DETAILED ACTION
This is an AIA application filed November 7, 2023.
The earliest effective filing date of this AIA application is seen as November 7, 2023, the actual filing date, there being no earlier priority applications.
The present application is also related to the applications giving rise to the following patent publication(s):
none are seen.
The claims filed June 26, 2026 are entered, currently outstanding, and subject to examination.
This action is in response to the filing of the same date.
The current status and history of the claims are summarized below:
Last Amendment/Response
Previously
Amended:
1, 8, & 17
N/A
Cancelled:
none
N/A
Withdrawn:
none
N/A
Added:
none
N/A
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and outstanding.
Regarding the last reply:
Claims 1, 8, and 17 were amended.
No claims were cancelled.
No claims were withdrawn.
No claims were added.
Claims 1-20 are currently outstanding and subject to examination.
This is a final action and is the second action on the merits.
Allowable subject matter is not indicated below.
Often, in the substance of the action below, formal matters are addressed first, claim rejections second, and any response to arguments third.
Specification
Applicant must provide the same terminology/vocabulary/phrasing in the specification that is present in the claims. At least one term or phrase is missing from the specification present in the claim(s).
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o).
Correction is required as the following amendment(s)/text in the claims find(s) no antecedent in the specification.
Claim(s)
Antecedent Missing For
1
"wherein the electric integrated circuit component is located between the photonic integrated circuit component and the optical signal port"
8 & 17
"wherein the electric integrated circuit component and the insulating encapsulant are located between the photonic integrated circuit component and the support layer"
As set forth in MPEP § 608.01(o):
The meaning of every term used in any of the claims should be apparent from the descriptive portion of the specification with clear disclosure as to its import; and in mechanical cases, it should be identified in the descriptive portion of the specification by reference to the drawing, designating the part or parts therein to which the term applies. A term used in the claims may be given a special meaning in the description. See MPEP § 2111.01 and § 2173.05(a).
Usually the terminology of the original claims follows the nomenclature of the specification, but sometimes in amending the claims or in adding new claims, new terms are introduced that do not appear in the specification. The use of a confusing variety of terms for the same thing should not be permitted.
. . . While an applicant is not limited to the nomenclature used in the application as filed, he or she should make appropriate amendment of the specification whenever this nomenclature is departed from by amendment of the claims so as to have clear support or antecedent basis in the specification for the new terms appearing in the claims. This is necessary in order to insure [sic, ensure] certainty in construing the claims in the light of the specification, Ex parte Kotler, 1901 C.D. 62, 95 O.G. 2684 (Comm’r Pat. 1901). See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP §§ 608.01(i), § 1302.01.
Consequently, identity between terms and phrases in the specification and claims is preferred and is seen as mandatory to ensure “certainty in construing the claims in the light of the specification”.
Further, under 37 C.F.R. § 1.121(e) regarding disclosure consistency:
The disclosure must be amended, when required by the Office, to correct inaccuracies of description and definition, and to secure substantial correspondence between the claims, the remainder of the specification, and the drawings.
Examiner considers direct correspondence between the specification and the claims to be important with respect to determining the scope of the claims.
Examiner strongly urges Applicant to review its claims with a fine-toothed comb and scrutinize them for any discrepancies between claim language and language that is used in the written description/specification as originally filed. Applicant is responsible for what it drafts. Discrepancies may be interpreted to Applicant’s detriment.
Special Definitions for Claim Language - MPEP § 2111.01(IV)
No special definitions are seen as present in the specification regarding the language used in the claims. Consequently, the words and phrases of the claims are given their plain meaning. MPEP §§ 2173.01, 2173.05(a), and 2111.01.
If special definitions are present, Applicant should bring those to the attention of the examiner and the prosecution history with its next response in a manner both specific and particular. In doing so, there will be no mistake, confusion, and/or ambiguity as to what constitutes the special definition(s).
To date, Applicant has provided no indication of special definitions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-11, 15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220342150 of Karhade et al. (Karhade).
