DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/03/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 7, 9, 11, 16-17 and 20 have been amended. No Claims have been/remain canceled. No Claims have been newly added. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on page 7-10 of the remark filed on 12/03/2025, on the newly amended limitations of the independent claim 1: “storing, by the node, a first association in the compression dictionary between the first entry and a first index; and compressing, by the node, the first certificate based on the first association and at least one static association of the one or more static associations of the compression dictionary to generate the first compressed certificate, wherein the first compressed certificate includes at least one static index and the first index.;”, arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 8-9 of the remarks filed on 12/03/2025 that the cited references fail to expressly or inherently disclose or make obvious the features of storing, by the node, a first association in the compression dictionary between the first entry and a first index; and compressing, by the node, the first certificate based on the first association and at least one static association of the one or more static associations of the compression dictionary to generate the first compressed certificate, wherein the first compressed certificate includes at least one static index and the first index.;”. Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Madhaven teaches on Par. (0048) a storing separately of certificates and on Par. (0049-0052) describing static associations with certificates. Roskind the teaches on Col. 5 lines 6-20 a compressing of certificates with static association of a list of certificate chains with hashes and packets.
Applicant argues on page 9 that the cited references fail to expressly or inherently disclose or make obvious the features of Madhaven having pre-stored data items as well as an index to pre-stored data items. Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Madhaven describes on Par. (0049-0052) a table or compression dictionary that logs compact certificates with static data and certificate data items and on Par. (0064) disclosing a compression dictionary in which compact certificates are stored and retrieved. Madhaven describes on Par. (0048-0049) these data items are included to complete a digital certificate and are validated and identified. These data items of the complete digital certificate are categorized Par. (0049) “the data items have been categorized as they would be expected to be for a single subject using a single issuer so that all of the basic X.509 data items are listed as static. Unique content is that expected to be unique among all certificates”. Madhaven further teaches these data items indexed and categorized/listed as entries. Madhaven further supports on Par. (0051) that the data items are identified and classified into groups and the data items make up a full certificate but that part of the information is excluded from the compact certificate during the authentication process. Examiner understands the Applicants perspective however there is no present claim language that addresses a pre-stored data item. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
However, Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on page 7-10 of the remark filed on 12/03/2025, on the newly amended limitations of independent claim 1 “generating a first compressed certificate corresponding to a first certificate by: identifying, by the node, that a first entry in the first certificate being compressed does not correspond to any of the one or more static associations in the compression dictionary;”, arguments are persuasive.
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Roskind et al. (U.S No. 9544153) and Madhavan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20090249074) further in view of Bowes et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20140330986), has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of the following prior art: Weinstein et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20150234885) in conjunction Roskind et al. (U.S No. 9544153) and Madhavan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20090249074) further in view of Bowes et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20140330986)). Please refer to the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below for a detailed explanation.
For the reasons stated above and the new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument, see Applicant’s Remarks Page 7-10, regarding allowance of the application. Examiner asserts that claims 1-20 are rejected for the reasons stated above in conjunction with the new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below.
Conclusion: Roskind-Madhavan- Weinstein-Bowes teaches the aforementioned limitations of independent claims and 1, 11 and 17 rendering the claim limitations obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 13 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roskind et al. (U.S No. 9544153, hereinafter referred to as “Roskind”), Madhavan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20090249074, hereinafter referred to as “Madhavan”) and Weinstein et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20150234885, hereinafter referred to as “Weinstein”)further in view of Bowes et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20140330986, hereinafter referred to as “Bowes”)
In regards to Claim 1, Roskind teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a node of a mesh network, the compression dictionary storing associations between entries in certificates and indices in corresponding compressed certificates; (Col. 6 lines 16-29 “by a node of a mesh network (wired/wireless network including a mesh network)), (Col. 1 lines 33-45 ”; receiving (retrieving) a compression dictionary (a local list of one or more compact representation corresponding to one or more certificates)), (Col. 4 lines 1-35; associations between entries in certificates and indices corresponding to compressed certificates (number of packets as associations and hash values as index compact representation))(Col. 4 lines 1-35 “”; association between one or more data entries in certificate chain (data from certificate chain))), (Col. 4 lines 15-45 “”; and one or more indices in corresponding to the compressed certificate chains (hash representing compacted certificate chain is used to look up in the list of compact certificates)), (Col. 4 lines 1-35; compression dictionary (list of compact certificate chains with packet numbers as association and compact representation hash values as index number))
compressing, by the node, the first certificate based on the first association and at least one ……association of the one or more …associations of the compression dictionary, (Col. 5 lines 6-20; compressing first and second association (hashes and packets in certificate chain) corresponding to compression dictionary (list of certificate chains))
to generate the first compressed certificate, (Col. 4 lines 25-35; each certificate of the list of certificates is compressed to generate [..])
Roskind does not explicitly teach a compression dictionary comprising one or more static associations between entries in certificates and indices in corresponding compressed certificates, , static association, wherein each static association from the one or more static associations comprises a static index to a static entry association; generating a first compressed certificate corresponding to a first certificate by: identifying, by the node, that a first entry in the first certificate being compressed does not correspond to any of the one or more static associations in the compression dictionary, storing, by the node, a first association in the compression dictionary between the first entry and a first index; wherein the first compressed certificate includes at least one static index and the first index; and transmitting, by the node, the first compressed certificate to a neighboring node.
