Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 2026-01-20 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-20 remain pending in this application. Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-16 have been amended. Claim(s) 11 has/have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026-01-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, with respect to independent claims 1, 15 and 16, that Shin fails to teach “a hand gripper module configured to withdraw the second probe card from a probe station for semiconductor testing and mount on the second loading module, and pick up the first probe card from the first loading module and insert the first probe card into the probe station, in a state that the first and second loading modules relatively move in opposite directions such that any one of the first and second loading modules is not between the hand gripper module and the other one of the first and second loading modules along a straight line in a vertical direction”
The examiner respectfully disagrees, in light of the following arguments and as reiterated in the rejection below:
Shin teaches the limitation above as it can be seen from Figs 16-20 that the hand gripper module can insert a probe card into the transporting apparatus, 60. Additionally, Page 15, lines 9-15, teach the robot can insert/remove cards from the loading sections, 70. Page 1-2, bottom of page 1 and top of page 2 teach that probe cards are used for testing semiconductor devices with a probe station. Therefore, it is reasonable to conclude one of the locations the probe cards will be moved to is a probe station for testing. Additionally, Page 18, lines 16-21, teach that only 1 loading section, 70, may be withdrawn from the cart at a time. Therefore, the loading sections will necessarily move in opposite directions as one will be entering the cart, and one will be leaving, since the loading sections may move in opposite directions and one is out at a time then it may exist in a condition that the second or first loading module is not between the hand gripper module and the other loading module as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 12-14, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (KR-101019534-B1 – refer to machine translation provided in the office action mailed 2025-10-20 for references cited).
Regarding Claim 1, Shin teaches a probe card transporting apparatus comprising:
a first loading module configured to mount a first probe card thereon, is the first probe card being a replacement probe card (Figs 16-20: card loading section 70);
a second loading module configured to mount a second probe card to be replaced thereon, the first loading module and the second loading module installed at different levels from each other (Figs 16-20: card loading section 70, it can be seen in the Figure there are at least two loading modules mounted on different levels); and
a hand gripper module (Fig 20: pickers, 84a & 84b) configured to withdraw the second probe card from a probe station for semiconductor testing and mount on the second loading module, and pick up the first probe card from the first loading module and insert the first probe card into the probe station in a state that the first and second loading modules relatively move in opposite directions such that any one of the first and second loading modules is not between the hand gripper module and the other one of the first and second loading modules along a straight line in a vertical direction (Can be seen from Figs 16-20 that the hand gripper module can insert a probe card into the transporting apparatus, 60. Additionally, Page 15, lines 9-15, teach the robot can insert/remove cards from the loading sections, 70. Page 1-2, bottom of page 1 and top of page 2 teach that probe cards are used for testing semiconductor devices with a probe station. Therefore, it is reasonable to conclude one of the locations the probe cards will be moved to is a probe station for testing. Additionally, Page 18, lines 16-21, teach that only 1 loading section, 70, may be withdrawn from the cart at a time. Therefore, the loading sections will necessarily move in opposite directions as one will be entering the cart, and one will be leaving, since the loading sections may move in opposite directions and one is out at a time then it may exist in a condition that the second or first loading module is not between the hand gripper module and the other loading module as claimed).
Regarding Claim 2, Shin teaches the probe card transporting apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the first loading module is on a higher level than the second loading module (Can be seen in Figs 16-20 that one of the loading sections, 70, is higher than the others).
Regarding Claim 8, Shin teaches the probe card transporting apparatus of claim 1, wherein the hand gripper module is on a higher level than the first and second loading modules (Can be seen in Fig 20).
Regarding Claim 9, Shin teaches the probe card transporting apparatus of claim 8, wherein the hand gripper module is configured to load and unload the first and second probe cards by descending to a level where the first and second loading modules are positioned (Page 19, lines 6-8, teach the handling robot, 80, to which the hand grippers, 84a & 84b, are attached moves up and down, therefore capable of moving to the level of the loading sections, 70).