With respect to claim 8, Karhade discloses a package assembly (Fig. 1A, ¶¶ 36 et seq., photonic package 100), comprising:
an optical engine (Fig. 1A, photonic package 100) comprising:
a photonic integrated circuit component (102) comprising an optical input/output portion (at 148, generally) configured to transmit and receive optical signal (¶ 37, "Electro-optical device 108 [a part of active side 104] can enable receiving, transforming, and transmitting optical signals.");
an electric integrated circuit component (¶ 44, "Turning back to FIG. 1A, PIC 102 may be electrically coupled by way of interconnects 112 to an EIC 114 situated in an interposer 116. Interconnects 112 may comprise die-to-die (DTD) interconnects along with associated conductive traces, planes, vias, and pads enabling electrical coupling between PIC 102 and EIC 114."),
electrically connected to the photonic integrated circuit component (per the interconnects 112);
an insulating encapsulant encapsulating the electric integrated circuit component (¶ 47, "In various embodiments, interposer 116 may comprise any suitable insulating material, such as an organic material, for example, a polymer with fillers."); and
a support layer disposed on the electric integrated circuit component and the insulating encapsulant (¶ 51, "Another underfill 132 (also referred to as “second-level underfill” or “underfill of a second-level”) and solder resist 134 (e.g., organic polymer material such as benzotriazole, imidazole, polyimide, or epoxy) may be between package support 124 and interposer 116.");
wherein the electric integrated circuit component (114) and the insulating encapsulant (116) are located between the photonic integrated circuit component (102) and the support layer (132);
a lens (138) secured on a sidewall (142) of the photonic integrated circuit component (102); and
an optical signal port (¶ 59, optical fiber 144) connected with the optical engine and (Fig. 1A right) optically coupled to the optical input/output portion through the lens (138).
With respect to claim 9, Karhade as set forth above discloses the package assembly as claimed in claim 8, including one wherein
the sidewall (142) of the photonic integrated circuit component (102) is substantially leveled with a sidewall of the insulating encapsulant (per Fig. 1A right).
With respect to claim 10, Karhade as set forth above discloses the package assembly as claimed in claim 8, including one wherein
the lens (138) is directly in contact with the sidewall (142 and including the optical glue 140) of the photonic integrated circuit component (102).
With respect to claim 11, Karhade as set forth above discloses the package assembly as claimed in claim 8, including one wherein
the lens (138) is attached on the sidewall (142) of the photonic integrated circuit component (102) via an adhesive layer (140).
With respect to claim 15, Karhade as set forth above discloses the package assembly as claimed in claim 8, including one wherein
the optical signal port comprises a fiber (144) facing the sidewall (142) of the photonic integrated circuit component (102).
With respect to claim 17, Karhade as set forth above discloses a manufacturing method of a package assembly, including one comprising:
providing an optical engine comprising:
a photonic integrated circuit component comprising an optical input/output portion configured to transmit and receive optical signal;
an electric integrated circuit component,
electrically connected to the photonic integrated circuit component;
an insulating encapsulant laterally surrounded the electric integrated circuit component;
and a support layer disposed on the electric integrated circuit component and the insulating encapsulant, wherein the electric integrated circuit component and the insulating encapsulant are located between the photonic integrated circuit component and the support layer;
securing a lens on a sidewall of the photonic integrated circuit component; and
attaching an optical signal port onto the optical engine.
The method of claim 17 above would naturally occur in the construction and/or manufacture of a device as set forth in claim 8, above.
With respect to claim 20, Karhade as set forth above discloses the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 17, including one further comprising:
using the optical signal port to check an alignment between the lens (138) and the optical input/output portion.
Seen as inherent to ensure a functioning and useful object having utility.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220342150 of Karhade et al. (Karhade) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230087809 of Li et al. (Li).
With respect to claim 1, Karhade discloses a package assembly (Fig. 1A, ¶¶ 36 et seq., photonic package 100), comprising:
a photonic integrated circuit component ("As shown, photonic package 100 may include a PIC 102, with an active side 104 [Fig. 1B].") comprising an optical input/output portion (at 148, generally) configured to transmit and receive optical signal (¶ 37, "Electro-optical device 108 [a part of active side 104] can enable receiving, transforming, and transmitting optical signals.");
an electric integrated circuit component (¶ 44, "Turning back to FIG. 1A, PIC 102 may be electrically coupled by way of interconnects 112 to an EIC 114 situated in an interposer 116. Interconnects 112 may comprise die-to-die (DTD) interconnects along with associated conductive traces, planes, vias, and pads enabling electrical coupling between PIC 102 and EIC 114."),
electrically connected to the photonic integrated circuit component (per the interconnects 112);
a lens (¶ 59, "PIC 102 may be optically coupled to an optical lens 138 using any suitable attachment means, for example, optical glue 140, on at least a portion of a lateral side 142 of PIC 102.") disposed on a sidewall (142) of the photonic integrated circuit component (102); and
an optical signal port (¶ 59, optical fiber 144) optically coupled to the optical input/output portion.
Karhade as set forth above does not disclose:
wherein the electric integrated circuit component is located between the photonic integrated circuit component and the optical signal port.
The only difference here regarding the amended subject matter is the positioning of the optical signal port per Applicant’s Fig. 1K where Karhade Fig. 1A has the port to the side and Applicant’s Fig. 1K has it vertically displaced above support layer 310.
