DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed February 17, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1 – 20 are pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings and Specification have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed October 14, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed February 17, 2026, with respect to claims 1 – 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10 – 11, 15 and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baldwin et al. (US Patent No. 10,755,699), hereinafter Baldwin.
Regarding claim 1, Baldwin discloses a multi-mode conversational computer system (Column 2, lines 25-27, "According to an aspect of the invention, an exemplary system architecture for implementing a cooperative conversational voice user interface is provided.") for implementing responses to multiple mode user interactions, the computer system comprising:
one or more processors and one or more memory devices in communication with the one or more processors (Column 22, lines 1-2, "one or more physical processors programmed with one or more computer program instructions");
a touch display screen having a graphical user interface configured to accept user touch input (Column 7, lines 41-45, "For example, the input device may include a combination of a microphone and a touch-screen device, and input 105 may include an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching."; Column 14, lines 19-23, "For example, the Session Input Accumulator may accumulate inputs including recognition text for each utterance, a recorded speech file for each utterance, a list-item selection history, a graphical user interface manipulation history, or other input data.");
and a voice bot configured to accept user voice input (Column 7, lines 41-45, "For example, the input device may include a combination of a microphone and a touch-screen device, and input 105 may include an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching."),
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive, as part of a user interaction with the computer system, at least two separate but associated exchanges of information/data with the computer system in proximate time of one another via the touch display screen and the voice bot (Column 7, line 33-49, "Referring to FIG. 1, an exemplary system architecture for implementing a cooperative conversational voice user interface is illustrated according to one aspect of the invention. The system may receive an input 105 from a user, where in one implementation, input 105 may be an utterance received by an input device (e.g., a microphone), where the utterance may include one or more requests. Input 105 may also be a multi-modal input, where at least part of the multi-modal input is an utterance. For example, the input device may include a combination of a microphone and a touch-screen device, and input 105 may include an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching. For instance, the touch-screen device may be a navigation device, and input 105 may include an utterance of “Give me directions to here,” where the user may be requesting directions to a desired destination on the display of the navigation device."; Receiving a multi-modal input including an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching reads on receiving at least two separate but associated exchanges of information/data with the computer system in proximate time of one another via the touch display screen and the voice bot, where an utterance that includes a request reads on an exchange of information via the voice bot and a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching reads on an exchange of information via the touch display screen.);
and output response data corresponding to first and second responses to the at least two separate but associated exchanges via a multimodal channel such that the first response is presented via the touch display screen and the second response is presented via the voice bot in proximate time of one another as part of the user interaction (Column 7, line 66 - Column 8, line 13, "Conversational speech engine 115 may include a conversational language processor 120 and/or a voice search engine 125, described in greater detail in FIG. 2 below. Conversational speech engine 115 may communicate with one or more databases 130 to generate an adaptive conversational response, which may be returned to the user as an output 140. In one implementation, output 140 may be a multi-modal output and/or an interaction with one or more applications 145 to complete the request. For example, output 140 may include a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device. For example, the utterance may include a request to perform an action, and output 140 may include a conversational response reporting success or failure, as well as an execution of the action."; Generating an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response, reads on outputting response data corresponding to first and second responses to the at least two separate but associated exchanges via a multimodal channel such that the first response is presented via the touch display screen and the second response is presented via the voice bot in proximate time of one another as part of the user interaction, where a display of a route on a navigation device reads on the first response being presented via the touch display screen, and a conversational response reads on the second response presented via the voice bot.).
Regarding claim 10, Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1.
Baldwin further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive user selectable input via a mouse or other input device (Column 7, line 33-49, "Referring to FIG. 1, an exemplary system architecture for implementing a cooperative conversational voice user interface is illustrated according to one aspect of the invention. The system may receive an input 105 from a user, where in one implementation, input 105 may be an utterance received by an input device (e.g., a microphone), where the utterance may include one or more requests. Input 105 may also be a multi-modal input, where at least part of the multi-modal input is an utterance. For example, the input device may include a combination of a microphone and a touch-screen device, and input 105 may include an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching. For instance, the touch-screen device may be a navigation device, and input 105 may include an utterance of “Give me directions to here,” where the user may be requesting directions to a desired destination on the display of the navigation device."; Receiving a multi-modal input including an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching reads on receiving user selectable input via an input device, where the user selecting a portion of a display of the touch display screen reads on a user selected input via an input device.).
