DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed July 1, 2026, with respect to claims 1 – 18 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 8, 10 – 18 and 21 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Patent No. 11,677,690), hereinafter Kim, in view of Baldwin et al. (US Patent No. 10,755,699), hereinafter Baldwin, and Hsiao et al. (US Patent No. 11,282,126), hereinafter Hsiao.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a multi-mode conversational computer system (Column 3, lines 43-44, "FIG. 1 is a view illustrating an integrated intelligence system, according to various embodiments of the disclosure.") for implementing multiple simultaneous conversations and/or exchanges of information or receipt of user input, the computer system comprising:
at least one processor and/or transceiver in communication with at least one memory device (Column 1, lines 60-64, "According to an embodiment disclosed in this specification, a system may include a network interface, at least one processor operatively connected to the network interface, and at least one memory operatively connected to the at least one processor.");
a voice bot configured to accept user voice input and provide voice output (Column 5, lines 37-42, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may include a microphone capable of receiving the utterance of the user as a voice signal. For example, the input module 110 may include a speech input system and may receive the utterance of the user as a voice signal through the speech input system."; Column 5, lines 50-54, "According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may output a voice signal. For example, the speaker 130 may output the voice signal generated in the user terminal 100 to the outside. According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may be exposed to a part (e.g., a third portion) of the housing."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user.");
and at least one input and output communication channel configured to accept user input and provide output to a user (Column 5, lines 28-33, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may receive a user input from a user. For example, the input module 110 may receive the user input from the connected external device (e.g., a keyboard or a headset). For another example, the input module 110 may include a touch screen (e.g., a touch screen display) coupled to the display 120."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; A chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel configured to accept user input and provide output to a user.);
wherein the at least one input and output communication channel is configured to communicate with the user and the voice bot simultaneously (Column 1, lines 56-59, "Various embodiments of the disclosure provide a device for supporting a chat service capable of simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, and a method thereof."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 49-51, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may include the processor 150, the touch screen display 120, and the microphone 111."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; Column 26, lines 47-52, "The intelligence server 700 may end the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H by changing the state of the chatbot H back to the group session state. Alternatively, the intelligence server 700 may simultaneously provide the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H and the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot R."; Simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, where chat messages are received through a touch input by a touch screen display or a voice input by a microphone, and simultaneously providing a chat between the user and the chatbot H and between the user and the chatbot R, reads on an input and output communication channel being configured to communicate with the user and the voice bot simultaneously, where a chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.);
and wherein the first portion of the output [is determined from historical user input and] comprises data for causing at least one selectable prompt to be displayed on a user input device to facilitate subsequent user input via the voice bot and/or the user input device (Column 25, lines 42-58, "In various embodiments, the first response may include at least one selectable item. The intelligence server 700 may receive a selection input to the at least one selectable item as the second chat message. In the chat interface (2) of FIGS. 9A, 9B and 9C, the chat message 913 corresponding to the response of the chatbot H may include two selectable items. For example, ‘Nankai Osaka’ and ‘Namba Oriental’ may be selectable items as available hotels. Referring to the chat interface (3), the intelligence server 700 may receive a chat message 917 including a selection input to one of the selectable items “Nankai Osaka” and “Namba Oriental”. The chat message 917 of “reserving Nankai Osaka Hotel” may include a selection input to “Nankai Osaka Hotel” among the selectable items. The intelligence server 700 may deliver the chat message 917 to the chatbot H."; A response including a selectable item to receive a selection input as a chat message reads on the first portion of the output comprising data for causing at least one selectable prompt to be displayed on a user input device to facilitate subsequent user input via the voice bot and/or the user input device.).
Kim does not specifically disclose: provide output to a user, wherein the at least one input and output communication channel is configured to communicate with the user and the voice bot simultaneously at least in part by providing a first portion of the output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot.
Baldwin teaches:
provide output to a user, wherein the at least one input and output communication channel is configured to communicate with the user and the voice bot simultaneously at least in part by providing a first portion of the output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot (Column 7, line 66 - Column 8, line 13, "Conversational speech engine 115 may include a conversational language processor 120 and/or a voice search engine 125, described in greater detail in FIG. 2 below. Conversational speech engine 115 may communicate with one or more databases 130 to generate an adaptive conversational response, which may be returned to the user as an output 140. In one implementation, output 140 may be a multi-modal output and/or an interaction with one or more applications 145 to complete the request. For example, output 140 may include a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device. For example, the utterance may include a request to perform an action, and output 140 may include a conversational response reporting success or failure, as well as an execution of the action."; Generating an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response, reads on providing a first portion of the output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot, where a display of a route on a navigation device reads on providing a portion of the output via a communication channel, and a conversational response reads on providing a portion of the output via a voice bot.).
Baldwin is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Baldwin to generate an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response. Doing so would allow for providing intelligent responses including multi-modal responses to a user that are aware of and control one or more devices or interfaces, and allow users to respond by using whichever input method, or combination of input methods, is most convenient (Baldwin; Column 6, line 65 - Column 7, line 4).
Kim in view of Baldwin does not specifically disclose: wherein the first portion of the output is determined from historical user input and comprises data for causing at least one selectable prompt to be displayed on a user input device to facilitate subsequent user input via the voice bot and/or the user input device.