Li discloses a photonic integrated circuit packaging architectures that includes many different optical port geometries, including one that is vertically displaced in Fig. 4 for aperture/port 158.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to displace the optical signal port along the lines of Li in a system according to Karhade as set forth above in order to selectably position an optical port. This provides one rationale to combine the references.
Another completely independent and separately sufficient rationale arises as follows. In making the combination (above), prior art elements (listed above) are combined according to known methods (per the references) to yield predictable results (a photonic integrated circuit/PIC) would occur as each element merely performs the same function in combination as it does separately. MPEP § 2141(III). This additional rationale is a sufficient, a complete, and an explicitly-recognized rationale to combine the references and conclude that the claim is obvious both under the controlling KSR Supreme Court case and MPEP § 2141(III)(A). Current Office policy regarding the determination of obviousness is set forth in the Federal Register notice at 89 Fed. Reg. 14449 (Feb. 27, 2024).
Further, the combination would then provide:
wherein the electric integrated circuit component is located between the photonic integrated circuit component and the optical signal port.
With respect to claim 2, Karhade in view of Li as set forth above discloses the package assembly as claimed in claim 1, including one wherein
the lens (Karhade 138) is directly in contact with the sidewall (142 and including the optical glue 140) of the photonic integrated circuit component (102), and
aligned with the optical input/output portion (per Fig. 1A).
With respect to claim 3, Karhade in view of Li as set forth above discloses the package assembly as claimed in claim 1, including one wherein
the lens (138) is disposed on the sidewall (142) of the photonic integrated circuit component (102) via an adhesive layer (optical glue 140), and
aligned with the optical input/output portion (per Fig. 1A).
With respect to claim 4, Karhade in view of Li as set forth above discloses the package assembly as claimed in claim 1, including one wherein
the optical signal port (144) comprises a fiber (144) laterally aligned with the lens (138) and the optical input/output portion (per Fig. 1A).
With respect to claim 5, Karhade in view of Li as set forth above discloses the package assembly as claimed in claim 4, including one wherein
the fiber (144) is optically coupled to the optical input/output portion through the lens (138 and per Fig. 1A).
With respect to claim 6, Karhade in view of Li as set forth above discloses the package assembly as claimed in claim 1, but not one wherein the optical signal port comprises:
an optical component with a reflective surface facing downwardly toward the lens;
and a fiber aligned with the reflective surface of the optical component.
Li discloses a photonic integrated circuit packaging architectures that includes (Figs. 22-26B):
the optical signal port (aperture 158, ¶ 87) comprises:
an optical component (integrated light-reflective optical component 174, ¶ 143) with a reflective surface ("the light-reflective optical component 174 includes an embedded reflector 175 for reflecting light", ¶ 143) facing downwardly (per Fig. 22) toward the lens (optical lens 138); and
a fiber aligned with the reflective surface of the optical component ("The photonic package 100 may further include a package substrate 124 having an aperture 158 (e.g., a through-hole) for propagating optical signals through the package substrate 124. In some embodiments, optical fiber may be placed within or proximate to the aperture so that optical signals may be exchanged between PIC 102 and the optical fiber.").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a reflective surface and optical fiber along the lines of Li in a system according to Karhade in view of Li as set forth above in order to provide configurable signal paths. This provides one rationale to combine the references.
Another completely independent and separately sufficient rationale arises as follows. In making the combination (above), the combining of prior art elements (listed above) according to known methods (per the references) to yield predictable results (a photonic integrated circuit/PIC) would occur as each element merely performs the same function in combination as it does separately. MPEP § 2141(III). This additional rationale is a sufficient, a complete, and an explicitly-recognized rationale to combine the references and conclude that the claim is obvious both under the controlling KSR Supreme Court case and MPEP § 2141(III)(A). Current Office policy regarding the determination of obviousness is set forth in the Federal Register notice at 89 Fed. Reg. 14449 (Feb. 27, 2024).
Further, the combination would then provide:
an optical component with a reflective surface facing downwardly toward the lens; and
a fiber aligned with the reflective surface of the optical component.
With respect to claim 7, Karhade in view of Li as set forth above discloses the package assembly as claimed in claim 6, including one wherein
the fiber is optically coupled to the optical input/output portion through the lens and the optical component.
Per Karhade Fig. 1A.
With respect to claim 12, Karhade as set forth above discloses the package assembly as claimed in claim 8, but not one further comprising
a socket attached on the support layer.
Li discloses a photonic integrated circuit packaging architectures that includes (Figs. 22-26B):
a socket (aperture 158 generally) attached on the support layer (package substrate 124).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a socket attached to a support layer along the lines of Li in a system according to Karhade as set forth above in order to provide connection means. This provides one rationale to combine the references.