Wherein Madhavan teaches a compression dictionary comprising one or more static associations between entries in certificates and indices in corresponding compressed certificates, ((Par. (0049-0052); Table I with compact certificates include static data with certificate data items) (Figure 5 labels x.509, “static data”, and “pre-store”; static data of each certificate corresponding to pre-stored contents), (Par. (0064); compression dictionary ( compact certificates stored and retrieved) including static portion (static data included in compact certificate)
static association (Par. (0049-0052); static data corresponding to certificate)
wherein each static association from the one or more static associations comprises a static index to a static entry association; (Par. (0049); data items of certificate to be x.509 and listed as static), (Par. (0051); certificates with listed static attributes are indexed and categorized))
storing, by the node, a first association in the compression dictionary between the first entry and a first index; (Par. (0048); certificate data of compact certificate that is not included is stored separately)
wherein the first compressed certificate includes at least one static index and the first index; and ((Par. (0049); data items of certificate to be x.509 and listed as static), (Par. (0051); certificates with listed static attributes are indexed and categorized)), (Par. (0057); compact certificate includes all of the TBS certificate data items [..] some but all of the certificate data items stored))
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Madhavan within the teachings of Roskind because of the analogous concept of secure wireless communication by authenticating devices joining the network using compressed certificate chains with substantial data entries. Madhavan includes a process in which a determination of entries included or not included in a certificate chain and storing. This provides clarity to the user that each data entry correlates to the original table, formatting, and/or mapping of the certificate chain. This leads to faster processing times and efficient transmission of data for devices trying to authenticate themselves and join a network. By preventing large consumption of energy of devices by compressing the certificate chains coupled with identifying and determine before the exchange has taken place the corresponding mapping with the rightful data entry and index it will in return promote confidence and assurance in the user that the integrity of the data trying to be authenticate matches the correlating mapping, entries, and index prior to sending.
The motivation to combine is because when authenticating and uncovering the identity of devices attempting to connect to a wireless network it becomes imperative to determine the rightful format and mapping of data entries to prevent wrongful transmission, error or possible vulnerabilities. (Madhavan Par. (0002-0004))
Roskind and Madhavan do not explicitly teach generating a first compressed certificate corresponding to a first certificate by: identifying, by the node, that a first entry in the first certificate being compressed does not correspond to any of the one or more static associations in the compression dictionary, transmitting, by the node, the first compressed certificate to a neighboring node.
Wherein Weinstein teaches wherein each static association from the one or more static associations comprises a static index to a static entry association; (Par. (0006-0007); each static association (signature with element descriptors that include a representation of fixed-length) a static index to static entry association (signature with fixed length and digest included in directory)), (Par. (0102, 0106, 0138); index and compact index values corresponding to signature within directory)), (Par. (0038); static association (signatures with fixed size that are compressed)), (Par. (0006-0007, 0102, 0038) wherein each static association (fixed length of signature) comprises a static index (compact index values) to static entry association (fixed-length with representation is linked with compact index value))
generating a first compressed certificate corresponding to a first certificate by: (Par. (0088-0099); generating a first compressed certificate (compressing of certificate ( i.e., signatures))
identifying, by the node, that a first entry in the first certificate being compressed does not correspond to any of the one or more static associations in the compression dictionary (Par. (0087-0089); directory of signatures that representation compression that have entries that compare signature to signature stored in directory)), (Par. (0010, 0014, 0088 and 0111-0112); comparing signatures that include fixed size, if signatures do not match [..])), (Par. (0087-0089) first entry in the first certificate being compressed (entry from directory associated with signature that is compressed ) does not correspond to any of the one or more static associations (string descriptors with fixed size)), (Par. (0013); static associations (string descriptors with fixed length))
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Weinstein within the teachings of Roskind and Madhavan because of the analogous concept of digital signatures and certificate verification, with the motivation of having a process to detection of static association includes in certificates/signatures to identify the integrity and authenticity of signatures and using comparison to detect valid entry data and safeguard the system from anomalies. (Weinstein Par. (0002-0005))
Roskind, Madhavan and Weinstein do not explicitly teach transmitting, by the node, the first compressed certificate to a neighboring node.
Wherein Bowes teaches transmitting, by the node, the first compressed certificate to a neighboring node. (Par. (0039); transmitting digital certificate), (Par. (0031); compression dictionary (compressed set of paths in the digital certificate) (Par. (0065-0067) “compression direction (condensed/ compressed path dictionary corresponding to certificates)), (Par. (0045) “”; dictionary corresponding to compressed certificates (reduce size corresponding to digital certificate)), (Par. (0122); condensed set of paths associated with compression dictionary is transmitted), (Par. (0101 and 0108); compressing corresponding to digital certificate and providing the digital certificate to client 110). (Par. (0039), client transmits digital certificate)), (Par. (0108-0110); client provided condensed certificate and client then may provide certificate to quantity of path nodes))
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bowes within the teachings of Roskind, Madhavan and Weinstein because of the analogous concept of compressed or condensed certificates through various authentication procedures. Bowes includes a process in a compression dictionary is used to map the data entries with indexes that are transmitted to various nodes. This is important because by implementing a compression dictionary the effectiveness and efficiency of the compression process is that much more enhanced because by corresponding the index values to the data entries the user can identify and detect the larger data entries found in compressed certificates. This provides a solution to battery powered devices and saving substantial amounts of battery power when in transmission because by implementing a compression dictionary that can identify larger certificates the compression process can lower the size, save energy usage and provide smaller compact data which in return extends the operational life of nodes. (Bowes Par. (0001-0002)
In regards to Claim 3, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes teach the method of claim 1, Madhavan further teaches wherein the first certificate is part of an X.509 certificate chain. (Par. (0049) "X.509 certificate as disclosed above in Table I, [ .. ] the data items have been categorized as they would be expected to be for a single subject using a single issuer so that all of the basic X.509 data items are listed as static. Unique content is that expected to be unique among all certificates issued by the CA. Thus, for example, the certificate serial number is unique, and for X.509 certificates meeting RFC 3280, this uniqueness is a requirement. Finally, some content can be considered "possibly unique."; compressed certificate chain (X.509))
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Madhavan within the teachings of Roskind, Weinstein and Bowes for the reasons discussed in independent claim 1 stated above.