Hsiao teaches:
wherein the first portion of the output is determined from historical user input and comprises data for causing at least one selectable prompt to be displayed on a user input device to facilitate subsequent user input via the voice bot and/or the user input device (Column 1, line 65 - Column 2, line 21, "More particularly, in some embodiments, the online concierge system accesses an order history database. The order history database describes a plurality of historical orders for a plurality of users. Each historical order in the order history database comprises a list of items selected by a respective user form a plurality of items. The online concierge system determines a plurality of user streaks. Each user streak is based on a number of consecutive orders placed by a respective user of the plurality of users that include a respective item of the plurality of items. The online concierge system calculates an overall streak distribution for the plurality of items based on the plurality of user streaks. For each item of at least a subset of the plurality of items, the online concierge system calculates a streak statistic for the item. The streak statistic is based on a corresponding subset of the plurality of user streaks and the overall streak distribution. The online concierge system selects a set of staples items for a particular user based on the streak statistics for the set of staple items and generates a display for the particular user with a selectable list. The online concierge system generates a staples ordering interface for the particular user for display. The staples ordering interface includes a selectable list of the selected set of staple items."; Generating a display for a particular user with a selectable list reads on the first portion of the output comprising data for causing at least one selectable prompt to be displayed on a user input device to facilitate subsequent user input via the voice bot and/or the user input device, and selecting a set of staples items for a particular user based on streak statistics determined from an order history database reads on the first portion of the output being determined from historical user input.).
Hsiao is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Hsiao to generate a display for a particular user with a selectable list and select a set of staples items for a particular user based on streak statistics determined from an order history database. Doing so would allow for providing a more accurate and useful list of items that a user is likely to include in an online shopping order (Hsiao; Column 1, lines 33-41).
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor and/or transceiver is programmed to engage the user in separate exchanges of information with the computer system simultaneously via the at least one input and output communication channel and the voice bot (Column 1, lines 56-59, "Various embodiments of the disclosure provide a device for supporting a chat service capable of simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, and a method thereof."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 49-51, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may include the processor 150, the touch screen display 120, and the microphone 111."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; Column 26, lines 47-52, "The intelligence server 700 may end the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H by changing the state of the chatbot H back to the group session state. Alternatively, the intelligence server 700 may simultaneously provide the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H and the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot R."; Simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, where chat messages are received through a touch input by a touch screen display or a voice input by a microphone, and simultaneously provide a chat between the user and the chatbot H and between the user and the chatbot R, reads on engaging the user in separate exchanges of information with the computer system simultaneously via the at least one input and output communication channel and the voice bot, where a chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the at least one input and output communication channel comprises a touch display screen having a graphical user interface configured to accept user touch input (Column 5, lines 28-33, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may receive a user input from a user. For example, the input module 110 may receive the user input from the connected external device (e.g., a keyboard or a headset). For another example, the input module 110 may include a touch screen (e.g., a touch screen display) coupled to the display 120."; Column 5, lines 44-47, "According to an embodiment, the display 120 may display an image, a video, and/or an execution screen of an application. For example, the display 120 may display a graphic user interface (GUI) of an app.").
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 3.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor and/or transceiver is further programmed to accept user selectable input via a mouse or other input device and the touch display screen (Column 5, lines 44-47, "According to an embodiment, the display 120 may display an image, a video, and/or an execution screen of an application. For example, the display 120 may display a graphic user interface (GUI) of an app."; Column 25, lines 42-45, "In various embodiments, the first response may include at least one selectable item. The intelligence server 700 may receive a selection input to the at least one selectable item as the second chat message."; Column 29, lines 61-65, "The input device 1550 may receive a command or data to be used by other component (e.g., the processor 1520) of the electronic device 1501, from the outside (e.g., a user) of the electronic device 1501. The input device 1550 may include, for example, a microphone, a mouse, or a keyboard.").
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor and/or transceiver is programmed to: receive the user input from one or more of the at least one input and output communication channel and the voice bot (Column 5, lines 28-33, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may receive a user input from a user. For example, the input module 110 may receive the user input from the connected external device (e.g., a keyboard or a headset). For another example, the input module 110 may include a touch screen (e.g., a touch screen display) coupled to the display 120."; Column 5, lines 37-42, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may include a microphone capable of receiving the utterance of the user as a voice signal. For example, the input module 110 may include a speech input system and may receive the utterance of the user as a voice signal through the speech input system."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.);
transmit the user input to at least one audio handler (Column 7, lines 58-61, "The processor 150 may execute the intelligence agent 145 to transmit a user input received through the input module 110 to the intelligence server 200 and may process the user input through the intelligence server 200."; Transmitting a user input received through an input module to an intelligence server reads on transmitting the user input to an audio handler, where the intelligence server reads on an audio handler.);
receive a response from the at least one audio handler (Column 12, lines 24-29, "Referring to FIG. 5, the intelligence server 200 may include an automatic speech recognition (ASR) module 210, a natural language understanding (NLU) module 220, a path planner module 230, a dialogue manager (DM) module 240, a natural language generator (NLG) module 250, or a text to speech (TTS) module 260."; Column 15, lines 11-19, "According to an embodiment, the DM module 240 may include a content provider module. When the content provider module executes an operation based on the intent and the parameter grasped by the NLU module 220, the content provider module may generate the result obtained by performing a task corresponding to the user input. According to an embodiment, the DM module 240 may transmit the result generated by the content provider module as the response to the user input to the user terminal 100."; A dialogue manager module of an intelligence server transmitting a result generated as the response to the user input to the user terminal reads on receiving a response from an audio handler, where the intelligence server reads on an audio handler.);
and provide the response via the at least one input and output communication channel and the voice bot (Column 5, lines 50-54, "According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may output a voice signal. For example, the speaker 130 may output the voice signal generated in the user terminal 100 to the outside. According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may be exposed to a part (e.g., a third portion) of the housing."; Column 15, lines 11-19, "According to an embodiment, the DM module 240 may include a content provider module. When the content provider module executes an operation based on the intent and the parameter grasped by the NLU module 220, the content provider module may generate the result obtained by performing a task corresponding to the user input. According to an embodiment, the DM module 240 may transmit the result generated by the content provider module as the response to the user input to the user terminal 100."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A dialogue manager module of an intelligence server transmitting a result generated as the response to the user input to the user terminal reads on providing a response, a chat service based on a text reads on an input and output communication channel, and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 5.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor and/or transceiver is programmed to: generate a first response and a second response based upon the response, wherein the first response and the second response are different (Column 24, line 64 - Column 25, line 11, "In an embodiment, the intelligence server 700 may transmit a first chat message to the first chatbot 750-1 and the second chatbot 750-2 (1205 and 1207). The intelligence server 700 may receive a first response generated depending on performing the first task from the first chatbot 750-1 (1209). The intelligence server 700 may receive a second response generated depending on the first task from the second chatbot 750-2 (1211). Because the first response and second response do not include a failure message for the first task, the intelligence server 700 may determine to transmit the first response and the second response to the user terminal 100 (1213). The user terminal 100 may output a chat message corresponding to the first response and a chat message associated with the second response through a chat interface (1217 and 1219)."; The user terminal outputting a chat message corresponding to the first response and a chat message associated with the second response through a chat interface reads on generating a first response and a second response based upon the response, wherein the first response and the second response are different.);
