DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed February 23, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1 – 21 are pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings and Specification have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed December 9, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed February 23, 2026, with respect to claims 1 – 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 8, 10 – 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Patent No. 11,677,690), hereinafter Kim, in view of Baldwin et al. (US Patent No. 10,755,699), hereinafter Baldwin.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a multi-mode conversational computer system (Column 3, lines 43-44, "FIG. 1 is a view illustrating an integrated intelligence system, according to various embodiments of the disclosure.") for implementing multiple simultaneous conversations and/or exchanges of information or receipt of user input comprising:
at least one processor and/or transceiver in communication with at least one memory device (Column 1, lines 60-64, "According to an embodiment disclosed in this specification, a system may include a network interface, at least one processor operatively connected to the network interface, and at least one memory operatively connected to the at least one processor.");
a voice bot configured to accept user voice input and provide voice output (Column 5, lines 37-42, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may include a microphone capable of receiving the utterance of the user as a voice signal. For example, the input module 110 may include a speech input system and may receive the utterance of the user as a voice signal through the speech input system."; Column 5, lines 50-54, "According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may output a voice signal. For example, the speaker 130 may output the voice signal generated in the user terminal 100 to the outside. According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may be exposed to a part (e.g., a third portion) of the housing."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user.");
and/or at least one input and output communication channel configured to accept user input and provide output to a user (Column 5, lines 28-33, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may receive a user input from a user. For example, the input module 110 may receive the user input from the connected external device (e.g., a keyboard or a headset). For another example, the input module 110 may include a touch screen (e.g., a touch screen display) coupled to the display 120."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; A chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel configured to accept user input and provide output to a user.);
wherein the at least one input and output communication channel is configured to communicate with the user via a first channel of the at least one input and output communication channel and the voice bot simultaneously (Column 1, lines 56-59, "Various embodiments of the disclosure provide a device for supporting a chat service capable of simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, and a method thereof."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 49-51, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may include the processor 150, the touch screen display 120, and the microphone 111."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; Column 26, lines 47-52, "The intelligence server 700 may end the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H by changing the state of the chatbot H back to the group session state. Alternatively, the intelligence server 700 may simultaneously provide the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H and the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot R."; Simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, where chat messages are received through a touch input by a touch screen display or a voice input by a microphone, and simultaneously provide a chat between the user and the chatbot H and between the user and the chatbot R, reads on an input and output communication channel being configured to communicate with the user via a first channel of the input and output communication channel and the voice bot simultaneously, nearly simultaneously, or nearly at the same time, where a chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Kim does not specifically disclose: provide output to a user, wherein the at least one input and output communication channel is configured to communicate with the user via a first channel of the at least one input and output communication channel and the voice bot simultaneously at least in part by providing a first portion of the output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot.
Baldwin teaches:
provide output to a user, wherein the at least one input and output communication channel is configured to communicate with the user via a first channel of the at least one input and output communication channel and the voice bot simultaneously at least in part by providing a first portion of the output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot (Column 7, line 66 - Column 8, line 13, "Conversational speech engine 115 may include a conversational language processor 120 and/or a voice search engine 125, described in greater detail in FIG. 2 below. Conversational speech engine 115 may communicate with one or more databases 130 to generate an adaptive conversational response, which may be returned to the user as an output 140. In one implementation, output 140 may be a multi-modal output and/or an interaction with one or more applications 145 to complete the request. For example, output 140 may include a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device. For example, the utterance may include a request to perform an action, and output 140 may include a conversational response reporting success or failure, as well as an execution of the action."; Generating an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response, reads on providing a first portion of the output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot, where a display of a route on a navigation device reads on providing a portion of the output via a communication channel, and a conversational response reads on providing a portion of the output via a voice bot.).
Baldwin is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Baldwin to generate an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response. Doing so would allow for providing intelligent responses including multi-modal responses to a user that are aware of and control one or more devices or interfaces, and allow users to respond by using whichever input method, or combination of input methods, is most convenient (Baldwin; Column 6, line 65 - Column 7, line 4).