In regards to Claim 4, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes teach the method of claim 1, Roskind further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the first compressed certificate to the neighboring node is performed as part of an authentication procedure with the neighboring node. (Col. 6 lines 35-60; sender and recipient nodes authenticate certificate chain and certificate chain is received from recipient to sender for authentication)
In regards to Claim 5, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes teach the method of claim 1, Roskind further teaches wherein compressing the first certificate comprises (Col. 4 lines 25-35; each certificate of the list of certificates is compressed to generate [..])
Roskind, Madhavan and Weinstein do not explicitly teach replacing the first entry in the first certificate with the first index in the first compressed certificate.
Wherein Bowes teaches replacing the first entry in the first certificate with the first index in the first compressed certificate. (Par. (0080-0082); segment strings are encoded “10111” that represent index values and entries for certificate based on list tree of compressed certificates)), (Par. (0094) “index corresponding to replacing or in place of entries)), (Par. (0098) “.”; 1110010010100110 represents a node path)), (Par. (0103); describes determining a binary block and placing it in the certificate), (Par. (0106); includes one or more compressed content paths).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bowes within the teachings of Roskind, Madhavan and Weinstein because of the analogous concept of compressed or condensed certificates through various authentication procedures, with the motivation of replacing entries in the certificate with index values to have a more effective means of a frame of reference. This creates efficiency within the system of certificates to identify specific certificate and have a comparison for call backs based on the index values used as well as save space in storage and transmission of certificate. (Bowes Par. (0001-0002))
In regards to Claim 7, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes teach the method of claim 1, Madhavan further teaches wherein receiving the compression dictionary including at least the static associations occurs during manufacturing of the node or in response to the node joining the mesh network. (Par. (0058); steps performed during original manufacturing of devices), (Figure 5 labels “Certificate data items”, and “static”, static portion associated with certificate), (Par. (0049); static portion of certificate))
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Madhavan within the teachings of Roskind, Weinstein and Bowes because of the analogous concept of secure wireless communication by authenticating devices joining the network using compressed certificate chains with substantial data entries, with the motivation of having static portions used during manufacturing as a way to compare contents of certificates for authentication purposes based on portions created during manufacturing to detect possible tampering or modification of certificate data. (Madhavan (Par. (0002-0004))
In regards to Claim 9, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes teach the method of claim 1, Roskind further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the node, a second compressed certificate; (Col. 7 lines 4-25; receiving a set of certificates)
performing, by the node based on the second certificate, an authentication procedure. (Col. 7 lines 4-25; second certificate (receiving a set of certificates)), (Col. 6 lines 35-60; sender and recipient nodes authenticate certificate chain and certificate chain is received from recipient to sender for authentication)
Roskind does not explicitly teach decompressing, by the node using the compression dictionary, the second compressed certificate to generate a second certificate; and
Wherein Bowes teaches decompressing, by the node using the compression dictionary, the second compressed certificate to generate a second certificate; and (Par. (0110) “.”; decompressing the compressed certificate chain (uncompress the compressed data) using the compression dictionary (path dictionary (uncompress the compressed data in certificates corresponding to path dictionary.)), (Par. (0029); second compressed certificates (plurality of certificates that are accepted)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bowes within the teachings of Roskind, Madhavan and Weinstein because of the analogous concept of compressed or condensed certificates through various authentication procedures, with the motivation of generating a second certificate based on decompressing using the compression dictionary to save space when transmitting and storing certificate data using compression techniques to save bandwidth. (Bowes Par. (0001-0002))
In regards to Claim 11, Roskind teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a node device in a wireless network, cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of: (Col. 1 lines 54-67 and Col. 2 lines 1-20; computer readable medium and processors)
receiving a compression dictionary, the compression dictionary including a plurality of mappings between field names or field values occurring in certificates and (Col. 6 lines 16-29 “by a node of a mesh network (wired/wireless network including a mesh network)), (Col. 1 lines 33-45 ”; receiving (retrieving) a compression dictionary (a local list of one or more compact representation corresponding to one or more certificates)), (Col. 4 lines 1-35 “”; association between one or more data entries in certificate chain (data from certificate chain))), (Col. 4 lines 15-45 “”; and one or more indices in corresponding to the compressed certificate chains (hash representing compacted certificate chain is used to look up in the list of compact certificates))
compressing the first certificate based on the first mapping and at least one static mapping of the one or more …. mapping of the compression dictionary, (Col. 5 lines 6-20; compressing first and second association (hashes and packets in certificate chain) corresponding to compression dictionary (list of certificate chains))
to generate a first compressed certificate (Col. 4 lines 25-35; each certificate of the list of certificates is compressed to generate [..])
