DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 12, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka et al (US 2018/0095137 A1) in view of Zhuang et al (CN 207603281 U).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshioka et al teaches an energy storage system (see Fig. 1) comprising: a Master Control Unit (integrated monitoring unit 20), configured to provide measurements acquisition, control, monitoring, protection, diagnostics, and communication (see para. 0051, 0052, 0057), at least one bank comprising an at least one battery bank (battery module 31 in bank B1) and a Battery Monitoring System (module sensors 35 & current sensor 41), configured to provide for each of the at least one battery monitoring, protection and to provide battery-related data (see paras. 0041, 0042), at least one Acquisition Unit (monitoring unit 50), configured to acquire data (see paras. 0041, 0042), related to the single bank, from the Battery Monitoring System (module sensors 35 & current sensor 41) and to communicate with the Master Control Unit (integrated monitoring unit 20), wherein there is one Acquisition Unit for each bank (see Fig. 1), wherein the Master Control Unit (integrated monitoring unit 20) is configured to communicate with an external controller (control unit 15) by utilizing a communication bus (as shown in Fig. 1), and the Master Control Unit (integrated monitoring unit 20) and each of the Acquisition Unit (monitoring unit 50) are configured to communicate with each other (as shown in Fig. 1) (see paras. 0037-0052).
While Yoshioka et al teaches that the battery may be replaced with a capacitor, Yoshioka et al does not specifically teach a supercapacitor.
Zhuang et al teaches an energy storage system (see Fig. 1) comprising banks (11, 12, 13) of supercapacitors (111) (see the abstract and description of Fig. 1 in the attached translation).
In view of Yoshioka et al’s teaching that the batteries can be replaced with capacitors and of Zhuang et al’s teaching of the use of supercapacitors, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to replace the batteries of Yoshioka et al with supercapacitors, since supercapacitors store a large amount of energy and provide quicker charging and discharging compared to batteries.
Regarding claim 3, Yoshioka et al as modified by Zhuang et al teaches the energy storage system according to claim 1, further comprising at least one switchgear apparatus (current breaker 45) connecting the at least one bank (B1), to a power distribution bus (current path Lo), and/or connecting the at least one bank to a formatting/equalization bus, wherein the at least one switchgear is controlled by the Master Control Unit (integrated monitoring unit 20 receives status of the breaker 45 from the monitoring unit 50, see paras. 0044-0052).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshioka et al as modified by Zhuang et al teaches the energy storage system according to claim 1, further comprising at least one connection interface (a connection interface to current path Lo, for example) that connects the at least one bank to an internal or external Discharge Device of a Capacitor (the driving unit 13 serves as a load or discharge device).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Yoshioka et al as modified by Zhuang et al does not specifically teach (claim 7) wherein the Master Control Unit (MCU) and the Acquisition Units (AQU) are arranged in a ring topology; (claim 8) wherein the communication bus is a CAN bus (CAN).
However, the use of a ring topology and a CAN bus were old and well known to those of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify the communication bus of Yoshioka et al as modified by Zhuang et al, to include (claim 7) wherein the Master Control Unit and the Acquisition Units are arranged in a ring topology; (claim 8) wherein the communication bus is a CAN bus, since ring topologies and CAN buses are well known and reliable communication options. Furthermore, the selection of a ring topology and/or a CAN bus represents selecting from a limited number of known communication systems.
Regarding claim 12, Yoshioka et al as modified by Zhuang et al teaches the energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein the Acquisition Unit (monitoring unit 50) is configured to receive supercapacitor-related data related to a temperature of the supercapacitor (C) or a bank voltage (the module sensors 35 send temperature and voltage related data to the monitoring unit 50, see Fig. 1 and paras. 0041, 0044-0048).
Regarding claim 17, Yoshioka et al as modified by Zhuang et al teaches the energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein the Master Control Unit (integrated monitoring unit 20) is configured to receive energy storage system related data related to at least one of fuses status, fan feedback, withdrawable part position indicator, Emergency Switch Off (the status of breaker 45, see paras. 0050, 0051), preferably as a digital input (DI) signal (it is noted that the claim language “preferably” makes the limitation of a digital input optional, the claim is being interpreted so as not to require the limitations after “preferably”, see MPEP 2143.03).
Regarding claim 18, Yoshioka et al as modified by Zhuang et al teaches the energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein the Master Control Unit (integrated monitoring unit 20) is configured to control at least one of a fan, safety lock, light indicator or switchgear (the status of breaker 45, see paras. 0050, 0051), preferably by means of at least one digital output (DO) (it is noted that the claim language “preferably” makes the limitation of a digital output optional, the claim is being interpreted so as not to require the limitations after “preferably”, see MPEP 2143.03).
