Claims 1-20 are pending and under examination.
Priority
This application is a continuation of 15/779,123 filed on 5/25/2018, which is a national stage entry of PCT/US16/63540 filed on 11/23/2016, which claims priority from US provisional applications 62/378,997 filed on 8/24/2016 and 62/259,909 filed on 11/25/2015.
In regards to the claims that provide for myocardial infarction, claims 8, and 11-15, this is provided with the support of 62/378,997 filed on 8/24/2016 as this is the first document where myocardial infarction treatment appears.
Examiner Comments
Applicant’s arguments from 3/24/2026 are convincing toward claims 10-20 where “miRNA 146a covalently attached at a 3’ end to the cerium oxide via an amide linkage” in regards to the rejections under USC 103 and under double patenting for US copending applications 17/428,447 and 17/281,049. However, the examiner responds to arguments over the rejections over the remaining claims.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalashnikova, Soumen, et al (Nanoceria-miRNA as modulator of inflammation in diabetic wounds, April 2015 based on applicant’s IDS, document found in parent application, in applicant’s IDS) and Yu et al (AAPS J, 2009, volume 11, pages 195-203) as evidenced by Mittal et al (Antioxidants and Redox Signaling, Mar 2014, volume 20, pages 1126-1167).
Kalashnikova teaches that miRNA146a was attached to hydroxyl groups (covalent) of CNP using 1,1-carbonyldiimidazole (methods). Kalashnikova teaches treating non-diabetic and diabetic mice that were wounded were provided with a single intradermal injection of the CNP-miRNA146a or CNP or vehicle (methods). Kalashnikova teaches decreased gene expression of TRAF6, IRAK1, NF-kappa b, IL-6 and IL-8/MIP-2) and increased macrophage cells to the wounded site (Results), and thus, modulating inflammation. Figure 2 shows the results of the wound treatment. Thus, the administration of compositions of the miRNA146a-CNPs was known for wound treatment in diabetic subjects and were effective. Kalashnikova mentions attachment to the hydroxyl groups of the miRNA (methods), but does not specify which one.
In regards to claim 9, these are effects provided by the treating of the subject. As Kalashnikova does the treatment with the conjugate, these effects will occur in the subject receiving treatment as these are expression of genes affected by the treatment.
Mittal evidences under inflammatory conditions there is oxidative stress (abstract) and there is an intricate relationship between oxidative stress and inflammation (Conclusion and Future Remarking).
Kalashnikova does not teach the miRNA attached at the 3’ end or the amide bond being at the 3’ end.
Yu teaches targeted delivery systems for oligonucleotide therapeutics (abstract). Yu teaches modifications of the 5’ or 3’ ends of oligonucleotides (HDL/LDL mediated delivery section). Yu teaches connecting ligands to the termini of oligonucleotides (Conjugation Chemistry for Attaching Ligand to Ons). Here, Yu also mentions that thioether, disulfide and amide covalent linkages are frequently used for targeting ligands to termini of oligonucleotides or the surface of nanoparticles. Thus, amide covalent linkages are known to connect oligonucleotides to other molecules and both termini (3’ or 5’ end) may be used for these attachments.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have used such routine techniques of the prior art to attach oligonucleotides like an miRNA or siRNA (oligoRNA) to other items as either the 3’ and 5’ end of the RNA are available for linkages and amide covalent linkages were commonly used as by teachings of Yu. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success of using the 3’ end of an oligo RNA like the miRNA and to add an amide covalent linkage to attach it where Kalashnikova provides for the conjugation of the miRNA and the cerium oxide nanoparticle via covalent means. Since oxidative stress is associated with the inflammation by evidence of Mittal, the oxidative stress will be present in the wound and treated as well.
Claims 5-7 in addition to Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 10, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalashnikova, Soumen, et al (Nanoceria-miRNA as modulator of inflammation in diabetic wounds, April 2015 based on applicant’s IDS, in applicant’s IDS), Yu et al (AAPS J, 2009, volume 11, pages 195-203) and Sudipta US 20130195927 as evidenced by Mittal et al (Antioxidants and Redox Signaling, Mar 2014, volume 20, pages 1126-1167).
Kalashnikova and Yu teach the claims as discussed above.
Kalashnikova and Yu do not teach topical treatment of the wound (teaches intradermal injection), does not teach plurality of times or daily.
