DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/7/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of GROUP I CLAIMS 1-20 in the reply filed on 9/3/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 21 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/3/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. US Pub 2015/0090969.
Regarding claim 1, Han discloses,
A window (figure 8) comprising:
a first non-folding part (Figure 8, one of region of element B, left side B);
a second non-folding part (Figure 8, one of region of element B, right side B); and
a folding part (figure 8, element region A; paragraph 61) disposed between the first non-folding part and the second non-folding part (figure 8),
wherein a plurality of first grooves (top CC in figure 8, similar to GV1 of present application) are formed on an upper surface of the folding part (figure 8),
a plurality of second grooves (where CC are indicated in the bottom figure 8) are formed on a lower surface of the folding part, and
a first distance between bottom points of the first grooves and the lower surface of the folding part is progressively changed (as seen in figure 8, the first distance between bottom points of the first grooves and the lower surface of the folding part is progressively changing, similar to present application figure 13, L1).
Regarding claim 2, Han discloses,
wherein a second distance between top points of the second grooves and the upper surface of the folding part is progressively changed (as seen in figure 8, the second distance between top points of the second grooves and the upper surface of the folding part is progressively changed, similar to present application figure 13, L2).
Regarding claim 3, Han discloses,
wherein first depths (first depth figure 8, similar to first depth DT1 in figure 13, which is measured downward direction from the upper surface) of the first grooves are progressively changed, the first depths being measured in a downward direction from the upper surface of the folding part, and second depths (second depth figure 8, similar to first depth DT2 in figure 13, which is measured upward direction from the lower surface) of the second grooves are progressively changed, the second depths being measured in an upward direction from the lower surface of the folding part.
Regarding claim 4, Han discloses,
wherein each of the upper surface and the lower surface of the folding part has a flat surface (flat surface between each of the CCs, figure 8).
Regarding claim 6, Han discloses,
wherein a central region is defined as a region of the folding part, the region of the folding part including the first and second grooves which are adjacent to each other and each of which is formed to be deeper than any other of the first grooves and the second grooves (as seen in figure 8, the central region of the folding part, meaning the center of region of A in figure 8, has deeper than the other grooves), respectively, and the first depths gradually decrease as being closer to the first non-folding part and the second non-folding part from a first point that overlaps the first groove in the central region (as seen in figure 8, the first depth gradually decreases as being closer to the first non-folding part and the second non-folding part form a first point that overlaps the first groove in the central region, the first point is the center of the region A; similar to P1 of figure 13 of present application).
Regarding claim 7, Han discloses,
wherein the first distance gradually increases as being closer to the first non-folding part and the second non-folding part from the first point (figure 8, the first distance gradually increases as being closer to the two non-folding part from the first point, since the grooves are getting smaller, similar to present application figure 13).
Regarding claim 8, Han discloses,
wherein the second depths gradually decrease as being closer to the first non-folding part and the second non-folding part from a second point that overlaps the second groove in the central region, the second point being adjacent to the first point (as seen in figure 8, the second depth gradually decreases as being closer to the first non-folding part and the second non-folding part form a second point that overlaps the second groove in the central region, the second point is the center of the region A, here the second point is any arbitrary point that is adjacent to the first point so the office takes the position as the first point being the center of A and then second point being either one of the side of first point; similar to P2 of figure 13 of present application.
Regarding claim 9, Han discloses,
wherein the second distance gradually increases as being closer to the first non-folding part and the second non-folding part from the second point (figure 8, the second distance gradually increases as being closer to the two non-folding part from the second point, since the grooves are getting smaller, similar to present application figure 13).
Regarding claim 20, Han discloses,
A display device (figure 13, and Title) comprising:
A display panel (element 10, figure 13); and
A window (figure 8&13) on the display panel;
Wherein the window includes:
a first non-folding part (Figure 8, one of region of element B, left side B);
a second non-folding part (Figure 8, one of region of element B, right side B); and
a folding part (figure 8, element region A; paragraph 61) disposed between the first non-folding part and the second non-folding part (figure 8),
wherein a plurality of first grooves (top CC in figure 8, similar to GV1 of present application) are formed on an upper surface of the folding part (figure 8),
a plurality of second grooves (where CC are indicated in the bottom figure 8) are formed on a lower surface of the folding part, and
Depths of the first grooves and depths of the second grooves progressively changed (as seen in figure 8, the depths of the grooves changed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. US Pub 2015/0090969 in view of Kim et al. US Pub 2019/0250665.