Another completely independent and separately sufficient rationale arises as follows. In making the combination (above), the combining of prior art elements (listed above) according to known methods (per the references) to yield predictable results (a photonic integrated circuit/PIC) would occur as each element merely performs the same function in combination as it does separately. MPEP § 2141(III). This additional rationale is a sufficient, a complete, and an explicitly-recognized rationale to combine the references and conclude that the claim is obvious both under the controlling KSR Supreme Court case and MPEP § 2141(III)(A). Current Office policy regarding the determination of obviousness is set forth in the Federal Register notice at 89 Fed. Reg. 14449 (Feb. 27, 2024).
Further, the combination would then provide:
a socket attached on the support layer.
With respect to claim 13, Karhade in view of Li as set forth above discloses the package assembly as claimed in claim 12, including one wherein
the optical signal port is connected with the optical engine via the socket.
Per Li, Fig. 22.
With respect to claim 14, Karhade in view of Li as set forth above discloses the package assembly as claimed in claim 13, including one further comprising
a connection component (light-reflective optical component 174 with embedded reflector 175, ¶ 143) connected between the optical signal port and the socket.
With respect to claim 16, Karhade in view of Li as set forth above discloses the package assembly as claimed in claim 8, including one wherein the optical signal port comprises:
an optical component (Li per above, integrated light-reflective optical component 174, ¶ 143) with a reflective surface ("the light-reflective optical component 174 includes an embedded reflector 175 for reflecting light", ¶ 143) facing downwardly (per Fig. 22) toward the lens (optical lens 138); and
a fiber aligned with the reflective surface of the optical component ("The photonic package 100 may further include a package substrate 124 having an aperture 158 (e.g., a through-hole) for propagating optical signals through the package substrate 124. In some embodiments, optical fiber may be placed within or proximate to the aperture so that optical signals may be exchanged between PIC 102 and the optical fiber.").
See claim 6, above.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Karhade as set forth above in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220291461 of Elsinger et al. (Elsinger).
With respect to claim 18, Karhade as set forth above discloses the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 17, including one wherein
the steps of securing a lens (138) on a sidewall (142) of the photonic integrated circuit component (102) comprising forming the lens (138) on the sidewall (142) of the photonic integrated circuit component (102).
Elsinger discloses an optical fiber-to-chip interconnection that includes (¶ 517):
forming lenses by a 3D printing process.
"In some embodiments, the functionalities of lenses 541 and 542 can be combined into a single aspheric refractive element, which can be 3D printed using technologies, such as those offered for sale by Nanoscribe of Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen, Germany."
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use 3D printing methods for lens construction along the lines of Elsinger in a system according to Karhade as set forth above in order to provide alternative manufacturing methods capable of software reconfiguration. This provides one rationale to combine the references.
Another completely independent and separately sufficient rationale arises as follows. In making the combination (above), the combining of prior art elements (listed above) according to known methods (per the references) to yield predictable results (a photonic integrated circuit/PIC) would occur as each element merely performs the same function in combination as it does separately. MPEP § 2141(III). This additional rationale is a sufficient, a complete, and an explicitly-recognized rationale to combine the references and conclude that the claim is obvious both under the controlling KSR Supreme Court case and MPEP § 2141(III)(A). Current Office policy regarding the determination of obviousness is set forth in the Federal Register notice at 89 Fed. Reg. 14449 (Feb. 27, 2024).This additional rationale also prevents taking from the public domain that which should remain within it.
Further, the combination would then provide:
the steps of securing a lens (138) on a sidewall (142) of the photonic integrated circuit component (102) comprising forming the lens (138) on the sidewall (142) of the photonic integrated circuit component (102) by a 3D printing process.
With respect to claim 19, Karhade as set forth above discloses the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 17, including one wherein
the step of securing a lens (138) on a sidewall (142) of the photonic integrated circuit component (102) comprising:
forming the lens (138) by a 3D printing process; and
attaching the lens (138) on the sidewall (142) of the photonic integrated circuit component (102) via an adhesive layer.
The lens of claim 18 formed by Elsinger is seen as separably achievable per known/usual 3D printing processes.
Further, under MPEP § 2113, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted). MPEP § 2113.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 26, 2026 with respect to the outstanding claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection as different art is now applied to the rejected claims in light of Applicant’s amendment(s) and previously-cited art is now applied differently.
Applicant's arguments with regards to the remaining claims all rely upon the arguments set forth above. Consequently, these remaining arguments as seen as being addressed by the examiner's corresponding remarks.
Applicant’s remaining arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. As such, the examiner makes no remarks regarding them.
Conclusion
Applicant’s publication US 20250147245 A1 published May 8, 2025 was previously cited.
No new art is cited.
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Andrew Jordan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874
V: (571) 270-1571 (Pacific time)
F: (571) 270-2571
September 5, 2026