Regarding claim 11, Baldwin discloses a computer-implemented method of facilitating a multi-mode conversation via a computer system (Column 2, lines 25-27, "According to an aspect of the invention, an exemplary system architecture for implementing a cooperative conversational voice user interface is provided.") comprising one or more processors and one or more memory devices in communication with the one or more processors (Column 22, lines 1-2, "one or more physical processors programmed with one or more computer program instructions"),
a touch display screen (Column 7, lines 41-45, "For example, the input device may include a combination of a microphone and a touch-screen device, and input 105 may include an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching."; Column 14, lines 19-23, "For example, the Session Input Accumulator may accumulate inputs including recognition text for each utterance, a recorded speech file for each utterance, a list-item selection history, a graphical user interface manipulation history, or other input data."),
and a voice bot (Column 7, lines 41-45, "For example, the input device may include a combination of a microphone and a touch-screen device, and input 105 may include an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching."),
the computer system configured for implementing responses to multiple mode user interactions (Column 7, lines 33-41, “Referring to FIG. 1, an exemplary system architecture for implementing a cooperative conversational voice user interface is illustrated according to one aspect of the invention. The system may receive an input 105 from a user, where in one implementation, input 105 may be an utterance received by an input device (e.g., a microphone), where the utterance may include one or more requests. Input 105 may also be a multi-modal input, where at least part of the multi-modal input is an utterance.”),
the computer-implemented method comprising: receiving, as part of a user interaction with the computer system, i) a user touch input via the touch display screen, the touch display screen having a graphical user interface configured to accept the user touch input and (ii) a user voice input via the voice bot, the voice bot being configured to accept the user voice input, wherein the user touch input and the user voice input are part of at least two or more separate but associated exchanges of information/data with the computer system as part of the user interaction and received in proximate time of one another via the touch display screen and the voice bot (Column 7, line 33-49, "Referring to FIG. 1, an exemplary system architecture for implementing a cooperative conversational voice user interface is illustrated according to one aspect of the invention. The system may receive an input 105 from a user, where in one implementation, input 105 may be an utterance received by an input device (e.g., a microphone), where the utterance may include one or more requests. Input 105 may also be a multi-modal input, where at least part of the multi-modal input is an utterance. For example, the input device may include a combination of a microphone and a touch-screen device, and input 105 may include an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching. For instance, the touch-screen device may be a navigation device, and input 105 may include an utterance of “Give me directions to here,” where the user may be requesting directions to a desired destination on the display of the navigation device."; Receiving a multi-modal input including an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching reads on receiving at least two separate but associated exchanges of information/data with the computer system in proximate time of one another via the touch display screen and the voice bot, where an utterance that includes a request reads on a user voice input via the voice bot and a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching reads on a user touch input via the touch display screen.);
and outputting response data corresponding to first and second responses to the at least two separate but associated exchanges via a multimodal channel such that the first response is presented via the touch display screen and the second response is presented via the voice bot in proximate time of one another as part of the user interaction (Column 7, line 66 - Column 8, line 13, "Conversational speech engine 115 may include a conversational language processor 120 and/or a voice search engine 125, described in greater detail in FIG. 2 below. Conversational speech engine 115 may communicate with one or more databases 130 to generate an adaptive conversational response, which may be returned to the user as an output 140. In one implementation, output 140 may be a multi-modal output and/or an interaction with one or more applications 145 to complete the request. For example, output 140 may include a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device. For example, the utterance may include a request to perform an action, and output 140 may include a conversational response reporting success or failure, as well as an execution of the action."; Generating an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response, reads on outputting response data corresponding to first and second responses to the at least two separate but associated exchanges via a multimodal channel such that the first response is presented via the touch display screen and the second response is presented via the voice bot in proximate time of one another as part of the user interaction, where a display of a route on a navigation device reads on the first response being presented via the touch display screen, and a conversational response reads on the second response presented via the voice bot.).
Regarding claim 15, Baldwin discloses a multi-mode conversational computer system (Column 2, lines 25-27, "According to an aspect of the invention, an exemplary system architecture for implementing a cooperative conversational voice user interface is provided.") for implementing responses to multiple mode user interactions, the computer system comprising:
one or more processors and one or more memory devices in communication with the one or more processors (Column 22, lines 1-2, "one or more physical processors programmed with one or more computer program instructions");
a touch display screen having a graphical user interface configured to accept user touch input and a user selected or selectable input (Column 7, lines 41-45, "For example, the input device may include a combination of a microphone and a touch-screen device, and input 105 may include an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching."; Column 14, lines 19-23, "For example, the Session Input Accumulator may accumulate inputs including recognition text for each utterance, a recorded speech file for each utterance, a list-item selection history, a graphical user interface manipulation history, or other input data."; A request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching reads on a user touch input and a user selected input, where the user is selecting a portion of a display.),
and a voice bot configured to accept user voice input (Column 7, lines 41-45, "For example, the input device may include a combination of a microphone and a touch-screen device, and input 105 may include an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching."),
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive, as part of a user interaction with the computer system, at least two separate but associated exchanges of information/data with the computer system in proximate time of one another via the touch display screen and the voice bot (Column 7, line 33-49, "Referring to FIG. 1, an exemplary system architecture for implementing a cooperative conversational voice user interface is illustrated according to one aspect of the invention. The system may receive an input 105 from a user, where in one implementation, input 105 may be an utterance received by an input device (e.g., a microphone), where the utterance may include one or more requests. Input 105 may also be a multi-modal input, where at least part of the multi-modal input is an utterance. For example, the input device may include a combination of a microphone and a touch-screen device, and input 105 may include an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching. For instance, the touch-screen device may be a navigation device, and input 105 may include an utterance of “Give me directions to here,” where the user may be requesting directions to a desired destination on the display of the navigation device."; Receiving a multi-modal input including an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching reads on receiving at least two separate but associated exchanges of information/data with the computer system in proximate time of one another via the touch display screen and the voice bot, where an utterance that includes a request reads on an exchange of information via the voice bot and a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching reads on an exchange of information via the touch display screen.);
and output response data corresponding to first and second responses to the at least two separate but associated exchanges via a multimodal channel such that the first response is presented via the touch display screen and the second response is presented via the voice bot in proximate time of one another as part of the user interaction (Column 7, line 66 - Column 8, line 13, "Conversational speech engine 115 may include a conversational language processor 120 and/or a voice search engine 125, described in greater detail in FIG. 2 below. Conversational speech engine 115 may communicate with one or more databases 130 to generate an adaptive conversational response, which may be returned to the user as an output 140. In one implementation, output 140 may be a multi-modal output and/or an interaction with one or more applications 145 to complete the request. For example, output 140 may include a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device. For example, the utterance may include a request to perform an action, and output 140 may include a conversational response reporting success or failure, as well as an execution of the action."; Generating an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response, reads on outputting response data corresponding to first and second responses to the at least two separate but associated exchanges via a multimodal channel such that the first response is presented via the touch display screen and the second response is presented via the voice bot in proximate time of one another as part of the user interaction, where a display of a route on a navigation device reads on the first response being presented via the touch display screen, and a conversational response reads on the second response presented via the voice bot.).
