DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 12/03/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a nonelected invention.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
It is noted that the abstract begins with “Provided is”. The examiner suggests its deletion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (2015/0086460) in view of KR 20200046910A (abstract) and Shi et al. (WO 2020/057672 A1).
Kim teaches a method for producing hexagonal boron nitride film using borazine as a precursor (title) by CVD in which borazine is decomposed into boron and nitrogen at high temperature to form a hexagonal boron nitride film on the surface of a metal catalyst substrate (0010). In one embodiment, the catalyst can be iron (0051). However, the reference fails to teach a tube and the claimed temperature range.
It is first noted that a reaction chamber is disclosed (0054). One skilled in the art would reasonably expect that the deposition would readily occur in a reaction chamber regardless of the geometric configuration of the reaction chamber. Hence, it would have been obvious to utilize a tube with the expectation of success in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Regardless, KR’910 teaches of growing hexagonal boron nitride in a reaction space within a main quartz tube (abstract). It would have been obvious to utilize a tube as a reaction space in Kim with the expectation of success because KR’910 teaches of using a quartz tube to grow hexagonal boron nitride
In addition, the reference fails to teach the claimed temperature range. Shi teaches a method for preparing a multi-layer hexagonal boron nitride film (abstract) at a temperature between 800-1500oC (p.5 lines 8-14). It would have been obvious to utilize the temperature range of Shi in the process of Kim with the expectation of success because Shi teaches of using an overlapping temperature range to prepare hexagonal boron nitride.
Regarding claim 2, Shi teaches Al2O3 (p.6 lines 12-32).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches borazine (title).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (2015/0086460) in view of KR 20200046910A (abstract) and Shi et al. (WO 2020/057672 A1) and further in view of Schleich et al. (GB 2192643). The combination of Kim/KR’910/Shi fails to teach the appropriate heater materials.
Schleich teaches of forming boron nitride layers (p.2 lines 3-7) using silicon carbide heaters (p.4 lines 15-22). It would have been obvious to utilize silicon carbide heaters in the combination with the expectation of success because Schleich teaches of using silicon carbide heaters to form boron nitride layers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-16 are allowed.
The prior art references fail to teach melting and solidifying a catalyst substrate by the claimed method steps.
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art references fail to teach or suggest the limitations of claim 4, from which claims 5-7 depend.
/BRET P CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715 12/18/2025