provide the first response to the user via the at least one input and output channel (Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on a text reads on an input and output communication channel.);
and provide the second response to the user via the voice bot (Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 5.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor and/or transceiver is programmed to: receive the user input via the voice bot (Column 5, lines 37-42, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may include a microphone capable of receiving the utterance of the user as a voice signal. For example, the input module 110 may include a speech input system and may receive the utterance of the user as a voice signal through the speech input system."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.);
and provide the response via the at least one input and output channel (Column 5, lines 50-54, "According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may output a voice signal. For example, the speaker 130 may output the voice signal generated in the user terminal 100 to the outside. According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may be exposed to a part (e.g., a third portion) of the housing."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on a text reads on an input and output communication channel.).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 7.
Baldwin further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor and/or transceiver is programmed to provide the response via the voice bot and the at least one input and output communication channel simultaneously (Column 7, line 66 - Column 8, line 13, "Conversational speech engine 115 may include a conversational language processor 120 and/or a voice search engine 125, described in greater detail in FIG. 2 below. Conversational speech engine 115 may communicate with one or more databases 130 to generate an adaptive conversational response, which may be returned to the user as an output 140. In one implementation, output 140 may be a multi-modal output and/or an interaction with one or more applications 145 to complete the request. For example, output 140 may include a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device. For example, the utterance may include a request to perform an action, and output 140 may include a conversational response reporting success or failure, as well as an execution of the action."; Generating an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response, reads on providing the response via the voice bot and the at least one input and output communication channel simultaneously, where a display of a route on a navigation device reads on providing the response via a communication channel, and a conversational response reads on providing the response via a voice bot.).
Baldwin is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao to further incorporate the teachings of Baldwin to generate an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response. Doing so would allow for providing intelligent responses including multi-modal responses to a user that are aware of and control one or more devices or interfaces, and allow users to respond by using whichever input method, or combination of input methods, is most convenient (Baldwin; Column 6, line 65 - Column 7, line 4).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a computer-implemented method of facilitating a multi-mode conversation via a computer system (Column 3, lines 43-44, "FIG. 1 is a view illustrating an integrated intelligence system, according to various embodiments of the disclosure.") and/or for implementing multiple simultaneous conversations and/or exchanges of information or receipt of user input via the computer system comprising one or more local or remote processors and/or transceivers, and in communication with one or more local or remote memory units (Column 1, lines 60-64, "According to an embodiment disclosed in this specification, a system may include a network interface, at least one processor operatively connected to the network interface, and at least one memory operatively connected to the at least one processor.") and in communication with at least one input and output channel and a voice bot, the method comprising:
accepting a first user input via the at least one input and output channel (Column 5, lines 28-33, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may receive a user input from a user. For example, the input module 110 may receive the user input from the connected external device (e.g., a keyboard or a headset). For another example, the input module 110 may include a touch screen (e.g., a touch screen display) coupled to the display 120."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; A chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on accepting a first user input via the at least one input and output channel.);
and/or accepting a second user input via the voice bot (Column 5, lines 37-42, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may include a microphone capable of receiving the utterance of the user as a voice signal. For example, the input module 110 may include a speech input system and may receive the utterance of the user as a voice signal through the speech input system."; Column 5, lines 50-54, "According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may output a voice signal. For example, the speaker 130 may output the voice signal generated in the user terminal 100 to the outside. According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may be exposed to a part (e.g., a third portion) of the housing."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user.");
wherein the first user input and the second user input are provided via the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot simultaneously (Column 1, lines 56-59, "Various embodiments of the disclosure provide a device for supporting a chat service capable of simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, and a method thereof."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 49-51, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may include the processor 150, the touch screen display 120, and the microphone 111."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; Column 26, lines 47-52, "The intelligence server 700 may end the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H by changing the state of the chatbot H back to the group session state. Alternatively, the intelligence server 700 may simultaneously provide the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H and the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot R."; Simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, where chat messages are received through a touch input by a touch screen display or a voice input by a microphone, and simultaneously provide a chat between the user and the chatbot H and between the user and the chatbot R, reads on the first user input and the second user input being provided via the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot simultaneously, where a chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.),
wherein the first portion of the output [is determined from historical user input and] comprises data for causing at least one selectable prompt to be displayed on a user input device to facilitate subsequent user input via the voice bot and/or the user input device (Column 25, lines 42-58, "In various embodiments, the first response may include at least one selectable item. The intelligence server 700 may receive a selection input to the at least one selectable item as the second chat message. In the chat interface (2) of FIGS. 9A, 9B and 9C, the chat message 913 corresponding to the response of the chatbot H may include two selectable items. For example, ‘Nankai Osaka’ and ‘Namba Oriental’ may be selectable items as available hotels. Referring to the chat interface (3), the intelligence server 700 may receive a chat message 917 including a selection input to one of the selectable items “Nankai Osaka” and “Namba Oriental”. The chat message 917 of “reserving Nankai Osaka Hotel” may include a selection input to “Nankai Osaka Hotel” among the selectable items. The intelligence server 700 may deliver the chat message 917 to the chatbot H."; A response including a selectable item to receive a selection input as a chat message reads on the first portion of the output comprising data for causing at least one selectable prompt to be displayed on a user input device to facilitate subsequent user input via the voice bot and/or the user input device.).