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor and/or transceiver is programmed to engage the user in separate exchanges of information with the computer system simultaneously via the at least one input and output communication channel and the voice bot (Column 1, lines 56-59, "Various embodiments of the disclosure provide a device for supporting a chat service capable of simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, and a method thereof."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 49-51, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may include the processor 150, the touch screen display 120, and the microphone 111."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; Column 26, lines 47-52, "The intelligence server 700 may end the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H by changing the state of the chatbot H back to the group session state. Alternatively, the intelligence server 700 may simultaneously provide the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H and the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot R."; Simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, where chat messages are received through a touch input by a touch screen display or a voice input by a microphone, and simultaneously provide a chat between the user and the chatbot H and between the user and the chatbot R, reads on engaging the user in separate exchanges of information with the computer system simultaneously via the at least one input and output communication channel and the voice bot, where a chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the first channel includes a touch display screen having a graphical user interface configured to accept user touch input (Column 5, lines 28-33, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may receive a user input from a user. For example, the input module 110 may receive the user input from the connected external device (e.g., a keyboard or a headset). For another example, the input module 110 may include a touch screen (e.g., a touch screen display) coupled to the display 120."; Column 5, lines 44-47, "According to an embodiment, the display 120 may display an image, a video, and/or an execution screen of an application. For example, the display 120 may display a graphic user interface (GUI) of an app.").
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 3.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor and/or transceiver is further programmed to accept user selectable input via a mouse or other input device and the touch display screen (Column 5, lines 44-47, "According to an embodiment, the display 120 may display an image, a video, and/or an execution screen of an application. For example, the display 120 may display a graphic user interface (GUI) of an app."; Column 25, lines 42-45, "In various embodiments, the first response may include at least one selectable item. The intelligence server 700 may receive a selection input to the at least one selectable item as the second chat message."; Column 29, lines 61-65, "The input device 1550 may receive a command or data to be used by other component (e.g., the processor 1520) of the electronic device 1501, from the outside (e.g., a user) of the electronic device 1501. The input device 1550 may include, for example, a microphone, a mouse, or a keyboard.").
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor and/or transceiver is programmed to: receive the user input from one or more of the at least one input and output communication channel and the voice bot (Column 5, lines 28-33, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may receive a user input from a user. For example, the input module 110 may receive the user input from the connected external device (e.g., a keyboard or a headset). For another example, the input module 110 may include a touch screen (e.g., a touch screen display) coupled to the display 120."; Column 5, lines 37-42, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may include a microphone capable of receiving the utterance of the user as a voice signal. For example, the input module 110 may include a speech input system and may receive the utterance of the user as a voice signal through the speech input system."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.);
transmit the user input to at least one audio handler (Column 7, lines 58-61, "The processor 150 may execute the intelligence agent 145 to transmit a user input received through the input module 110 to the intelligence server 200 and may process the user input through the intelligence server 200."; Transmitting a user input received through an input module to an intelligence server reads on transmitting the user input to an audio handler, where the intelligence server reads on an audio handler.);
receive a response from the at least one audio handler (Column 12, lines 24-29, "Referring to FIG. 5, the intelligence server 200 may include an automatic speech recognition (ASR) module 210, a natural language understanding (NLU) module 220, a path planner module 230, a dialogue manager (DM) module 240, a natural language generator (NLG) module 250, or a text to speech (TTS) module 260."; Column 15, lines 11-19, "According to an embodiment, the DM module 240 may include a content provider module. When the content provider module executes an operation based on the intent and the parameter grasped by the NLU module 220, the content provider module may generate the result obtained by performing a task corresponding to the user input. According to an embodiment, the DM module 240 may transmit the result generated by the content provider module as the response to the user input to the user terminal 100."; A dialogue manager module of an intelligence server transmitting a result generated as the response to the user input to the user terminal reads on receiving a response from an audio handler, where the intelligence server reads on an audio handler.);