Regarding claim 19, Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 15.
Baldwin further discloses:
wherein the at least two separate but associated exchanges of information/data include a user touch input on the touch display screen via a user associated with the user interaction touching the touch display screen, a user selected or selectable input via the user via a mouse or other input device, and a user voice input via the user via the voice bot (Column 7, line 33-49, "Referring to FIG. 1, an exemplary system architecture for implementing a cooperative conversational voice user interface is illustrated according to one aspect of the invention. The system may receive an input 105 from a user, where in one implementation, input 105 may be an utterance received by an input device (e.g., a microphone), where the utterance may include one or more requests. Input 105 may also be a multi-modal input, where at least part of the multi-modal input is an utterance. For example, the input device may include a combination of a microphone and a touch-screen device, and input 105 may include an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching. For instance, the touch-screen device may be a navigation device, and input 105 may include an utterance of “Give me directions to here,” where the user may be requesting directions to a desired destination on the display of the navigation device."; Receiving a multi-modal input including an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching reads on receiving at least two separate but associated exchanges of information/data including a user touch input on the touch display screen via a user associated with the user interaction touching the touch display screen, a user selected or selectable input via the user via a mouse or other input device, and a user voice input via the user via the voice bot, where an utterance that includes a request reads on a user voice input via the voice bot, a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching reads on a user touch input on the touch display screen via a user associated with the user interaction touching the touch display screen, and the user selecting a portion of a display of the touch display screen reads on a user selected input via an input device.).
Regarding claim 20, Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1.
Baldwin further discloses:
further comprising a multimodal server, wherein the multimodal server is part of the multimodal channel and configured to: combine audio processing tasks associated with the voice bot with user touch input processing tasks associated with the touch display screen (Column 7, line 33-49, "Referring to FIG. 1, an exemplary system architecture for implementing a cooperative conversational voice user interface is illustrated according to one aspect of the invention. The system may receive an input 105 from a user, where in one implementation, input 105 may be an utterance received by an input device (e.g., a microphone), where the utterance may include one or more requests. Input 105 may also be a multi-modal input, where at least part of the multi-modal input is an utterance. For example, the input device may include a combination of a microphone and a touch-screen device, and input 105 may include an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching. For instance, the touch-screen device may be a navigation device, and input 105 may include an utterance of “Give me directions to here,” where the user may be requesting directions to a desired destination on the display of the navigation device."; Column 8, lines 10-20, "For example, the utterance may include a request to perform an action, and output 140 may include a conversational response reporting success or failure, as well as an execution of the action. In addition, in various implementations, the speech recognition engine 110, conversational speech engine 115, and/or databases 130 may reside locally (e.g., on a user device), remotely (e.g., on a server), or a hybrid model of local and remote processing may be used (e.g., lightweight applications may be processed locally while computationally intensive applications may be processed remotely)."; A conversational speech engine residing remotely on a server receiving multi-modal inputs reads on a multimodal server, and receiving a multi-modal input including an utterance that includes a request relating to a portion of a display on the touch-screen device that the user is touching reads on combining audio processing tasks associated with the voice bot with user touch input processing tasks associated with the touch display screen, where an utterance that includes a request reads on an audio processing task and the user touching a portion of a display on the touch-screen device to indicate a location for requested directions reads on a user touch input processing task.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 7, 13 – 14 and 16 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin in view of Evans et al. (US Patent No. 11,158,004), hereinafter Evans.
Regarding claim 2, Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1, but does not specifically disclose: wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with insurance.
Evans teaches:
wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with insurance (Column 3, lines 14-19, "The presently disclosed example embodiments are generally directed to systems and techniques for utilizing natural language understanding, object recognition in digital images, human behavior profiling, and so on, to facilitate property maintenance, event handling (e.g., for fires, floods, hurricanes, tornadoes, etc.), and/or insurance responses."; Column 3, lines 45-52, "As described in more detail below, in many examples, a virtual assistant (also referred to as a virtual agent or intelligent personal assistant) may be output to a user to facilitate various functions. The virtual assistant may be output in any suitable format, such as a virtual assistant on a web site with a text interface (e.g., a chatbot), a virtual assistant application on a mobile device, or a speech interface, for example."; Column 5, lines 40-46, "The client device 108 is configured to engage in user interaction with a communication component 112 of the client device. The user interaction may take a variety of forms, such as mouse inputs (e.g., click, hover, scroll), keyboard inputs (e.g., type, navigate, volume control), voice inputs (e.g., instructions, selections, inquiries), touch inputs (e.g., through a touch screen), and so forth."; A virtual assistant to facilitate insurance responses, where the virtual assistant is a chatbot and where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs, reads on the user touch input and the user voice input being associated with insurance.).
Evans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Evans to implement a virtual assistant to facilitate insurance responses, where the virtual assistant is a chatbot and where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs. Doing so would allow for a user to interact with an automated system to manage and maintain their property, prepare for or react to an event, efficiently provide an insurer with a notice of loss, receive an insurance claim estimate, and perform a variety of other functions without having to interact with a human insurance agent (Evans; Column 3, lines 14-47).
Regarding claim 3, Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1, but does not specifically disclose: wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with the same subject, matter, or topic including completing a grocery delivery or ordering other goods or services.