Roskind does not explicitly teach indices to include in compressed certificates, the plurality of mappings comprising one or more static mappings, static mapping, wherein each static mapping from the one or more static mappings comprises a static index to a static entry association; compressing a first certificate to generate a first compressed certificate by: detecting that a first field name or a first field value in the first certificate being compressed does not correspond to any of the one or more static mappings; in response to the detecting, updating the compression dictionary to include a first mapping between the first field name or the first field value and a first index; and wherein the first compressed certificate includes at least one static index and the first index; and sending the first compressed certificate to a second node device in the wireless network.
Wherein Madhavan teaches indices to include in compressed certificates, ((Par. (0049-0052); Table I with compact certificates include static data with certificate data items) (Figure 5 labels x.509, “static data”, and “pre-store”; static data of each certificate corresponding to pre-stored contents), (Par. (0064); compression dictionary ( compact certificates stored and retrieved) including static portion (static data included in compact certificate), (Par. (0049); indices in compressed certificate [..] comprising static portion (categorizing certificate data items listed static data)
the plurality of mappings comprising one or more static mappings, wherein each static mapping from the one or more static mappings comprises a static index to a static entry association; ((Par. (0049-0052); Table I with compact certificates include static data with certificate data items) (Figure 5 labels x.509, “static data”, and “pre-store”; static data of each certificate corresponding to pre-stored contents), (Par. (0064); compression dictionary ( compact certificates stored and retrieved) including static portion (static data included in compact certificate)
static mapping (Par. (0049-0052); static data corresponding to certificate)
wherein each static mapping from the one or more static mappings comprises a static index to a static entry association; ((Par. (0049); data items of certificate to be x.509 and listed as static), (Par. (0051); certificates with listed static attributes are indexed and categorized))
in response to the detecting, updating the compression dictionary to include a first mapping between the first field name or the first field value and a first index; and (Par. (0087-0089); updating entries in directory when signatures match that include size value, types etc.))
wherein the first compressed certificate includes at least one static index and the first index; and ((Par. (0049); data items of certificate to be x.509 and listed as static), (Par. (0051); certificates with listed static attributes are indexed and categorized))
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Madhavan within the teachings of Roskind because of the analogous concept of secure wireless communication by authenticating devices joining the network using compressed certificate chains with substantial data entries. Madhavan includes a process in which a determination of entries included or not included in a certificate chain and storing. This provides clarity to the user that each data entry correlates to the original table, formatting, and/or mapping of the certificate chain. This leads to faster processing times and efficient transmission of data for devices trying to authenticate themselves and join a network. By preventing large consumption of energy of devices by compressing the certificate chains coupled with identifying and determine before the exchange has taken place the corresponding mapping with the rightful data entry and index it will in return promote confidence and assurance in the user that the integrity of the data trying to be authenticate matches the correlating mapping, entries, and index prior to sending.
The motivation to combine is because when authenticating and uncovering the identity of devices attempting to connect to a wireless network it becomes imperative to determine the rightful format and mapping of data entries to prevent wrongful transmission, error or possible vulnerabilities. (Madhavan Par. (0002-0004))
Roskind and Madhavan do not explicitly teach compressing a first certificate to generate a first compressed certificate by: detecting that a first field name or a first field value in the first certificate being compressed does not correspond to any of the one or more static mappings; sending the first compressed certificate to a second node device in the wireless network.
Wherein Weinstein teaches wherein each static mapping from the one or more static mappings comprises a static index to a static entry association (Par. (0006-0007); each static association (signature with element descriptors that include a representation of fixed-length) a static index to static entry association (signature with fixed length and digest included in directory)), (Par. (0102, 0106, 0138); index and compact index values corresponding to signature within directory)), (Par. (0038); static association (signatures with fixed size that are compressed))
compressing a first certificate to generate a first compressed certificate by: (Par. (0088-0099); compressing of signatures))
detecting that a first field name or a first field value in the first certificate being compressed does not correspond to any of the one or more static mappings; (Par. (0087-0089); directory of signatures that representation compression that have entries that compare signature to signature stored in directory)), (Par. (0010, 0014, 0088 and 0111-0112); comparing signatures that include fixed size, if signatures do not match [..]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Weinstein within the teachings of Roskind and Madhavan because of the analogous concept of digital signatures and certificate verification, with the motivation of having a process to detection of static association includes in certificates/signatures to identify the integrity and authenticity of signatures and using comparison to detect valid entry data and safeguard the system from anomalies. (Weinstein Par. (0002-0005))
Roskind, Madhavan and Weinstein do not explicitly teach sending the first compressed certificate to a second node device in the wireless network.