Kim does not specifically disclose: providing a first portion of an output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot simultaneously.
Baldwin teaches:
providing a first portion of an output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot simultaneously (Column 7, line 66 - Column 8, line 13, "Conversational speech engine 115 may include a conversational language processor 120 and/or a voice search engine 125, described in greater detail in FIG. 2 below. Conversational speech engine 115 may communicate with one or more databases 130 to generate an adaptive conversational response, which may be returned to the user as an output 140. In one implementation, output 140 may be a multi-modal output and/or an interaction with one or more applications 145 to complete the request. For example, output 140 may include a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device. For example, the utterance may include a request to perform an action, and output 140 may include a conversational response reporting success or failure, as well as an execution of the action."; Generating an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response, reads on providing a first portion of an output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot simultaneously, where a display of a route on a navigation device reads on providing a portion of the output via a communication channel, and a conversational response reads on providing a portion of the output via a voice bot.).
Baldwin is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Baldwin to generate an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response. Doing so would allow for providing intelligent responses including multi-modal responses to a user that are aware of and control one or more devices or interfaces, and allow users to respond by using whichever input method, or combination of input methods, is most convenient (Baldwin; Column 6, line 65 - Column 7, line 4).
Kim in view of Baldwin does not specifically disclose: wherein the first portion of the output is determined from historical user input and comprises data for causing at least one selectable prompt to be displayed on a user input device to facilitate subsequent user input via the voice bot and/or the user input device.
Hsiao teaches:
wherein the first portion of the output is determined from historical user input and comprises data for causing at least one selectable prompt to be displayed on a user input device to facilitate subsequent user input via the voice bot and/or the user input device (Column 1, line 65 - Column 2, line 21, "More particularly, in some embodiments, the online concierge system accesses an order history database. The order history database describes a plurality of historical orders for a plurality of users. Each historical order in the order history database comprises a list of items selected by a respective user form a plurality of items. The online concierge system determines a plurality of user streaks. Each user streak is based on a number of consecutive orders placed by a respective user of the plurality of users that include a respective item of the plurality of items. The online concierge system calculates an overall streak distribution for the plurality of items based on the plurality of user streaks. For each item of at least a subset of the plurality of items, the online concierge system calculates a streak statistic for the item. The streak statistic is based on a corresponding subset of the plurality of user streaks and the overall streak distribution. The online concierge system selects a set of staples items for a particular user based on the streak statistics for the set of staple items and generates a display for the particular user with a selectable list. The online concierge system generates a staples ordering interface for the particular user for display. The staples ordering interface includes a selectable list of the selected set of staple items."; Generating a display for a particular user with a selectable list reads on the first portion of the output comprising data for causing at least one selectable prompt to be displayed on a user input device to facilitate subsequent user input via the voice bot and/or the user input device, and selecting a set of staples items for a particular user based on streak statistics determined from an order history database reads on the first portion of the output being determined from historical user input.).
Hsiao is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Hsiao to generate a display for a particular user with a selectable list and select a set of staples items for a particular user based on streak statistics determined from an order history database. Doing so would allow for providing a more accurate and useful list of items that a user is likely to include in an online shopping order (Hsiao; Column 1, lines 33-41).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 10.
Kim further discloses:
further comprising engaging the user in separate exchanges of information simultaneously via the at least one input and output communication channel and the voice bot (Column 1, lines 56-59, "Various embodiments of the disclosure provide a device for supporting a chat service capable of simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, and a method thereof."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 49-51, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may include the processor 150, the touch screen display 120, and the microphone 111."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; Column 26, lines 47-52, "The intelligence server 700 may end the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H by changing the state of the chatbot H back to the group session state. Alternatively, the intelligence server 700 may simultaneously provide the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H and the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot R."; Simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, where chat messages are received through a touch input by a touch screen display or a voice input by a microphone, and simultaneously provide a chat between the user and the chatbot H and between the user and the chatbot R, reads on engaging the user in separate exchanges of information simultaneously via the at least one input and output communication channel and the voice bot, where a chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 10.