Regarding Claim 12, Shin teaches the probe card transporting apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a sensor configured to inspect whether the first probe card is mounted within a mounting surface of the first loading module (Page 8, lines 11-17, with reference to Fig 3, teach a sensor that determines the height of the probe card relative to the loading section, 14, is normal).
Regarding Claim 13, Shin teaches the probe card transporting apparatus of claim 12, wherein the sensor is a sensor configured to acquire an image including the first loading module and the first probe card or a sensor configured to measure a distance between a surface of the first loading module and the first probe card (Page 8, lines 11-17, with reference to Fig 3, teach a sensor that determines the height of the probe card relative to the loading section, 14, is normal, therefore taking the distance between the probe card and loading section).
Regarding Claim 14, Shin teaches the probe card transporting apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a robot arm module configured to control the hand gripper module (Fig 20: multi-joint arm, 83); and
a support module configured to movably support the first loading module, the second loading module, and the robot arm module (Fig 19: support unit, 90. Page 17, bottom of page, teaches the support unit, 90, enters and exits the cart in order to prevent the cart from tipping over, which supports the cart and all parts attached to it).
Regarding Claim 16, Shin teaches a probe card transporting method comprising:
withdrawing, by a hand gripper module (Fig 20: pickers, 84a & 84b, which are attached to the multi-joint arm, 83), a second probe card from a probe station (Page 19, last sentence to page 20 first sentence teaches the loading of a probe card from another location to the loading module. Page 1-2, bottom of page 1 and top of page 2 teach that probe cards are used for testing semiconductor devices with a probe station. Therefore, it is reasonable to conclude one of the locations the probe cards will be moved to is a probe station for testing);
moving a first loading module with a first probe card mounted therein (Fig 18-19 shows moving a loading module with a probe card mounted on it. The moving may be into or out of the cart, 60);
loading, by the hand gripper module, the second probe card on a second loading module, which is disposed below the first loading module (Figs 16-20, show multiple loading modules, with at least one below at least one other, Page 19, last sentence to page 20 first sentence teaches the loading of a probe card from another location to the loading module.);
unloading, by the hand gripper module, the first probe card on the first loading module (Page 19, last sentence to page 20 first sentence teaches the unloading of a probe card from another location to the loading module or the other way around); and
inserting, by the hand gripper module, the first probe card into the probe station (Page 19, last sentence to page 20 first sentence teaches the unloading of a probe card from another location to the loading module or the other way around),
wherein the withdrawing, the moving, the loading, the unloading, and the inserting are performed in a state that the first and second loading modules relatively move in opposite directions such that any one of the first and second loading modules is not between the hand gripper module and the other one of the first and second loading modules along a straight line in a vertical direction (Page 18, lines 16-21, teach that only 1 loading section, 70, may be withdrawn from the cart at a time. Therefore, the loading sections will necessarily move in opposite directions as one will be entering the cart, and one will be leaving, since the loading sections may move in opposite directions and one is out at a time then it may exist in a condition that the second or first loading module is not between the hand gripper module and the other loading module as claimed).
Regarding Claim 17, Shin teaches the probe card transporting method of claim 16, further comprising: when the second probe card is mounted on the second loading module, returning the first loading module to its original location (Page 19, last sentence to page 20 first sentence teaches the unloading of a probe card from another location to the loading module or the other way around. Since the probe cards can be loaded into or out of the machine, and the loading modules can move independently of each other the first loading module can return to any position after the second card is loaded).
Regarding Claim 19, Shin teaches the probe card transporting method of claim 16, wherein the first probe card is an unused probe card, and the second probe card is an already-used probe card (Page 19, last sentence to page 20 first sentence teaches the unloading of a probe card from another location to the loading module or the other way around, therefore one will be used while the other is not).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 & 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Jung (KR-1020170053352 – Refer to machine translation attached in the office action mailed 2025-10-20).