Regarding claim 5,
Han teaches in a plan view, the first grooves and the second grooves (figure 8).
Han does not teach wherein, in a plan view, the first grooves and the second grooves are alternately disposed with each other. However, Han in paragraph 64 provides suggestion that the size, the shape and the distance between the recessed portions can be varied depending on the compression stress applied.
Kim in similar field of display device teaches a window (Fig 11, element 100) wherein, in a plan view, the first grooves (elements 12a) and the second grooves (element 11a) are alternately disposed with each other (as seen in figure 11, in an alternative configuration; i.e., staggered configuration). Additionally, Kim provides suggestion of having the grooves being aligned (figure 27) or alternate arranged (figure 11).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the first grooves and the second grooves of Han such that in a plan view the first grooves and the second grooves are alternately disposed with each other as taught by Kim, such modification will provide the desired bendability and provides the desired stress control (paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 10,
Han teaches a third point is defined between the first point and each of opposite sides of the folding part (an arbitrary third point similar to P3 of figure 13 of present application, such that in figure 8, this can be where CCA on the left is indicated above that P3, see annotated drawing). Furthermore, Han in paragraph 64 provides suggestion that the size, the shape and the distance between the recessed portions can be varied depending on the compression stress applied.
Kim in similar field of display device teaches the window such that the first grooves and the second grooves can be in alternating configuration (figure 11, similar to present application) or aligned configuration (figure 27, similar to figure 8 of Han).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify each of the grooves to have deeper depth as suggested by Han and alternating configuration as taught by Kim such that the first grooves and the second grooves are adjacent to each other in a horizontal direction to the upper surface between the first point and the third point and since the modification is to alternate the grooves of Han as taught by Kim, thereby the first grooves and the second grooves are not adjacent to each other in the horizontal direction between the third point and each of opposite sides of the folding part, such modification will provide the desired bendability and provides the desired stress control (paragraph 5), since the middle of the folding region has the most bendability and as you get closer to non-folding part there is less bendability.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. US Pub 2015/0090969 in view Kwon et al. US Pub 2022/0203479.
Regarding claim 11,
Han teaches the width of first groove and the width of second groove are constant. However, Han in paragraph 64 provides suggestion that the size, the shape and the distance between the recessed portions can be varied depending on the compression stress applied.
Han does not teach the widths of the first grooves gradually decrease as being closer to the first and second non-folding parts from the first point, and widths of the second grooves gradually decrease as being closer to the first and second non-folding parts from the second point.
Kwon in similar field of display device teaches a window (figure 13D, WIN) comprising grooves (SLT1'') wherein the width of the grooves gradually decreases as being closer to the first and second non-folding parts form the first point (from the center of SLT1_3'' to the both sides the grooves width is decreasing).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the width of the first grooves and the width of the second grooves of Han with the teaching of Kwon such that the widths of the first grooves gradually decrease as being closer to the first and second non-folding parts from the first point (similar to figure 13D of Kwon), and widths of the second grooves gradually decrease as being closer to the first and second non-folding parts from the second point (similar to figure 13D of Kwon), such modification can provide readily folded window (paragraph 165, Kwon), and thereby providing the desired bendability.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. US Pub 2015/0090969.
Regarding claim 12,
Han teaches the first groove progressively changing as described in claim 1 and seen in figure 8
Han does not explicitly teach wherein a variable pattern is repeated at least twice in which depths of the first grooves gradually increase and gradually decrease as being closer to the second non-folding part from the first non-folding part.
However, Han in paragraph 64 provides suggestion that the size, the shape and the distance between the recessed portions can be varied depending on the compression stress applied. Furthermore, Han in figure 12 teaches the use of clustering pattern near the center.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the first grooves of Han's figure 8 such that variable pattern is repeated at least twice in which depths of the first grooves gradually increase and gradually decrease as being closer to the second non-folding part from the first non-folding part, such modification will provides the specific bending points and bending radius of the device and such configuration would make difficulty in recognizing the color difference (US Patent 11508268, col 13, lines 40-45).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. US Pub 2015/0090969 in view of Park US Pub 2019/0334114.
Regarding claim 13,
Han teaches the window of claim 1.
Han does not teach further comprising: a first slope part disposed between the folding part and the first non-folding part, the first slope part having a first upper surface, the first upper surface being an inclined surface; and a second slope part disposed between the folding part and the second non-folding part, the second slope part having a second upper surface, the second upper surface being an inclined surface.