Sudipta teaches treatment and promotion of wound healing with ceria nanoparticles (abstract). Sudipta teaches topical administration (claim 2 of Sudipta). Sudipta teaches daily administration for multiple days and at least once daily (paragraphs 7 and 41). Sudipta teaches diabetic ulcer (claim 9 of Sudipta). Paragraph 33 teaches various topical compositions.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have considered topical treatments for daily treatments as this is recognized for nanoceria wound treatments of the prior art and Kalasknikova also provides a wound treatment with a nanoceria particle. The time of dosing would be routine to one of ordinary skill in the art who desires to achieve the optimal wound treatment and Sudipta recognizes the use of topical, daily treatments for wounds. Thus, there was a reasonable expectation of success in offering the treatment as a topical, daily, multi-use method by the teachings of the prior art.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalashnikova, Soumen, et al (Nanoceria-miRNA as modulator of inflammation in diabetic wounds, April 2015 based on applicant’s IDS, document found in parent application, in applicant’s IDS) and Yu et al (AAPS J, 2009, volume 11, pages 195-203) and Hori et al (Cardiovascular Research, 2009, volume 81, pages 457-464) as evidenced by Mittal et al (Antioxidants and Redox Signaling, Mar 2014, volume 20, pages 1126-1167).
Kalashnikova and Yu teach the claims as above.
Kalashnikova and Yu do not teach myocardial infarction but do provide for control of inflammation with the composition having miRNA146a-nanoceria.
Hori teaches that ROS and inflammation occur in myocardial infarction (abstract). Hori teaches antioxidant and anti-inflammatory treatment for reverse remodeling of the heart (section 7 and conclusions) and left ventricular remodeling (abstract). In section 7, the importance of dose is provided as well as timing of administration.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have considered myocardial infarction as one of the inflammation/oxidative stress conditions to be treated by reducing inflammation and oxidative stress with the treatment of Kalashnikova based on the teachings of Hori that shows myocardial infarction is characterized by inflammation. One of ordinary skill in the art would administer the dosage of anti-inflammatory as soon as possible after the event has occurred and for as many times as would be necessary. One of ordinary skill in the art would also consider injecting at the site of injury as with the wound in Kalashnikova. In providing such an antioxidant and anti-inflammatory treatment, one would expect some restoration/maintenance of the heart function as compared to untreated control since Hori teaches such expectations are possible. There is a reasonable expectation of success in providing such a form of treatment to individuals who had myocardial infarction as the condition is characterized by oxidative stress and inflammation which are treatable with the Kalashnikova’s method and expecting less damage, some degree of healing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Yu’s teachings of is that Yu fails to describe the conjugation of the 3’ end of the miRNA (in this case miRNA 146a) to a CNP via an amide linkage. This is most applicable to claim 10 that carries this full limitation. Claim 1 only indicates there is a covalent attachment at the 3’ end to the cerium oxide nanoparticle without providing the covalent linkage type. In the case of attachment points on the oligo RNA, the main options would be the 3’ or the 5’ ends as provided in Yu. The teachings of attaching miRNA 146a to a cerium oxide nanoparticle for wound treatments comes from the disclosure of Kalashnikova. Therefore, as the prior art recognizes the attachments and the choices of the 5’ or 3’ end of an RNA and as Kalashnikova provides for linking miRNA 146a (an oligo RNA) to a cerium oxide nanoparticle, there is a reasonable expectation of success of providing any covalent linkage from a 3’ end to a cerium oxide nanoparticle to provide for the miRNA conjugated cerium oxide nanoparticles of the method of applicant’s claims with the combined teachings of the references. Therefore, these rejections under USC 103 are maintained for their teachings as covering claims 1-9. Rejections to claims 10-20 are being withdrawn per the applicant’s argument regarding the particular amide linkage at the 3’end.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 9-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11833172 as evidenced by Mittal et al (Antioxidants and Redox Signaling, Mar 2014, volume 20, pages 1126-1167). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets provide for treating or preventing inflammation in a wound with a conjugate of cerium oxide and miRNA-146a as claimed. Mittal evidences under inflammatory conditions there is oxidative stress (abstract) and there is an intricate relationship between oxidative stress and inflammation (Conclusion and Future Remarking).
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 9-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11833172 as evidenced by Mittal et al (Antioxidants and Redox Signaling, Mar 2014, volume 20, pages 1126-1167). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets provide for treating or preventing inflammation in a wound with a conjugate of cerium oxide and miRNA-146a as claimed. Mittal evidences under inflammatory conditions there is oxidative stress (abstract) and there is an intricate relationship between oxidative stress and inflammation (Conclusion and Future Remarking).
Claims 1 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 6, 9, 10-12 of copending Application No. 17/281,049 (reference application) and Yu et al (AAPS J, 2009, volume 11, pages 195-203) as evidenced by Mittal et al (Antioxidants and Redox Signaling, Mar 2014, volume 20, pages 1126-1167). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets provide for treating or preventing inflammation in a condition (pulmonary disease or condition) with a conjugate of cerium oxide and miRNA-146a. Mittal evidences under inflammatory conditions there is oxidative stress (abstract) and there is an intricate relationship between oxidative stress and inflammation (Conclusion and Future Remarking).
‘049 does not teach in what way the miRNA is bound to the cerium oxide nanoparticle.