Regarding Claim 3, Shin teaches a first and second loading modules (Figs 16-20: card loading section 70). Shin does not teach wherein at least one of the first and second loading modules is configured to move such that the first and second loading modules are positioned at a same level (Para [0057] with reference to Fig 4, teaches that the loading units (226a, 226b) may be positioned on the same line as the buffer ports (224a, 224b) as needed). However, Jung teaches wherein at least one of the first and second loading modules moves to the same level (Para [0057] with reference to Fig 4, teaches that the loading units (226a, 226b) may be positioned on the same line as the buffer ports (224a, 224b) as needed). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the loading modules of Shin to incorporate moving to the same level as taught by Jung. A motivation for this modification is the requirement of the testing device where probe cards must be at a specific level to enter/ exit the probe testing chamber, as shown in Jung in Fig 4.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Shin and Jung, as presented with respect to claim 3, teaches wherein the first loading module is configured to move to a same level as the second loading module while the second probe card is mounted on the second loading module (Jung - Para [0057] with reference to Fig 4, teaches that the loading units (226a, 226b) may be positioned on the same line as the buffer ports (224a, 224b) as needed. Fig 4 shows the loading units with probe cards, 20, mounted). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Shin and Jung, as presented with respect to claim 3, teaches wherein the at least one of the first and second loading modules is configured to move in one of a rotating manner and a linear manner (Shin - Fig 19 shows a loading section, 70, withdrawn from the cart in a linear manner).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Shin and Jung, as presented with respect to claim 3, teaches wherein the hand gripper module is configured to move when the second loading module moves (Fig 19-20 show a loading section, 70, withdrawn from the cart and the hand gripper, 84a/84b, extracting the probe card, 1, from the loading section. Therefore, the robot arm/hand gripper moves when the loading sections have moved). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Jung in view of Choi et al. (KR-100760200-B1 – From IDS filed 2023-11-07, Refer to attached machine translation for references cited).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Shin in view of Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the first and second loading modules are configured to simultaneously move in different directions. However, Choi teaches (Fig 1 shows two loading modules (hand part, 54) capable of simultaneous movement, top of page 8 teaches the robot arms perform work simultaneously). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the loading modules of the combination to move simultaneously as taught in Choi. A motivation for this modification is to improve productivity as taught by Choi at the top of page 8).
Claims 10, 15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Jang (KR-10-2018-0047819-A, refer to machine translation attached in office action mailed 2025-10-20 for references cited).
Regarding Claim 10, Shin does not teach wherein the probe card transporting apparatus is configured to autonomously navigate to a location where the probe station is positioned. However, Jang teaches wherein the probe card transporting apparatus is configured to autonomously navigate to a location where the probe station is positioned (Para [0055] with reference to Fig 5, teaches the probe cart, 50, transports probe cards to a test device. Para [0078] teaches the probe cart may be moved in an unmanned manner by an automated system). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transporting apparatus of Shin to incorporate autonomous navigation of Jang. A motivation for this modification is the probe cart can then be moved unmanned as taught by Jang in Para [0078].