Kim further discloses:
further comprising providing a first output via the at least one input and output channel simultaneously to accepting the second user input via the voice bot (Column 1, lines 56-59, "Various embodiments of the disclosure provide a device for supporting a chat service capable of simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, and a method thereof."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 49-51, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may include the processor 150, the touch screen display 120, and the microphone 111."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; Column 26, lines 47-52, "The intelligence server 700 may end the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H by changing the state of the chatbot H back to the group session state. Alternatively, the intelligence server 700 may simultaneously provide the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H and the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot R."; Simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, where chat messages are received through a touch input by a touch screen display or a voice input by a microphone, and simultaneously provide a chat between the user and the chatbot H and between the user and the chatbot R, reads on providing a first output via the at least one input and output channel simultaneously to accepting the second user input via the voice bot, where a chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 10.
Kim further discloses:
further comprising providing a first output via the at least one input and output channel simultaneously to providing a second output via the voice bot (Column 1, lines 56-59, "Various embodiments of the disclosure provide a device for supporting a chat service capable of simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, and a method thereof."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 49-51, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may include the processor 150, the touch screen display 120, and the microphone 111."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; Column 26, lines 47-52, "The intelligence server 700 may end the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H by changing the state of the chatbot H back to the group session state. Alternatively, the intelligence server 700 may simultaneously provide the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H and the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot R."; Simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, where chat messages are received through a touch input by a touch screen display or a voice input by a microphone, and simultaneously provide a chat between the user and the chatbot H and between the user and the chatbot R, reads on providing a first output via the at least one input and output channel simultaneously to providing a second output via the voice bot where a chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 10.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the at least one input and output channel includes a touch display screen having a graphical user interface configured to accept user touch input (Column 5, lines 28-33, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may receive a user input from a user. For example, the input module 110 may receive the user input from the connected external device (e.g., a keyboard or a headset). For another example, the input module 110 may include a touch screen (e.g., a touch screen display) coupled to the display 120."; Column 5, lines 44-47, "According to an embodiment, the display 120 may display an image, a video, and/or an execution screen of an application. For example, the display 120 may display a graphic user interface (GUI) of an app.").
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 10.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the at least one input and output channel includes a display screen having a graphical user interface, wherein the method further comprises accepting user selectable input via a mouse or other input device (Column 5, lines 44-47, "According to an embodiment, the display 120 may display an image, a video, and/or an execution screen of an application. For example, the display 120 may display a graphic user interface (GUI) of an app."; Column 25, lines 42-45, "In various embodiments, the first response may include at least one selectable item. The intelligence server 700 may receive a selection input to the at least one selectable item as the second chat message."; Column 29, lines 61-65, "The input device 1550 may receive a command or data to be used by other component (e.g., the processor 1520) of the electronic device 1501, from the outside (e.g., a user) of the electronic device 1501. The input device 1550 may include, for example, a microphone, a mouse, or a keyboard.").
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 10.
Kim further discloses:
receiving user input from one or more of the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot (Column 5, lines 28-33, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may receive a user input from a user. For example, the input module 110 may receive the user input from the connected external device (e.g., a keyboard or a headset). For another example, the input module 110 may include a touch screen (e.g., a touch screen display) coupled to the display 120."; Column 5, lines 37-42, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may include a microphone capable of receiving the utterance of the user as a voice signal. For example, the input module 110 may include a speech input system and may receive the utterance of the user as a voice signal through the speech input system."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.);
transmitting the user input to at least one audio handler (Column 7, lines 58-61, "The processor 150 may execute the intelligence agent 145 to transmit a user input received through the input module 110 to the intelligence server 200 and may process the user input through the intelligence server 200."; Transmitting a user input received through an input module to an intelligence server reads on transmitting the user input to an audio handler, where the intelligence server reads on an audio handler.);
receiving a response from the at least one audio handler (Column 12, lines 24-29, "Referring to FIG. 5, the intelligence server 200 may include an automatic speech recognition (ASR) module 210, a natural language understanding (NLU) module 220, a path planner module 230, a dialogue manager (DM) module 240, a natural language generator (NLG) module 250, or a text to speech (TTS) module 260."; Column 15, lines 11-19, "According to an embodiment, the DM module 240 may include a content provider module. When the content provider module executes an operation based on the intent and the parameter grasped by the NLU module 220, the content provider module may generate the result obtained by performing a task corresponding to the user input. According to an embodiment, the DM module 240 may transmit the result generated by the content provider module as the response to the user input to the user terminal 100."; A dialogue manager module of an intelligence server transmitting a result generated as the response to the user input to the user terminal reads on receiving a response from an audio handler, where the intelligence server reads on an audio handler.);
and providing the response via one or more of the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot (Column 5, lines 50-54, "According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may output a voice signal. For example, the speaker 130 may output the voice signal generated in the user terminal 100 to the outside. According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may be exposed to a part (e.g., a third portion) of the housing."; Column 15, lines 11-19, "According to an embodiment, the DM module 240 may include a content provider module. When the content provider module executes an operation based on the intent and the parameter grasped by the NLU module 220, the content provider module may generate the result obtained by performing a task corresponding to the user input. According to an embodiment, the DM module 240 may transmit the result generated by the content provider module as the response to the user input to the user terminal 100."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A dialogue manager module of an intelligence server transmitting a result generated as the response to the user input to the user terminal reads on providing a response, a chat service based on a text reads on an input and output channel, and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 16.