Wherein Bowes teaches sending the first compressed certificate to a second node device in the wireless network. (Par. (0039); transmitting digital certificate), (Par. (0031); compression dictionary (compressed set of paths in the digital certificate) (Par. (0065-0067) “compression direction (condensed/ compressed path dictionary corresponding to certificates)), (Par. (0045) “”; dictionary corresponding to compressed certificates (reduce size corresponding to digital certificate)), (Par. (0122); condensed set of paths associated with compression dictionary is transmitted), (Par. (0101 and 0108); compressing corresponding to digital certificate and providing the digital certificate to client 110)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bowes within the teachings of Roskind, Madhavan and Weinstein because of the analogous concept of compressed or condensed certificates through various authentication procedures. Bowes includes a process in a compression dictionary is used to map the data entries with indexes that are transmitted to various nodes. This is important because by implementing a compression dictionary the effectiveness and efficiency of the compression process is that much more enhanced because by corresponding the index values to the data entries the user can identify and detect the larger data entries found in compressed certificates. This provides a solution to battery powered devices and saving substantial amounts of battery power when in transmission because by implementing a compression dictionary that can identify larger certificates the compression process can lower the size, save energy usage and provide smaller compact data which in return extends the operational life of nodes. (Bowes Par. (0001-0002))
In regards to Claim 13, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes teach the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, Roskind further teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the steps further comprise establishing an authenticated communication channel with the second node device using the first compressed certificate. (Col. 6 lines 35-60; sender and recipient nodes authenticate certificate chain and certificate chain is received from recipient to sender for authentication)
In regards to Claim 15, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes teach the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, Roskind further teaches wherein compressing the first certificate comprises (Col. 4 lines 25-35; each certificate of the list of certificates is compressed to generate [..])
Roskind, Madhavan and Weinstein do not explicitly teach replacing respective occurrences of the first field name or the first field value in the first certificate with the first index in the first compressed certificate.
Wherein Bowes teaches replacing respective occurrences of the first field name or the first field value in the first certificate with the first index in the first compressed certificate. (Par. (0080-0082) “.”; segment strings are encoded “10111” that represent index values and entries for certificate based on list tree of compressed certificates)), (Par. (0094) “index corresponding to replacing or in place of entries)), (Par. (0098) “.”; 1110010010100110 represents a node path)), (Par. (0103); describes determining a binary block and placing it in the certificate), (Par. (0106); includes one or more compressed content paths)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bowes within the teachings of Roskind, Madhavan and Weinstein because of the analogous concept of compressed or condensed certificates through various authentication procedures, with the motivation of replacing entries in the certificate with index values to have a more effective means of a frame of reference. This creates efficiency within the system of certificates to identify specific certificate and have a comparison for call backs based on the index values used as well as save space in storage and transmission of certificate. (Bowes Par. (0001-0002))
In regards to Claim 16, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes teach the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, Madhavan further teaches wherein the one or more static mappings of the compression dictionary are received by the node device when the node device is manufactured or when the node device joins the wireless network. (Par. (0058); steps performed during original manufacturing of devices), (Figure 5 labels “Certificate data items”, and “static”, static portion associated with certificate), (Par. (0049); static portion of certificate))
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Madhavan within the teachings of Roskind, Weinstein and Bowes because of the analogous concept of secure wireless communication by authenticating devices joining the network using compressed certificate chains with substantial data entries, with the motivation of having static portions used during manufacturing as a way to compare contents of certificates for authentication purposes based on portions created during manufacturing to detect possible tampering or modification of certificate data. (Madhavan (Par. (0002-0004))
In regards to Claim 17, Roskind teaches a networking device comprising: (Figure 1 label 101)
a transceiver; (Figure 1 label 101)
one or more processors; and (Figure 1 label 104)
one or more memories storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: (Figure 1 label 104 and 105)
receiving a compression dictionary including one or more …associations between strings in certificates and indices in corresponding compressed certificates; (Col. 6 lines 16-29 “by a node of a mesh network (wired/wireless network including a mesh network)), (Col. 1 lines 33-45 ”; receiving (retrieving) a compression dictionary (a local list of one or more compact representation corresponding to one or more certificates)), (Col. 4 lines 1-35 “”; association between one or more data entries in certificate chain (data from certificate chain))), (Col. 4 lines 15-45 “”; and one or more indices in corresponding to the compressed certificate chains (hash representing compacted certificate chain is used to look up in the list of compact certificates))
generating the first compressed certificate from the first certificate using the one or more ….. associations and the first association, (Col. 4 lines 25-35; each certificate of the list of certificates is compressed to generate [..]) (Col. 5 lines 6-20; using the one or more associations and dynamic associations (hashes and packets in certificate chain) corresponding to compression dictionary (list of certificate chains))
Roskind does not explicitly teach one or more static associations, wherein each static association from the one or more static associations comprises a static index to a static entry association; generating a first compressed certificate based on a first certificate by: finding a first string in the first certificate being compressed that does not correspond to any of the one or more static associations, updating the compression dictionary to include a first association between the first string and a first index; and wherein the first compressed certificate includes at least one static index and the first index; and performing an authentication procedure with a second networking device by at least transmitting the first compressed certificate to the second networking device using the transceiver.
Wherein Madhavan teaches one or more static associations (Par. (0049-0052); static data corresponding to certificate)
wherein each static association from the one or more static associations comprises a static index to a static entry association; ((Par. (0049); data items of certificate to be x.509 and listed as static), (Par. (0051); certificates with listed static attributes are indexed and categorized))
wherein the first compressed certificate includes at least one static index and the first index; and ((Par. (0049); data items of certificate to be x.509 and listed as static), (Par. (0051); certificates with listed static attributes are indexed and categorized))
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Madhavan within the teachings of Roskind because of the analogous concept of secure wireless communication by authenticating devices joining the network using compressed certificate chains with substantial data entries. Madhavan includes a process in which a determination of entries included or not included in a certificate chain and storing. This provides clarity to the user that each data entry correlates to the original table, formatting, and/or mapping of the certificate chain. This leads to faster processing times and efficient transmission of data for devices trying to authenticate themselves and join a network. By preventing large consumption of energy of devices by compressing the certificate chains coupled with identifying and determine before the exchange has taken place the corresponding mapping with the rightful data entry and index it will in return promote confidence and assurance in the user that the integrity of the data trying to be authenticate matches the correlating mapping, entries, and index prior to sending.
