DETAILED ACTION
Specification
1. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
2. Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, line 2, 3, “the drain electrode” should be changed to “the drain electrode metal” in order to be in consistent with what is priorly defined in independent claims 1, 3 (in claim 3 having “the drain electrode metal” because “the drain electrode”, in claim 5, lacks of antecedent basis).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1 – 6, 9 – 14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bothe et al. (20220328634) in view of Sheridan (10777673).
With regard to claim 1, Bothe et al. disclose a high electron mobility transistor (for example, see fig. 4, and paragraphs [0069], [0091]) comprising:
a GaN epi-layer (190; for example, see paragraph [0076]);
a first passivation layer (layer 125; for example, see paragraph [0093]) deposited on the GaN epi-layer (190);
a source electrode metal (both layers 122 and 123A as annotated in fig. 4 below functioning as a source electrode metal wherein the conductive source layer 123A inherently made of a metal material in order to secure the electrical connections; for example, see paragraph [0084]) recessed into the first passivation layer (125) and deposited on the GaN epi-layer (190) for forming an Ohmic contact (122; for example, see paragraph [0084]) on the GaN epi-layer (190),
the source electrode metal (122, 123A) having a source field plate (referred to as “123A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) with a source field plate length (there is inherently a length in the source field plate);
a drain electrode metal (both layers 124 and 123B as annotated in fig. 4 below functioning as a drain electrode metal wherein the conductive drain layer 123B inherently made of a metal material in order to secure the electrical connections; for example, see paragraph [0084]) recessed (a recess at the inner edge 124A) into the first passivation layer (125) and deposited on the GaN epi-layer (190) for forming an Ohmic contact (124; for example, see paragraph [0084]) on the GaN epi-layer (190),
the drain electrode metal (124, 123B) having a drain field plate (referred to as “123B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) with a drain field plate length (there is inherently a length in the drain field plate);
a gate electrode (126) recessed into the first passivation layer (125) and deposited on the GaN epi-layer (190) and situated between the source electrode metal (122, 123A) and the drain electrode metal (124, 123B); and
a field plate (128) situated between the gate electrode (126) and the drain electrode metal (124, 123B).
Bothe et al. do not clearly disclose the length of the drain field plate is greater than the length of the source field plate.
However, Sheridan discloses the length (the length LSD-FP2) of the drain field plate (a source/drain plate 140-2 functioning as a drain field plate) is greater than the length (the length LSD-FP1) of the source field plate (a source/drain plate 140-1 functioning as a source field plate). (for example, see fig. 3 of Sheridan).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Bothe et al.’s device to have the length of the drain field plate is greater than the length of the source field plate as taught by Sheridan in order to enhance a high electron mobility efficiency of the device for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 2, Bothe et al. disclose a distance between the field plate (128) and the drain field plate (123B) is equal to or larger than 0.5 um. (a distance TT-FP2 between the field plate (128) and the gate (126) is 0.5 um; for example, see paragraph [0099]; while the distance, between the field plate (128) and the drain field plate (123B), is greater than distance TT-FP2 between the field plate (128) and the gate (126). Therefore, it is inherently the distance between the field plate (128) and the drain field plate (123B) is larger than 0.5 um).
With regard to claim 3, Bothe et al. disclose the drain field plate (123B) is a drain extension of the drain electrode metal (124, 123B) extended toward the gate electrode (126), and the field plate (128) and the drain field plate (123B) are deposited on the first passivation layer (125).
With regard to claim 4, Bothe et al. disclose the drain field plate is divided into a first drain extension section (referred to as “123B1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) and a second extension section (referred to as “123B2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below), wherein the first drain extension section (123B1) and the second extension section (123B2) are spaced apart, with the second extension section (123B2) situated between the field plate (128) and the first drain extension section (123B1).
With regard to claim 5, Bothe et al. disclose the second drain extension section (123B2) is electrically connected to the drain electrode metal (124, 123B).
With regard to claim 6, Bothe et al. disclose a second passivation layer (121) covering the first passivation layer (125), covering (covering a bottom surface or a top surface) the source electrode metal (122, 123A), and the drain electrode metal (124, 123B), wherein the drain field plate (123B) is a combination of a first additional drain field plate (referred to as “123B3” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below), a first drain extension section (referred to as “123B1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) and a second extension section (referred to as “123B2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below); the first drain extension section (123B1) and the second extension section (123B2) are situated on (above) the first passivation layer (125); and both the field plate (128) and the first additional drain field plate (123B3) are situated on (above) the second passivation layer (121) such that a portion of the first additional drain field plate (123B3) is overlapping with the second extension section (123B2) and is electrically connected to the second extension section (123B2) by vias (referred to as “V1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) in the second passivation layer (121).
