DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. The claim as written, recites A boundary positioning device adapted to pre-record a boundary of a to-be-worked area where an automatic mechanical equipment will be working, and further it recites the automatic mechanical equipment including a positioning unit, and an outside-located wheel that is located outside the to-be-worked area when the automatic mechanical equipment moves along the boundary. The claim as written is vague because it is not clear if an automatic mechanical equipment is also a part of the claimed invention. Further in the claim it is recites that a positioning module disposed on said machine and spaced apart from said outer wheel of said wheels in a left-right direction by a distance same as a distance between the positioning unit and the outside-located wheel of the automatic mechanical equipment; According to paragraph [0029] of the specification, an automatic mechanical equipment may include an automatic cultivator, an automatic seeder and etc. However, Neither the specification nor the drawings of the present application provide further explanation about the automatic mechanical equipment. Therefore, since these equipments can have different designs, it is not clear to the office what a distance between the positioning unit and the outside-located wheel of the automatic mechanical equipment refers to. Additionally, because the automatic mechanical equipment does not appear to be a part of the claimed device, it is unclear how the spacing being the same limits the claim, because the spacing is being defined relative to something that is outside the scope of the claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, any mounting of the positioning unit on a machine frame is understood to read on the limitation.
Furthermore, it is unclear what exactly term “positioning unit” as recited in the claim refers to. The specification does not provide further information about positioning unit and it is not clear if it refers to a GPS similar the definition of “positioning module” in the instant specification. For the purpose of compact prosecution, “a positioning unit” is interpreted as being a GPS.
Claims 2-9 are being rejected under 35 U.S.C § 112(b) as being dependent upon an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uemura et al., US11119495B2, hereinafter “Uemura”, in view of XU et al, CN 217591554 U, hereinafter “Xu”, further in view of Yamamura et al., US9483053B2, hereinafter “Yamamura”.
Regarding claim 1, Uemura teaches:
A boundary positioning device adapted to pre-record a boundary of a to-be-worked area where an automatic mechanical equipment will be working (at least Abstract, “A work area determination system for an autonomous traveling work machine [] capable of determining a work area”, Col 2, second paragraph, Col 4 Lines 53-64),
the automatic mechanical equipment including a positioning unit (at least Col 2, talks about an boundary information means (work area determination system) on an autonomous traveling work machine, Col 4 Lines 53-64, “a work area determination system for an autonomous traveling work machine and the autonomous traveling work machine both relating to the present invention.”, Col 8 Lines 5-26, “the autonomous traveling work machine can include a positioning device”, __ Note: “positioning unit” as recited in the claim, has been interpreted as a being a positioning device/GPS (See rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C § 112(b)) __),
said, boundary positioning device comprising: a machine frame (at least Fig. 4), [] a positioning module disposed on said machine frame (at least Col 5 Lines 10-28, Col 8 Lines 5-26) and spaced apart from said outer wheel of said wheels in a left-right direction by a distance same as a distance between the positioning unit and the outside-located wheel of the automatic mechanical equipment (See rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C § 112(b), For the purpose of compact prosecution, any mounting of the positioning unit on a machine frame is understood to read on the limitation, therefore, a positioning module (GPS) disclosed on the device disclose by Uemura reads on this limitation, See at least Col 5 Lines 10-28, Col 8 Lines 5-26 of Uemura);
and a circuit module disposed on said machine frame and electrically coupled to said positioning module (“terminal control section” in Fig. 3 and its associated paragraphs).