The motivation to combine is because when authenticating and uncovering the identity of devices attempting to connect to a wireless network it becomes imperative to determine the rightful format and mapping of data entries to prevent wrongful transmission, error or possible vulnerabilities. (Madhavan (par. (0002-0004))
Roskind does not explicitly teach generating a first compressed certificate based on a first certificate by: finding a first string in the first certificate being compressed that does not correspond to any of the one or more static associations, updating the compression dictionary to include a first association between the first string and a first index; and performing an authentication procedure with a second networking device by at least transmitting the first compressed certificate to the second networking device using the transceiver.
Wherein Weinstein teaches wherein each static association from the one or more static associations comprises a static index to a static entry association; (Par. (0006-0007); each static association (signature with element descriptors that include a representation of fixed-length) a static index to static entry association (signature with fixed length and digest included in directory)), (Par. (0102, 0106, 0138); index and compact index values corresponding to signature within directory)), (Par. (0038); static association (signatures with fixed size that are compressed))
generating a first compressed certificate based on a first certificate by: (Par. (0088-0099); compressing of signatures))
finding a first string in the first certificate being compressed that does not correspond to any of the one or more static associations, (Par. (0087-0089); directory of signatures that representation compression that have entries that compare signature to signature stored in directory)), (Par. (0010, 0014, 0088 and 0111-0112); comparing signatures that include fixed size, if signatures do not match [..]))
updating the compression dictionary to include a first association between the first string and a first index; and (Par. (0087-0089); updating entries in directory when signatures match that include size value, types etc.))
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Weinstein within the teachings of Roskind and Madhavan because of the analogous concept of digital signatures and certificate verification, with the motivation of having a process to detection of static association includes in certificates/signatures to identify the integrity and authenticity of signatures and using comparison to detect valid entry data and safeguard the system from anomalies. (Weinstein Par. (0002-0005))
Roskind, Madhavan and Weinstein do not explicitly teach performing an authentication procedure with a second networking device by at least transmitting the first compressed certificate to the second networking device using the transceiver.
Wherein Bowes teaches performing an authentication procedure with a second networking device by at least (Par. (0028); validate authenticity of certificate)
transmitting the first compressed certificate to the second networking device using the transceiver. (Par. (0039); transmitting digital certificate), (Par. (0031); compression dictionary (compressed set of paths in the digital certificate) (Par. (0065-0067) “compression direction (condensed/ compressed path dictionary corresponding to certificates)), (Par. (0045) “”; dictionary corresponding to compressed certificates (reduce size corresponding to digital certificate)), (Par. (0122); condensed set of paths associated with compression dictionary is transmitted)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bowes within the teachings of Roskind, Madhavan and Weinstein because of the analogous concept of compressed or condensed certificates through various authentication procedures. Bowes includes a process in a compression dictionary is used to map the data entries with indexes that are transmitted to various nodes. This is important because by implementing a compression dictionary the effectiveness and efficiency of the compression process is that much more enhanced because by corresponding the index values to the data entries the user can identify and detect the larger data entries found in compressed certificates. This provides a solution to battery powered devices and saving substantial amounts of battery power when in transmission because by implementing a compression dictionary that can identify larger certificates the compression process can lower the size, save energy usage and provide smaller compact data which in return extends the operational life of nodes. (Bowes Par. (0001-0002))
In regards to Claim 18, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes teach the networking device of claim 17, Roskind further teaches wherein generating the first compressed certificate comprises (Col. 4 lines 25-35; each certificate of the list of certificates is compressed to generate [..])
Roskind, Madhavan and Weinstein do not explicitly teach replacing respective instances of the first string identified in the first certificate with respective instances of the first index in the first compressed certificate.
Wherein Bowes teaches replacing respective instances of the first string identified in the first certificate with respective instances of the first index in the first compressed certificate. (Par. (0080-0082) “.”; segment strings are encoded “10111” that represent index values and entries for certificate based on list tree of compressed certificates)), (Par. (0094) “index corresponding to replacing or in place of entries)), (Par. (0098) “.”; 1110010010100110 represents a node path)), (Par. (0103); describes determining a binary block and placing it in the certificate), (Par. (0106); includes one or more compressed content paths)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bowes within the teachings of Roskind, Madhavan and Weinstein because of the analogous concept of compressed or condensed certificates through various authentication procedures, with the motivation of replacing entries in the certificate with index values to have a more effective means of a frame of reference. This creates efficiency within the system of certificates to identify specific certificate and have a comparison for call backs based on the index values used as well as save space in storage and transmission of certificate. (Bowes Par. (0001-0002))
In regards to Claim 19, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes teach the networking device of claim 17, Roskind further teaches the networking device of claim 17, wherein the procedure establishes an encrypted communication channel with the second networking device. (Col. 3 lines 34-50; encrypted message between recipient and sender devices)
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roskind et al. (U.S No. 9544153, hereinafter referred to as “Roskind”), Madhavan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20090249074, hereinafter referred to as “Madhavan”) Weinstein et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20150234885, hereinafter referred to as “Weinstein”)and Bowes et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20140330986, hereinafter referred to as “Bowes”) further in view of Subasic et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170134170, hereinafter referred to as “Subasic”)
In regards to Claim 2, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes do not explicitly teach wherein a first number of bits in the first entry is greater than a second number of bits in the first index.