Regarding claim 19, Yoshioka et al as modified by Zhuang et al teaches the energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein the Master Control Unit (integrated monitoring unit 20) is configured to receive energy storage system related data related to at least one of a current measurement, ambient temperature or voltage measurement (see paras. 0044-0052).
Claim(s) 5, 6, 13-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka et al (US 2018/0095137 A1) in view of Zhuang et al (CN 207603281 U), as applied to above, and further in view of Coats et al (US 2020/00251927 A1).
Regarding claims 5, 6, 13-15 and 20: The teachings of Yoshioka et al as modified by Zhuang et al, as applied to claims 1, 12 and 19, have been discussed above. Regarding claim 14, Yoshioka et al as modified by Zhuang et al also teaches the energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein the Acquisition Unit (monitoring unit 50) comprises at least one input (see Fig. 1) configured to receive an overvoltage signal (a signal from module sensors 35 indicating that the voltage is over the expected voltage) and at least one output (see Fig. 1) to transmit an overvoltage signal (a signal indicating the voltage level from monitoring unit 50 to integrated monitoring unit 20).
Yoshioka et al as modified by Zhuang et al does not specifically teach: (claim 5) the energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein the Master Control Unit and the at least one Acquisition Unit are communicating with each other via a serial connection; (claim 6) the energy storage system according to claim 5, wherein the serial connection includes at least one optical fiber; (claim 13) the energy storage system according to claim 12, wherein the AQU receives supercapacitor-related data via an Acquisition Unit analog input; (claim 14) at least one digital input and at least one digital output; (claim 15) the energy storage system according to claim 14, wherein the overvoltage signal is transmitted through the at least one optical fiber; (claim 20) the energy storage system according to claim 19, wherein the data is provided through an analog input.
Coats et al teaches an electrical power measurement system (see Fig. 3) including a capacitor bank (36), and that communication may be performed via a serial connection, use of an optical fiber & that measurement data and communication may be in analog or digital form (see paras. 0027, 0039-0042, and 0048-0049).
Therefore, in view of the teachings of Coats et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the system of Yoshioka et al as modified by Zhuang et al, (claim 5) the energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein the Master Control Unit and the at least one Acquisition Unit are communicating with each other via a serial connection; (claim 6) the energy storage system according to claim 5, wherein the serial connection includes at least one optical fiber; (claim 13) the energy storage system according to claim 12, wherein the AQU receives supercapacitor-related data via an Acquisition Unit analog input; (claim 14) at least one digital input and at least one digital output; (claim 15) the energy storage system according to claim 14, wherein the overvoltage signal is transmitted through the at least one optical fiber; (claim 20) the energy storage system according to claim 19, wherein the data is provided through an analog input; since Coats et al teaches that the use of serial connections, optical fiber, and measurements/communications in analog and/or digital form are commonly used in electrical measurement environments.
Regarding claim 16, the teachings of Yoshioka et al as modified by Zhuang et al and Coats et al, as applied to the energy storage system according to claim 15, have been discussed above.
Yoshioka et al as modified by Zhuang et al and Coats et al does not specifically state that the at least one optical fiber is a dedicated optical fiber through which only the overvoltage signal is transmitted.
However, the use of dedicated optical fibers was old and well known to those ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the system of Yoshioka et al as modified by Zhuang et al and Coats et al, the at least one optical fiber is a dedicated optical fiber through which only the overvoltage signal is transmitted, since this would avoid the need for multiplexing and demultiplexing circuitry that would be required if multiple signals were transmitted over the optical fiber.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record does not teach the energy storage system according to claim 1, further comprising a fixed mechanical part, and a mobile withdrawable mechanical part, which may be enclosed within a fixed mechanical part, wherein the mobile withdrawable mechanical part holds the Master Control Unit (MCU), at least one bank, at least one Acquisition Unit (AQU).
While it is known to provide energy storage components on a blade or tray for insertion/withdrawal from a rack type housing, since Yoshioka et al teaches the integrated monitoring unit (20) communicating with each of the monitoring units (50) and associated banks (B1-B10) (see Fig. 1), without the benefit of applicant’s teaching, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would not have been motivated to place the master control unit (integrated monitoring unit 20) on a blade or tray with the bank and acquisition unit (monitoring unit 50).
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record does not teach wherein the Acquisition Unit (AQU) is powered by a power supply signal (PPS) which is generated by the Master Control Unit (MCU).
Claims 10 and 11 depend, either directly or indirectly, from claim 9 and would be allowable for the same reason.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the additional references cited on the attached PTO-892, which are directed to energy storage/capacitor monitoring systems.
/JARED FUREMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859