and provide the response via the at least one input and output communication channel and the voice bot (Column 5, lines 50-54, "According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may output a voice signal. For example, the speaker 130 may output the voice signal generated in the user terminal 100 to the outside. According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may be exposed to a part (e.g., a third portion) of the housing."; Column 15, lines 11-19, "According to an embodiment, the DM module 240 may include a content provider module. When the content provider module executes an operation based on the intent and the parameter grasped by the NLU module 220, the content provider module may generate the result obtained by performing a task corresponding to the user input. According to an embodiment, the DM module 240 may transmit the result generated by the content provider module as the response to the user input to the user terminal 100."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A dialogue manager module of an intelligence server transmitting a result generated as the response to the user input to the user terminal reads on providing a response, a chat service based on a text reads on an input and output communication channel, and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 5.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor and/or transceiver is programmed to: generate a first response and a second response based upon the response, wherein the first response and the second response are different (Column 24, line 64 - Column 25, line 11, "In an embodiment, the intelligence server 700 may transmit a first chat message to the first chatbot 750-1 and the second chatbot 750-2 (1205 and 1207). The intelligence server 700 may receive a first response generated depending on performing the first task from the first chatbot 750-1 (1209). The intelligence server 700 may receive a second response generated depending on the first task from the second chatbot 750-2 (1211). Because the first response and second response do not include a failure message for the first task, the intelligence server 700 may determine to transmit the first response and the second response to the user terminal 100 (1213). The user terminal 100 may output a chat message corresponding to the first response and a chat message associated with the second response through a chat interface (1217 and 1219)."; The user terminal outputting a chat message corresponding to the first response and a chat message associated with the second response through a chat interface reads on generating a first response and a second response based upon the response, wherein the first response and the second response are different.);
provide the first response to the user via the at least one input and output channel (Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on a text reads on an input and output communication channel.);
and provide the second response to the user via the voice bot (Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 5.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor and/or transceiver is programmed to: receive the user input via the voice bot (Column 5, lines 37-42, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may include a microphone capable of receiving the utterance of the user as a voice signal. For example, the input module 110 may include a speech input system and may receive the utterance of the user as a voice signal through the speech input system."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.);
and provide the response via the at least one input and output channel (Column 5, lines 50-54, "According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may output a voice signal. For example, the speaker 130 may output the voice signal generated in the user terminal 100 to the outside. According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may be exposed to a part (e.g., a third portion) of the housing."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on a text reads on an input and output communication channel.).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 7.
Baldwin further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor and/or transceiver is programmed to provide the response via the voice bot and the at least one input and output communication channel simultaneously (Column 7, line 66 - Column 8, line 13, "Conversational speech engine 115 may include a conversational language processor 120 and/or a voice search engine 125, described in greater detail in FIG. 2 below. Conversational speech engine 115 may communicate with one or more databases 130 to generate an adaptive conversational response, which may be returned to the user as an output 140. In one implementation, output 140 may be a multi-modal output and/or an interaction with one or more applications 145 to complete the request. For example, output 140 may include a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device. For example, the utterance may include a request to perform an action, and output 140 may include a conversational response reporting success or failure, as well as an execution of the action."; Generating an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response, reads on providing the response via the voice bot and the at least one input and output communication channel simultaneously, where a display of a route on a navigation device reads on providing the response via a communication channel, and a conversational response reads on providing the response via a voice bot.).