Wherein Subasic teaches wherein a first number of bits in the first entry is greater than a second number of bits in the first index. (Figure 2 labels 202, 203, 204, 1 and 2; certificate chain (ECDSA certificates) greater in bits (bytes) than compressed (reduced) certificates (1.2). first data entry (fragment) greater in bits (bytes) than index (204), (Par. (0022) "by reducing the size of certificates from what has been used in the past"; compressed (reduced) certificates), (Par. (0008) "significant packet fragmentation and a need to send large numbers of wireless packets over the air in order to fully exchange certificates."; first data entry (fragments/ packets). (Par. (0021) "This significantly reduces overhead of exchanging certificates and leads to a significant reduction in the fragmentation of messages required to exchange the certificates."; first data entry (fragmentation of messages). (Par.(0023) "ECDSA certificates 202 are used to exchange keys. The ECDSA keys are small in size and are segmented by the SC and inserted into the MAP field 201 of frames 200. For example, if the ECDSA certificate 202 consists of 200 bytes, it may be split into 10 fragments 203 of 20 bytes each. An index byte 204 is combined with each fragment 203 and then and added to the MAP field 201 "; compressed certificate chain (reduced ECDSA certificates) with first data entry (fragments) and index) is not greater in bits (bytes) than ECDSA label 202), (Par. (0024) "ECDSA certificate 300 into multiple (N) smaller fragments of size K bytes 301. Each fragment consists of an index number 302 followed by K bytes"; first data entry (fragments) corresponding with index,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Subasic within the teachings of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes to include the first data entry includes a greater number of bits than the size of the first index in bits, and the first certificate chain includes a greater number of bits than the compressed certificate chain because of the analogous concept of secure wireless communication by authenticating devices that wish to join the network to gain access by the use of compressed certificate chains with substantial data entries. Subasic includes a process of having the data entry greater in size than the index and the certificate chain greater in size than the compressed chain, this allows the certificate chain to have strong security properties and have the ability to transfer data more efficiently. By having the compressed certificate chain smaller in size than the certificate chain it will allow battery powered devices that are utilizing this method to consume less power in transmission. Larger certificate sizes cause a lot of drawbacks in terms of efficiently exchange data over long periods of time, by allowing the data to be greater than the index but at the same time condensing and compressing the certificate chain in smaller quantities than the actual certificate it will prolong the operational lifetime of devices in communication and exchange. (Subasic Par. (0002-0004))
Claims 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roskind et al. (U.S No. 9544153, hereinafter referred to as “Roskind”), Madhavan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20090249074, hereinafter referred to as “Madhavan”) Weinstein et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20150234885, hereinafter referred to as “Weinstein”)and Bowes et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20140330986, hereinafter referred to as “Bowes”) further in view of Kandiraju et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190268140, hereinafter referred to as “Kandiraju”)
In regards to Claim 6, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes teach the method of claim 1, Roskind further teaches the compression dictionary ( (Col. 1 lines 33-45 ”; receiving (retrieving) a compression dictionary (a local list of one or more compact representation corresponding to one or more certificates)),
Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes do not explicitly teach in response to completing an authentication procedure with the neighboring node, removing the first association from the …. dictionary.
Wherein Kandiraju teaches in response to completing an authentication procedure with the neighboring node, removing the first association from the …. dictionary. (Par. (0026 and 0028); first association (index that stores entity certificate with k=hash and v=key)), (Par. (0027); in response to completing an authentication (performed blockchain verification) removing the first association (deleting variables k and v corresponding to certificate), (Par. (0028); from the dictionary (certificate corresponding to blockchain record with indexes)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kandiraju within the teachings of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes to include because of the analogous concept of secure wireless communication by authenticating devices that wish to join the network to gain access by the use of compressed certificate chains with substantial data entries, with the motivation of removing associations from a dictionary of certificates after completing an authentication procedure to create trust and mitigate tampering on the growing list of records by removing possibly susceptible indexes and associations that could cause harm to the system. (Kandiraju Par. (0002-0003)
In regards to Claim 14, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes teach the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing program of claim 11, Roskind further teaches the compression dictionary ( (Col. 1 lines 33-45 ”; receiving (retrieving) a compression dictionary (a local list of one or more compact representation corresponding to one or more certificates)),
Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes do not explicitly teach removing the first mapping from the compression dictionary after establishing the authenticated communication channel.
Wherein Kandiraju teaches removing the first mapping from the compression dictionary after establishing the authenticated communication channel. (Par. (0026 and 0028); first association (index that stores entity certificate with k=hash and v=key)), (Par. (0027); in response to completing an authentication (performed blockchain verification) removing the first association (deleting variables k and v corresponding to certificate), (Par. (0028); from the dictionary (certificate corresponding to blockchain record with indexes)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kandiraju within the teachings of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes to include because of the analogous concept of secure wireless communication by authenticating devices that wish to join the network to gain access by the use of compressed certificate chains with substantial data entries, with the motivation of removing associations from a dictionary of certificates after completing an authentication procedure to create trust and mitigate tampering on the growing list of records by removing possibly susceptible indexes and associations that could cause harm to the system. (Kandiraju Par. (0002-0003)
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roskind et al. (U.S No. 9544153, hereinafter referred to as “Roskind”), Madhavan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20090249074, hereinafter referred to as “Madhavan”) Weinstein et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20150234885, hereinafter referred to as “Weinstein”) and Bowes et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20140330986, hereinafter referred to as “Bowes”) further in view of Vanstone et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20090022311, hereinafter referred to as “Vanstone”)
In regards to Claim 8, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes do not explicitly teach wherein compressing the first certificate comprises performing an elliptic curve compression operation on a public key portion of the first certificate.
