DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 – 12 have been considered, and have found to be persuasive. Please see the new ground(s) of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0244761).
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 5, Wang discloses an information handling resource comprising: a circuit board (110) comprising an electrically-conductive pad (112); and a plated standoff (120) plated (this is an apparatus claim, thus the method of forming the standoff on the pad holds no patentable weight) onto a surface of the electrically-conductive pad (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses a circuit package (130) comprising an electrically-conductive pin (134); and reflowed solder (solder not shown; the solder column 120 is soldered to the connector 134, paragraph [0034], which means the solder is also electrically coupling the pad 112 to the connector 134) electrically coupling the electrically-conductive pad (112) to the electrically-conductive pin (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses wherein the circuit package is a bottom-terminated component (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses wherein the plated standoff is cylindrical in shape (Figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
Regarding claim 5, in Figure 5, Wang discloses an information handling system comprising: a processor (130); and an information handling resource comprising: a circuit board (110) comprising an electrically-conductive pad (112); and a plated standoff (120) plated (this is an apparatus claim, thus the method of forming the standoff on the pad holds no patentable weight) onto a surface of the electrically-conductive pad (Figure 5). Wang does not specifically disclose package 130 being a processor. However, providing a semiconductor package/chip with processing capability is common place and well known in the art, and is merely a design option for a skilled artisan without the exercise of inventive skill.
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses a circuit package comprising an electrically-conductive pin (134, Figure 5); and reflowed solder (solder not shown; the solder column 120 is soldered to the connector 134, paragraph [0034], which means the solder is also electrically coupling the pad 112 to the connector 134) electrically coupling the electrically-conductive pad (112) to the electrically-conductive pin (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses wherein the circuit package is a bottom-terminated component (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses wherein the plated standoff is cylindrical in shape (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 9, in Figure 5, Wang discloses a method comprising: forming a circuit board (110) with an electrically-conductive pad (112); and plating a plated standoff (120) onto a surface of the electrically-conductive pad (Figure 5). Wang does not specifically disclose solder column 120 being plated onto the pad 112. However, forming a solder column/standoff on the surface of a conductive pad via plating is common place and well known in the art, and is merely a design option for a skilled artisan without the exercise of inventive skill.
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses electrically coupling an electrically-conductive pin (134, Figure 5) of a circuit package (130) to the electrically-conductive pad (112) with reflowed solder (solder not shown; the solder column 120 is soldered to the connector 134, paragraph [0034], which means the solder is also electrically coupling the pad 112 to the connector 134).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses wherein the circuit package is a bottom-terminated component (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses forming the plated standoff such that the plated standoff is cylindrical in shape (Figure 5).
Conclusion
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847