 608 is the second subset of the first plurality of post electrodes and right 608 is the second subset of the second plurality of post electrodes) between the plurality of passive devices (left 608 is between the first passive device (left 220) and the upper substrate and right 608 is between the second passive device (right 220) and the upper substrate) and the upper substrate (132), wherein the plurality of second post electrodes (each of 608) are shorter (as shown in the Figure; [0075]) than the plurality of first post electrodes (each of 609).
Examiner notes that the interpretations of paragraph 11 should be referenced when reviewing the following rejection.
As to claims 16 and 18-20: Huang discloses [claim 16] a semiconductor package (Fig. 7J; [0082]), comprising: a lower substrate (102; [0022]); a lower device (100; [0026]) on a center of the lower substrate (102); a first upper substrate (132; [0031]) on the lower device (100) and the lower substrate (102); a second upper substrate (202; [0040]) on the first upper substrate (132); a plurality of upper devices (comprising 200a and 200b; [0040]) on the second upper substrate (202); a plurality of post electrodes (comprising 105, 713, and 723 (Fig. 7C), where the first plurality of post electrodes is left 105 and 713 and the second plurality of post electrodes is right 105 and 723; [0084]-[0085]) between a region (first region is the left side of the lower substrate and the second region is the right side of the lower substrate) adjacent (“adjacent” is interpreted to mean -near-) an edge (first edge is the left edge of the lower substrate and the second edge is the right edge of the lower substrate) of the lower substrate (102) and a region (first region is the left side of the upper substrate and the second region is the right side of the upper substrate) adjacent (“adjacent” is interpreted to mean -near-) an edge (first edge is the left edge of the upper substrate and the second edge is the right edge of the upper substrate) of the first upper substrate (132), wherein the plurality of post electrodes (the first subset is left 105 and the second subset is right 105) connect the lower substrate (102) to the first upper substrate (132); and a plurality of passive devices (first passive device is 710 and second passive device is 720; [0085]) between the plurality of post electrodes (first passive device, 710, is between the second subset, 713, of the plurality of first electrodes and the second passive device, 720, is between the second subset, right 723, of the plurality of second electrodes) and the region adjacent (“adjacent” is interpreted to mean -near-) the edge (first passive device is near the left edge and second passive device is near the right edge) of the lower substrate (102), wherein the plurality of passive devices (first passive device is 710 and the second passive device is 720) connect the plurality of post electrodes (713 is the second subset of the first plurality of post electrodes and 723 is the second subset of the second plurality of post electrodes) to the lower substrate (102); [claim 18] further comprising a plurality of solder balls (204; [0040]) between the first upper substrate (132) and the second upper substrate (202); [claim 19] wherein the plurality of post electrodes (left 105 and 713 are the first plurality of post electrodes and right 105 and 723 are the second plurality of post electrodes) comprise: a plurality of first post electrodes (left 105 is the first subset of the first plurality of post electrodes and right 105 is the first subset of the second plurality of post electrodes) between the lower substrate (102) and the first upper substrate (132); and a plurality of second post electrodes (713 is the second subset of the first plurality of post electrodes and 723 is the second subset of the second plurality of post electrodes) between the plurality of passive devices (713 is between the first passive device (710) and the first upper substrate and 723 is between the second passive device (720) and the first upper substrate) and the first upper substrate (132), wherein the plurality of second post electrodes (713 and 723) are shorter (as shown in the Figure) than the plurality of first post electrodes (each of 105); [claim 20] wherein the lower device (100) comprises an application processor (AP; [0026]); and the plurality of upper devices (comprising 200a and 200b) comprise a memory device (there can be multiple of either or both 200a and 200b, at least one of which type, e.g. 200a, is a memory device; [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Chen et al (US 2019/0131273 and Chen hereinafter).
Although the structure disclosed by Huang shows substantial features of the claimed invention (discussed in paragraph 5 above), it fails to expressly disclose:
wherein the second passive device is wider than the first passive device.
Huang discloses a multi-chip wafer package that comprises two passive chips.
Chen discloses in Fig. 2 a multi-chip wafer package that comprises a first passive device 600 and a second passive device 500, wherein the second passive device (500; [0036]) is wider (as shown 500 is relatively wider than 600 and are described as having different sizes; [0036]) than the first passive device (600; [0036]).
Given the teachings of Chen, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Huang by employing the well-known or conventional features of integrated passive device integration, such as displayed by Chen, by employing passive chips/devices of different widths in order to allow for passive devices of different design requirements to be used to make the device functional for a desired application ([0036]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Liao (US 2023/0230970 and Liao hereinafter).
Huang discloses wherein each of the lower substrate (Fig. 7J; 102), the first upper substrate (132), comprises a redistribution substrate ([0022] and [0031]).
Huang fails to expressly disclose wherein the second upper substrate comprises a redistribution substrate.
Huang discloses in [0040] that 202 is a circuit substrate.
Liao discloses in [0045] that a circuit substrate can comprise a redistribution layer structure, an interposer, or a circuit board.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art because, as stated in KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, in the instant case choosing the circuit substrate of Huang to comprise a redistribution ; if this leads to the anticipated success, in the instant case a substrate that can electrically connect upper devices and lower devices to form a functioning package, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, and 12-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JOSEPH C. NICELY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/JOSEPH C. NICELY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813