Although Uemura’s disclosure the device and has a frame and wheels, but Uemura doesn’t explicitly disclose an outside-located wheel that is located outside the to-be-worked area when the automatic mechanical equipment moves along the boundary, said boundary positioning device comprising: two wheels respectively connected to a left side and a right side of said machine frame, one of said wheels being an inner wheel that is located inside the to-be-worked area when said boundary positioning device moves along the boundary, and the other one of said wheels being an outer wheel that is located outside the to-be-worked area when said boundary positioning device moves along the boundary; a push rod connected to a rear side of said machine frame and extending rearwardly and upwardly from said machine frame along a central axis;
However, Xu teaches:
a machine frame; two wheels respectively connected to a left side and a right side of said machine frame ([n0003], “the universal wheels at the bottom of the two arc-shaped baffles”),
a push rod connected to a rear side of said machine frame and extending rearwardly and upwardly from said machine frame along a central axis ([n0003], “allowing the user to push the lawnmower to move it by pushing the lever”, [n0004], [n0007], [n0022]);
Further, Yamamura teaches:
an outside-located wheel that is located outside the to-be-worked area when the automatic mechanical equipment moves along the boundary (at least Fig. 4, Fig. 6)
one of said wheels being an inner wheel that is located inside the to-be-worked area when said boundary positioning device moves along the boundary, and the other one of said wheels being an outer wheel that is located outside the to-be-worked area when said boundary positioning device moves along the boundary (__at least Fig. 6 shows each wheel (10) is located on each side of the area wire (72) that meets the claimed limitation__);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for determining a boundary of a to-be-worked area as taught by Uemura, with a device having a push rod and two wheels as taught by Xu, and further the two wheels as outer and inner located outside and inside of the work area when the device moves along the boundary, as shown/suggested by Yamamura, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving the accuracy of the boundary determination and recording by a device for the area that an automatic mechanical equipment will be working.
Regarding claim 6, modified Uemura teaches the boundary positioning device as claimed in claim 1, however, Uemura doesn’t teach wherein said push rod includes a fixed rod body connected to said machine frame, a movable rod body pivotally connected to said fixed rod body so that said push rod is foldable, and a handgrip connected to an end of said movable rod body that is distal from said fixed rod body for a user to grip, said movable rod body changing between a use position where said movable rod body extends along the central axis, and a folded position where said movable rod body overlaps said fixed rod body, said handgrip having a stepped structure which is easy to hold.
However, XU teaches:
wherein said push rod includes a fixed rod body connected to said machine frame (See Fig. 1 and its associated texts, __branch 5, in Fig. 1, reads on the fixed rod recited in the claim__),
a movable rod body pivotally connected to said fixed rod body so that said push rod is foldable (See Fig. 1 and its associated texts, __branch 4, in Fig. 5, is movable and branch 1 is foldable__),
and a handgrip connected to an end of said movable rod body that is distal from said fixed rod body for a user to grip (See element 1 and 3 in Fig. 1 and its associated texts),
said movable rod body changing between a use position where said movable rod body extends along the central axis (Fig. 1 and [n0011], “The extension length of the lawnmower can be adjusted by the cooperation between the two-section rod 5 and the support rod 2”)
and a folded position where said movable rod body overlaps said fixed rod body (Fig. 2), said handgrip having a stepped structure which is easy to hold (See Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for determining a boundary of a to-be-worked area as taught by Uemura, with a device having a movable push rod and a handgrip as taught by Xu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of enhancing the boundary determination device by designing a wheeled device capable of being controlled easily by a user by having a movable rod and a handgrip.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uemura, in view of XU, further in view of Yamamura, and further in view of Kenzo JP 2002220060 A, hereinafter “Kenzo”.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Uemura in view of Xu and Yamamura teaches the boundary positioning device as claimed in claim 1, and XU teaches, wherein the central axis passes above a wheel axis that said wheels rotate around, said push rod residing in an imaginary plane, the imaginary plane being perpendicular to the wheel axis and passing through a midpoint of an imaginary line that interconnects centers of said wheels, (Figs,,, para [n0004], [n0009] “the central axis of the mowing device coincides with the central axis of the positioning ring.”, [n0024]).