Evans teaches:
wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with the same subject, matter, or topic including completing a grocery delivery or ordering other goods or services (Column 5, lines 40-46, "The client device 108 is configured to engage in user interaction with a communication component 112 of the client device. The user interaction may take a variety of forms, such as mouse inputs (e.g., click, hover, scroll), keyboard inputs (e.g., type, navigate, volume control), voice inputs (e.g., instructions, selections, inquiries), touch inputs (e.g., through a touch screen), and so forth."; Column 6, lines 39-54, "The illustrated environment 100 further includes a number of systems to support the service provider system 102, including but not limited to an event information system 122, an insurance management system 124, materials and labor services 126, and auxiliary loss information services 128. The systems 122-128 may be implemented as, and/or in conjunction with, a single computing device or a plurality of different devices, such as multiple servers utilized by a business to perform operations over the cloud as further described in FIG. 19. The service provider system 102 may call on one or multiple of the systems 122-128 to perform a service and/or provide information to the user 106 via the client device 108, such as part of a natural language conversation with the user or as part of a notification provided to the user, to name a few examples and as discussed in greater detail below."; A service provider system utilized by a business to perform operations over the cloud, where the service provider system calls on a system to perform a service for the user and where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs, reads on the user touch input and the user voice input being associated with a topic including ordering services.).
Evans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Evans to implement a service provider system utilized by a business to perform operations over the cloud, where the service provider system calls on a system to perform a service for the user and where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs. Doing so would allow for a user to interact with an automated system to manage and maintain their property, prepare for or react to an event, efficiently provide an insurer with a notice of loss, receive an insurance claim estimate, and perform a variety of other functions without having to interact with a human insurance agent (Evans; Column 3, lines 14-47).
Regarding claim 4, Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1, but does not specifically disclose: wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with the same insurance claim or insurance quote.
Evans teaches:
wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with the same insurance claim or insurance quote (Column 5, lines 40-46, "The client device 108 is configured to engage in user interaction with a communication component 112 of the client device. The user interaction may take a variety of forms, such as mouse inputs (e.g., click, hover, scroll), keyboard inputs (e.g., type, navigate, volume control), voice inputs (e.g., instructions, selections, inquiries), touch inputs (e.g., through a touch screen), and so forth."; Column 5, lines 58-65, "The user interface component 114 may output a variety of user interfaces to enable user interaction with the client device 108 and/or the service provider system 102. For example, the user interface component 114 may enable the user 106 to communicate with other users and/or the service provider system 102 using a chat interface 116, where the user may input text, voice, digital images and/or video, and so forth."; Column 9, lines 23-31, "Furthermore, the service provider system 102 may include a claim builder system 136. The claim builder system 136 may assist the user 106 through the process of documenting loss to property (utilizing the user interface component 114 and/or the natural language I/O component 120 and via the network 110), and/or provide the user 106 with a claim estimate to remedy the loss. As such, the claim builder system 136 may facilitate processing to generate a claim."; Column 44, lines 14-23, " FIG. 16 illustrates an example system 1600 including details of the claim builder system 136 of FIG. 1 in accordance with various embodiments. A validation component 1602 of the claim builder system 136 may receive one or more user inputs 1604 relating to a claim submission by a user. The user inputs 1604 may indicate an identity of a user, a policy associated with the user, a location or item of property of the user associated with the loss submission, an event that occurred that caused the asserted loss, and so forth."; Column 47, lines 3-5, "FIG. 17 illustrates an example system 1700 including a user interface 1702 provided by the claim builder system 136 of FIG. 1 in accordance with various embodiments."; Column 47, lines 61-63, "The user 1706 may initiate a selection 1716 of one of the options displayed in the framing menu 1714, such as via a touch input on the client device 1704."; A service provider system including a claim builder system that assists a user through the process of documenting loss to property and providing the user with a claim estimate to remedy the loss, where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs, reads on the user touch input and the user voice input being associated with the same insurance claim.).
Evans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Evans to implement a service provider system including a claim builder system that assists a user through the process of documenting loss to property and providing the user with a claim estimate to remedy the loss, where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs. Doing so would allow for a user to interact with an automated system to manage and maintain their property, prepare for or react to an event, efficiently provide an insurer with a notice of loss, receive an insurance claim estimate, and perform a variety of other functions without having to interact with a human insurance agent (Evans; Column 3, lines 14-47).
Regarding claim 5, Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1, but does not specifically disclose: wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with the same insurance policy.
Evans teaches:
wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with the same insurance policy (Column 5, lines 40-46, "The client device 108 is configured to engage in user interaction with a communication component 112 of the client device. The user interaction may take a variety of forms, such as mouse inputs (e.g., click, hover, scroll), keyboard inputs (e.g., type, navigate, volume control), voice inputs (e.g., instructions, selections, inquiries), touch inputs (e.g., through a touch screen), and so forth."; Column 12, line 61 - Column 13, line 8, "The service provider system 102 may also include a policy sales and underwriting system 146. The policy sales and underwriting system 146 may gather information from the various systems 130-136 to generate an insurance policy and/or policies for the user 106 based on the information. For instance, the policy sales and underwriting system 146 may use information from the concierge system 130 on how often the user performs scheduled maintenance on different types of property, information from the storm helper system 132 on how the user reacts to being notified of events, information from the FNOL system 134 on how quickly the user reports a loss and detected fraud with reported losses, and/or information from the claim builder system 136 on types of claims and selections made by the user to repair property when a claim is submitted, to name a few examples."; A service provider system including a policy sales and underwriting system that gathers information from various systems to generate an insurance policy and policies for the user based on the information, where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs, reads on the user touch input and the user voice input bring associated with the same insurance policy.).