Wherein Vanstone teaches wherein compressing the first certificate comprises performing an elliptic curve compression operation on a public key portion of the first certificate. (Par. (0021); compressing the certificates), (Par. (0029); process of compressing certificates), (Par. (0034-0035); elliptic curve compression used on public key associated with certificate)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Vanstone within the teachings of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes to include because of the analogous concept of compression of certificates, with the motivation of protecting confidential information and accepting certificates based on specific formats and predetermined criteria to safeguard the authority of the system. (Vanstone Par. (0005-0012 and 0020-0021)
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roskind et al. (U.S No. 9544153, hereinafter referred to as “Roskind”), Madhavan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20090249074, hereinafter referred to as “Madhavan”) Weinstein et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20150234885, hereinafter referred to as “Weinstein”) and Bowes et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20140330986, hereinafter referred to as “Bowes”) further in view of Das et al. (U.S No. 10193698, hereinafter referred to as “Das”)
In regards to Claim 10, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes do not explicitly teach preventing the second compressed certificate from being stored in a cache memory.
Wherein Das teaches preventing the second compressed certificate from being stored in a cache memory. (Page 4 (lines 42-50) "may allow the security device to detect a change associated with a server certificate chain, and invalidate a certificate cache entry associated with the server certificate chain (e.g., when the server certificate chain is changed due to a compromised server private key)"; prevent (invalidate) certificate chain from cache.), (Col. 10 lines 60-67 and Col. 11 lines 1-10 “may determine that certificate cache 320 does not store a certificate cache entry responsive to the query (e.g., since the certificate cache entry would include the original policy identifier rather than the updated policy identifier).”; certificate cache entry is not stored))
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Das within the teachings of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes because of the analogous concept of secure wireless communication by authenticating devices that wish to join the network to gain access by the use of compressed certificate chains with substantial data entries. Das implements a process of invalidating or preventing entry of a certificate chain into a cached certificate. This helps the system, primarily devices that have concerns with energy consumption and power usage because cache memory uses a lot of energy and can decrease the life expectancy of battery powered devices attempting to authenticate within a network. Cache memory also poses the risk of overwriting older data entries that can cause issues for devices and users trying to authenticate and verify based on recurring data entries. (Das Col. 9 lines 33-45)
Claim 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roskind et al. (U.S No. 9544153, hereinafter referred to as “Roskind”), Madhavan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20090249074, hereinafter referred to as “Madhavan”) Weinstein et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20150234885, hereinafter referred to as “Weinstein”)and Bowes et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20140330986, hereinafter referred to as “Bowes”) further in view of Durand et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20070186111, hereinafter referred to as “Durand”)
In regards to Claim 12, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes do not explicitly teach wherein the first index is smaller in size than the first field name or the first field value.
Wherein Durand teaches wherein the first index is smaller in size than the first field name or the first field value. (Par. (0151); first index (validity index of certificates) is smaller in size than first field value (time index that is higher; first index value is 1998 and first field value (time index) is higher)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Durand within the teachings of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes because of the analogous concept of certificates and validation techniques, with the motivation of implementing small index values to mitigate risk on users and detect validity more effective on certificate based on the size and comparison of index values (Durand Par. (0010-0014)).
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roskind et al. (U.S No. 9544153, hereinafter referred to as “Roskind”), Madhavan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20090249074, hereinafter referred to as “Madhavan”) Weinstein et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20150234885, hereinafter referred to as “Weinstein”) and Bowes et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20140330986, hereinafter referred to as “Bowes”) further in view of Logue et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20160105288, hereinafter referred to as “Logue”)
In regards to Claim 20, the combination of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes do not explicitly teach wherein the networking device is battery-powered.
Wherein Logue teaches wherein the networking device is battery-powered. (Par. (0037); battery powered devices), (Par. (0021); compression of certificates)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Logue within the teachings of Roskind, Madhavan, Weinstein and Bowes because of the analogous concept of compressing certificates with the motivation of having battery powered nodes to enhance the powering cycle and prevent too much computation power on nodes as well as making accessibility to all users. (Logue Par. (0002-0003))
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mani; Mehdi (U.S. No. 9860730 "Network Discovery By Battery Powered
Devices". Considered this reference because it addressed the issue of battery-powered devices and the topic of power consumption in context to the energy demands of the environment around it.
Uhr; Joan Sun (U.S Patent. No. 20180294977) "SYSTEM FOR ISSUING
PUBLIC CERTIFICATE ON BASIS OF BLOCK CHAIN, AND METHOD FOR
ISSUING PUBLIC CERTIFICATE ON BASIS OF BLOCK CHAIN BY USING
SAME". Considered this application because it relates to the compression of keys, token and certificates of the like.
Brown; Michael S (U.S Pub. No. 20060036849 "Direct Communication Between A Secure Application And A Local Application Running On The
Same Device". Considered this application because it addressed the use of certificates in correlation to a computing device on a wireless network.
Conclusion
/H.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2497
/MALCOLM CRIBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497