Baldwin is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Baldwin to further incorporate the teachings of Baldwin to generate an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response. Doing so would allow for providing intelligent responses including multi-modal responses to a user that are aware of and control one or more devices or interfaces, and allow users to respond by using whichever input method, or combination of input methods, is most convenient (Baldwin; Column 6, line 65 - Column 7, line 4).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a computer-implemented method of facilitating a multi-mode conversation via a computer system (Column 3, lines 43-44, "FIG. 1 is a view illustrating an integrated intelligence system, according to various embodiments of the disclosure.") and/or for implementing multiple simultaneous conversations and/or exchanges of information or receipt of user input via the computer system comprising one or more local or remote processors and/or transceivers, and in communication with one or more local or remote memory units (Column 1, lines 60-64, "According to an embodiment disclosed in this specification, a system may include a network interface, at least one processor operatively connected to the network interface, and at least one memory operatively connected to the at least one processor.") and in communication with at least one input and output channel and a voice bot, the method comprising:
accepting a first user input via the at least one input and output channel (Column 5, lines 28-33, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may receive a user input from a user. For example, the input module 110 may receive the user input from the connected external device (e.g., a keyboard or a headset). For another example, the input module 110 may include a touch screen (e.g., a touch screen display) coupled to the display 120."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; A chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on accepting a first user input via the at least one input and output channel.);
and/or accepting a second user input via the voice bot (Column 5, lines 37-42, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may include a microphone capable of receiving the utterance of the user as a voice signal. For example, the input module 110 may include a speech input system and may receive the utterance of the user as a voice signal through the speech input system."; Column 5, lines 50-54, "According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may output a voice signal. For example, the speaker 130 may output the voice signal generated in the user terminal 100 to the outside. According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may be exposed to a part (e.g., a third portion) of the housing."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user.");
wherein the first user input and the second user input are provided via the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot simultaneously (Column 1, lines 56-59, "Various embodiments of the disclosure provide a device for supporting a chat service capable of simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, and a method thereof."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 49-51, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may include the processor 150, the touch screen display 120, and the microphone 111."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; Column 26, lines 47-52, "The intelligence server 700 may end the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H by changing the state of the chatbot H back to the group session state. Alternatively, the intelligence server 700 may simultaneously provide the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H and the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot R."; Simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, where chat messages are received through a touch input by a touch screen display or a voice input by a microphone, and simultaneously provide a chat between the user and the chatbot H and between the user and the chatbot R, reads on the first user input and the second user input being provided via the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot simultaneously, nearly simultaneously, or nearly at the same time, where a chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Kim does not specifically disclose: providing a first portion of an output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot simultaneously.
Baldwin teaches:
providing a first portion of an output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot simultaneously (Column 7, line 66 - Column 8, line 13, "Conversational speech engine 115 may include a conversational language processor 120 and/or a voice search engine 125, described in greater detail in FIG. 2 below. Conversational speech engine 115 may communicate with one or more databases 130 to generate an adaptive conversational response, which may be returned to the user as an output 140. In one implementation, output 140 may be a multi-modal output and/or an interaction with one or more applications 145 to complete the request. For example, output 140 may include a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device. For example, the utterance may include a request to perform an action, and output 140 may include a conversational response reporting success or failure, as well as an execution of the action."; Generating an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response, reads on providing a first portion of an output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot simultaneously, where a display of a route on a navigation device reads on providing a portion of the output via a communication channel, and a conversational response reads on providing a portion of the output via a voice bot.).
Baldwin is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Baldwin to generate an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response. Doing so would allow for providing intelligent responses including multi-modal responses to a user that are aware of and control one or more devices or interfaces, and allow users to respond by using whichever input method, or combination of input methods, is most convenient (Baldwin; Column 6, line 65 - Column 7, line 4).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 10.
Kim further discloses:
further comprising engaging the user in separate exchanges of information simultaneously via the at least one input and output communication channel and the voice bot (Column 1, lines 56-59, "Various embodiments of the disclosure provide a device for supporting a chat service capable of simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, and a method thereof."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 49-51, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may include the processor 150, the touch screen display 120, and the microphone 111."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; Column 26, lines 47-52, "The intelligence server 700 may end the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H by changing the state of the chatbot H back to the group session state. Alternatively, the intelligence server 700 may simultaneously provide the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H and the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot R."; Simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, where chat messages are received through a touch input by a touch screen display or a voice input by a microphone, and simultaneously provide a chat between the user and the chatbot H and between the user and the chatbot R, reads on engaging the user in separate exchanges of information simultaneously via the at least one input and output communication channel and the voice bot, where a chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 10.