Evans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Evans to implement a service provider system including a policy sales and underwriting system that gathers information from various systems to generate an insurance policy and policies for the user based on the information, where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs. Doing so would allow for a user to interact with an automated system to manage and maintain their property, prepare for or react to an event, efficiently provide an insurer with a notice of loss, receive an insurance claim estimate, and perform a variety of other functions without having to interact with a human insurance agent (Evans; Column 3, lines 14-47).
Regarding claim 6, Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1, but does not specifically disclose: wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with handling an insurance claim.
Evans teaches:
wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with handling an insurance claim (Column 5, lines 40-46, "The client device 108 is configured to engage in user interaction with a communication component 112 of the client device. The user interaction may take a variety of forms, such as mouse inputs (e.g., click, hover, scroll), keyboard inputs (e.g., type, navigate, volume control), voice inputs (e.g., instructions, selections, inquiries), touch inputs (e.g., through a touch screen), and so forth."; Column 5, lines 58-65, "The user interface component 114 may output a variety of user interfaces to enable user interaction with the client device 108 and/or the service provider system 102. For example, the user interface component 114 may enable the user 106 to communicate with other users and/or the service provider system 102 using a chat interface 116, where the user may input text, voice, digital images and/or video, and so forth."; Column 9, lines 23-31, "Furthermore, the service provider system 102 may include a claim builder system 136. The claim builder system 136 may assist the user 106 through the process of documenting loss to property (utilizing the user interface component 114 and/or the natural language I/O component 120 and via the network 110), and/or provide the user 106 with a claim estimate to remedy the loss. As such, the claim builder system 136 may facilitate processing to generate a claim."; Column 44, lines 14-23, " FIG. 16 illustrates an example system 1600 including details of the claim builder system 136 of FIG. 1 in accordance with various embodiments. A validation component 1602 of the claim builder system 136 may receive one or more user inputs 1604 relating to a claim submission by a user. The user inputs 1604 may indicate an identity of a user, a policy associated with the user, a location or item of property of the user associated with the loss submission, an event that occurred that caused the asserted loss, and so forth."; Column 47, lines 3-5, "FIG. 17 illustrates an example system 1700 including a user interface 1702 provided by the claim builder system 136 of FIG. 1 in accordance with various embodiments."; Column 47, lines 61-63, "The user 1706 may initiate a selection 1716 of one of the options displayed in the framing menu 1714, such as via a touch input on the client device 1704."; A service provider system including a claim builder system that assists a user through the process of documenting loss to property and providing the user with a claim estimate to remedy the loss, where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs, reads on the user touch input and the user voice input being associated with handling an insurance claim.).
Evans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Evans to implement a service provider system including a claim builder system that assists a user through the process of documenting loss to property and providing the user with a claim estimate to remedy the loss, where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs. Doing so would allow for a user to interact with an automated system to manage and maintain their property, prepare for or react to an event, efficiently provide an insurer with a notice of loss, receive an insurance claim estimate, and perform a variety of other functions without having to interact with a human insurance agent (Evans; Column 3, lines 14-47).
Regarding claim 7, Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1, but does not specifically disclose: wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with generating or filling out an insurance claim.
Evans teaches:
wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with generating or filling out an insurance claim (Column 5, lines 40-46, "The client device 108 is configured to engage in user interaction with a communication component 112 of the client device. The user interaction may take a variety of forms, such as mouse inputs (e.g., click, hover, scroll), keyboard inputs (e.g., type, navigate, volume control), voice inputs (e.g., instructions, selections, inquiries), touch inputs (e.g., through a touch screen), and so forth."; Column 5, lines 58-65, "The user interface component 114 may output a variety of user interfaces to enable user interaction with the client device 108 and/or the service provider system 102. For example, the user interface component 114 may enable the user 106 to communicate with other users and/or the service provider system 102 using a chat interface 116, where the user may input text, voice, digital images and/or video, and so forth."; Column 9, lines 23-31, "Furthermore, the service provider system 102 may include a claim builder system 136. The claim builder system 136 may assist the user 106 through the process of documenting loss to property (utilizing the user interface component 114 and/or the natural language I/O component 120 and via the network 110), and/or provide the user 106 with a claim estimate to remedy the loss. As such, the claim builder system 136 may facilitate processing to generate a claim."; Column 44, lines 14-23, " FIG. 16 illustrates an example system 1600 including details of the claim builder system 136 of FIG. 1 in accordance with various embodiments. A validation component 1602 of the claim builder system 136 may receive one or more user inputs 1604 relating to a claim submission by a user. The user inputs 1604 may indicate an identity of a user, a policy associated with the user, a location or item of property of the user associated with the loss submission, an event that occurred that caused the asserted loss, and so forth."; Column 47, lines 3-5, "FIG. 17 illustrates an example system 1700 including a user interface 1702 provided by the claim builder system 136 of FIG. 1 in accordance with various embodiments."; Column 47, lines 61-63, "The user 1706 may initiate a selection 1716 of one of the options displayed in the framing menu 1714, such as via a touch input on the client device 1704."; A service provider system including a claim builder system that assists a user through the process of documenting loss to property and providing the user with a claim estimate to remedy the loss, where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs, reads on the user touch input and the user voice input being associated with filling out an insurance claim.).
Evans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Evans to implement a service provider system including a claim builder system that assists a user through the process of documenting loss to property and providing the user with a claim estimate to remedy the loss, where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs. Doing so would allow for a user to interact with an automated system to manage and maintain their property, prepare for or react to an event, efficiently provide an insurer with a notice of loss, receive an insurance claim estimate, and perform a variety of other functions without having to interact with a human insurance agent (Evans; Column 3, lines 14-47).
