DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1, 5-8, and 10- 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Gaufin et al (US 2019/0329612) . Gaufin discloses: With regard to claim 1 - A release handle 100 for a vehicle coupling device 10, comprising: at least one of an end portion at a free axial end of the release handle 100 wherein the at least the end portion of the release handle 100is configured to emit light, a signal portion that includes a light emitting element configured to emit a light signal, and a light guiding portion 600 configured to guide light 228; and wherein the release handle 100 is configured to trigger a locking and/or opening of the vehicle coupling device. With regard to claim 5 - further comprising: a shaft portion and a handle portion (see Fig. 13), wherein at least the handle portion comprises the end portion and/or the signal portion 228 and/or the light guiding element 600. With regard to claim 6 - wherein the shaft portion is configured to engage with a locking mechanism of the coupling device, and wherein the shaft portion extends essentially in a linear direction (see Figs. 2 and 13). With regard to claim 7 - wherein the handle portion includes at least one slope such that the handle portion extends at least partially at an angle to the shaft portion (see marked up figure below). With regard to claim 8 - wherein the release handle is configured to indicate at least one condition of the coupling device by emitting a light 228 (“ If the predetermined vibration component is present, the controller 222 controls an indicator 228 to thereby indicate proper coupling of the fifth wheel 10 to the kingpin 16. ” - ¶[ 0048]). With regard to claim 10 - A vehicle coupling device, comprising the release handle according to claim 1. With regard to claim 11 - wherein the vehicle coupling device comprises a fifth wheel assembly (see title) . With regard to claim 12 - A vehicle comprising the coupling device according to claim 10. With regard to claim 13 - A release handle 100 for a vehicle coupling device 10 , comprising: an end portion at a free axial end of the handle 100 , wherein at least the end portion of the handle 100 is configured to emit light 228 , and wherein the release handle is configured to trigger a locking and/or opening of the coupling device 10 . With regard to claim 14 - A vehicle coupling device 10 comprising the release handle according to claim 13. With regard to claim 15 - wherein the vehicle coupling device comprises a fifth wheel assembly. With regard to claim 16 - A release handle 100 for a vehicle coupling device 10, comprising: a signal portion 228 that includes a light emitting element configured to emit a light signal (see ¶[00 53 ]; “ The indicator 228 is any suitable indicator, such as a visual indicator (e.g. LED), audio indicator (e.g. speaker), or any other indicator capable of indicating to the operator. ”), wherein the release handle is configured to trigger a locking and/or opening of the coupling device 10. With regard to claim 17 - A vehicle coupling device 10 comprising the release handle 100 according to claim 16. With regard to claim 18 - wherein the vehicle coupling device comprises a fifth wheel assembly. With regard to claim 19 - A release handle for a vehicle coupling device, comprising: a light guiding portion 228 configured to guide lights, wherein the release handle 100 is configured to trigger a locking and/or opening of the coupling device 10. The indicator guides the light of the LED (see rejection of claim 16 above). With regard to claim 20 - A vehicle coupling device comprising the release handle according to claim 19. With regard to claim 21 - wherein the vehicle coupling device comprises a fifth wheel assembly. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaufin in view of Robertson (US 9,521,942) . Gaufin fails to explicitly disclose wherein the end portion and/or the signal portion and/or the light guiding portion of the release handle comprises a fiberoptic material. Robertson teaches a handle device comprising a light source, said light source comprising fiber optic material (“ The illumination optical fiber 148 extends through the lumen 142 of the elongate body 122 and can be coupled to, for example, an external light source (not shown) and/or a light controller (not shown). The image detector 136 is coupled to a cable 166 that extends through the lumen 142 and can be coupled to, for example, an image controller (not shown), a power source, and/or a system controller. The LED light source 162 is coupled to a power cable 173 that extends through the lumen 146 of the elongate body 122 and can be coupled to, for example, a power source (not shown) and/or system controller (not shown). A medical tool 176 is shown disposed through the lumen 174 and can extend out an opening 175 and distally of the endoscope tip 130. The medical tool 176 is merely an example of a tool that can be used in conjunction with the endoscope 120. ” – column 11, lines 12-26 ). ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the release handle of Gaufin with the teaching of Robertson such that the end portion and/or the signal portion and/or the light guiding portion of the release handle comprises a fiberoptic material, with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow for separation between the signal emitter and the actual light source. With regard to claim 3, Robertson teaches wherein the fiberoptic material comprises glass fibers (column 8, lines 36-39) . With regard to claim 4, Robertson teaches wherein the release handle includes a channel portion that at least partially extends through the release handle in a longitudinal direction, and wherein the fiberoptic material extends through the channel portion (see cavities 170, 171, 172) . Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaufin in view of Morgan et al (US 6,709,001) . Gaufin fails to explicitly disclose wherein the release handle is configured to emit light of different colors, wherein the color of the emitted light is dependent on the condition of the coupling device. Morgan teaches a coupling system for a fifth wheel including a signal means, wherein “ the signal means includes on e or more light sources which are switched on/off and/or change colour when coupling has been completed successfully and/or unsuccessfully ” (claim 22) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the release handle of Gaufin with the teaching of Morgan such that the release handle is configured to emit light of different colors, wherein the color of the emitted light is dependent on the condition of the coupling device, with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow for an easier way to indicate differing communications of coupling status. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT TIMOTHY WILHELM whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6980 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 8:30-5:30 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Paul Dickson can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-7742 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TIMOTHY WILHELM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617 March 27, 2026