Modified Uemura doesn’t teach said inner wheel of said wheels having a marking feature for recognition by a user; wherein each of said wheels includes a wheel frame and a tire, a color of said tire of said inner wheel of said wheels being different from a color of said tire of said outer wheel of said wheels, the marking feature being the color of said tire of said inner wheel
However, Kenzo discloses a mechanism capable of promoting an operator of the stroller to adjust the position of the wheels, which is an analogous art to the claimed boundary positioning device as both are hand push wheeled devices and teaches said inner wheel of said wheels having a marking feature for recognition by a user ([0011], “the outer wheel and the inner wheel have different colors”, [0022], [0026], “In this way, by coloring the outer wheels 10a, 20a with a first color and the inner wheels 10b, 20b with a second color different from the first color, the condition of each wheel can be easily recognized visually.”); wherein each of said wheels includes a wheel frame and a tire ([0011], “the outer wheel and the inner wheel each include a rotating rim and a tire mounted on the outer periphery of the rotating rim,”), a color of said tire of said inner wheel of said wheels being different from a color of said tire of said outer wheel of said wheels, the marking feature being the color of said tire of said inner wheel ([0011], “the color of the tire of the outer wheel is different from the color of the tire of the inner wheel”, [0026]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the device for determining a boundary of a to-be-worked area as taught by Uemura in view of Xu and Yamamura, with further a marking feature (i.e. different color) for inner and outer wheels as taught by Kenzo, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of visually informing the user that which side of the traveling path (right or left) is the working area.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uemura, in view of XU, further in view of Yamamura, and further in view of Chicco manufacturer at you tube video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MgY3bZ-YTvI (10/04/2021) or https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7otRw9AZbs 08/29/2014).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Uemura in view of Xu and Yamamura, however, it doesn’t explicitly teach further comprising a support module, said support module including a fixed seat that is connected to said machine frame, and a foot that is pivotally connected to said fixed seat, said foot changing between a support position where said foot stands on a ground to support said machine frame, and a folded position where said foot is close to said machine frame and away from the ground. And wherein said fixed seat is connected to the rear side of said machine frame and is close to one of said wheels, one end of said foot being pivotally connected to said fixed seat so that the one end of said foot is close to the one of said wheels, the other end of said foot being close to the other one of said wheels when said foot is in the folded position.
However, Chicco, Italian company, manufactures a variety of strollers and teaches a support module, said support module including a fixed seat that is connected to said machine frame, and a foot that is pivotally connected to said fixed seat, said foot changing between a support position where said foot stands on a ground to support said machine frame, and a folded position where said foot is close to said machine frame and away from the ground. And wherein said fixed seat is connected to the rear side of said machine frame and is close to one of said wheels, one end of said foot being pivotally connected to said fixed seat so that the one end of said foot is close to the one of said wheels, the other end of said foot being close to the other one of said wheels when said foot is in the folded position (For example, Chicco suggested a foot brake that reads on the claimed limitation (See you tube video by Chicco at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MgY3bZ-YTvI (10/04/2021) or https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7otRw9AZbs (08/29/2014, timestamp 2:9 to 2:11). According to the video, all of the claimed limitations recited in claims 4 and 5 have been covered. Note: Chicco is an analogous prior art because the claimed invention is structurally is a hand push wheeled device and the recited limitations in claims 4 and 5 are similar to the existing foot brake links in many strollers (which are also hand push wheeled items) and this part in both the claimed invention and in the stroller serves a similar function of supporting the vehicle/appliance. According to the cited you tube videos of Chicco, a foot brake on the strollers disclosed by Chicco to support the stroller, pivotally rotates between two modes of fixed (support) when it is close to the ground and release when it is away from the ground. Further it is connected to the rear side of the stroller and it is close to one of the wheels. Therefore, Chicco’s food brake meets all of the claimed limitations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the device for determining a boundary of a to-be-worked area as taught by modified Uemura, with a support module as taught, for example, by Chicco, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of supporting the device when it is not in use or when it is intended to be stand by the user.
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uemura, in view of XU, further in view of Yamamura, and further in view Zhang et al., US 20230284847 A1, hereinafter “Zhang”.
Regarding claim 7, modified Uemura teaches the boundary positioning device as claimed in claim 1, however, modified Uemura doesn’t explicitly teaches wherein a center of gravity of an assembly of said machine frame, said positioning module, and said circuit module is located behind a wheel axis that said wheels rotate around.
Zhang teaches wherein a center of gravity of an assembly of said machine frame, said positioning module, and said circuit module is located behind a wheel axis that said wheels rotate around (at least [0005], [0018], [0061], [0072], “the center of gravity of the cleaning robot is located behind the connection line of the rotation axes of the two traveling wheels 21”, [0100]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the device for determining a boundary of a to-be-worked area as taught by modified Uemura with a center of gravity of the assemble of the machine (frame, positioning module and circuit module) being located behind a wheel axis connects between two wheels that the wheels rotate around as taught by Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving the device’s stability.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uemura, in view of XU, further in view of Yamamura, and further in view Ogura et al., US 20170168501 A1, hereinafter “Ogura”.