Park in similar field of display teaches a first slope part (see annotated figure 23, the first slope part, similar to figure 24 of present application, disposed between the folding part and the first non-folding part) disposed between the folding part and the first non-folding part, the first slope part having a first upper surface, the first upper surface being an inclined surface (the upper surface being inclined similar to figure 24); and a second slope part (see annotated figure 23 and fig 23 such that the second slope is the opposite side of the first slope such that this is being folding part and the second non-folding part) disposed between the folding part and the second non-folding part, the second slope part having a second upper surface (slope having second upper surface), the second upper surface being an inclined surface (second upper surface being inclined surface).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include the first slope part and the second slope part as taught by Park in the window of the Han such modification will provide an easy transition between the non-folding area and the folding area such that there is no creases being made at the bending points.
Regarding claim 14, Han as modified by Park teaches,
wherein a height of the first upper surface gradually decreases as being closer to the folding part from the first non-folding part, and a height of the second upper surface gradually decreases as being closer to the folding part from the second non-folding part (as seen in figure 23 of Park the height of each of the first upper surface and the second upper surface gradually decreases as being close to the folding part from respective non-folding part, since the slope is similar to figure 24 of present application).
Regarding claim 15,
Han teaches the window of claim 1.
Han does not teach wherein a thickness of each of the first and second non-folding parts is greater than a thickness of the folding part.
Park in similar field teaches a thickness of each of the first and second non-folding parts is greater than a thickness of the folding part (figure 23, non-folding parts thickness is greater than the thickness of the folding part FR).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of having thickness of the folding region smaller than the non-folding parts since Park shows that either configuration can be used since in figure 15, the thickness is similar and figure 23 of Park the thickness of the folding part is smaller than of the non-folding parts, such modification will improve the foldability (paragraph 188) of the window.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. US Pub 2015/0090969 in view of Park US Pub 2019/0334114 further in view of Sunwoo et al. US Pub 2021/0282285.
Regarding claim 16,
Han teaches the window of claim 1.
Han does not teach wherein a height of the first slope part gradually increases as being closer to the folding part from the first non-folding part, and a height of the second slope part gradually increases as being closer to the folding part from the second non-folding part.
Sunwoo in similar field of display device teaches window (element 140) comprises a height of the first slope part gradually increases as being closer to the folding part from the first non-folding part (as seen in figure 8A, the height H1 is increasing of element 140 as closer to folding part from the non-folding parts), and a height of the second slope part gradually increases as being closer to the folding part from the second non-folding part (as seen in figure 8A, the height H1 is increasing of element 140 as closer to folding part from the non-folding parts).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the height of the first slope and second slope as described in Han as modified by Park such that the height of the first slope part gradually increases as being closer to the folding part from the first non-folding part, and the height of the second slope part gradually increases as being closer to the folding part from the second non-folding part, such modification will render the modified Han to have a thicker folding area and a thinner non-folding parts and thus providing bigger folding mechanism and smaller non-folding region thus protecting the display device during folding and unfolding, since the weight of non-folding region is less and the density of the folding is greater.
Regarding claim 17,
Han as modified by Park and Sunwoo teaches,
Wherein a thickness of each of the first and second non-folding part is less than a thickness of the folding part (figure 8a of Sunwoo, thickness of F is greater than the thickness of region of P).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18 and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Primary reasons for allowance of claim 18 is the prior art of record, individually or in combination does not teach or fairly suggest:
wherein the folding part includes: a plurality of first parts; and a plurality of second parts having a thickness different from a thickness of the first parts, the second parts being disposed between the first parts, the first grooves are formed on upper surfaces of the first and second parts, and the second grooves are formed on lower surfaces of the first and second parts.
In examiner’s opinion the obviousness of modifying art such as Han to having limitation of claim 18 seems unreasonable and mere hindsight purpose, thus, in examiners opinion the pertinent prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting all of the elements and features of the claimed inventions as arranged, disposed or provided in the manner as claimed by the applicant.
Primary reason for allowance for claim 19 is claim 19 dependents on claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. US Pub 2023/0280795, which teaches similar window with similar grooves. However, the office notes this is a commonly owned (Samsung display) application and qualified for 102b2c exception.
Lee et al. US Pub 2015/0049428 figure 9 teaching grooves/protrusions.
Lee et al. US Pub 2022/0093012 figure 3b-c showing progressively changing grooves.
ABHISHEK M. RATHOD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/ABHISHEK M RATHOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841