Yu teaches targeted delivery systems for oligonucleotide therapeutics (abstract). Yu teaches modifications of the 5’ or 3’ ends of oligonucleotides (HDL/LDL mediated delivery section). Yu teaches connecting ligands to the termini of oligonucleotides (Conjugation Chemistry for Attaching Ligand to Ons). Here, Yu also mentions that thioether, disulfide and amide covalent linkages are frequently used for targeting ligands to termini of oligonucleotides or the surface of nanoparticles. Thus, amide covalent linkages are known to connect oligonucleotides to other molecules and both termini (3’ or 5’ end) may be used for these attachments.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have used such routine techniques of the prior art to attach oligonucleotides like an miRNA (oligoRNA) to other items as both the 3’ and 5’ end of the RNA are available for linkages and amide covalent linkages were commonly used. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success of using the 3’ end of the miRNA and to add an amide covalent linkage to attach it where ‘049 provides for the conjugation of the miRNA and the cerium oxide nanoparticle.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7, and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5, 8-10 of copending Application No. 17/428,447. (reference application) and Yu et al (AAPS J, 2009, volume 11, pages 195-203). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets provide for treating or preventing inflammation in a condition with a conjugate of cerium oxide and miRNA-146a.
‘447 claims do not teach in what way the miRNA is bound to the cerium oxide nanoparticle.
Yu teaches targeted delivery systems for oligonucleotide therapeutics (abstract). Yu teaches modifications of the 5’ or 3’ ends of oligonucleotides (HDL/LDL mediated delivery section). Yu teaches connecting ligands to the termini of oligonucleotides (Conjugation Chemistry for Attaching Ligand to Ons). Here, Yu also mentions that thioether, disulfide and amide covalent linkages are frequently used for targeting ligands to termini of oligonucleotides or the surface of nanoparticles. Thus, amide covalent linkages are known to connect oligonucleotides to other molecules and both termini (3’ or 5’ end) may be used for these attachments.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have used such routine techniques of the prior art to attach oligonucleotides like an miRNA (oligoRNA) to other items as both the 3’ and 5’ end of the RNA are available for linkages and amide covalent linkages were commonly used. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success of using the 3’ end of the miRNA and to add an amide covalent linkage to attach it where ‘049 provides for the conjugation of the miRNA and the cerium oxide nanoparticle.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5, 8-10 of copending Application No. 17/428,447. (reference application), Yu et al (AAPS J, 2009, volume 11, pages 195-203) and Hori et al (Cardiovascular Research, 2009, volume 81, pages 457-464). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets provide for treating or preventing inflammation in a condition with a conjugate of cerium oxide and miRNA-146a.
Claims of ‘447 and Yu provide for the claims above.
Claims of ‘447 and Yu do not provide for myocardial infarction.
The claims of ‘447 provide for treatment or prevention of inflammation (genus of conditions that involve inflammation). Claim 10 of ‘447 provides for treating or preventing of oxidative stress. Hori teaches that ROS and inflammation occur in myocardial infarction (abstract). Hori teaches antioxidant and anti-inflammatory treatment for reverse remodeling of the heart (section 7 and conclusions). In section 7, the importance of dose is provided as well as timing of administration.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have considered myocardial infarction as one of the inflammation/oxidative stress conditions to be treated by reducing inflammation and oxidative stress with the treatment of 447 based on the teachings of Hori that shows myocardial infarction is characterized by inflammation. One of ordinary skill in the art would administer the dosage of anti-inflammatory as soon as possible after the event has occurred and for as many times as would be necessary. One of ordinary skill in the art would also consider injecting at the site of injury as with the wound in 447. In providing such an antioxidant and anti-inflammatory treatment, one would expect some restoration/maintenance of the heart function as compared to untreated control since Hori teaches such expectations are possible. There is a reasonable expectation of success in providing such a form of treatment to individuals who had myocardial infarction as the condition is characterized by oxidative stress and inflammation which are treatable with the 447’s method and expecting less damage, some degree of healing.
Claim Objections
Claims 11-15 are objected to for being dependent on a claim (claim 10) that is rejected under non-statutory double patenting (a rejected base claim). Applicant may file an appropriate terminal disclaimer to obviate the non-statutory double patenting rejection, or alternatively amend claim 10 to incorporate the limitations of claim 11 into claim 10 to make an allowable claim.
Examiner Notes
The examiner called applicant’s representative to discuss the addition of “via an amide linkage” to the end of claim 1 and the filing of terminal disclaimers as appropriate, which would namely be a terminal disclaimer to US Patent 11833172 after this amendment is made to claim 1. Applicant responded to leave a message on 5/15/2026 noting that applicant may be amenable to the amendment and that it was taking time to file the terminal disclaimer. The applicant may file an after final response to provide the amendment to claim 1 in addition to the terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed. Claims 11-15 are objected to.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613