Kim further discloses:
further comprising providing a first output via the at least one input and output channel simultaneously to accepting the second user input via the voice bot (Column 1, lines 56-59, "Various embodiments of the disclosure provide a device for supporting a chat service capable of simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, and a method thereof."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 49-51, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may include the processor 150, the touch screen display 120, and the microphone 111."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; Column 26, lines 47-52, "The intelligence server 700 may end the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H by changing the state of the chatbot H back to the group session state. Alternatively, the intelligence server 700 may simultaneously provide the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H and the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot R."; Simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, where chat messages are received through a touch input by a touch screen display or a voice input by a microphone, and simultaneously provide a chat between the user and the chatbot H and between the user and the chatbot R, reads on providing a first output via the at least one input and output channel simultaneously to accepting the second user input via the voice bot, where a chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 10.
Kim further discloses:
further comprising providing a first output via the at least one input and output channel simultaneously to providing a second output via the voice bot (Column 1, lines 56-59, "Various embodiments of the disclosure provide a device for supporting a chat service capable of simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, and a method thereof."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 49-51, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may include the processor 150, the touch screen display 120, and the microphone 111."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; Column 26, lines 47-52, "The intelligence server 700 may end the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H by changing the state of the chatbot H back to the group session state. Alternatively, the intelligence server 700 may simultaneously provide the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H and the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot R."; Simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, where chat messages are received through a touch input by a touch screen display or a voice input by a microphone, and simultaneously provide a chat between the user and the chatbot H and between the user and the chatbot R, reads on providing a first output via the at least one input and output channel simultaneously to providing a second output via the voice bot where a chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 10.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the at least one input and output channel includes a touch display screen having a graphical user interface configured to accept user touch input (Column 5, lines 28-33, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may receive a user input from a user. For example, the input module 110 may receive the user input from the connected external device (e.g., a keyboard or a headset). For another example, the input module 110 may include a touch screen (e.g., a touch screen display) coupled to the display 120."; Column 5, lines 44-47, "According to an embodiment, the display 120 may display an image, a video, and/or an execution screen of an application. For example, the display 120 may display a graphic user interface (GUI) of an app.").
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 10.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the at least one input and output channel includes a display screen having a graphical user interface, wherein the method further comprises accepting user selectable input via a mouse or other input device (Column 5, lines 44-47, "According to an embodiment, the display 120 may display an image, a video, and/or an execution screen of an application. For example, the display 120 may display a graphic user interface (GUI) of an app."; Column 25, lines 42-45, "In various embodiments, the first response may include at least one selectable item. The intelligence server 700 may receive a selection input to the at least one selectable item as the second chat message."; Column 29, lines 61-65, "The input device 1550 may receive a command or data to be used by other component (e.g., the processor 1520) of the electronic device 1501, from the outside (e.g., a user) of the electronic device 1501. The input device 1550 may include, for example, a microphone, a mouse, or a keyboard.").
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 10.