Regarding claim 13, Baldwin discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 11, but does not specifically disclose: wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with insurance.
Evans teaches:
wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with insurance (Column 3, lines 14-19, "The presently disclosed example embodiments are generally directed to systems and techniques for utilizing natural language understanding, object recognition in digital images, human behavior profiling, and so on, to facilitate property maintenance, event handling (e.g., for fires, floods, hurricanes, tornadoes, etc.), and/or insurance responses."; Column 3, lines 45-52, "As described in more detail below, in many examples, a virtual assistant (also referred to as a virtual agent or intelligent personal assistant) may be output to a user to facilitate various functions. The virtual assistant may be output in any suitable format, such as a virtual assistant on a web site with a text interface (e.g., a chatbot), a virtual assistant application on a mobile device, or a speech interface, for example."; Column 5, lines 40-46, "The client device 108 is configured to engage in user interaction with a communication component 112 of the client device. The user interaction may take a variety of forms, such as mouse inputs (e.g., click, hover, scroll), keyboard inputs (e.g., type, navigate, volume control), voice inputs (e.g., instructions, selections, inquiries), touch inputs (e.g., through a touch screen), and so forth."; A virtual assistant to facilitate insurance responses, where the virtual assistant is a chatbot and where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs, reads on the user touch input and the user voice input being associated with insurance.).
Evans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Evans to implement a virtual assistant to facilitate insurance responses, where the virtual assistant is a chatbot and where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs. Doing so would allow for a user to interact with an automated system to manage and maintain their property, prepare for or react to an event, efficiently provide an insurer with a notice of loss, receive an insurance claim estimate, and perform a variety of other functions without having to interact with a human insurance agent (Evans; Column 3, lines 14-47).
Regarding claim 14, Baldwin discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 11, but does not specifically disclose: wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with the same subject, matter, or topic (such as completing a grocery delivery, or ordering other goods or services).
Evans teaches:
wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with the same subject, matter, or topic (such as completing a grocery delivery, or ordering other goods or services) (Column 5, lines 40-46, "The client device 108 is configured to engage in user interaction with a communication component 112 of the client device. The user interaction may take a variety of forms, such as mouse inputs (e.g., click, hover, scroll), keyboard inputs (e.g., type, navigate, volume control), voice inputs (e.g., instructions, selections, inquiries), touch inputs (e.g., through a touch screen), and so forth."; Column 6, lines 39-54, "The illustrated environment 100 further includes a number of systems to support the service provider system 102, including but not limited to an event information system 122, an insurance management system 124, materials and labor services 126, and auxiliary loss information services 128. The systems 122-128 may be implemented as, and/or in conjunction with, a single computing device or a plurality of different devices, such as multiple servers utilized by a business to perform operations over the cloud as further described in FIG. 19. The service provider system 102 may call on one or multiple of the systems 122-128 to perform a service and/or provide information to the user 106 via the client device 108, such as part of a natural language conversation with the user or as part of a notification provided to the user, to name a few examples and as discussed in greater detail below."; A service provider system utilized by a business to perform operations over the cloud, where the service provider system calls on a system to perform a service for the user and where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs, reads on the user touch input and the user voice input being associated with a topic including ordering services.).
Evans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Evans to implement a service provider system utilized by a business to perform operations over the cloud, where the service provider system calls on a system to perform a service for the user and where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs. Doing so would allow for a user to interact with an automated system to manage and maintain their property, prepare for or react to an event, efficiently provide an insurer with a notice of loss, receive an insurance claim estimate, and perform a variety of other functions without having to interact with a human insurance agent (Evans; Column 3, lines 14-47).
Regarding claim 16, Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 15, but does not specifically disclose: wherein the user touch input, the user selected or selectable input, and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with insurance.
Evans teaches:
wherein the user touch input, the user selected or selectable input, and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with insurance (Column 3, lines 14-19, "The presently disclosed example embodiments are generally directed to systems and techniques for utilizing natural language understanding, object recognition in digital images, human behavior profiling, and so on, to facilitate property maintenance, event handling (e.g., for fires, floods, hurricanes, tornadoes, etc.), and/or insurance responses."; Column 3, lines 45-52, "As described in more detail below, in many examples, a virtual assistant (also referred to as a virtual agent or intelligent personal assistant) may be output to a user to facilitate various functions. The virtual assistant may be output in any suitable format, such as a virtual assistant on a web site with a text interface (e.g., a chatbot), a virtual assistant application on a mobile device, or a speech interface, for example."; Column 5, lines 40-46, "The client device 108 is configured to engage in user interaction with a communication component 112 of the client device. The user interaction may take a variety of forms, such as mouse inputs (e.g., click, hover, scroll), keyboard inputs (e.g., type, navigate, volume control), voice inputs (e.g., instructions, selections, inquiries), touch inputs (e.g., through a touch screen), and so forth."; A virtual assistant to facilitate insurance responses, where the virtual assistant is a chatbot and where the user interaction can be voice inputs, touch inputs, and selections, reads on the user touch input, the user voice input, and the user selectable input being associated with insurance.).
Evans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Evans to implement a virtual assistant to facilitate insurance responses, where the virtual assistant is a chatbot and where the user interaction can be voice inputs, touch inputs, and selections. Doing so would allow for a user to interact with an automated system to manage and maintain their property, prepare for or react to an event, efficiently provide an insurer with a notice of loss, receive an insurance claim estimate, and perform a variety of other functions without having to interact with a human insurance agent (Evans; Column 3, lines 14-47).
