DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-21 are pending in this application.
This application is a CON of two US Applications which claimed priority to two PCT applications, which claimed priority to two US Provisional Applications. The Examiner has reviewed the prosecution histories of each application. The effective filing date for the pending claims appears to be that of the earliest provisional: 5/22/2020.
Seven IDS statements, citing a total of 2,069 references, have been entered and considered.
Applicant is reminded that it is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. As set forth in MPEP 2004, applicant is directed to eliminate clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant's attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yah Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F.Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aft'd, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995). Applicant has cited more than 2000 references, many of which are not clearly relevant to the claimed invention. Applicant is cautioned against burying material references and the appearance of inequitable conduct in this application.
The drawings as filed are suitable for examination.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the pending claims are drawn to a system, while the abstract is a single sentence describing an intended method. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 11, the Latin phrase “in situ” should be italicized.
Claim 16 appears to be a duplicate of claim 8.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 12-15, 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
With respect to claims 3-4, the analyte is not a part of the system. It is part of the intended use of the system, but none of the parts of the system clearly comprise an analyte.
With respect to claim 12, this modifies an intended use of the computer component but does not further limit the system or the computer component itself.
With respect to claims 13-15, these claims directed to a second analysis of a second analyte are directed to further use of the system, and do not modify or limit the system itself, or its components.
With respect to claims 18-21, these claims, directed to analyzing a tissue section at different time points, with different treatment of a subject with an agent, et al. are all directed to further intended uses of the system which fail to modify the system itself, or its components.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of claim 2 are unclear as to how the system components are connected, such that each intended use of each component can be carried out, and the intended correlational analysis can be performed. The system has the intended use of “for performing temporal analysis in a tissue section” however the system itself does not change over time, and no analytical steps are performed in a positive active set of method steps or instructions that could theoretically represent temporal analysis.
The metes and bounds of claims 3-4 are unclear, in that the tissue sample of component a) of claim 2 does not clearly recite an analyte.
The metes and bounds of claim 10 are entirely unclear as to how this modifies the system of claim 2. Claim 2, directed to a system, does not set forth an ordered series of method steps which may have been able to be modified as recited “prior to obtaining the image of the tissue section.” The system comprises an imager. The tissue section of component a) could possibly be further modified to comprise a stained tissue section, without the temporal requirement, however this interpretation cannot be read into the claims. Further in claim 2, it is unclear how the “electrical field” is generated, as no specific component appears able to provide the field. It is suggested that the component required be recited.
The metes and bounds of claims 13-16 are unclear as to how the system is modified by these limitations. The system itself does not comprise instructions to carry out any second analysis, and the intended use of the system to analyze a second analyte do not change the system itself.
With respect to claim 17, this claim is unclear in its entirety as the components of claim 2 are not steps that can be repeated at different time points. It is entirely unclear how to implement these limitations. This also applies to claims 18-21, which require different time points, treatment of a subject with an agent, and stages of disease or age, all of which fall outside the bounds of the system, and do not further limit that system.
It is suggested the claims be clearly amended to recite the system components and perhaps include a non-transitory computer-readable-media comprising instructions to carry out particular method steps, when executed by a processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Frisen (US 2019/0203275 A1, published 7/4/2019).
Frisen discloses systems comprising components, for analysis of an analyte in a biological specimen.
With respect to claim 2 component a), Frisen teaches providing a tissue section, including healthy or diseased tissues, at least at [0020, 0028, 0044, 0081, 0084, 0088-0091 et al.].
“[0028] As used herein, the term “biological specimen” is intended to mean one or more cell, tissue, organism or portion thereof.”
“[0044] As used herein, the term “tissue” is intended to mean an aggregation of cells, and, optionally, intercellular matter. Typically the cells in a tissue are not free floating in solution and instead are attached to each other to form a multicellular structure. Exemplary tissue types include muscle, nerve, epidermal and connective tissues.”
With respect to claim 2, component b) Frisen provides barcoded arrays, which can contact the tissue, and comprise fiducial markers that can be optically encoded, at least at [arrays: 0008, 0009, 0019, 0025, 0056, et al; barcodes: 0006-0008, 0027, 0043, 0047, 0070, 0102, et al; markers: 0108].
With respect to claim 2, component c) Frisen provides imaging components to obtain images at least at [0104-0106].
With respect to claim 2 component d) Frisen provides migration of the analyte to the array in the flow cell system. The tissue section is treated, then applied to the barcoded array, and the flow cell provides the environment by which the analyte (mRNA) migrates to the barcoded array, which appears to encompass an electrical field. (Examples I-IV).
With respect to claim 2 component e) Frisen provides a sequencing instrument at least at [0018, 0019, 0072-0076].
With respect to claim 2, component f) Frisen provides correlation of location to sequence such as at [0097, 0107, Fig 3, 5, 7-8].