Kim further discloses:
generating a first response and a second response based upon the response, wherein the first response and the second response are different (Column 24, line 64 - Column 25, line 11, "In an embodiment, the intelligence server 700 may transmit a first chat message to the first chatbot 750-1 and the second chatbot 750-2 (1205 and 1207). The intelligence server 700 may receive a first response generated depending on performing the first task from the first chatbot 750-1 (1209). The intelligence server 700 may receive a second response generated depending on the first task from the second chatbot 750-2 (1211). Because the first response and second response do not include a failure message for the first task, the intelligence server 700 may determine to transmit the first response and the second response to the user terminal 100 (1213). The user terminal 100 may output a chat message corresponding to the first response and a chat message associated with the second response through a chat interface (1217 and 1219)."; The user terminal outputting a chat message corresponding to the first response and a chat message associated with the second response through a chat interface reads on generating a first response and a second response based upon the response, wherein the first response and the second response are different.);
providing the first response to a user via the at least one input and output channel (Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on a text reads on an input and output communication channel.);
and providing the second response to the user via the voice bot (Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.).
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 16.
Kim further discloses:
further comprising receiving the user input via the voice bot (Column 5, lines 37-42, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may include a microphone capable of receiving the utterance of the user as a voice signal. For example, the input module 110 may include a speech input system and may receive the utterance of the user as a voice signal through the speech input system."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.);
and providing the response via the at least one input and output channel (Column 5, lines 50-54, "According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may output a voice signal. For example, the speaker 130 may output the voice signal generated in the user terminal 100 to the outside. According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may be exposed to a part (e.g., a third portion) of the housing."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; A chat service based on a text reads on an input and output communication channel.).
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses a computer-implemented method of facilitating a multi-mode conversation via a computer system (Column 3, lines 43-44, "FIG. 1 is a view illustrating an integrated intelligence system, according to various embodiments of the disclosure.") and/or for implementing multiple simultaneous conversations and/or exchanges of information or receipt of user input via the computer system comprising one or more local or remote processors and/or transceivers, and in communication with one or more local or remote memory units (Column 1, lines 60-64, "According to an embodiment disclosed in this specification, a system may include a network interface, at least one processor operatively connected to the network interface, and at least one memory operatively connected to the at least one processor.") and in communication with at least one input and output channel and a voice bot, the method comprising:
accepting a user input via at least one of the at least one input and output channel or the voice bot (Column 5, lines 37-42, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may include a microphone capable of receiving the utterance of the user as a voice signal. For example, the input module 110 may include a speech input system and may receive the utterance of the user as a voice signal through the speech input system."; Column 5, lines 50-54, "According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may output a voice signal. For example, the speaker 130 may output the voice signal generated in the user terminal 100 to the outside. According to an embodiment, the speaker 130 may be exposed to a part (e.g., a third portion) of the housing."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user.");
and providing an output to a user via the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot (Column 5, lines 28-33, "According to an embodiment, the input module 110 may receive a user input from a user. For example, the input module 110 may receive the user input from the connected external device (e.g., a keyboard or a headset). For another example, the input module 110 may include a touch screen (e.g., a touch screen display) coupled to the display 120."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; A chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on providing an output to a user via the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot.),
wherein the output to the user is provided via the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot simultaneously (Column 1, lines 56-59, "Various embodiments of the disclosure provide a device for supporting a chat service capable of simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, and a method thereof."; Column 17, lines 54-59, "Referring to FIG. 7, an intelligence server (or an intelligence system) 700 may provide a chat service based on a text and/or voice. The chat service may provide various services provided by a plurality of external servers. For example, each of the external servers may provide a chatbot for providing each service by chatting with a user."; Column 22, lines 49-51, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may include the processor 150, the touch screen display 120, and the microphone 111."; Column 22, lines 61-64, "In an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a chat message including a task associated with a first chatbot 750-1 through a touch input by the touch screen display 120 or a voice input by the microphone 111 (1001)."; Column 26, lines 47-52, "The intelligence server 700 may end the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H by changing the state of the chatbot H back to the group session state. Alternatively, the intelligence server 700 may simultaneously provide the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot H and the 1:1 chat between the user and the chatbot R."; Simultaneously providing various services through a plurality of chatbots, where chat messages are received through a touch input by a touch screen display or a voice input by a microphone, and simultaneously provide a chat between the user and the chatbot H and between the user and the chatbot R, reads on the user input and the output to the user being provided via at least one of the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot simultaneously, where a chat service based on a text provided through a touch screen display reads on an input and output communication channel and a chat service based on voice reads on a voice bot.),
and wherein the first portion of the output [is determined from historical user input and] comprises data for causing at least one selectable prompt to be displayed on a user input device to facilitate subsequent user input via the voice bot and/or the user input device (Column 25, lines 42-58, "In various embodiments, the first response may include at least one selectable item. The intelligence server 700 may receive a selection input to the at least one selectable item as the second chat message. In the chat interface (2) of FIGS. 9A, 9B and 9C, the chat message 913 corresponding to the response of the chatbot H may include two selectable items. For example, ‘Nankai Osaka’ and ‘Namba Oriental’ may be selectable items as available hotels. Referring to the chat interface (3), the intelligence server 700 may receive a chat message 917 including a selection input to one of the selectable items “Nankai Osaka” and “Namba Oriental”. The chat message 917 of “reserving Nankai Osaka Hotel” may include a selection input to “Nankai Osaka Hotel” among the selectable items. The intelligence server 700 may deliver the chat message 917 to the chatbot H."; A response including a selectable item to receive a selection input as a chat message reads on the first portion of the output comprising data for causing at least one selectable prompt to be displayed on a user input device to facilitate subsequent user input via the voice bot and/or the user input device.).