With regard to claim 9, Bothe et al. disclose the drain field plate (124, 123B) comprises a first drain extension section (referred to as “123B1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) and a second extension section (referred to as “123B2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below), wherein the first passivation layer (both layers 121, 125 can also to be the first passivation layer) under the bottom of the first drain extension section (123B1) is recessed (a recess at an edge 124A) and the first passivation layer (121, 125) under the second drain extension section (123B2) remains full thickness.
With regard to claim 10, Bothe et al. disclose the first passivation layer (both layers 121, 125 can also to be the first passivation layer) under the first drain extension section (123B1) and the first passivation layer (121, 125) under the second extension section (123B1) form a stepped shape (referred to as “S1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below), with a tapered profile (referred to as “S2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below).
With regard to claim 11, Bothe et al. disclose the drain field plate (123B) deposited on the first passivation layer (125 or both layers 121, 125) and is divided into a first drain extension section (referred to as “123B1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below), a second extension section (referred to as “123B2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below), and a third drain extension section (referred to as “123B3” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below), wherein the first passivation layer (125) under the bottom of the third drain extension section (123B1) is recessed (a recess at an edge 124A) while remains full thickness under the other two extension sections (123B2, 123B3); and two opposite sides (left and right sides) of the second extension section (123B2) are connected with the first drain extension section (123B1) and the third drain extension section (123B3) respectively.
With regard to claim 12, Bothe et al. disclose the first drain extension section (123B1) is a drain extension of the drain electrode metal (123B, 124) extended toward the gate electrode (126).
With regard to claim 13, Bothe et al. disclose the first passivation layer (both layers 121, 125 can also to be the first passivation layer) is inherently etched to form a stepped shape (referred to as “S1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below), with a tapered profile (referred to as “S2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below).
With regard to claim 14, Bothe et al. disclose a second passivation layer (121) and a second additional drain field plate (referred to as “123B2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below), wherein the drain field plate (123B) is deposited on the first passivation layer (125), the field plate (128) is deposited on the second passivation layer (121), and a portion of the second additional drain field plate (123B2) is overlapping with the drain field plate (123B).
With regard to claim 18, Bothe et al. disclose the second additional drain field plate (123B2) is electrically connected to the drain electrode metal (124, 123B).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 5, 14, 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 4, 12 of U.S. Patent No. (11848376) in view of Lai et al. (11799000).
With regard to claim 1 of Applicant, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. (11848376) discloses every limitation except for forming Ohmic contacts on the GaN epi-layer.
However, claim 1 of Lai et al. (11799000) discloses forming Ohmic contacts on the GaN epi-layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the U.S. Patent No. (11848376)’s device to have Ohmic contacts on the GaN epi-layer as taught by Lai et al. (11799000) in order to reduce the source/drain resistance for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 2 of current Applicant’s Application is corresponding to claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. (11848376).
Claim 3 of current Applicant’s Application is corresponding to claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. (11848376).
Claim 4 of current Applicant’s Application is corresponding to claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. (11848376).
Claim 5 of current Applicant’s Application is corresponding to claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. (11848376) because it is inherently the high electron mobility transistor as claimed in claim 4 of the U.S. Patent No. (11848376) having the second drain extension section is electrically connected to the drain electrode in order to secure the electrical connections between the drain extension sections.
Claim 14 of current Applicant’s Application is corresponding to claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. (11848376).
Claim 18 of current Applicant’s Application is corresponding to claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. (11848376) because it is inherently the high electron mobility transistor as claimed in claim 12 of the U.S. Patent No. (11848376) having the second additional drain field plate is electrically connected to the drain electrode metal in order to secure the electrical connections between the drain field plate and the drain electrode metal.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 7, 8, 15 - 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7, 8 are allowable over the prior art of record, because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed invention such as the first drain extension section and the second extension section are spaced apart, with the first extension section being an extension of the drain electrode metal toward the gate electrode and the second extension section situated between the field plate and the first drain extension section as recited in claim 7.
Claims 15 - 17 are allowable over the prior art of record, because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed invention such as the second additional drain field plate is divided into a first section, a second section, and a third section, wherein both the first section and the third section are deposited on the second passivation layer, the second passivation layer under the second section is recessed such that the bottom of the second section is deposited on the first passivation layer, and two opposite sides of the second section are connected with the first section and the third section respectively as recited in claim 15.
Conclusion
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812