Regarding claim 17, Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 15, but does not specifically disclose: wherein the user touch input, the user selected or selectable input, and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with the same subject, matter, or topic.
Evans teaches:
wherein the user touch input, the user selected or selectable input, and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with the same subject, matter, or topic (Column 3, lines 14-19, "The presently disclosed example embodiments are generally directed to systems and techniques for utilizing natural language understanding, object recognition in digital images, human behavior profiling, and so on, to facilitate property maintenance, event handling (e.g., for fires, floods, hurricanes, tornadoes, etc.), and/or insurance responses."; Column 3, lines 45-52, "As described in more detail below, in many examples, a virtual assistant (also referred to as a virtual agent or intelligent personal assistant) may be output to a user to facilitate various functions. The virtual assistant may be output in any suitable format, such as a virtual assistant on a web site with a text interface (e.g., a chatbot), a virtual assistant application on a mobile device, or a speech interface, for example."; Column 5, lines 40-46, "The client device 108 is configured to engage in user interaction with a communication component 112 of the client device. The user interaction may take a variety of forms, such as mouse inputs (e.g., click, hover, scroll), keyboard inputs (e.g., type, navigate, volume control), voice inputs (e.g., instructions, selections, inquiries), touch inputs (e.g., through a touch screen), and so forth."; A virtual assistant to facilitate insurance responses, where the virtual assistant is a chatbot and where the user interaction can be voice inputs, touch inputs, and selections, reads on the user touch input, the user voice input, and the user selectable input being associated with the same subject, matter, or topic.).
Evans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Evans to implement a virtual assistant to facilitate insurance responses, where the virtual assistant is a chatbot and where the user interaction can be voice inputs, touch inputs, and selections. Doing so would allow for a user to interact with an automated system to manage and maintain their property, prepare for or react to an event, efficiently provide an insurer with a notice of loss, receive an insurance claim estimate, and perform a variety of other functions without having to interact with a human insurance agent (Evans; Column 3, lines 14-47).
Regarding claim 18, Baldwin in view of Evans discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 17.
Evans further teaches:
wherein the subject, matter, or topic includes one of completing a grocery delivery or ordering or purchasing other goods or services (Column 5, lines 40-46, "The client device 108 is configured to engage in user interaction with a communication component 112 of the client device. The user interaction may take a variety of forms, such as mouse inputs (e.g., click, hover, scroll), keyboard inputs (e.g., type, navigate, volume control), voice inputs (e.g., instructions, selections, inquiries), touch inputs (e.g., through a touch screen), and so forth."; Column 6, lines 39-54, "The illustrated environment 100 further includes a number of systems to support the service provider system 102, including but not limited to an event information system 122, an insurance management system 124, materials and labor services 126, and auxiliary loss information services 128. The systems 122-128 may be implemented as, and/or in conjunction with, a single computing device or a plurality of different devices, such as multiple servers utilized by a business to perform operations over the cloud as further described in FIG. 19. The service provider system 102 may call on one or multiple of the systems 122-128 to perform a service and/or provide information to the user 106 via the client device 108, such as part of a natural language conversation with the user or as part of a notification provided to the user, to name a few examples and as discussed in greater detail below."; A service provider system utilized by a business to perform operations over the cloud, where the service provider system calls on a system to perform a service for the user reads on the subject, matter, or topic including ordering other services.).
Evans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldwin in view of Evans to further incorporate the teachings of Evans to implement a service provider system utilized by a business to perform operations over the cloud, where the service provider system calls on a system to perform a service for the user. Doing so would allow for a user to interact with an automated system to manage and maintain their property, prepare for or react to an event, efficiently provide an insurer with a notice of loss, receive an insurance claim estimate, and perform a variety of other functions without having to interact with a human insurance agent (Evans; Column 3, lines 14-47).
Claims 8 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin in view of Evans and Regmi et al. (US Patent No. 11,989,780), hereinafter Regmi.
Regarding claim 8, Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1, but does not specifically disclose: wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with parametric insurance and/or parametric insurance claim.
Evans teaches:
wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with [parametric] insurance and/or [parametric] insurance claim (Column 5, lines 40-46, "The client device 108 is configured to engage in user interaction with a communication component 112 of the client device. The user interaction may take a variety of forms, such as mouse inputs (e.g., click, hover, scroll), keyboard inputs (e.g., type, navigate, volume control), voice inputs (e.g., instructions, selections, inquiries), touch inputs (e.g., through a touch screen), and so forth."; Column 5, lines 58-65, "The user interface component 114 may output a variety of user interfaces to enable user interaction with the client device 108 and/or the service provider system 102. For example, the user interface component 114 may enable the user 106 to communicate with other users and/or the service provider system 102 using a chat interface 116, where the user may input text, voice, digital images and/or video, and so forth."; Column 9, lines 23-31, "Furthermore, the service provider system 102 may include a claim builder system 136. The claim builder system 136 may assist the user 106 through the process of documenting loss to property (utilizing the user interface component 114 and/or the natural language I/O component 120 and via the network 110), and/or provide the user 106 with a claim estimate to remedy the loss. As such, the claim builder system 136 may facilitate processing to generate a claim."; Column 44, lines 14-23, " FIG. 16 illustrates an example system 1600 including details of the claim builder system 136 of FIG. 1 in accordance with various embodiments. A validation component 1602 of the claim builder system 136 may receive one or more user inputs 1604 relating to a claim submission by a user. The user inputs 1604 may indicate an identity of a user, a policy associated with the user, a location or item of property of the user associated with the loss submission, an event that occurred that caused the asserted loss, and so forth."; Column 47, lines 3-5, "FIG. 17 illustrates an example system 1700 including a user interface 1702 provided by the claim builder system 136 of FIG. 1 in accordance with various embodiments."; Column 47, lines 61-63, "The user 1706 may initiate a selection 1716 of one of the options displayed in the framing menu 1714, such as via a touch input on the client device 1704."; A service provider system including a claim builder system that assists a user through the process of documenting loss to property and providing the user with a claim estimate to remedy the loss, where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs, reads on the user touch input and the user voice input being associated with insurance.).