Kim further discloses:
receiving user input from one or more of the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot (Column 5, lines 28-33, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may receive a user input from a user. For example, the input module 110 may receive the user input from the connected external device (e.g., a keyboard or a headset). For another example, the input module 110 may include a touch screen (e.g., a touch screen display) coupled to the display 120."; Column 5, lines 37-42, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may include a microphone capable of receiving the utterance of the user as a voice signal. For example, the input module 110 may include a speech input system and may receive the utterance of the user as a voice signal through the speech input system."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.);
transmitting the user input to at least one audio handler (Column 7, lines 58-61, "The processor 150 may execute the intelligence agent 145 to transmit a user input received through the input module 110 to the intelligence server 200 and may process the user input through the intelligence server 200."; Transmitting a user input received through an input module to an intelligence server reads on transmitting the user input to an audio handler, where the intelligence server reads on an audio handler.);
receiving a response from the at least one audio handler (Column 12, lines 24-29, "Referring to FIG. 5, the intelligence server 200 may include an automatic speech recognition (ASR) module 210, a natural language understanding (NLU) module 220, a path planner module 230, a dialogue manager (DM) module 240, a natural language generator (NLG) module 250, or a text to speech (TTS) module 260."; Column 15, lines 11-19, "According to an embodiment, the DM module 240 may include a content provider module. When the content provider module executes an operation based on the intent and the parameter grasped by the NLU module 220, the content provider module may generate the result obtained by performing a task corresponding to the user input. According to an embodiment, the DM module 240 may transmit the result generated by the content provider module as the response to the user input to the user terminal 100."; A dialogue manager module of an intelligence server transmitting a result generated as the response to the user input to the user terminal reads on receiving a response from an audio handler, where the intelligence server reads on an audio handler.);
and providing the response via one or more of the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot (Column 5, lines 50-54, "According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may output a voice signal. For example, the speaker 130 may output the voice signal generated in the user terminal 100 to the outside. According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may be exposed to a part (e.g., a third portion) of the housing."; Column 15, lines 11-19, "According to an embodiment, the DM module 240 may include a content provider module. When the content provider module executes an operation based on the intent and the parameter grasped by the NLU module 220, the content provider module may generate the result obtained by performing a task corresponding to the user input. According to an embodiment, the DM module 240 may transmit the result generated by the content provider module as the response to the user input to the user terminal 100."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A dialogue manager module of an intelligence server transmitting a result generated as the response to the user input to the user terminal reads on providing a response, a chat service based on a text reads on an input and output channel, and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 16.
Kim further discloses:
generating a first response and a second response based upon the response, wherein the first response and the second response are different (Column 24, line 64 - Column 25, line 11, "In an embodiment, the intelligence server 700 may transmit a first chat message to the first chatbot 750-1 and the second chatbot 750-2 (1205 and 1207). The intelligence server 700 may receive a first response generated depending on performing the first task from the first chatbot 750-1 (1209). The intelligence server 700 may receive a second response generated depending on the first task from the second chatbot 750-2 (1211). Because the first response and second response do not include a failure message for the first task, the intelligence server 700 may determine to transmit the first response and the second response to the user terminal 100 (1213). The user terminal 100 may output a chat message corresponding to the first response and a chat message associated with the second response through a chat interface (1217 and 1219)."; The user terminal outputting a chat message corresponding to the first response and a chat message associated with the second response through a chat interface reads on generating a first response and a second response based upon the response, wherein the first response and the second response are different.);
providing the first response to a user via the at least one input and output channel (Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on a text reads on an input and output communication channel.);
and providing the second response to the user via the voice bot (Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 16.
Kim further discloses:
further comprising receiving the user input via the voice bot (Column 5, lines 37-42, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may include a microphone capable of receiving the utterance of the user as a voice signal. For example, the input module 110 may include a speech input system and may receive the utterance of the user as a voice signal through the speech input system."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.);
and providing the response via the at least one input and output channel (Column 5, lines 50-54, "According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may output a voice signal. For example, the speaker 130 may output the voice signal generated in the user terminal 100 to the outside. According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may be exposed to a part (e.g., a third portion) of the housing."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on a text reads on an input and output communication channel.).
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 18.