Regarding claim 8, modified Uemura teaches the boundary positioning device as claimed in claim 1, and Uemura teaches wherein said circuit module includes a control unit electrically coupled to said positioning module (“terminal control section” in Fig. 3 and its associated paragraphs), and an output unit electrically coupled to said control unit (Col9, Line 28, “211b a work area information outputting section”, and Fig. 3),
The foregoing references relied upon doesn’t explicitly teach said control unit controlling said output unit to indicate a reception status of said positioning module.
Ogura teaches:
said control unit controlling said output unit to indicate a reception status of said positioning module ([0066], “The display shows GPS (positioning) information, so that the status of signal reception from satellites can be known, and measures can be taken easily when signals from GPS satellites are disrupted.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the device for determining a boundary of a to-be-worked area as taught by modified Uemura, with an output unit to indicate a reception status of a GPS device as taught, by Ogura, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of informing the user if a reception status of the device’s GPS has been changed which can affect the device’s performance.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uemura, in view of XU, further in view of Yamamura, and further in view Cann et al., US 20170080558 A1, hereinafter “Cann”, and further in view of Aoki, US20220088795, hereinafter Aoki.
Regarding claim 9, modified Uemura teaches the boundary positioning device as claimed in claim 1, and, Cann teaches:
wherein said circuit module includes a control unit electrically coupled to said positioning module (Cann, [0020], [0021], [0025])
Modified Uemura doesn’t teach a dynamic sensing unit electrically coupled to said control unit and adapted for sensing a tilt angle of said positioning module, and an output unit electrically coupled to said control unit, said control unit controlling said output unit to indicate whether the tilt angle of said positioning module falls within a predetermined tilt angle range according to the tilt angle sensed by said dynamic sensing unit, said positioning module substantially facing upward when the tilt angle thereof is within the predetermined tilt angle range.
However, Cann teaches:
a dynamic sensing unit electrically coupled to said control unit and adapted for sensing a tilt angle of said positioning module (Note: positioning module is interpreted as module 5 as located on top, so tilt angle of positioning module is interpreted as tilt angle of the robot, e.g. tilt of the suspension motor shaft that is considered as disclosed in Cann to determine the imbalance robot__ Cann, [0020]-[0021], [0024], [0043], “determine the angular position of the suspension motor shaft”, [0045]-[0046]),
([0017], “The robot 10 can additionally function to automatically balance the mobile device 20 and/or support within a predetermined angular range”), [0024], “the drive motor 120 can drive the wheels 130 to balance the robot about a tilt axis [] within a predetermined range of tilt []).”
said positioning module substantially facing upward when the tilt angle thereof is within the predetermined tilt angle range. (__the positioning module as shown in the drawing as item 5 locates on top of the robot, so the limitation of positioning module facing upward when the tilt angle is withing the predetermined tilt angle has been interpreted as the robot doesn’t fall or collapse while the recited tilt angle is with the predetermined range. Or on the other hand balance the robot__ Abstract, “balancing module”, [0017], “The robot 10 can additionally function to automatically balance the mobile device 20 and/or support within a predetermined angular range relative to the gravity vector”, [0020], [0024], “balance the robot about a tilt axis by maintaining the position of the support 200 (e.g., support longitudinal axis) relative to a gravity vector 40 (e.g., within a predetermined range of angles relative to the gravity vector 40, within a predetermined range of tilt angles” [])).
Although, Cann teaches transmitting the sensor data to the robot drive (according to at least paragraph [0020]) and also according to the previously mapping of the teaching of determining if the tilt angle is within a predetermined, it teaches control the robot (adjust the tilt angle), however, in the event that Cann doesn’t explicitly disclose an output unit electrically coupled to said control unit, [] output unit to indicate whether the tilt angle of said positioning module falls within a predetermined tilt angle range, for the purpose of compact prosecution, Aoki discloses a manipulator controller including a tilt angle obtainer of a manipulator and teaches an output unit electrically coupled to said control unit and an output unit indicating that whether the tilt angle of said positioning module falls within a predetermined tilt angle range ([0013], “output a notification in response to the tilt angle equal to or greater than a predetermined value”, [0070], [0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the device for determining a boundary of a to-be-worked area as taught by Uemura, with a device that can determine if its tilt angle is within a predetermined angle range as taught by Cann and output the user as taught by Aoki, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving the accuracy of the boundary determination device and also enhancing the device’s balance control.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uemura, in view of XU, further in view Cann, and further in view of Aoki.