Kim does not specifically disclose: wherein the output to the user is provided via the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot simultaneously at least in part by providing a first portion of the output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot.
Baldwin teaches:
wherein the output to the user is provided via the at least one input and output channel and the voice bot simultaneously at least in part by providing a first portion of the output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot (Column 7, line 66 - Column 8, line 13, "Conversational speech engine 115 may include a conversational language processor 120 and/or a voice search engine 125, described in greater detail in FIG. 2 below. Conversational speech engine 115 may communicate with one or more databases 130 to generate an adaptive conversational response, which may be returned to the user as an output 140. In one implementation, output 140 may be a multi-modal output and/or an interaction with one or more applications 145 to complete the request. For example, output 140 may include a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device. For example, the utterance may include a request to perform an action, and output 140 may include a conversational response reporting success or failure, as well as an execution of the action."; Generating an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response, reads on providing a first portion of the output via the at least one input and output communication channel and a second portion of the output via the voice bot, where a display of a route on a navigation device reads on providing a portion of the output via a communication channel, and a conversational response reads on providing a portion of the output via a voice bot.).
Baldwin is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Baldwin to generate an adaptive conversational response including a combination of an audible response and a display of a route on a navigation device, where the audible response is a conversational response. Doing so would allow for providing intelligent responses including multi-modal responses to a user that are aware of and control one or more devices or interfaces, and allow users to respond by using whichever input method, or combination of input methods, is most convenient (Baldwin; Column 6, line 65 - Column 7, line 4).
Kim in view of Baldwin does not specifically disclose: wherein the first portion of the output is determined from historical user input and comprises data for causing at least one selectable prompt to be displayed on a user input device to facilitate subsequent user input via the voice bot and/or the user input device.
Hsiao teaches:
wherein the first portion of the output is determined from historical user input and comprises data for causing at least one selectable prompt to be displayed on a user input device to facilitate subsequent user input via the voice bot and/or the user input device (Column 1, line 65 - Column 2, line 21, "More particularly, in some embodiments, the online concierge system accesses an order history database. The order history database describes a plurality of historical orders for a plurality of users. Each historical order in the order history database comprises a list of items selected by a respective user form a plurality of items. The online concierge system determines a plurality of user streaks. Each user streak is based on a number of consecutive orders placed by a respective user of the plurality of users that include a respective item of the plurality of items. The online concierge system calculates an overall streak distribution for the plurality of items based on the plurality of user streaks. For each item of at least a subset of the plurality of items, the online concierge system calculates a streak statistic for the item. The streak statistic is based on a corresponding subset of the plurality of user streaks and the overall streak distribution. The online concierge system selects a set of staples items for a particular user based on the streak statistics for the set of staple items and generates a display for the particular user with a selectable list. The online concierge system generates a staples ordering interface for the particular user for display. The staples ordering interface includes a selectable list of the selected set of staple items."; Generating a display for a particular user with a selectable list reads on the first portion of the output comprising data for causing at least one selectable prompt to be displayed on a user input device to facilitate subsequent user input via the voice bot and/or the user input device, and selecting a set of staples items for a particular user based on streak statistics determined from an order history database reads on the first portion of the output being determined from historical user input.).
Hsiao is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Baldwin to incorporate the teachings of Hsiao to generate a display for a particular user with a selectable list and select a set of staples items for a particular user based on streak statistics determined from an order history database. Doing so would allow for providing a more accurate and useful list of items that a user is likely to include in an online shopping order (Hsiao; Column 1, lines 33-41).
Regarding claim 22, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 21.
Hsiao further teaches:
further comprising identifying the at least one selectable prompt from historical data comprising the historical user input, the historical data indicating the at least one selectable prompt as being previously selected in response to the user input (Column 1, line 65 - Column 2, line 21, "More particularly, in some embodiments, the online concierge system accesses an order history database. The order history database describes a plurality of historical orders for a plurality of users. Each historical order in the order history database comprises a list of items selected by a respective user form a plurality of items. The online concierge system determines a plurality of user streaks. Each user streak is based on a number of consecutive orders placed by a respective user of the plurality of users that include a respective item of the plurality of items. The online concierge system calculates an overall streak distribution for the plurality of items based on the plurality of user streaks. For each item of at least a subset of the plurality of items, the online concierge system calculates a streak statistic for the item. The streak statistic is based on a corresponding subset of the plurality of user streaks and the overall streak distribution. The online concierge system selects a set of staples items for a particular user based on the streak statistics for the set of staple items and generates a display for the particular user with a selectable list. The online concierge system generates a staples ordering interface for the particular user for display. The staples ordering interface includes a selectable list of the selected set of staple items."; Selecting a set of staples items for a particular user based on streak statistics determined from an order history database reads on identifying the at least one selectable prompt from historical data comprising the historical user input, and the order history database describing a plurality of historical orders for a plurality of users, where each historical order in the order history database comprises a list of items selected by a respective user from a plurality of items, reads on the historical data indicating the at least one selectable prompt as being previously selected in response to the user input.).