Baldwin further teaches:
further comprising providing the response via the voice bot and the at least one input and output channel simultaneously (Column 7, line 66 - Column 8, line 13, "Conversational speech engine 115 may include a conversational language processor 120 and/or a voice search engine 125, described in greater detail in FIG. 2 below. Conversational speech engine 115 may communicate with one or more databases 130 to generate an adaptive conversational response, which may be returned to the user as an output 140. In one implementation, output 140 may be a multi-modal output and/or an interaction with one or more applications 145 to complete the request. For example, output 140 may include a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device. For example, the utterance may include a request to perform an action, and output 140 may include a conversational response reporting success or failure, as well as an execution of the action."; Generating an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response, reads on providing the response via the voice bot and the at least one input and output channel simultaneously, where a display of a route on a navigation device reads on providing the response via an input and output channel, and a conversational response reads on providing the response via a voice bot.).
Baldwin is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Baldwin to further incorporate the teachings of Baldwin to generate an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response. Doing so would allow for providing intelligent responses including multi-modal responses to a user that are aware of and control one or more devices or interfaces, and allow users to respond by using whichever input method, or combination of input methods, is most convenient (Baldwin; Column 6, line 65 - Column 7, line 4).
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses a computer-implemented method of facilitating a multi-mode conversation via a computer system (Column 3, lines 43-44, "FIG. 1 is a view illustrating an integrated intelligence system, according to various embodiments of the disclosure.") and/or for implementing multiple simultaneous conversations and/or exchanges of information or receipt of user input via the computer system comprising one or more local or remote processors and/or transceivers, and in communication with one or more local or remote memory units (Column 1, lines 60-64, "According to an embodiment disclosed in this specification, a system may include a network interface, at least one processor operatively connected to the network interface, and at least one memory operatively connected to the at least one processor.") and in communication with at least one input and output channel and a voice bot, the method comprising:
accepting a user input via at least one of the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot (Column 5, lines 37-42, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may include a microphone capable of receiving the utterance of the user as a voice signal. For example, the input module 110 may include a speech input system and may receive the utterance of the user as a voice signal through the speech input system."; Column 5, lines 50-54, "According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may output a voice signal. For example, the speaker 130 may output the voice signal generated in the user terminal 100 to the outside. According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may be exposed to a part (e.g., a third portion) of the housing."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user.");
and/or at least one input and output communication channel configured to accept user input and provide output to a user (Column 5, lines 28-33, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may receive a user input from a user. For example, the input module 110 may receive the user input from the connected external device (e.g., a keyboard or a headset). For another example, the input module 110 may include a touch screen (e.g., a touch screen display) coupled to the display 120."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; A chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel providing an output to a user.);
wherein the output to the user is provided via the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot simultaneously (Column 1, lines 56-59, "Various embodiments of the disclosure provide a device for supporting a chat service capable of simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, and a method thereof."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 49-51, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may include the processor 150, the touch screen display 120, and the microphone 111."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; Column 26, lines 47-52, "The intelligence server 700 may end the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H by changing the state of the chatbot H back to the group session state. Alternatively, the intelligence server 700 may simultaneously provide the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H and the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot R."; Simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, where chat messages are received through a touch input by a touch screen display or a voice input by a microphone, and simultaneously provide a chat between the user and the chatbot H and between the user and the chatbot R, reads on the user input and the output to the user being provided via at least one of the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot simultaneously, nearly simultaneously, or nearly at the same time, where a chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Kim does not specifically disclose: wherein the output to the user is provided via the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot simultaneously at least in part by providing a first portion of the output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot.
Baldwin teaches:
wherein the output to the user is provided via the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot simultaneously at least in part by providing a first portion of the output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot (Column 7, line 66 - Column 8, line 13, "Conversational speech engine 115 may include a conversational language processor 120 and/or a voice search engine 125, described in greater detail in FIG. 2 below. Conversational speech engine 115 may communicate with one or more databases 130 to generate an adaptive conversational response, which may be returned to the user as an output 140. In one implementation, output 140 may be a multi-modal output and/or an interaction with one or more applications 145 to complete the request. For example, output 140 may include a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device. For example, the utterance may include a request to perform an action, and output 140 may include a conversational response reporting success or failure, as well as an execution of the action."; Generating an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response, reads on providing a first portion of the output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot, where a display of a route on a navigation device reads on providing a portion of the output via a communication channel, and a conversational response reads on providing a portion of the output via a voice bot.).