Evans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Evans to implement a service provider system including a claim builder system that assists a user through the process of documenting loss to property and providing the user with a claim estimate to remedy the loss, where the user interaction can be voice inputs or touch inputs. Doing so would allow for a user to interact with an automated system to manage and maintain their property, prepare for or react to an event, efficiently provide an insurer with a notice of loss, receive an insurance claim estimate, and perform a variety of other functions without having to interact with a human insurance agent (Evans; Column 3, lines 14-47).
Baldwin in view of Evans does not specifically disclose: wherein both the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with parametric insurance and/or parametric insurance claim.
Regmi teaches:
handling parametric insurance claims (Abstract, lines 1-4, "The subject of the invention is an insurance claim and/or financial transaction processing system for parametric risk related claims and/or performance warranty related transactions"; Column 15, lines 13-19, "Parametric insurance. Parametric insurance are payouts that are triggered based on parameters. There could be one, two and/or three or more parameters that could result in a trigger in a single or multiple payout. Parametric insurance therefore is a type of insurance that rather than indemnifying pure loss, ex ante (through forecasts) makes a payment upon a triggered occurrence of an event.").
Evans teaches the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with insurance and/or insurance claim, but differs from the claimed invention because Evans does not teach an insurance claim being a parametric insurance claim. However, a system to handle a parametric insurance claim is taught by Regmi. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Evans and Regmi to implement a system where the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with parametric insurance and/or parametric insurance claim, where the parametric insurance claims of Regmi are substituted for the insurance claims of Evans to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, Baldwin in view of Evans and Regmi discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 8.
Regmi further teaches:
wherein parametric insurance is related to and/or associated with collecting and analyzing data, monitoring the data, and when a threshold or trigger event is detected from analysis of the data, generating an automatic or other payout under or pursuant to an insurance claim (Column 15, lines 13-26, "Parametric insurance. Parametric insurance are payouts that are triggered based on parameters. There could be one, two and/or three or more parameters that could result in a trigger in a single or multiple payout. Parametric insurance therefore is a type of insurance that rather than indemnifying pure loss, ex ante (through forecasts) makes a payment upon a triggered occurrence of an event. The trigger is usually a catastrophic natural event that can result in a loss or a series of losses. Sometimes the loss is much greater and other times the loss is much less than the payout. Instead of basing payments on damage suffered, parametric insurance contracts establish the payout as a function of the occurrence or intensity of event, as determined by a specialized agency such as the U.S. National Hurricane Center.").
Evans teaches the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with insurance and/or insurance claim, but differs from the claimed invention because Evans does not teach an insurance claim being a parametric insurance claim. However, a system to handle a parametric insurance claim is taught by Regmi. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Evans and Regmi to implement a system where the user touch input and the user voice input relate to and/or are associated with parametric insurance and/or parametric insurance claim, where the parametric insurance claims of Regmi are substituted for the insurance claims of Evans to obtain predictable results, where parametric insurance is related to and/or associated with collecting and analyzing data, monitoring the data, and when a threshold or trigger event is detected from analysis of the data, generating an automatic or other payout under or pursuant to an insurance claim, as taught by Regmi.
Regmi is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of insurance handling systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldwin in view of Evans and Regmi to further incorporate the teachings of Regmi to handle parametric insurance claims, where parametric insurance makes a payment upon a triggered occurrence of an event. Doing so would allow for insurance claims where the payout is a function of the occurrence or intensity of an event as determined by a specialized agency, instead of being based on damage suffered (Regmi; Column 15, lines 13-26).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin in view of Kim et al. (US Patent No. 11,677,690), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 12, Baldwin discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 11, but does not specifically disclose further comprising: receiving user selected input via a mouse and the graphical user interface or other display configured to accept the user selected input.
Kim teaches:
receiving user selected input via a mouse and the graphical user interface or other display configured to accept the user selected input (Column 5, lines 28-33, “According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may receive a user input from a user. For example, the input module 110 may receive the user input from the connected external device (e.g., a keyboard or a headset). For another example, the input module 110 may include a touch screen (e.g., a touch screen display) coupled to the display 120.”; Column 25, lines 42-45, "In various embodiments, the first response may include at least one selectable item. The intelligence server 700 may receive a selection input to the at least one selectable item as the second chat message."; Column 29, lines 61-65, "The input device 1550 may receive a command or data to be used by other component (e.g., the processor 1520) of the electronic device 1501, from the outside (e.g., a user) of the electronic device 1501. The input device 1550 may include, for example, a microphone, a mouse, or a keyboard."; A chatbot response including a selectable item, where user inputs are received from a touch screen, reads on accepting a user selected input via a display configured to accept the user selected input, and the input device including a mouse reads on accepting a user selected input via a mouse.).
Kim is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Kim to receive a chatbot response including a selectable item using a mouse. Doing so would allow for supporting a chat service capable of simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots (Kim; Column 1, lines 56-59).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pasupalak et al. (US Patent No. 9,575,963)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES BOGGS/Examiner, Art Unit 2657