DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a provision module” and “an assembly module” in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “a provision module” and “an assembly module” each invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification and drawings do not disclose any structure which is capable of carrying out the recited functions of the structures. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2002-124236 (cited on IDS 11/25/24) with reliance upon the English-language machine translation (hereinafter “Toyota”).
In regard to claim 1, Toyota discloses a battery cell (battery 1), comprising a shell (battery container 2), comprising a first wall (proximal numeral 2 in Figure 1); an electrode assembly (electrode body 10), disposed inside the shell; and a terminal assembly, comprising an electrode terminal and an elastic member (coil spring 13), wherein the electrode terminal comprises a fixed portion (first terminal 11) for electrical connection with the electrode assembly and a movable portion (second terminal 12) for electrical connection with a current collecting component (not explicitly recited but equivalent to a device being powered by the battery), wherein the fixed portion is necessarily fixedly disposed on the first wall as required for the first terminal 11 to be stationary within the battery container 2, the movable portion is movably disposed on the first wall via the cylinder portion 21, the movable portion has a first position in contact with the fixed portion (see Figure 1) and a second position separated from the fixed portion (see Figures 2-3), the elastic member is configured for applying elastic force to the movable portion, so as to maintain the movable portion in the first position; wherein the movable portion is configured to move from the first position to the second position against the elastic force when internal pressure of the battery cell reaches a threshold, so as to release the internal pressure (via gas discharge path G as shown in Figure 3). See Figures 1-4, the abstract and paragraphs [0016]-[0022].
In regard to claim 13, Toyota discloses wherein the terminal assembly is one of two terminal assemblies having opposite polarities of the battery cell as the above terminal assembly is stated to be the positive electrode and the negative electrode terminal is cited as being not pictures in the lower part of the figures. See the last paragraph of page 4 and the first paragraph of page 5 of the machine translation.
In regard to claim 14, Toyota discloses wherein the shell (battery container 2) comprises a shell body (cylinder 21) and an end cover (side wall proximal to numeral 2 in Figure 1), the shell body has an opening (the open area of the cylinder 21), the end cover is configured for covering the opening as the side wall proximal to numeral 2 surrounds the open area of the cylinder 21, and the first wall is the end cover (see claim 1). See Figure 1.
In regard to claim 15, Toyota discloses wherein the battery cell (battery1 ) is a battery. See the abstract.
In regard to claim 16, Toyota necessarily anticipates a power consumption device which comprises the battery 1 as it is inherent that the battery is to be used to provide power to a power consumption device.
In regard to claim 17, it is held that the battery 1 of Toyota as cited in above claim 1 necessarily anticipates the manufacturing method as the recited method would necessarily need to be carried out to produce the battery 1 as recited in claim 1 due to the generic use of “providing,” “disposing,” “fixedly disposing” and “movably disposing” steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyota as applied above.
In regard to claim 18, Toyota is silent in regard to a provision module and assembly module for producing a battery with the same structure as recited in claim 1. However, it would have been within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an assembly module and provision module as claimed for the purpose of manufacturing the battery with the structure taught by Toyota without creating any new or unexpected results as it is extremely well understood that batteries are assembled by other machines for mass production.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY C CLEVELAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774