Regarding Claim 15, Shin teaches a probe card transporting apparatus comprising:
a first loading module configured to mount a first probe card thereon, the first probe card being a replacement probe card (Figs 16-20: card loading section 70);
a second loading module configured to mount a second probe card to be replaced thereon (Figs 16-20: card loading section 70, it can be seen in the Figure there are at least two loading modules); and
a hand gripper module (Fig 20: pickers, 84a & 84b) configured to withdraw the second probe card from a probe station for semiconductor testing and mount the second probe card on the second loading module and pick up the first probe card from the first loading module and insert the first probe card into the probe station (Can be seen from Figs 16-20 that the hand gripper module can insert a probe card into the transporting apparatus, 60. Additionally, Page 15, lines 9-15, teach the robot can insert/remove cards from the loading sections, 70. Page 1-2, bottom of page 1 and top of page 2 teach that probe cards are used for testing semiconductor devices with a probe station. Therefore, it is reasonable to conclude one of the locations the probe cards will be moved to is a probe station for testing.),
the first loading module is on a higher level than the second loading module (Can be seen in Figs 16-20 that one of the loading sections, 70, is higher than the others) and is configured to move in one of a rotating manner and a linear manner while the second probe card is mounted on the second loading module (Fig 19 shows a loading section, 70, withdrawn from the cart in a linear manner), and
the hand gripper module is on a higher level than the first and second loading modules (Can be seen in Fig 20) and configured to load or unload the first and second probe cards by descending to a level where the first and second loading modules are positioned (Page 19, lines 6-8, teach the handling robot, 80, to which the hand grippers, 84a & 84b, are attached moves up and down, therefore capable of moving to the level of the loading sections, 70), in a state that the first and second loading modules relatively move in opposite directions such that any one of the first and second loading modules is not between the hand gripper module and the other one of the first and second loading modules along a straight line in a vertical direction (Page 18, lines 16-21, teach that only 1 loading section, 70, may be withdrawn from the cart at a time. Therefore, the loading sections will necessarily move in opposite directions as one will be entering the cart, and one will be leaving, since the loading sections may move in opposite directions and one is out at a time then it may exist in a condition that the second or first loading module is not between the hand gripper module and the other loading module as claimed).
Shin does not teach wherein the probe card transporting apparatus is configured to autonomously navigate to a location where the probe station is positioned. However, Jang teaches wherein the probe card transporting apparatus is configured to autonomously navigate to a location where the probe station is positioned (Para [0055] with reference to Fig 5, teaches the probe cart, 50, transports probe cards to a test device. Para [0078] teaches the probe cart may be moved in an unmanned manner by an automated system). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transporting apparatus of Shin to incorporate autonomous navigation of Jang. A motivation for this modification is the probe cart can then be moved unmanned as taught by Jang in Para [0078].
Regarding Claim 18, Shin does not teach allowing the first loading module to autonomously navigate with the first probe card mounted therein to a location where the probe station is positioned. However, Jang teaches allowing the first loading module to autonomously navigate with the first probe card mounted therein to a location where the probe station is positioned (Para [0055] with reference to Fig 5, teaches the probe cart, 50, transports probe cards to a test device. Para [0078] teaches the probe cart may be moved in an unmanned manner by an automated system). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transporting apparatus of Shin to incorporate autonomous navigation of Jang. A motivation for this modification is the probe cart can then be moved unmanned as taught by Jang in Para [0078].
Regarding Claim 20, Shin teaches the first loading module (Figs 16-20: card loading section 70), the second loading module (Figs 16-20: card loading section 70), and the hand gripper module installed in its upper part (Fig 20: pickers, 84a & 84b). Shin does not teach wherein the allowing the first loading module to autonomously navigate, comprises using a driving unit, the driving unit is provided as one of an automated guided vehicle (AGV) and an autonomous mobile robot (AMR). However, Jang teaches wherein the allowing the first loading module to autonomously navigate (Para [0055] with reference to Fig 5, teaches the probe cart, 50, transports probe cards to a test device. Para [0078] teaches the probe cart may be moved in an unmanned manner by an automated system), comprises using a driving unit (Fig 5: main body, 510) , and the driving unit is provided as one of an automated guided vehicle (AGV) and an autonomous mobile robot (AMR) (Para [0055] with reference to Fig 5, teaches the probe cart, 50, transports probe cards to a test device. Para [0078] teaches the probe cart may be moved in an unmanned manner by an automated system). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transporting apparatus of Shin to incorporate autonomous navigation of Jang. A motivation for this modification is the probe cart can then be moved unmanned as taught by Jang in Para [0078].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMIAH J BARRON/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858