Baldwin is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Baldwin to generate an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response. Doing so would allow for providing intelligent responses including multi-modal responses to a user that are aware of and control one or more devices or interfaces, and allow users to respond by using whichever input method, or combination of input methods, is most convenient (Baldwin; Column 6, line 65 - Column 7, line 4).
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Baldwin, and further in view of Evans et al. (US Patent No. 11,158,004), hereinafter Evans.
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1, but does not specifically disclose: wherein the user input and the output relate to and/or are associated with insurance.
Evans teaches:
wherein the user input and the output relate to and/or are associated with insurance (Column 3, lines 14-19, "The presently disclosed example embodiments are generally directed to systems and techniques for utilizing natural language understanding, object recognition in digital images, human behavior profiling, and so on, to facilitate property maintenance, event handling (e.g., for fires, floods, hurricanes, tornadoes, etc.), and/or insurance responses."; Column 3, lines 45-52, "As described in more detail below, in many examples, a virtual assistant (also referred to as a virtual agent or intelligent personal assistant) may be output to a user to facilitate various functions. The virtual assistant may be output in any suitable format, such as a virtual assistant on a web site with a text interface (e.g., a chatbot), a virtual assistant application on a mobile device, or a speech interface, for example."; Column 5, lines 40-46, "The client device 108 is configured to engage in user interaction with a communication component 112 of the client device. The user interaction may take a variety of forms, such as mouse inputs (e.g., click, hover, scroll), keyboard inputs (e.g., type, navigate, volume control), voice inputs (e.g., instructions, selections, inquiries), touch inputs (e.g., through a touch screen), and so forth."; A virtual assistant to facilitate insurance responses reads on the user input and the output being associated with insurance.).
Evans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Evans to implement a virtual assistant to facilitate insurance responses. Doing so would allow for a user to interact with an automated system to manage and maintain their property, prepare for or react to an event, efficiently provide an insurer with a notice of loss, receive an insurance claim estimate, and perform a variety of other functions without having to interact with a human insurance agent (Evans; Column 3, lines 14-47).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Baldwin discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 16, but does not specifically disclose: wherein the user input and the response relate to and/or are associated with insurance.
Evans teaches:
wherein the user input and the response relate to and/or are associated with insurance (Column 3, lines 14-19, "The presently disclosed example embodiments are generally directed to systems and techniques for utilizing natural language understanding, object recognition in digital images, human behavior profiling, and so on, to facilitate property maintenance, event handling (e.g., for fires, floods, hurricanes, tornadoes, etc.), and/or insurance responses."; Column 3, lines 45-52, "As described in more detail below, in many examples, a virtual assistant (also referred to as a virtual agent or intelligent personal assistant) may be output to a user to facilitate various functions. The virtual assistant may be output in any suitable format, such as a virtual assistant on a web site with a text interface (e.g., a chatbot), a virtual assistant application on a mobile device, or a speech interface, for example."; Column 5, lines 40-46, "The client device 108 is configured to engage in user interaction with a communication component 112 of the client device. The user interaction may take a variety of forms, such as mouse inputs (e.g., click, hover, scroll), keyboard inputs (e.g., type, navigate, volume control), voice inputs (e.g., instructions, selections, inquiries), touch inputs (e.g., through a touch screen), and so forth."; A virtual assistant to facilitate insurance responses reads on the user input and the output being associated with insurance.).
Evans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Evans to implement a virtual assistant to facilitate insurance responses. Doing so would allow for a user to interact with an automated system to manage and maintain their property, prepare for or react to an event, efficiently provide an insurer with a notice of loss, receive an insurance claim estimate, and perform a variety of other functions without having to interact with a human insurance agent (Evans; Column 3, lines 14-47).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES BOGGS/Examiner, Art Unit 2657