With respect to claims 3-4, Frisen discloses analytes which can be nucleic acids, such as DNA or RNA, or mRNA at [0026, 0038]
With respect to claim 5, Frisen discloses flow cells, throughout.
With respect to claim 6-7, Frisen discloses using healthy or disease tissue section at [0090].
With respect to claims 8 and 16, Frisen discloses a plurality of capture probes which comprise spatial barcodes and a capture domain at least at [0008, Fig 7-8, 0045, 0058-0060, 0064, 0093 et al.]
With respect to claim 9, the analyte can bind the capture domain directly. [0008, Fig 7-8, 0045, 0058-0060, 0064, 0093 et al.]
With respect to claim 10 the tissue section can be stained with fluorescent tags, as shown at least at: [0104, 0107]
With respect to claim 11, sequencing, such as Sequencing by Synthesis and NGS are disclosed as set forth above.
With respect to claim 12, correlation of gene expression with a spatial barcode is disclosed at [0097, 0107, Fig 3, 5, 7-8].
With respect to claims 13-14, Frisen discloses other analytes such as proteins at [0038].
With respect to claim 15-16, this embodiment is met when the target is a protein as identified above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frisen (US 2019/0203275 A1) as applied to claims 2-15 above, in view of Gierahn (WO2019/113457 A1; PTO-1449).
Frisen teaches the system of claims 2-16 as set forth above. Claims 17-21 are directed to a further intended use of the system, to repeat an analysis, or to analyze the tissue in the presence/ absence of an agent, and has further limitations to the subject providing the tissue.
Frisen et al. teach a method for identifying a location and abundance of an analyte in a biological sample comprising the steps:
(a) contacting the biological sample with a substrate comprising a spatial barcode and a capture domain (parag. 8),
(b) recording intracellular gene expression of a nucleic acid located in a perfusion chamber comprising a gasket and a substrate and a plurality of apertures (parags. 19-20, 25, 51, 92 and 94),
(c) hybridizing the analyte to the capture probe (parags. 38, 71 and 77),
(d) extending the capture probe using the analyte as a template (parag. 9 and Fig. 1),
(e) amplifying the extended capture probe (parags. 8 and 24); and
(f) determining all or part of the sequence of the spatial barcode, all or part of the sequence of the analyte and identifying the location and abundance of the analyte in the biological sample (parags. 6, 7, 20 and 22).
Frisen does not teach:
(i) also using a drug for screening.
(i) Regarding the use of a drug in the perfusion chamber in claims 18-21, Gierahn et al. teach a method of identifying a location and abundance of an analyte in a biological sample and further screening a drug’s interaction with the sample using a spatial barcode (pg. 35 lines 9-27, pg. 40 lines 12-16 and pg. 93 lines 14-28).
Specifically, Gierahn teaches:
“The well-based biological analysis platform, also referred to as Seq-well, facilitates the
creation of barcoded single-cell sequencing libraries from thousands of single cells using devices that contain 10,000-1,000,000 or more wells of micron dimensions and picoliter volumes preloaded with barcoded transcript-capture beads. Cells are simply applied to the top surface of the array and drop into the wells by gravity within minutes. This simplified loading scheme enables Seq-well to capture nearly 100% of cells applied to the surface of the device. Key to the robust capture of single cell transcriptomes by Seq-well is the attachment of a semi- permeable membrane to the array surface after cell loading (as disclosed in published PCT Application No. PCT/US17/13791), enabling facile buffer exchange within the wells for cell lysis and RNA hybridization while retaining biologic macromolecules (e.g., DNA, RNA, and protein) for capture.” (pg. 1 lines 8-18).
Thus at the time of filing the ordinary artisan would have found it prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Frisen regarding a method for identifying a location and abundance of an analyte in a biological sample with the teachings of Gierahn who teaches a method for identifying a location and abundance of an analyte in a biological sample and that their method can be used to screen for drug interactions to arrive at the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination since Gierahn teaches that using a method with a spatial barcode can also empower the screening multiple test compounds for rare phenotypes.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success that the spatial barcode and method of Frisen could also screen test compounds, since Gierahn teaches a method utilizing a spatial barcode to screen nucleic acids in a cell sample and also screen for test compounds.
Thus the cited art provides the requisite teachings and motivations to make and use the invention as claimed.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 11,624,086. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are drawn to systems, comprising components to carry out the same methods. System claims were not examined or restricted in the parent application.
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,866,767. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are drawn to systems, comprising components to carry out the same methods. System claims were not examined or restricted in the parent application.
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,085. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are drawn to systems, comprising components to carry out the same methods.
Claim s 2-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 85-104 of copending Application No. 18/746,646 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both drawn to systems, comprising computers, imagers, tissue sections, barcoding arrays , sequencers et al.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/MARY K ZEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1686