Hsiao is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao to further incorporate the teachings of Hsiao to select a set of staples items for a particular user based on streak statistics determined from an order history database, where the order history database describes a plurality of historical orders for a plurality of users, and where each historical order in the order history database comprises a list of items selected by a respective user from a plurality of items. Doing so would allow for providing a more accurate and useful list of items that a user is likely to include in an online shopping order (Hsiao; Column 1, lines 33-41).
Regarding claim 23, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 21.
Hsiao further teaches:
further comprising: accepting a second user input via at least one of the at least one input and output channel or the voice bot, the second user input comprising selection of one or more selectable prompts of the at least one selectable prompt (Column 11, lines 21-29, "FIG. 5 is an example of a staples ordering interface 500, according to one embodiment. The staples ordering interface 500 is a user interface that shows items 502 in a selectable staples list displayed to a customer. The items 502 have specific types or brands, such as Moo Moo Milk 502A, and may be displayed with information such as the price of the item per quantity or an image depicting the item. The customer may interact with the staples ordering interface 500 to select items 502 to purchase."; The customer interacting with the staples ordering interface to select items to purchase reads on accepting a second user input via at least one of the at least one input and output channel or the voice bot, the second user input comprising selection of one or more selectable prompts of the at least one selectable prompt.);
and providing a second output via at least one of the at least one input and output channel or the voice bot, the second output requesting confirmation of the selection of the one or more selectable prompts (Column 11, lines 28-58, "The customer may interact with the staples ordering interface 500 to select items 502 to purchase. In this example, each item is associated with a checkbox 504 that the customer may use to deselect items by unchecking the checkbox 504A or select by checking the checkbox 504B. In some embodiments, the staples ordering interface 500 may be displayed with all of the checkboxes 504 checked, and the customer can selectively remove certain items. The customer may also toggle the skip button 506 to deselect all of the items in the staples list and/or proceed to another ordering interface. In some embodiments, the staples ordering interface 500 also includes a button that the customer may toggle to select all of the items in the staples list (not shown). The customer may also use the quantity selector 508 to choose a quantity of each item. In some embodiments, the quantity selector is a drop-down menu. In other embodiments, the quantity selector receives a value input on a keyboard or keypad. Once the customer has made their item selections, the customer may use the add to order button 510 to add the selected items to their online shopping cart for purchase. In other embodiments, the staples ordering interface 500 may include more interactive elements for the user to remove/add items to their staples list, purchase items, set up orders in advances, and more. The staples ordering interface 500 allows a user to quickly add their staple items to their shopping cart. For example, if the user wishes to include all of the listed staples items, the user can quickly review and select all of the items in one click. The staples ordering interface 500 also allows a user to efficiently adjust their staple items for a given order, e.g., by unchecking a few items, and adding the rest to the order."; Displaying a checkbox associated with each item indicating if the item is selected for order, and displaying an add to order button to add the selected items to their online shopping cart for purchase, read on providing a second output via at least one of the at least one input and output channel or the voice bot, the second output requesting confirmation of the selection of the one or more selectable prompts.).
Hsiao is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao to further incorporate the teachings of Hsiao to provide a staples ordering interface for a customer to select items to purchase, display a checkbox associated with each item indicating if the item is selected for order, and display an add to order button to add the selected items to their online shopping cart for purchase. Doing so would allow for providing a more accurate and useful list of items that a user is likely to include in an online shopping order (Hsiao; Column 1, lines 33-41).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao, and further in view of Evans et al. (US Patent No. 11,158,004), hereinafter Evans.
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao discloses the computer system as claimed in claim 1, but does not specifically disclose: wherein the user input and the output relate to and/or are associated with insurance.
Evans teaches:
wherein the user input and the output relate to and/or are associated with insurance (Column 3, lines 14-19, "The presently disclosed example embodiments are generally directed to systems and techniques for utilizing natural language understanding, object recognition in digital images, human behavior profiling, and so on, to facilitate property maintenance, event handling (e.g., for fires, floods, hurricanes, tornadoes, etc.), and/or insurance responses."; Column 3, lines 45-52, "As described in more detail below, in many examples, a virtual assistant (also referred to as a virtual agent or intelligent personal assistant) may be output to a user to facilitate various functions. The virtual assistant may be output in any suitable format, such as a virtual assistant on a web site with a text interface (e.g., a chatbot), a virtual assistant application on a mobile device, or a speech interface, for example."; Column 5, lines 40-46, "The client device 108 is configured to engage in user interaction with a communication component 112 of the client device. The user interaction may take a variety of forms, such as mouse inputs (e.g., click, hover, scroll), keyboard inputs (e.g., type, navigate, volume control), voice inputs (e.g., instructions, selections, inquiries), touch inputs (e.g., through a touch screen), and so forth."; A virtual assistant to facilitate insurance responses reads on the user input and the output being associated with insurance.).
Evans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of voice virtual agent systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Baldwin and Hsiao to incorporate the teachings of Evans to implement a virtual assistant to facilitate insurance responses. Doing so would allow for a user to interact with an automated system to manage and maintain their property, prepare for or react to an event, efficiently provide an insurer with a notice of loss, receive an insurance claim estimate, and perform a variety of other functions without having to interact with a human insurance agent (Evans; Column 3, lines 14-47).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Archak et al. (US Patent No. 11,195,222) teaches an online concierge system for a customer to add items to an online shopping cart.
/JAMES BOGGS/Examiner, Art Unit 2657