Regarding claim 10, Uemura teaches A boundary positioning device (At least Abstract) comprising:
a positioning module disposed on said machine frame (Col 5, Line 14, “a GPS 213 as a “positioning device”);
and a circuit module disposed on said machine frame and including a control unit electrically coupled to said positioning module ((“terminal control section” in Fig. 3 and its associated paragraphs).
Uemura doesn’t teach a machine frame; two wheels respectively connected to a left side and a right side of said machine frame; a push rod connected to a rear side of said machine frame, and extending rearwardly and upwardly from said machine frame along a central axis; and a dynamic sensing unit electrically coupled to said control unit and adapted for sensing a tilt angle of said positioning module, and an output unit electrically coupled to said control unit, said control unit controlling said output unit to indicate whether the tilt angle of said positioning module falls within a predetermined tilt angle range according to the tilt angle sensed by said dynamic sensing unit, said positioning module substantially facing upward when the tilt angle thereof is within the predetermined tilt angle range.
However, Xu teaches:
a machine frame; two wheels respectively connected to a left side and a right side of said machine frame ([n0003], “the universal wheels at the bottom of the two arc-shaped baffles”);
a push rod connected to a rear side of said machine frame, and extending rearwardly and upwardly from said machine frame along a central axis ([n0003], “allowing the user to push the lawnmower to move it by pushing the lever”, [n0004], [n0007], [n0022]);
However, Cann teaches:
a dynamic sensing unit electrically coupled to said control unit and adapted for sensing a tilt angle of said positioning module (Cann, [0020]-[0021], [0024], [0027], [0043], “The encoder of the active suspension mechanism 300 functions to determine the angular position of the suspension motor shaft”, [0045]-[0046], Note: According to the specification and drawing of the present application, positioning module (shown as element 5 in Fig. 1 of the applicant drawings), is place on top of the machine. Therefore, tilt angle of positioning module as recited in the claim is interpreted as tilt angle of the robot, e.g. tilt of the suspension motor shaft that is considered as disclosed in Cann to determine the robot’s imbalance__)
([0017], “The robot 10 can additionally function to automatically balance the mobile device 20 and/or support within a predetermined angular range”), [0024], “the drive motor 120 can drive the wheels 130 to balance the robot about a tilt axis [] within a predetermined range of tilt []”).
said positioning module substantially facing upward when the tilt angle thereof is within the predetermined tilt angle range (__the positioning module as shown in the drawing as item 5 locates on top of the robot, so the limitation of positioning module facing upward when the tilt angle is withing the predetermined tilt angle has been interpreted as the robot doesn’t fall or collapse while the recited tilt angle is with the predetermined range. Or on the other hand balance the robot__ Abstract, “balancing module”, [0017], “The robot 10 can additionally function to automatically balance the mobile device 20 and/or support within a predetermined angular range relative to the gravity vector”, [0020], [0024], “balance the robot about a tilt axis by maintaining the position of the support 200 (e.g., support longitudinal axis) relative to a gravity vector 40 (e.g., within a predetermined range of angles relative to the gravity vector 40, within a predetermined range of tilt angles” []))
Although, Cann teaches sending the sensor data to the robot drive according to at least paragraph [0020] and also according to the mapping in previous paragraph that teaches based on determining if the tilt angle is within a predetermined, control the robot (adjust the tilt angle), however, in the event that Cann doesn’t explicitly disclose an output unit indicating that whether the tilt angle of said positioning module falls within a predetermined tilt angle range, for the purpose of compact prosecution, Aoki discloses a manipulator controller including a tilt angle obtainer of a manipulator and teaches an output unit indicating that whether the tilt angle of said positioning module falls within a predetermined tilt angle range ([0013], “output a notification in response to the tilt angle equal to or greater than a predetermined value”, [0070], [0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for determining a boundary of a to-be-worked area as taught by Uemura, with a device having a push rod and two wheels as taught by Xu, and further determining if its tilt angle is within a predetermined angle range as taught by Cann and output that to the user as taught by Aoki, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving the accuracy of the boundary determination device and also enhancing the device’s balance control.
Conclusion
/H.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669